Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Going to Irish Open?

• 16-04-2009 11:22pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 429 ✭✭

hi

anyone else planning on going to baltray? just had a few questions for you if you are.

is baltray straightforward to get to from dublin+will there be lots of parking?

also, i was planning on going on the saturday and just paying at the gate as i have done for the previous couple times ive been to the irish/european open. they will hardly be only accepting 'tickets only' that day will they if lots of tickets have been sold in advance?

thanks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 362 ✭✭postalservice

Will be in middle of exams:(:(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 367 ✭✭Blunder

Its very close to Drogheda and It will be well sign posted so getting lost wont be a problem. On the parking front, I'm not sure as I've only ever been there to play and not to watch. Needless to say the parking facilities at the club wont be able to contain the thousands of cars expected. I'm sure there will be a parking set up though to cater for the crowds.
    As with previous opens I would imagine that there will be ticket purchasing facilities on site so there will be no problems there. Besides they wont turn you away for not buying your ticket in advance!!:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 134 ✭✭clg23

Anyone been to the open at Baltray before? Any particularly good vantage points? Was thinking of following couple of groups around for a few holes then finding a good spot at one of the par 3 tees where you can see approach shots to the previous green and watch the players tee off on the par 3 any suggestions?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 429 ✭✭jph100

Blunder wrote: »
    Besides they wont turn you away for not buying your ticket in advance!!:D

i suppose so when you put it like that! cheers!

hard luck postalservice. i will be starting my own exams on the following monday so satuday is the only real day i can go.

anyone know how long it would take to get to baltray from the lucan/palmerstown area?

cheers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 634 ✭✭✭rafared

I was at the last open to be played there and we parked in a farmers field close to the course itself. Shuttle busses were provided from the parking lots to the course. It should only take about half an hour to get to drogheda from Dublin airport if thats any help.
    Getting to baltray is fairly easy, take the South Drogheda exit from the motor way and pass through Julianstown heading for drogheda. When you get into town you take the first right at the lights, over the bridge (and the Boyne) then turn right again and head down the northside of the river.
    This road leads towards the docks where you take a left and a quick right leaving you heading straight towards baltray......follow the sign posts from there.

thanks very much, thats a great help.

also, i used only wear an old pair of runners to any tournaments but id say the easiest thing is to stick on a pair of golf shoes?

thanks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 634 ✭✭✭rafared

jph100 wrote: »
    thanks very much, thats a great help.

also, i used only wear an old pair of runners to any tournaments but id say the easiest thing is to stick on a pair of golf shoes?

thanks

Your welcome, Golf shoes and an umbrella plus some sun screen (heres hoping;)) would be essential. The shoes make it so much easier to get up the banks\dunes to get a better view of the action without slipping and ending up in a heap.

rafared wrote: »
    Your welcome, Golf shoes and an umbrella plus some sun screen (heres hoping;)) would be essential. The shoes make it so much easier to get up the banks\dunes to get a better view of the action without slipping and ending up in a heap.

just what i was thinking. thanks again.

as ive already said im only going to get to baltray on the saturday so im hoping john daly makes the cut and ill see him at some stage. i didnt even know he was playing until i saw the thread here saying he was

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 879 ✭✭✭sirpsycho

anyone know if there are buses going from Drogheda town?

also, did anyone manage to get their hands on the tee-times for thursday? cant find a thing online about them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,361 ✭✭✭f22

sirpsycho wrote: »
    anyone know if there are buses going from Drogheda town?

also, did anyone manage to get their hands on the tee-times for thursday? cant find a thing online about them.

Draw is being made tomorrow. Hopefully travelling up thursaday to support one of my mates who is one of the amateurs selected by invitation.

Hope the wind blows because some of those guys are going to rip Baltray apart if its calm.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,063 ✭✭✭Adiaga 2

There's apparently 4 buses per hour from Drogheda train station. Has anyone ordered tickets? The European tour website says advance tickets are €5 cheaper than on the gate. €20 seems a bit steep on the gate. I was hoping to head up friday and sunday.

Tee times aren't out yet - probably tomorrow(on europeantour.com).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 367 ✭✭Blunder

Tee times will be out tomorrow afternoon.

I bought one for sunday from:
    http://www.europeantourtickets.com/the-3-irish-open-42-c.asp
    €16 (€15 +€1 service charge). Good old ticketmaster charging €2 service charge so avoided them.

I only ordered it today and the website said if you didnt order before 8th may that you should collect the ticket from the gate. Just bring the confirmation email or credit card and you grand.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,974 ✭✭✭✭Mars Bar

If I didn't have exams this week and my Dad didn't have a wedding on Friday, I'd definitely be there. Bit of a hike from Galway though...

