Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Buying a car from Norther Ireland Dealer??

• 24-04-2009 11:53PM
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 155 ✭✭

Hey Guys,

I'm thinking about buying the following car from a Dealer in Tyrone.....

http://www.cbg.ie/Car_Detail.aspx?ID=3043063

Since i live in limerick and its a 4.5 hour drive i'd like to get the entire transaction done in one visit.
    The Dealer told me that they will VRT the car and then ring me with the new registration number, but i thought that the VRT tax official will want to view the car before its VRT'd? What guarantee do i have that the dealer will actually VRT the car after i hand over the cash? Should i just do it myself?

Also, are UK dealers as desperate to unload cars as Irish ones? Will the scrappage scheme effect 2nd hand sales? The car is pretty cheap for Irish standards but what would ye offer?

All help is very much appreciated,

Cheers,

japasca

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators Posts: 17,897 Mod ✭✭✭✭Henry Ford III

I think it's optimistic and unwise to try and get this done in 1 trip. You seem to be committed to buy a car which you never seen or driven.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,559 ✭✭✭Tipsy Mac

I think it's optimistic and unwise to try and get this done in 1 trip. You seem to be committed to buy a car which you never seen or driven.

+1, never ever buy a car over the phone without seeing it. Even if it takes 2 trips to sort out that's not much to ask when parting with €11,595 notes. If I was you I would head up with a small £300 deposit and take a test drive, I'd actually spend the day up there and test drive similar cars in the surrounding area and then if I feel it's a good deal I would buy it. Also I would look for the car for somewhere around €11k.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,067 ✭✭✭✭fryup

Well i purhased a car from the north, at the beginning of the year.....and guess what i didn't even leave the house.

I saw it on the web, i liked the look of it, i phoned the dealer concerned, haggled over the phone and got it delivered to my home:D

And i've had no problems.

Having said that the car that i got isn't as near as expensive as yours, so maybe it would be wiser for you to check it out first hand.

PS - ive been told that if you're buying up there make sure the car concerned is an original NI reg car and not one brought in from the UK mainland, as many crashed & stolen cars are dumped in the north.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,396 ✭✭✭kluivert

I have never heard of a NI dealer VRT'ing a car.

Because they are not registered for tax in the south.

Listen if you want the car, buy the car and VRT it yourself at your nearest VRT office, I am sure there is one in Limerick.

When registering the car it has to be put into your name.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46 theocn

AFAIK Northern Dealers can VRT the car. This was discussed on Matt Cooper some time ago and they have a facilty to do it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,317 ✭✭✭lafors

japasca wrote: »
    Hey Guys,

I'm thinking about buying the following car from a Dealer in Tyrone.....

http://www.cbg.ie/Car_Detail.aspx?ID=3043063

Since i live in limerick and its a 4.5 hour drive i'd like to get the entire transaction done in one visit.
    The Dealer told me that they will VRT the car and then ring me with the new registration number, but i thought that the VRT tax official will want to view the car before its VRT'd? What guarantee do i have that the dealer will actually VRT the car after i hand over the cash? Should i just do it myself?

Also, are UK dealers as desperate to unload cars as Irish ones? Will the scrappage scheme effect 2nd hand sales? The car is pretty cheap for Irish standards but what would ye offer?

All help is very much appreciated,

Cheers,

japasca

I'd definitely be looking for getting it for under €11k. Thats a nice car, lovely colour. Just realised that price is including VRT! Not bad so, I'd still push for under 11k ;)

As for the VRT, I know my uncle just bought a qashqai from up north and they VRT'd it for him in dundalk, and they didn't check extras when they did it? so he got it at a good price. He was a bit wary of giving them money with no guarantee of them doing the VRT etc, so he got them to sign an agreement saying what they would guarantee (not sure how this signed agreement would have stood up in court if anything went wrong?) but there were no problems in the end, everything was sorted without any problems. BTW when they did the VRT, they still had the car, not sure if I'd trust them to do it after you have the car?

Also might be worth getting them to guarantee a pass on the NCT so if anything did fail during the test they would fix it/pay for it to be fixed.

Good Luck :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 155 ✭✭japasca

Thanks for all the advice, i think ill get it VRT'd myself in Limerick now and not have to worry about them doing it.

Can anyone recommend a site like cartell.ie where i can see if a UK car was NI registered?

Thanks again!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,317 ✭✭✭lafors

Thanks for all the advice, i think ill get it VRT'd myself in Limerick now and not have to worry about them doing it.

Can anyone recommend a site like cartell.ie where i can see if a UK car was NI registered?

Thanks again!

Get a HPI check done on the car.
    It'll tell you eveything you need to know.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators Posts: 17,897 Mod ✭✭✭✭Henry Ford III

Thanks again!

