Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Rennault Clio

• 23-04-2009 4:39am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 177 ✭✭

what are peoples experiences with the Rennault Clio,
    are they reliable?
    i found a review where they came out prety good!! alot better than the vw polo
    http://www.cbg.ie/reader_reviews/UserReviewsSummary.aspx?modelid=227

i need something cheep to tax & insure.. (hence why i am looking at 1.2)
    but more importantly i need something reliable!! that will see me through a good few years,

i'd be looking at 00-02 with a budget of E3000 ish

thanks

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,700 ✭✭✭✭holly1

Ibought mine in 06 new,havent had a bit of a problem with it.I love my little car!!!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 220 ✭✭garyegt

a clio is french and should be avoided due to its frenchness. trust me ive had a 206, and my sister had a clio, no matter what ya fix 1 thing and next thing will go in like a month.

if ya can spend 3 grand, dare i say it, go for a micra. theyre jap so therefore good. these cars, as much as i hate the very sight of them i cant reccomend enough for their reliability. other things like starlets etc are also a good starter but you'd kinda have that tad bit higher insurance due to the boyracer following for them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 220 ✭✭garyegt

oh and as for polos as ive just noticed in your post, again avoid. i got a friend who drives like a complete granny, never going over2k revs and the gearbox lost 5th gear. i know another guy who his gearbox fell out all over the road:p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,712 ✭✭✭✭R.O.R

The missus had 2 Clios - 98 & 01, so about 6 years altogether. Only problem she had with one was, for some reason the speedo went totally haywire for 2 days. Doing about 30mph along a back road with the speedo reading 90+. Fixed itself and never any further issues.

French cars are much maligned, quite often with good reason for the larger cars, but they do tend to do the super minis quite well.

Check the timing belt has been changed on the 1.2. Should be done after 5 or 6 years even if it's low mileage.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,822 ✭✭✭✭EPM

garyegt wrote: »
    a clio is french and should be avoided due to its frenchness

Stupid ill-informed post

The Clio is one of the most reliable French cars, and at least on a par with most supermini's.

Sister had one and it stood up well to the abUse she gave it (and trust me, she's bloody lethal)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,181 ✭✭✭Davidth88

Glad to hear good things about the Clio, just purchased one !

I had a 95 model before , nice little run around to be honest , until the timing belt went .....my own fault I should have checked the service intervals

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,763 ✭✭✭Muckie

Mrs has a Clio, nice little motor, 99 model cost €1700 cash.

Had it 8months no problem, timing belt was done and had a new nct

before we bought it, avoid the models with a sun roof, heard they

have alot of electrical problems. Fine little car, nice to drive and easy

on the petrol.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,534 ✭✭✭SV

a clio is french and should be avoided due to its frenchness.

if ya can spend 3 grand, dare i say it, go for a micra. theyre jap so therefore good.

Seriously?
    Do you have even the slightest clue of what you're talking about or do you just listen to other (uninformed) people?
    what exactly went wrong with you sisters clio? I had mine for 2 years, did 26k in it and the only thing that went wrong was the accelerator cable snapped(which was replaced for free by Renault)

The only thing wrong with Renault is the stupid money they charge for servicing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,181 ✭✭✭Davidth88

did 26k in it and the only thing that went wrong was the accelerator cable snapped(which was replaced for free by Renault)

Thats interesting , the same thing happened to my 95 one, it frayed , so driving up the M50 one night the car had a mind of its own and suddenly it was like it was on full gas......

Wierd never seen it on any other car I have ever owned , or heard about it from anyone else

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,502 ✭✭✭Zube

theyre jap so therefore good.

