Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Bad Manners

• 23-04-2009 12:52pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 331 ✭✭

pulled into esso garage in maynooth yesterday at 5.30 and it was very busy with cars queued at the pumps...I eventually got to a pump and filled up and when i got inside the shop there was a queue of about eight people waiting to pay.
    A woman comes into the shop after me and marches straight by everyone and lobbed a 20 euro note at the cashier.This drove me feckin mad as i thought the nerve of the bitch.
    Am i being a grouch in my old age or would this piss you off as well.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,358 ✭✭✭Dennis the Stone

You meet pushy cu*ts like that all the time

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,094 ✭✭✭✭javaboy

I'd pocket the 20 (or stick it in the poor box) and report her reg as having left without paying if I was working there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,598 ✭✭✭✭prinz

I hope he left it where it landed and kept dealing with the customers.

The problem with this, especially in Ireland, is that out of the queue of about eight people, did anyone confront her - or tell her to get to the back of the queue - etc.?

Generally in Ireland it nobody does this so people think they can act like ignorant fools and get away with it. Trust me if that had happened somewhere in continental Europe, or in the States, she would have been called on it, and ignored.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,639 ✭✭✭✭OldGoat

Did she slow you down at all in your queue? Did she buy something and ask for the change in 1 cent pieces? No, she came in, evualuated the situation, realised that by joining the queue she would only be adding to the congestion and so she SELFLESSLY put herself up as an officator of expedience and got out of the way as quickly as possible. Wish there were more like her around.

I'm older than Minecraft goats.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,418 ✭✭✭regob

what an ignorant so and so, i hope shes a boards user and sees this and she knows she needs a kick up the backside and learn some manners

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,798 ✭✭✭✭DrumSteve

**** i thought this was a thread bout buster bloodvessel and friends. :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,582 ✭✭✭✭TheZohanS

maynooth

Ah the best of times and the worst of times...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29 Jesse Algranti

rude people are the worst... they should be shot

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,239 ✭✭✭✭WindSock

She did the right thing. There should never be a queue that long in a petrol station. put petrol in, get cash out on way to till, pay cashier then fk off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,563 ✭✭✭connundrum

You should have clotheslined her on the way out tbh.

I nearly got into a scrap the other day at the post office where I was patiently waiting to buy a book of stamps. A guy pushed passed everyone to the front of the queue and said to the woman at the top that he was collecting his dole and there was a taxi waiting on him outside.

The woman backed off him, because he was a big aggressive yoke. I was pissed off as I'd been waiting 10 odd minutes for my poxy stamps, so I pointed out that there was a queue system in place and he'd have to join it. He started about his taxi again and I didn't get a chance to respond as the man behind the counter shouted out that there was a queue, regardless of personal circumstances.

I was dying to ask what sort of dole he was collecting that he could get a taxi to collect it, and even have it waiting outside for him.

Meh

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,181 ✭✭✭LouOB

Inconsiderate and rude IMO
    If I only have to pay for pertol I WAIT MY TURN

People should of spoken out - as she will do the same again elsewhere
    If I was in the queue I would of given her a piece of my mind (err in my head and just give her the evils the whole time)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,082 ✭✭✭✭chopperbyrne

I used to work in a petrol station and when people did that I made them queue.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

[obligatory ska reference]Ah Jaysus I love their music[/obligatory ska reference]

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,561 ✭✭✭Duff

You should have stopped on her way back out, gave her a swift kick to the landing gear and then sent her on her merry way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,919 ✭✭✭Schism

rude people are the worst... they should be shot

And next for execution we have, Mr. Smith.

What has Mr. Smith done?

He drank right out of the orange juice carton....

The dastard, shoot him!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,832 ✭✭✭CountingCrows

A woman comes into the shop after me and marches straight by everyone and lobbed a 20 euro note at the cashier

I think the question we all want answered is... how hot was she?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,789 ✭✭✭Caoimhín

In fairness, i spent nearly 15 minutes stuck behind some auld coffin dodger yesterday while she changed her mind 50 times and then paid out of coppers. I just wanted the newspaper so i left €2 on the counter and walked off.
    There are times that que jumping is acceptable.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

If she's a local and the owner trusts her to give the right money then there's nothing wrong with it. If there's any problem she'll be in later in the day. Tis the way of the country.

Maynooth eh, count yourself lucky she didn't throw down a half dozen spuds and a chicken

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,193 ✭✭✭Turd Ferguson

You should have took her car reg and reported the car stolen and say the theif is armed and very dangerous

• Closed Accounts Posts: 228 ✭✭omyatari

id just tell her to get in line like everyone else.
    dont care if she was the pope...

omyatari wrote: »

The Pope can't be a women, can't have the Pope going banana's once a month

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,789 ✭✭✭Caoimhín

omyatari wrote: »

Cant be a female Pope.

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 35,945 Mod ✭✭✭✭dr.bollocko

Sher she has the exact money required and is not awaiting a service, just someone to take money off of her.
    Too right IMO.
    **** the money at them. Shove it right down their nose if they say no.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,243 ✭✭✭kelle

What's wrong with that, if she had the exact money?

I've often done that, if I have a child in the car.

If I was paying by Laser or required change, I wouldn't.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,062 ✭✭✭cjt156

connundrum wrote: »
    A guy pushed passed everyone to the front of the queue and said to the woman at the top that he was collecting his dole and there was a taxi waiting on him outside.

I was dying to ask what sort of dole he was collecting that he could get a taxi to collect it, and even have it waiting outside for him.

Meh

That was me ya fecker! I had to make a stop at the off-licence on the way back to the bookies & I ended up missing the start of the 3:20 FFS!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,058 ✭✭✭✭Abi

Am I the only one that uses the fûcking drawer?