Really hoped to see John Daly!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 59 ✭✭gerp

jph100 wrote: »
    i suppose so when you put it like that! cheers!

hard luck postalservice. i will be starting my own exams on the following monday so satuday is the only real day i can go.

anyone know how long it would take to get to baltray from the lucan/palmerstown area?

cheers

About 1 hour 15 mins preety straight all the way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 309 ✭✭THEFRIDGE

Lads I ordered tickets from the three website as they are sponsoring it the are giving free tickets for the thurs and fri (I think) They said they will get back to me today i'll keep you's posted

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,063 ✭✭✭Adiaga 2

I think thursday is free but not friday. Just checked on europeantour tickets and they're gone up to €20 a head. It seems procrastination is not only the thief of time but money too - the b*stard! :mad: :pac:

Offer over since midnight on 11th May for the free tickets

Adiaga 2 wrote: »
    I think thursday is free but not friday. Just checked on europeantour tickets and they're gone up to €20 a head. It seems procrastination is not only the thief of time but money too - the b*stard! :mad: :pac:

Get onto ticketmaster before they kop on! The one day tickets are still 15 +2 there :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 318 ✭✭HuntingDrog

clg23 wrote: »
    Anyone been to the open at Baltray before? Any particularly good vantage points? Was thinking of following couple of groups around for a few holes then finding a good spot at one of the par 3 tees where you can see approach shots to the previous green and watch the players tee off on the par 3 any suggestions?

The bank behind the 14th green is a good spot. U'd see all of the shots on 13,14,15 and drives of 16.
    Also banks behind the 11 green. See all of 11, drives off 3,9 & 12. See green on 8 too. Good spot
    Those are the best spots-my tuppence worth anyway

Have a good one!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,081 ✭✭✭thegen

Lads I have one of the three freebies for Thursday that I will be unable to use. If you woulf like it please PM me your e-mail address and I will forward it to you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 362 ✭✭postalservice

John Daly is going to win.
    Shame I'm gonna miss it.
    Hoping to go to the Ladies Irish Open instead

• Closed Accounts Posts: 134 ✭✭clg23

The bank behind the 14th green is a good spot. U'd see all of the shots on 13,14,15 and drives of 16.
    Also banks behind the 11 green. See all of 11, drives off 3,9 & 12. See green on 8 too. Good spot

Have a good one!

Thanks Drog thats exactly the sort of thing I was after.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,543 ✭✭✭JerryHandbag

I shall be heading along on the saturday, hope to get a glimpse of one of John Dalys outrageous trousers :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 575 ✭✭✭Dabko

anyone want 2 x 1 day passes for the golf this week? Got a pair of free passes for any day worth 40 quid if anyone wants. Pm me address and ill stick in the post today.

Free is always nice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 490 ✭✭Pablod

Howdy Lads, got a pair of Tickets myself (for anyday) looking for to heading up there Sunday.
    Whats the story when you get there?
    Do you have to wait until players are teeing off or can you go watch at any stage? whats the usual routine?
    cheers

Has anyone heard there may be problems with the car parks at the open? I have been told cars are getting stuck in the fields and they are having to use tractors to pull them out

• Closed Accounts Posts: 157 ✭✭BombSquad

I left at about 4pm yesterday and it was very wet then. Didn't see anyone getting pulled out by tractors but i don't see how the car parks will last 2 days nevermind 4...

EDIT--- Just saw this on the website...
    Car Parking Information
    Due to the adverse weather, ALL Public Car Parks and parking for Hospitality Guests in Car Parks 3, 4 and 5 are closed.

Parking has been arranged at two alternative locations:-

At the Drogheda Retail Park off Junction 9 of the M1
    At the Woodies Retail Park off Junction 10 of the M1

A courtesy bus service will transport visitors to and from County Louth Golf Club at Baltray.

Please could all visitors make their way to either of the alternative car parks. The Gardai and 3 Brand Ambassadors will be on hand to assist and redirect visitors to these locations.

Thank you for your understanding and co-operation

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,241 ✭✭✭rameire

Pablod wrote: »
    Howdy Lads, got a pair of Tickets myself (for anyday) looking for to heading up there Sunday.
    Whats the story when you get there?
    Do you have to wait until players are teeing off or can you go watch at any stage? whats the usual routine?
    cheers

you can walk wherever you want, whenever you want.
    you can stay at a tee, stay at a green.
    ill drive if you want also.

🌞 3.8kwp, 🌞 Clonee, Dub.🌞

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 490 ✭✭Pablod

rameire wrote: »
    you can walk wherever you want, whenever you want.
    you can stay at a tee, stay at a green.
    ill drive if you want also.

Ahh go on then, you twisted my arm :rolleyes:

Anyone know if any buses leaving from Drogheda Town centre? Cant get through to the bus station (surprise surprise) to ask.

I'm just back from Baltray and the car parks were like a scene out of world war 2 so they had to close them. Lord knows what they are going to do for the weekend.

Bright side was my mate Eoin shot a 68 in the worst of the conditions to finish on level par. Probably wont be good enough for the weekend looking at the brightening conditions. Having said that a bogey free -4 round is some achievement in this mornings weather.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 170 ✭✭glennhysen

Thanks HuntingDrog, I'm heading up there tomorrow. Really looking forward to it. Hope Daly makes the cut???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,567 ✭✭✭✭fullstop

glennhysen wrote: »

Thanks HuntingDrog, I'm heading up there tomorrow. Really looking forward to it. Hope Daly makes the cut???

