Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Anybody doing the comeragh spin tomorrow

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 254 ✭✭henboy

Ah go on then I'll be the first. Henboy is giving this a shot:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,453 ✭✭✭showry

There's a bunch of us heading down from Dungarvan early, we'll meet it and go back as far as Dungarvan.

• Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 9,090 Mod ✭✭✭✭Aquos76

There are a few of us from Sportif Waterford CC doing it also some are doing the 50km and others the 100km, We are meeting at woodies at 9am and heading out to the sign in from there.

Fair play to all involved in the organising of this event. It went off exceptionally well, especially with the weather we had. As far as I could tell there were over 100 riders out this morning. The 100km set off first at about 10.15 and headed towards Dungarven along the coast road, the pace was controlled and was nice and comfortable in and around the 23 to 25km while keeping the group together all the way along. When we reached Dungarven there was plenty of sandwiches,cakes, choc biscuits and drinks waiting for us. From there we took the main road back in to Waterford where there was a noticeable increase in speed on the last 10km. The comeragh boys were just teasing us up to that point.;)

All in all it was a great spin and again thanks to all involved.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 274 ✭✭Deisetrek

Aquos76 wrote: »
    Fair play to all involved in the organising of this event. It went off exceptionally well, especially with the weather we had. As far as I could tell there were over 100 riders out this morning. The 100km set off first at about 10.15 and headed towards Dungarven along the coast road, the pace was controlled and was nice and comfortable in and around the 23 to 25km while keeping the group together all the way along. When we reached Dungarven there was plenty of sandwiches,cakes, choc biscuits and drinks waiting for us. From there we took the main road back in to Waterford where there was a noticeable increase in speed on the last 10km. The comeragh boys were just teasing us up to that point.;)

All in all it was a great spin and again thanks to all involved.

Just like to echo Aquos's thoughts , absolutely loved that spin , well organised , the ladies can take a bow , excellent stewarding throughout and for a leisure cyclist like myself it was a great experience cycling with lads (and lassies) who are into the whole club cycling thing . Weather was beautiful all the way to dungarvan and back ...we truly are blessed with wonderful scenery down here in the Deise , sometimes we don't appreciate what's on our own doorstep enough ..........again thanks again to the Comeragh CC for a great day out

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,201 ✭✭✭Quigs Snr

See, Comeragh can do Leisure too. And to think ye all doubted me !

We put a leash on our riders who were well behaved right to the end, a minor bit of half hearted horse play that no-one was interested in really aside.

Very nice spin this morning. 132 signed on, about 100 did the 100k, 30 or so did the 50k, great weather, couldn't get through all the cakes at the finish, did my level best but had to admit defeat after one too many buns. Pace controlled pretty much all the way to the finish keeping 2 cars out front at all times... We even had a police escort for the last few miles (a bike mounted Police Escort)

Many thanks on behalf of Comeragh to all the riders from Waterford Sportif Club, Dungarvan CC, Slaney CC, Barrow Wheelers, Fermoy CC, Waterford Tri Club, Carrick Tri Club, Wheelworx Tri Club etc.... I would miss too many trying to list them all. Hoping to get some pics and video footage on the Comeragh Site tomorrow evening.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 254 ✭✭henboy

Great Day---I was going to do the 50k but decided to do the 100. Thanks to everyone at Comeragh CC. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,261 ✭✭✭Junior

Well done lads, I had to head to my nephews birthday party in Killkenny otherwise I would have popped along, I met the dungarvan lads heading down as I was heading out this morning on my spin, and a good group passed up by the house just as we were leaving, aroudn 12.30 ish, could have swore one of them sounded very much like Ciaran Power, thought he would have been with the longer ride ...

It sure was Ciaran Power, He led out the 50km group and then he headed out to meet the 100km group when they finished the shorter one

Nice Pink jacket he had on so :)

Any word from Pinarello lately lad or has he gone to ground - I think he's gone over for the Amstel is he not ?

Junior wrote: »
    Nice Pink jacket he had on so :)

Any word from Pinarello lately lad or has he gone to ground - I think he's gone over for the Amstel is he not ?

He sure is gone over to the Amstel, and he is also heading over to another race in Belgium on Wednesday too. Such is the life, he is more into taking photos of the bikes now rather than actually going out riding the bloody bike he has or should I say bikes:D

His ears must have been burning so :) He text'd me last night from TIlburg, I'm heading over wednesday.. but as you can see by the time on this post I'm up and heading out for a couple of hours this morning ..