Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Farting while running

• 16-04-2009 4:08pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 2,051 ✭✭✭

Am I the only one?! Sorry about the 'crude' thread title. Anyone else here experience a fart of 12 strides or more? Whats the record :D?

No bubbles trailing me in the pool... thank god! :o

Seriously though, is this common? Don't be embarrassed now guys n gals...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,170 ✭✭✭Hard Worker

MCOS wrote: »
    Am I the only one?! Sorry about the 'crude' thread title. Anyone else here experience a fart of 12 strides or more? Whats the record :D?

No bubbles trailing me in the pool... thank god! :o

Seriously though, is this common? Don't be embarrassed now guys n gals...

Surely you realise women don't fart :)
    As for the guys, it's probably down to diet.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,983 ✭✭✭TheRoadRunner

Ha ha. Yes I'm sure everybody farts when they run. I have waited years for a thread like this to begin :D

The first time I ran the Dublin marathon it was run in the opposite direction to what it has in recent years so you entered the phoenix park at the Chapelizod gate and that was at about 17-18 miles. Anyway I farted for what must have been a mile solid I was going up the hill at St Marys hospital overtaking people, I reckon they must have thought I was a moped until they seen the back of me. Very embarrassing and very funny (for me anyway). After an hours running I'm full of hot air !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,900 ✭✭✭Seres

Surely you realise women don't fart :)
    As for the guys, it's probably down to diet.
    i can vouch for that , of course we dont f**t , oh and thats the only reason why men are faster , the extra turbo!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,430 ✭✭✭bladespin

Caught me a bit by suprise when I started, didn't take me too long to get used to it though, there's a real skill in it if you apply yourself :p

MasteryDarts Ireland - Master your game!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 859 ✭✭✭911sc

I must admit...no, i don't.
    But I spit enough to fill up an olympic swimming pool.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,462 ✭✭✭HardyEustace

That's how you know that your gels have started to kick in :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,928 ✭✭✭✭rainbow kirby

If I run past someone who is even remotely attractive, I guarantee I will fart within 10 yards of them. It's like my bowels have a mind of their own :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46 RunToFart

Hence the name folks.

Its great except when you run with a girl and your eyeballs nearly pop out cos you dont want to squeak one out... then you get a stitch and you practically hop on one leg to try and stop it... but then all you can do is think about it. Then it passes and you forget about it and it takes you by surprise and paaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaarp out she pops. Disaster

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,209 ✭✭✭Sosa

I presume sungod has not seen this yet as he would have replied by now.
    He is unreal with farts while running ....bordering on disgraceful ...
    God only knows what he eats

Sosa wrote: »

All the secrets coming out now... this thread has potential :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 846 ✭✭✭tantipie

what is this word 'Fart' that ye speak of:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,274 ✭✭✭Munster_Gal

cough cough:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,598 ✭✭✭shels4ever

Ah yes i knew someone would post this... Can't beat TheRoadRunners record but have dropped the odd one from time to time.... when i ran chicago a lad infront of me let one drop.. but wasn't a fart.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,411 ✭✭✭SUNGOD

Sosa wrote: »

i dont really fart...im just a very good ventriloquist:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,983 ✭✭✭TheRoadRunner

shels4ever wrote: »
    when i ran chicago a lad infront of me let one drop.. but wasn't a fart.

I'm so childish, that is the funniest thing I've heard in a while.

Can you imagine his thought process.

"Right, I'm going to let a little sly one off here, hopefully no one hears, ah there she blows great stuff................... oh wait............... oh $hite............. ah jaysus no..................... I knew I should have brought the bog roll"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,608 ✭✭✭donothoponpop

Out rather than in is my own preference...

Moderators- surely this thread deserves to be stickied?:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 274 ✭✭violator13

If I run past someone who is even remotely attractive, I guarantee I will fart within 10 yards of them. It's like my bowels have a mind of their own :pac:

Gosh,
    must be you that keeps running by me then :-)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 371 ✭✭AJCOT

Not sure if the above exists. Isn't part of the thrill escaping the scene of the crime?:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,145 ✭✭✭baza1976

better to have an empty house instead of a bad lodger!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,614 ✭✭✭Rineanna

Boy am I now glad we merged the Athletics and RR threads, or else I would never have seen this classic thread!