No chance he makes the cut unfortunately :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,885 ✭✭✭madds

McDowell is -8 through 8 holes today. 1 eagle, 6 birdies, and a par. Fantastic stuff. He's just rolled a 15 footer in on the 8th there.

Molinari has been disqualified after signing for a wrong score today.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 128 ✭✭johnny_rambo

Some start by McDowell - 8 Under after 8 holes today!
    Birdie, birdie, eagle, birdie, birdie, birdie, par, birdie

Madds beat me to it!

Lowry -3 through 4, great stuff

• Closed Accounts Posts: 308 ✭✭jampotjim

Whats up with the course if they are shooting these type of rounds??

jampotjim wrote: »
    Whats up with the course if they are shooting these type of rounds??

Well at 1.00 pm the wind died and the rain stopped.

Sun + calm + pro golfers = low scores

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 643 ✭✭✭kagni

Molinari and Hoey both disqualified.:eek:
    Really feel bad for Molinari DQ'd after breaking the course record yesterday.
    http://www.guardian.co.uk/sport/feedarticle/8509203

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 342 ✭✭roverjoyce

Lads for anyone travelling tomorrow it came out there that the first tee off time tomorrow is arounf 7.30 am and finishing at 2.30.
    Just in case ye arrive late

• Closed Accounts Posts: 308 ✭✭jampotjim

f22 wrote: »
    Well at 1.00 pm the wind died and the rain stopped.

Sun + calm + pro golfers = low scores

Ahhh right.. Am stuck in a office and still looks horrid here...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 93 ✭✭jpjc05

Paul Lawrie just aced the 17th, winning an audio A5 in the process

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 281 ✭✭dnjoyce

they had better show lowry on golf night tonight - not a sniff of him yesterday, not even showing his score on the leaderboard. some savage scores in the making all over the palce.

they're showing lowry now. Nice birdie on 12 to go to the top with lawrie at -12.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,696 ✭✭✭✭drunkmonkey

roverjoyce wrote: »
    Lads for anyone travelling tomorrow it came out there that the first tee off time tomorrow is arounf 7.30 am and finishing at 2.30.
    Just in case ye arrive late

Is that 100% confirmed?

Wekk RTE announced they were coming on air earlier due to the tee times being brought forward. Does anyone know if this will be the case on Sunday?

Sky said their coverage was starting at 10:30am on Saturday morning.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,798 ✭✭✭Mister Sifter

R3 tee-times

Tee Time Player 1 Player 2 Player 3
    10 07:15 LORENZO-VERA Michael DERKSEN Robert-Jan OLAZÁBAL José Maria
    10 07:25 MCDOWELL Graeme LITTLE Sam LARRAZÁBAL Pablo
    10 07:35 BLAND Richard CANONICA Emanuele DYSON Simon
    10 07:45 MURPHY Gary FASTH Niclas STORM Graeme
    10 07:55 SCHWARTZEL Charl FIGUEIREDO (AM) Pedro CLARKE Darren
    10 08:05 RUMFORD Brett WARING Paul LOCKERBIE Gary
    10 08:15 HANSEN Søren LAFEBER Maarten MCGINLEY Paul
    10 08:25 JAIDEE Thongchai JONZON Michael CHOWRASIA S S P
    10 08:35 SJÖLAND Patrik CARTER David SANDELIN Jarmo
    10 08:45 NOREN Alexander MCGRANE Damien BROADHURST Paul
    10 08:55 WALL Anthony KHAN Simon ERLANDSSON Martin
    10 09:05 FRASER Marcus HEDBLOM Peter VIBE-HASTRUP Mads
    1 07:15 WEBSTER Steve BJÖRN Thomas
    1 07:25 KAPUR Shiv CLÉMENT Julien
    1 07:35 DODD Stephen JACQUELIN Raphaël HORSEY David
    1 07:45 MCILROY Rory DRYSDALE David SIEM Marcel
    1 07:55 FISHER Ross OOSTHUIZEN Louis WOOD Chris
    1 08:05 ECHENIQUE Rafa SLATTERY Lee HAVRET Grégory
    1 08:15 HANSEN Anders WARREN Marc CABRERA-BELLO Rafael
    1 08:25 BESSELING Wil LARA José Manuel MONTGOMERIE Colin
    1 08:35 MARTIN Pablo MCLARDY Andrew FORSYTH Alastair
    1 08:45 ORR Gary WESTWOOD Lee WILSON Oliver
    1 08:55 EDFORS Johan KJELDSEN Søren KAKKO Roope
    1 09:05 LEVET Thomas DOUGHERTY Nick LAWRIE Paul
    1 09:15 DONALDSON Jamie ROCK Robert LOWRY (AM) Shane

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,261 ✭✭✭Juwwi

thegen wrote: »
    Wekk RTE announced they were coming on air earlier due to the tee times being brought forward. Does anyone know if this will be the case on Sunday?

Its being brought forward tommorow because there is hind winds forcast in the afternoon.
    I'd imagine sunday will be normal tee times unless weather forces a change.

Was any1 there today know if there is a bookies there?