HPI

• Closed Accounts Posts: 495 ✭✭santosubito

Does anyone know if it is actuallyb possible to trade in a car from the Republic when buying a car in Northern Ireland?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,380 ✭✭✭O.A.P

This may not help but that is a nice car

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,626 ✭✭✭timmywex

http://www.cartell.ie/

Cartell nmow do both uk and ireland registrations, in partnership with hpi

O.A.P wrote: »
    This may not help but that is a nice car
    That actually did help a little! cheers

Looks like i can get the HPI check done at.....

http://www.hpicheck.com/newfrontend/hpi_check.jsp

for €22.50

or get it done at www.cartell.ie for €35! Good to see rip off Ireland is alive and well.

Anyway, the sample report gives no indication of where the car was first registered. How can i tell if this is an original NI car and not some dodgy one that was shipped over from the mainland UK for selling to the south. Cheers!

fryup
    PS - ive been told that if you're buying up there make sure the car concerned is an original NI reg car and not one brought in from the UK mainland, as many crashed & stolen cars are dumped in the north.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,244 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

Looks like i can get the HPI check done at.....

http://www.hpicheck.com/newfrontend/hpi_check.jsp

for €22.50

or get it done at www.cartell.ie for €35! Good to see rip off Ireland is alive and well.

How much is it to get an Irish registered car HPI'd in the UK?

Stekelly wrote: »
    How much is it to get an Irish registered car HPI'd in the UK?

That service isn't available on the HPI site, as no sane UK resident would import a more expensive poorer spec Irish car. However if they were thick enough to want to import one, they would be directed to www.cartell.ie for €35.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 57 ✭✭noeleeee

Just jumping on the bandwagon here as I have done a deal on a car from a car dealer in Belfast - I am looking to see if any of you know the RAC number for Northern Ireland to get the car inspection done ?
    Cheers

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5 priestess

I'd recommend buying a car in Northern Ireland. The used cars are definitely cheaper there and if you can only thing of dealing with the distance try
    http://www.ulstercars.co.uk
    and compare the prices. I've bought used Avansis about two months ago and hesitated where to buy but decided to get one from the northern Ireland and dont regret it.
    Good luck!

• Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators, Regional West Moderators Posts: 16,724 Mod ✭✭✭✭yop

OP - I have bought my own Audi A4, my brother bought his Accord and my sister bought her Galaxy all off Dean there in Corey's.
    Obviously I dont have any connection just happy with all our purchases.

When I was buying mine and the same with the other 2 we did a HPI check and it was fully clear.
    Sister had a problem with the aircon so she rang them, instead of driving up she took it to Ford garage and they paid Coreys paid the bill.

I honestly would have no quams buying a car on 1st visit from these guys now. But if this is your very first time dealing with them then I would do 2 trips to ease your mind.

There are a good few lads on here who have bought off him. Do a search.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,809 ✭✭✭✭smash

priestess wrote: »

I'd recommend buying a car in Northern Ireland. The used cars are definitely cheaper there and if you can only thing of dealing with the distance try
    http://www.ulstercars.co.uk
    and compare the prices. I've bought used Avansis about two months ago and hesitated where to buy but decided to get one from the northern Ireland and dont regret it.
    Good luck!
    Any chance you work for CBG and you're promoting your new site.... :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,102 ✭✭✭✭Drummerboy08

steve06 wrote: »
    Any chance you work for CBG and you're promoting your new site.... :D

Or any chance he just doesnt have a clue what he's talking about??

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional North East Moderators Posts: 10,883 Mod ✭✭✭✭PauloMN

priestess wrote: »
    Avansis

Incredible. The car even has a Norn Iron accent.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5 priestess

More less the same japasca does :) Cause CBG was mantioned first not by me.

• Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators, Regional West Moderators Posts: 16,724 Mod ✭✭✭✭yop

Or any chance he just doesnt have a clue what he's talking about??

lol, not saying my grammer is good but jaysus if you wanna advertise your business will you spell the name of the cars right lol ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,817 ✭✭✭Stevie Dakota

Every time I check prices up North they seem a couple of grand higher than their UK mainland equivalents. E.g dealers flogging base TDCi 2008 Mondeos for the price of a Titanium of Ghia on the mainland.

that is definatly the case alright, its probably a bigger market in Uk mainland so greater choice, means lower prices.

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional North East Moderators Posts: 10,883 Mod ✭✭✭✭PauloMN

Are you looking in enough dealers? I wouldn't expect a car to be thousands more in NI, maybe a little more but not that much. Car dealers wouldn't survive otherwise.

The Audi I bought in NI was cheaper than most similar ones I saw in mainland UK, but I did come across some dealer cars in NI also.

The cost of flights to mainland UK to view the car, and then another single flight and ferry would be more than the difference anyway usually.

Hey Guys,

Just back from getting the car from Dean Corey. Must say i'm very happy with the car and the service from them. Only needs 2 tyres in a few thousand miles. Paid 11,150 in case anyone was wondering and that includes VRT which i'm sorting out myself.
    Thanks for the input!
    Cheers,
    Japa