Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Opinions please

• 22-04-2009 9:07pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 20

Our club captain and vice captain , went to play soccer when our club had a big league match against a team that has beaten us every game this past five years. We won without them.

Action has been taken which i will post later and ask opinions on it.

This year we were beaten once in 10 games, in different comps and are really up for every match and already in a final.

What action would you take against these players if any ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,584 ✭✭✭PCPhoto

no action - they are not being paid so dont have to turn up at any point - they play for the team because they love the game ...on this occasion they chose a different game.... their choice, they owe you nothing why should they be punished.

will the club pay them if they turn down overtime or extra work to goto training ? I doubt it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,754 ✭✭✭oldyouth

Sorry, I don't see what the problem is. He didn't show up and another player got his chance

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,729 ✭✭✭Pride Fighter

Soccer is a great game, so what if your club captain and vice captain played it. If they are fit enough to play two codes fair play to them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,307 ✭✭✭cruiserweight

Soccer is a great game, so what if your club captain and vice captain played it. If they are fit enough to play two codes fair play to them.

The problem here seems to be that they missed an important game, putting another team ahead of the GAA team, it is irrelevant that it is soccer.

Did these guys just not turn up or did they tell someone in advance?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20 norbatious

THey were asked to go to the gaa match but refused, this is our captain and vice captain, the guys we choose to lead our team by example and to advise and bring on the younger players, obviously we made the wrong choice.
    There is no one in our club that is against soccer or any other sport, its about been given the chance to lead our club to success, we have players that captained the county team that have as yet not captained the club.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,729 ✭✭✭Pride Fighter

The problem here seems to be that they missed an important game, putting another team ahead of the GAA team, it is irrelevant that it is soccer.

Did these guys just not turn up or did they tell someone in advance?

I understand that bit, but I am sure the people in question were devastated they had to make such a hard choice. Was the Soccer game important OP?

If they were to punish them taking the captaincy and vice captiancy off them would be fair. But as long as they continue showing up to training they should not be dropped from the panel, that would be a retrograde step in the extreme.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,789 ✭✭✭✭keane2097

norbatious wrote: »
    THey were asked to go to the gaa match but refused, this is our captain and vice captain, the guys we choose to lead our team by example and to advise and bring on the younger players, obviously we made the wrong choice.
    There is no one in our club that is against soccer or any other sport, its about been given the chance to lead our club to success, we have players that captained the county team that have as yet not captained the club.

Clearly they should be removed from the captaincy and vice-captaincy, since these are positions requiring more dedication than has been shown.

The fact that they freely chose to go and play a different game, essentially abandoning the club before an important game, should be reflected in team selection in future.

Both players' place on the team should be given to the players who stepped into the breach when they missed the game, and for them to reclaim the spot they should need to perform extremely well in training, showing motivation and dedication enough to warrant their places.

They shouldn't be "punished" in any way other than that though, they're definitely entitled to choose what's the most important thing to them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 370 ✭✭ccosgrave

Stripping them of their captaincy and vice-captaincy might not be a big issue - I could understand a manager doing that. Anything more than that is just wrong, in my opinion.

The two lads have probably been playing soccer since August or September. The club wants them to drop a commitment they've had since then, which I think is a bit unfair. If they've been training hard for seven or eight months, then it seems reasonable for them to finish the season, rather than switch priorities once the GAA season comes around.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,307 ✭✭✭cruiserweight

I understand that bit, but I am sure the people in question were devastated they had to make such a hard choice. Was the Soccer game important OP?

If they were to punish them taking the captaincy and vice captiancy off them would be fair. But as long as they continue showing up to training they should not be dropped from the panel, that would be a retrograde step in the extreme.

But they have made their choice. It cannot do anything for team morale and squad unity, if these guys set this sort of example for everybody else. While the guys in question decided to do what was best for them, the team mentors, other players have to do what is best for the team. I am guessing if these guys are captain and vice captain that they are pretty good players, so the chances of them being dropped altogether is very slim

They were stripped of there captaincy etc, not by the mentors but by the club committee, who after all runs the club they were choosen to represent, no further action , but of course both have resigned.

Were they right to resign from the team or just been childish and immature?

Maybe a bad choice in the first place.

ccosgrave makes a valid point that if their commitments to the soccer team predate the football commitments they were right to stick with that until the soccer season ends.

Still, you do want your leaders to be people who are singularly dedicated to the cause so imo they were bad choices in the first place.

Them resigning is unfortunate - I don't see why they would feel the need to do so?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 260 ✭✭portumna

They were stripped of there captaincy etc, not by the mentors but by the club committee, who after all runs the club they were choosen to represent, no further action , but of course both have resigned.

That's just being selfish and you don't need people with attitudes like that around your team. With them being Captain/Vice-captain they should have played the Gaa match. And once they missed it they should have accepted their punishment for the good of the team but obviously they are only looking after themselves and don't care for the team or club.

I'm sure they'll be missed and will taint the rest of the season but it ultimately was their decision to skip the match and step down from the team.

