Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

car crash insurance claim

• 17-04-2009 1:27am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 50 ✭✭

I was with my friend and we were stoped at red lights at a roundabout in Cork. We were in the middle lane. My friend decided to go into the inside lane as when you exited the roundabout the two lanes went down to one lane. She put on her indicator checked her mirror and went to move into the inside lane. She was doing about 5mph at the time. She hit a car! She stoped got out of her car and asked was the women and her child ok! Thankfully at the scene they were! Then she agreed at the scene to pay for the damage to the person car! It was about 600euro as there were only two small scraps on the drivers door and one on the back door! there was abot 400 euro's worth of damage done to here car! At the scene they decided not to call the guards because everybody was ok! The next Monday morning my friend was at work at during her lunch break she turned on her phone to find that she had loads of missed calls! They were from the women she ran into! So my friend rang her back! She said that her child was withdrawn after the crash and she had a brused tigh, lower back pain and a neck injury! I was with my friend in the car at the time and we were both grand! What should she do?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,898 ✭✭✭✭seanybiker

thats why ya should call the cops to any accident scene.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 120 ✭✭Fiona500

Did you take any photos of the damage? Sounds like your friend is going to have to contact her insurance company. In order to claim any injury damage they will have to produce doctors letters.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,310 ✭✭✭Pkiernan

Your friend is being set up for a fraudulent insurance claim.

Write down everything you remember in as much detail as you can, and get your friend to do the same.

Your friend needs to call her insurance company, and to let them know that you will be a witness. Make sure that you say what you said below : that BOTH parties agreed not to call the Guards.

Luckily, in these times, insurance companies are not as willing to write large cheques for these BS scammers as they were in the past.

Her child is 'withdrawn' - absolute rubbish.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,310 ✭✭✭Pkiernan

Also, if your friend has any voice messages from the other party, make sure she saves them, and if needs be records copies of them. Voicemails can be recorded legally and used as evidence.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,513 ✭✭✭Sleipnir

seanybiker wrote: »
    thats why ya should call the cops to any accident scene.

They won't come if it's not a serious crash and nobody is injured.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 87 ✭✭ECOLOGICAL

sounds like they mother had second thoughts afterwards and is set to lodge big claim having dealt before with insurance companies and especially now they will be more vigilant now ,was mother foreign or irish ,
    best of luck use disposable camera not digital camera ever again if in crash and always call cops tell them someone looks injured even if its small crash in my experience and i was only in small crashes other party always wanted more money ,for instance years ago an old lady backed into me in foreground of petrol station ,only small dent in door ,took her number ,and rang her following week oh she was nice on scene ,she said she would pay for small damage but when went to collect she paid nothing and it was only few hundred euro at time but still after that i said if ever in crash call guards and if youre holding up traffic on roundabout damn cars beeping behind you theyre not gonna be sitting at home writing you cheque for damage to car or comfort you while ye wait for court case for insurance claim ,always never move car until cops come and take at least 5 or 6 photos of cars and even snapshot of other driver /drivers walking around just incase they say the were paralysed from neck down afterwards genuinely best of luck its horrible after been in any crash just keep pressure on insurance company to get doctor to assess their injuries soon as possible and get them look at car tell them you don't admit liability and tell them you did not agree to repair quote yet !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,513 ✭✭✭Sleipnir

I think that's the longest sentence I have ever read.