It used to irritate me when people spouted this nonsense, but not any more. After all, these morons presumably drive Micras, Yarisses, Tiidas, Aurisses and Avensissesses themselves, so they are punished enough.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,822 ✭✭✭✭EPM

Zube wrote: »
    It used to irritate me when people spouted this nonsense, but not any more. After all, these morons presumably drive Micras, Yarisses, Tiidas, Aurisses and Avensissesses themselves, so they are punished enough.

lol:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 594 ✭✭✭eden_my_ass

Own(ed) 3 Clios, 98,99 and 04....all got tens of thousands of miles put on them without any exceptional faults, the odd blown bulb, only garage trips were a regular servicing, couldn't recommend them enough!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,817 ✭✭✭Stevie Dakota

Clio is one of the loved, reliable Renaults, even dealers like them!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 70 ✭✭CarCity

Had a 1.2 from 2002 to last week (!) Put 60k miles on it. Never one problem. Serviced it every 10k miles religiously, nothing major ever needed to be done. Service costs were about 250 - 300.

The 16v one has a nice bit of a push in it for a 1.2l

Smashing car actually.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,520 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

Clio is the exception to the rule as far as my experiences with French cars goes. Anyone who slags them off because they're a Renault doesn't know their stuff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,247 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

SV wrote: »

The only thing wrong with Renault is the stupid money they charge for servicing.

Surely no one spending €3k on a car is using a main dealer for serviceing?

First 2 or 3 on a brand new car maybe but not after that.

My Clio I bought new in 200 is still running nicely as my mothers car.

Avensissesses .

Avensii.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,008 ✭✭✭rabbitinlights

Great cars, I'm seriously contemplating a 2002 Clio Sport 172 Cup....... unbelievable craic to drive. 6.8 seconds 0-62......

Even the 1.2 16v are nippy.

S.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,657 ✭✭✭✭road_high

Reading the latest Auto Express driver satisfaction survey in the UK and the Auris is WAY down the list :D. And not surprised, it looks rubbish.
    I too hate all those "teacher cars" you mention (except maybe the Avensis). They are designed solely for people who never take a bloody risk....look at the way they generally drive out on the road. More often that not the slow couch in front hogging the white line is a some moron in an Almera/Note/Micra/Yaris/Corrolla.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 239 ✭✭Old Gill

Ive a 05 clio and just recently when I indicate it also puts on the dashboard light for the rear fog light. Also when i push on the brake the dashboard indicator light comes on..confusing when i have to barke and indicate at same time as looks liek i have hazards on..does anyone know what may be the problem, is it serious and is it easily fixed?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 70 ✭✭CarCity

Old Gill wrote: »
    Ive a 05 clio and just recently when I indicate it also puts on the dashboard light for the rear fog light. Also when i push on the brake the dashboard indicator light comes on..confusing when i have to barke and indicate at same time as looks liek i have hazards on..does anyone know what may be the problem, is it serious and is it easily fixed?

Just the onboard computer chip I would think, can be replaced easily enough.

My airbag light would not switch off for some reason so was recommended to get a new chip.

could be a leak in your rear light cluster or damage to the wiring for it. could also be a wiring plug for a towbar causing it if you have one fitted.

colm_mcm wrote: »
    could be a leak in your rear light cluster or damage to the wiring for it. could also be a wiring plug for a towbar causing it if you have one fitted.

I'd go with the rear light cluster. The last Scenic the missus had was acting like that. When you brake it would flash up the fog light indicator. The brake lights stuck on too. I changed the bulb holder and then ended up cutting the cables with the block connector and wiring a new one.. Nothign worked. Turned out to be cheap halfords brake bulbs. Changed to a branded one and the problem went away . Go figure.

CarCity wrote: »
    Just the onboard computer chip I would think, can be replaced easily enough.

My airbag light would not switch off for some reason so was recommended to get a new chip.

is this the fuse? I knopw how to change those but not much else

Stekelly wrote: »
    I'd go with the rear light cluster. The last Scenic the missus had was acting like that. When you brake it would flash up the fog light indicator. The brake lights stuck on too. I changed the bulb holder and then ended up cutting the cables with the block connector and wiring a new one.. Nothign worked. Turned out to be cheap halfords brake bulbs. Changed to a branded one and the problem went away . Go figure.

how much would a mechanic in dublin charge to fix this do you think?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,502 ✭✭✭Zube

Stekelly wrote: »
    I'd go with the rear light cluster.

I haven't noticed this with Clios, but about every third Megane or Scenic has earth problems: indicate and the brakes flash, brake and indicate together and all the rear lights grey out.

is it a big job to fix earth problems?

Not at all. You just need to find the earth points (It'll be to doby work) then undo them, clean with steel wool or the like and reattach, maing sure of a clean contact, no rust etc. A Haynes manual will tell you the earth points if you cant find them. The lads here should be able to tell you fairly quickly too : Renault Owners Forum

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,663 ✭✭✭stealthyspeeder

Great cars, I'm seriously contemplating a 2002 Clio Sport 172 Cup....... unbelievable craic to drive. 6.8 seconds 0-62......

Even the 1.2 16v are nippy.

S.

Do it! my flat mate has one, remapped with an K&N air filter and bigger exhaust, it is a rocket and handles really well, he's getting to 60 in 6.2 (with worn tyres!) I dont think you can get more bang for buck in at that price level.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,822 ✭✭✭✭galwaytt

Do it! my flat mate has one.........he's getting to 60 in 6.2 (with worn tyres!) I dont think you can get more bang for buck in at that price level.

ohmisungod :rolleyes:

I've just looked up the stats on my 968. 0-60 in 5.6 (manual) or 7.7 (Tip). I think I've been sold a lemon !! :D:D Who do I write to ??

watchdrama8jm.gifwatchdrama8jm.gif

Ode To The Motorist

“And my existence, while grotesque and incomprehensible to you, generates funds to the exchequer. You don't want to acknowledge that as truth because, deep down in places you don't talk about at the Green Party, you want me on that road, you need me on that road. We use words like freedom, enjoyment, sport and community. We use these words as the backbone of a life spent instilling those values in our families and loved ones. You use them as a punch line. I have neither the time nor the inclination to explain myself to a man who rises and sleeps under the tax revenue and the very freedom to spend it that I provide, and then questions the manner in which I provide it. I would rather you just said "thank you" and went on your way. Otherwise I suggest you pick up a bus pass and get the ********* ********* off the road” 

galwaytt wrote: »
    ohmisungod :rolleyes:

I've just looked up the stats on my 968. 0-60 in 5.6 (manual) or 7.7 (Tip). I think I've been sold a lemon !! :D:D Who do I write to ??

watchdrama8jm.gifwatchdrama8jm.gif

dont get you? 968 is quite a bit more expensive than a 172 Cup

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,822 ✭✭✭✭galwaytt

dont get you? 968 is quite a bit more expensive than a 172 Cup

who's talking about a 172 Cup ? OP has a '00 1.2, so how you get that to 60 in 6.2 is what I'm dying to find out ....

Ode To The Motorist

“And my existence, while grotesque and incomprehensible to you, generates funds to the exchequer. You don't want to acknowledge that as truth because, deep down in places you don't talk about at the Green Party, you want me on that road, you need me on that road. We use words like freedom, enjoyment, sport and community. We use these words as the backbone of a life spent instilling those values in our families and loved ones. You use them as a punch line. I have neither the time nor the inclination to explain myself to a man who rises and sleeps under the tax revenue and the very freedom to spend it that I provide, and then questions the manner in which I provide it. I would rather you just said "thank you" and went on your way. Otherwise I suggest you pick up a bus pass and get the ********* ********* off the road” 

galwaytt wrote: »
    who's talking about a 172 Cup ?

Me! in reponse to rabbitinthelights post which I quoted and highlighted 172 cup in bold!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 177 ✭✭kueef

thanks, o they seem pretty spot on!
    ive seen 1 i like so might test drive it.

how often should the timing belt be done?

Timing belt = 72,000 miles on the 1.2 as far as I know.

Some people change them earlier because tensioners/water pump could go earlier than 72k.

thanks im looking at one with about 40k

what do you recommend for oil change?

I think the interval is 18,000 miles on these (I may stand corrected).

Even at 40k, the car is probably 6 or 7 years old?
    For peace of mind I'd be looking for a new belt and water pump on it regardless of the mileage.

thanks, ya its 7 years old.
    is this expensive to do?
    about how much?
    thanks