Oh thats right. There some people who like the one to one interaction with the cashier. Or the ones that do nearly and entire weekly shop, or have a roll made up while their car is still the pump with 6 others waiting behind it.

But dont worry, I undertand.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,820 ✭✭✭Femelade

I was once queuing in smyths..i was waiting a while and the girl as the counter had to go and get something for the customer ahead of me, then a man joined the queue behind me. Then another till opened and they guy behind it said "next please" so i though "oh thats me" and i started to go to him, but the f*cker behind me got their first,
    he said "NEXT PLEASE"...I WAS NEXT!!!!!!
    He was a man in his 60's, i thought he would have had better manners at that age.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,432 ✭✭✭big b

Down with rudeness, self-importance & Q-jumping :P

it starts off with just 1 person with a €20 note, then it's someone with a tenner, a fiver & a handful of coins, then it's the people in the queue who think "if it's ok for her to do that....." & q-jump

before you know it, the queue is stuck while the cashier sorts out the cash that's been lobbed at them, cancels the pump alerts, maybe finds out they've been bumped for a tenner.....end result, people who queued held up for longer by arrogant gob****es.
    If you're in that much of a f*cking rush, you should've bought your petrol some other time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,012 ✭✭✭✭Cuddlesworth

Abigayle wrote: »
    Am I the only one that uses the fûcking drawer?

Drawer?

You should of followed her out the door and then got into the backseat of her car, wait until the right moment and pop up and scare the **** out of her. ha.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,316 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

If I was 2nd in the line, I would have told her to "get the fúck back to the end of the fúcking queue". Have done so in the past.

You should of followed her out the door and then got into the backseat of her car, wait until the right moment and pop up and scare the **** out of her. ha.

HAVE

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,058 ✭✭✭✭Abi

Drawer?

:(

theres my answer..

* Place exact amount in drawer.
    * Tell cashier €20 in 4
    *Drive off

Anyone... ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,102 ✭✭✭RossFixxxed

I'm dreadful for 'queue rage' (I'm sure it exists). Some stupid plank stepping out of line ruins the whole bloody thing and they should have their head stuck in the door of the car, slam it shut, burn the fookin car with their kids in it so another generation of self obsessed little fookers can't go around barging me out of their way.....

Right.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 747 ✭✭✭WillieCocker

OP, i'm not surprised at all to hear this.
    Or surprised to hear it was a woman.
    What does shock me is that no-one said anything.
    I would expect a " Hee-ore, back of the queue ye stupit bitch" from at least one person.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,987 ✭✭✭ottostreet

used to work in a petrol station too. didnt have a problem with it. if i had two or three people waiting with groceries, great that a pump is paid off simultaneously.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,432 ✭✭✭big b

Femelade wrote: »
    HAVE
    I was once queuing in smyths..i was waiting a while and the girl as the counter had to go and get something for the customer ahead of me, then a man joined the queue behind me. Then another till opened and they guy behind it said "next please" so i though "oh thats me" and i started to go to him, but the f*cker behind me got their first,
    He was a man in his 60's, i thought he would have had better manners at that age.

facepalm much? :pac:

big b wrote: »
    facepalm much? :pac:

Lol - and don't forget the 'they' mistake. Come now femmedom surely you have better things to do than correct grammar mistakes.

I don't actually...
    People putting/saying "OF" instead of "have" is very annoying..
    It makes NO sense whatsoever...

and its Femelade..not Femmedom.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,370 ✭✭✭✭GreeBo

same thing happened me while queueing in DUB airport for an air france flight. The business class desk was empty so he said next please and random people ran from one queue to the next. He started to server them but some AF lady went up and said, no, there is still only one queue wait until you are called. I thought it was sweet until we actually got to France and experienced the European queue system. :mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,185 ✭✭✭asdasd

if cashiers come in and out of service the shop or office needs to have a system. not a line at each cashier, but a place futher back where a sign says "Queue here". It can snake around for larger queues.

We've all seen that. We know it works.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,986 ✭✭✭Red Hand

asdasd wrote: »
    if cashiers come in and out of service the shop or office needs to have a system. not a line at each cashier, but a place futher back where a sign says "Queue here". It can snake around for larger queues.

We've all seen that. We know it works.

Your concept is alien to me.

I shall need schematic drawings.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,185 ✭✭✭asdasd

|_| |_| |_|

....Q__________
    ....xxxxxxx

[_] = cashier
    Q = sign:" queue here"
    x = people.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 732 ✭✭✭scarymoon1

I was in portlaoise queing to pay petrol and this black woman ( im not being racist) barges past me, bumps into me and doesn't even apologise and she then skips the queue. i just stared at the b***h is disbelief. say anything to her and i would be accused of being racist!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,534 ✭✭✭SV

scarymoon1 wrote: »
    I was in portlaoise queing to pay petrol and this black woman ( im not being racist) barges past me, bumps into me and doesn't even apologise and she then skips the queue. i just stared at the b***h is disbelief. say anything to her and i would be accused of being racist!

I hate when people won't say anything to non nationals for the sole reason of being afraid they're going to call you racist.

If someone is being a tool then say it to them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 732 ✭✭✭scarymoon1

if i had said anything to her i wouldnt be here to tell the story. She was about 6 foot and i could have parked my car on her fat ass!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,072 ✭✭✭marcsignal

A woman comes into the shop after me and marches straight by everyone and lobbed a 20 euro note at the cashier.

You: "Excuse me, I think you lost something there" *pointing behind you*

Woman: "really?"

You: "Yes, your place in the fucking Q"

end of problem :cool: