Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Conor Mortimer & Kevin Reilly attacked

• 23-04-2009 8:47am
    Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators, Regional West Moderators Posts: 16,724 Mod ✭✭✭✭

Any idea how bad they were beaten and what injuries they got? Bit strange the 2 of them got attacked.

"Conor Mortimer was one of two prominent GAA players who were attacked last Tuesday evening in Dublin. It’s believed that Conor and Meath full back Kevin Reilly were attacked by a gang after they had left a shop in the Ballymun area of Dublin. Both required hospital treatment.

Conor was released from hospital on Tuesday night, however Kevin Reilly was detained for treatment on an eye injury."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 983 ✭✭✭Frogdog

Source?

• Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators, Regional West Moderators Posts: 16,724 Mod ✭✭✭✭yop

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,908 ✭✭✭Daysha

Weird. This happened right out by me in DCU, but this is the first I heard of it. Hopefully they're not too bad. Mortimer is carrying an injury at the moment thought isn't he?

Just to go oh-so-slightly off topic for a moment, Mortimer ran for President of the Student Union here a few weeks ago and got quite destroyed in the votes. Just thought I'd share that :)

• Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators, Regional West Moderators Posts: 16,724 Mod ✭✭✭✭yop

Lol, I knew he was going for the president!! How bad was his vote ;)

yop wrote: »
    Lol, I knew he was going for the president!! How bad was his vote ;)

It wasn't actually too bad now that I've double checked. He managed 447, with the two other candidates getting 611 and 871. No doubt the majority of his votes were from "gahheads" though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 75 ✭✭d6

scumbags thinking they were doing it for 'the hill' reilly is a big fella so i expect there was a few of them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,729 ✭✭✭Pride Fighter

d6 wrote: »
    scumbags thinking they were doing it for 'the hill' reilly is a big fella so i expect there was a few of them.

Nothing to do with it. It is common knowledge not to walk around Ballymun late at night. They just dont have the street smarts regarding Dublin.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,706 ✭✭✭premierstone

Nothing to do with it. It is common knowledge not to walk around Ballymun late at night. They just dont have the street smarts regarding Dublin.

Now see Pride if a non-dub posted that you would be on here screaming blue murder about anti-dublin bias and what not, double standards how are you :mad:

Well I dont know the bad areas of Cork, so in theory I could be attacked in one. But Ballymun is as bad if not worse than those places in Limerick we all hear about.

I dont think my fellow Dubs would be talking about anti-Dub bias if lets say a Dublin minor attending UL was attacked in Moyross or Southill. These things happen. They should have went to UCD, that is what I'll say. Going to University in the Northside is always dodgy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,307 ✭✭✭cruiserweight

Well I dont know the bad areas of Cork, so in theory I could be attacked in one. But Ballymun is as bad if not worse than those places in Limerick we all hear about.

I dont think my fellow Dubs would be talking about anti-Dub bias if lets say a Dublin minor attending UL was attacked in Moyross or Southill. These things happen. They should have went to UCD, that is what I'll say. Going to University in the Northside is always dodgy.

Well plenty of stereotypes and generalisations in your posts there

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,798 ✭✭✭✭keane2097

I like to think this post is tongue in cheek, otherwise I weep for humanity...

keane2097 wrote: »
    I like to think this post is tongue in cheek, otherwise I weep for humanity...

They are a bit. But I'll leave it up to everyone's imagination which bts are:D:D

I've been in DCU for a year now and I've never had a single problem with stuff like this, ever. Granted I haven't been to the rough parts of Ballymun (and I've no intention to) but since when is DCU located in the heart of Ballymun?

DCU is just as good or bad as any other college in the country when it comes to anti-social behaviour imo.

Sorry for going off topic, but that needed to be said.

.....and now I've just seen Prides most recent post.

:o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,100 ✭✭✭Browney7

Problem with that arguement is that a UL student would never find him/herself near these areas. LIT is a different story though and you never hear of any attacks on Joe Canning et al. Apologies for going off topic.

A deplorable act though all the same. Was it a random act of violence or was it because the assailants knew they were GAA heads from outside Dublin??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,845 ✭✭✭2Scoops

Daysha wrote: »
    It wasn't actually too bad now that I've double checked. He managed 447, with the two other candidates getting 611 and 871. No doubt the majority of his votes were from "gahheads" though.

As opposed to the 'SU heads' that voted in the others? :pac:

2Scoops wrote: »
    As opposed to the 'SU heads' that voted in the others? :pac:

No no, just the people who....y'know....aren't insane :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11 haus

It happened in daylight outside the slipper, "Matt Weldons" across the road from DCU on the ballymun rd. Him and his mate pissed off some of the locals and didn't get away with it this time. Bout time tbh, he might not walk around thinking he's gods gift now

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,494 ✭✭✭ronbyrne2005

haus wrote: »
    It happened in daylight outside the slipper, "Matt Weldons" across the road from DCU on the ballymun rd. Him and his mate pissed off some of the locals and didn't get away with it this time. Bout time tbh, he might not walk around thinking he's gods gift now

Stumbled on this thread. Was cycling past Londis there beside DCU last Tuesday, lovely sunny day and was suprised to see a student i didnt recognise(not a big GAA man) with nasty eye injury standing outside Matt Weldons pub with a few girls that were with him acting hysterically. Looked like they were on an early drinking session but couldnt be sure. Two female gardai arrived on scene very quickly. Students arent well welcomed in that place and you get scumbags from worse areas drinking there. The pub aint in Ballymun and I've never seen such an incident in 15 years living near and attending DCU.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,256 ✭✭✭LeoB

I hope both of the lads are ok. I have heard some locals are pretty cheesed off at the way some of the students behave and they aint all Dubs going there..

d6. What crap to post doing it for the hill.
    Are ya sure you are from Dublin? Anyone who knows the hill will know most of the lads and lassies who go there are out for a bit of crack and there is actually not a lot of troublemakers there. There does be some great banter especially when some opposition supporters are there. But there are a certain element who go to sports in this country to cause trouble whether its soccer or G.A.A.
    If you actually read the papers you will see every week end in every corner of this country people are badly beaten up, mamed or end up dead as result of an attack. So your comment for the hill is unwarrented in my opinion

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,397 ✭✭✭yahoo_moe

Students arent well welcomed in that place
    Really? I went to DCU for three years and while we didn't go there a lot, there never seemed to be any issue with being there or any threat of trouble starting...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 990 ✭✭✭Qprmeath

There was an article in the Meath Weekender last week where Reilly was quoted as saying the attack never happened at all. He has marks on his face though so who is telling the truth?