I hope ye win your final and the championship without them and then they'll be as sick as parrots that they chose the wrong option.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,706 ✭✭✭premierstone

OP I think a more prevelant question here is who picked these particular players as captain and vice captain? Sounds to me like they may as well have picked their names out of a hat, because they havent shown any qualities that I would like in my club captain.

Premierstone, the selectors picked them,great players without a doubt, but the feeling of the committee and some players that speakout is they let us down even do we won the match , with players and subs from our weak 2nd string.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 75 ✭✭d6

I have no objections to players playing both codes but if you are the club captain he should be loyal the that team first. This is theplayer the team will look to for a bit of inspiration if the team is against the ropes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,706 ✭✭✭premierstone

Premierstone, the selectors picked them,great players without a doubt, but the feeling of the committee and some players that speakout is they let us down even do we won the match , with players and subs from our weak 2nd string.

Is it likely that they were picked in the hope it would sway them towards the GAA if so it wasnt a very fair on the other lads who i assume are 100% commited to the Gaelic team?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 253 ✭✭Marse

The Captain and vice captain, made a decision to put something other sport first. If they both had family or work commitments I could understand. But by playing another sport they were showing a lack of commitment to the team. The 2nd sport will always be their first priority. This is of no use to any team.

The club was right to strip them of the roles as captain and VC, they should also stayed dropped from the team as the guys that played in their place won the game and therefore earned their right to the position for the next game.

Going forward they should have welcomed back into the squad, but they would have to earn their place and not just with ability but by showing commitment too.

From their reaction to the punishment, the team is better off without them. It would have only been a matter of time before the same sort of situation occurred again.
    I’m sure a lot of guys in the squad would be annoyed if these two guys were given licenses to ride roughshod over the rest of the squads efforts and sacrifices again.

Marse wrote: »
    From their reaction to the punishment, the team is better off without them. It would have only been a matter of time before the same sort of situation occurred again.

I can't imagine that it was as simple as them being told "We're going to have to take the captaincies off ye" and they just walked after that.

I'd like to know the exact circumstances in which this happened before I'd judge the players' decision to not play anymore.

I could easily imagine fire and brimstone board members laying into the players making it difficult to carry on playing tbh...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 253 ✭✭Marse

keane2097 wrote: »
    I can't imagine that it was as simple as them being told "We're going to have to take the captaincies off ye" and they just walked after that.

I'd like to know the exact circumstances in which this happened before I'd judge the players' decision to not play anymore.

I could easily imagine fire and brimstone board members laying into the players making it difficult to carry on playing tbh...

I hope it wasn’t as simple as them being told their were being stripped of the C and VC roles. They accepted the jobs and the responsibility that goes along with it, as leaders and roles models. Players for the rest of the team to aim for, in terms of effort and commitment. When they had a chance to show the squad the level of their commitment they showed, they were more so to another sport.
    If they were more interested in another sport, they should have informed management of that fact. As they were made C and VC doubt they did.

They mislead management and let down the team.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 60 ✭✭theram

Our club captain and vice captain , went to play soccer when our club had a big league match against a team that has beaten us every game this past five years. We won without them.

Action has been taken which i will post later and ask opinions on it.

This year we were beaten once in 10 games, in different comps and are really up for every match and already in a final.

What action would you take against these players if any ?

They have to be stripped of the captaincys, that should do it, perhaps dropping them also for one game.

Very childish to resign, but thats their choice. Make one attempt to get them back, and then be done with them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 380 ✭✭future_plans

"Superstar Syndrome" - every club/team has them. Captains and vice captains need to lead by example. You can't stop players going playing other codes if matches clash. You just have to make sure that the spirit in the squad is strong enough to make everybody choose your sport. You will always get some who will always choose soccer or rugby or something else. These lads shouldn't be captains/vice though. They should certainly lose those titles. Think of the lads who may not be as good, but are there week in, week out. They are the heartbeat of the team.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,492 ✭✭✭MementoMori

OP - you say club captain and vice-captain : I presume you mean these are senior players and not underage? Also it might help if we had some general idea of their age - are they 18/19 24/25 28/29?

Sounds like initially a pretty poor decision to award them captaincy and vice-captaincy. Did the players in question want the roles assigned to them?
    Why were they given these roles?

After they made the decision to play in the soccer match, there was no option but to strip them of their roles. Don't think this should have been done by the committee but by the team management/selectors.

Should have been explained to them that dedication and loyalty to the team were what's required from them in this role and they blatantly didn't show this. Should have been punished by dropping them for one game in the interest of fairness.

The players in question showed extremely poor judgement in playing soccer
    when they had these roles.

I don't think it makes that much of a difference that it was soccer they were playing - if it was basketball, rowing or whatever I would be calling for exactly the same sanctions.

They decision to resign was childish and immature. That would be the main reason I was asking about their ages.

Bad situation all around really.

Who picks the C and VC by the way? Players or management? Seems like an odd choice to put these two in there if they seemd capable of doing this sort of thing.