I had to do a double take when I was scanning through the threads on the main A/R/T page. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 975 ✭✭✭louthandproud

I'm so childish, that is the funniest thing I've heard in a while.

Can you imagine his thought process.

"Right, I'm going to let a little sly one off here, hopefully no one hears, ah there she blows great stuff................... oh wait............... oh $hite............. ah jaysus no..................... I knew I should have brought the bog roll"

Never trust one!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 606 ✭✭✭aburke

baza1976 wrote: »
    better to have an empty house instead of a bad lodger!!!!
    My own motto...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 390 ✭✭RJC

Everyone must do this -I assume. Its the potential follow through that causes the problems.

I remember a ballycotton 10 a few years ago where I nearly tore the ass of my shorts at mile 8. I actually apologised to the runners around me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 534 ✭✭✭geld

If I run past someone who is even remotely attractive, I guarantee I will fart within 10 yards of them. :pac:
    Surely you realise women don't fart smile.gif
    I was running a race in the phoenix park a few years ago and a not unattractive girl let out a whopper. I don't know who was more embarrased - her or me!!

Great thread - It's good to have a laugh. Keep the stories coming!

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,144 Mod ✭✭✭✭robinph

Never would have thought that anonymous posting might be needed in here. :D

Of course I'd deny that it was me, but there was a corker released around about mile 9 I think it was in DM last year which made a few heads turn. They were all impressed I think, but couldn't really be sure.

robinph wrote: »
    Of course I'd deny that it was me, but there was a corker released around about mile 9 I think it was in DM last year which made a few heads turn. They were all impressed I think, but couldn't really be sure.
    Denial is a river in Egypt :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,320 ✭✭✭MrCreosote

I reckon the best bet is to run in a group. When you feel one building, pull in close behind the leader and let it go. Then a subtle point at the person ahead and a shake of the head will get you off the hook...

If they argue shout "he who denied it, supplied it!"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 506 ✭✭✭McConkey

Careful there MrCreosote...you are leaving yourself open to a "he who smelt it, dealt it" come back :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,320 ✭✭✭MrCreosote

McConkey wrote: »
    Careful there MrCreosote...you are leaving yourself open to a "he who smelt it, dealt it" come back :D

Then it's true what they say- "he who sensed it, dispensed it" ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,492 ✭✭✭trotter_inc

Delighted someone started a thread like this. I'm well used to farting while running now, was a little weary at the start as I was afraid I'd follow through and detroy myself, I think there is an art in farting, you need to let it out gently and slowly and you'll be safe enough.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,406 ✭✭✭ike

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,051 ✭✭✭MCOS

Eyes watering already after reading through this, Roadrunner a mile... a freaking MILE!!!

**chuckling at desk getting funny looks from Boss while typing**

I'll confess....

I was having a particularly deadly SBD gassy morning, so much so that I could have sworn there was some sort of acidic cloud forming over my treadmill in the UL Arena Gym. By treadmill, I mean my third one in one workout as I literally ran away from my own brand. Alas it followed. Quiet enough morning with the senior citizens aplenty. Anyway, in walks a Bombshell Brunette who proceeds to hop on the treadmill next to me. Oh no! After about a mile of squeezing butt cheeks, I was so red faced and ready to pop that I had to get off the treadmill and find somewhere less populated (like a field maybe). As I did I lost control and it prematurely hissed silently but violently. I ran for cover and one of the senior citizens hopped on my treadmill right behind me. I was already mortified but as I looked back I could see the Brunette in the mirror giving the poor man a look of utter horror/disgust before she too ran for cover.

How can you sum up mortification/glee in one emotion? Well thats what I felt...

So for the people who have been trapped by the aromatic 'gifts' people leave on treadmills

It was me!!!! LOL :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 385 ✭✭Bobby04

Very glad to see I'm not alone. I've improved my diet somewhat recently, with the resulting unwanted effect of now being helpless to stop copious amounts of farting during runs! I can live with it while running alone (alright, maybe even enjoy it!!) but when in compnay it's a nightmare.
    Not sure if I could beat 12 strides, but would say I've been damn close on occassions. Where the hell is so much stored?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,311 ✭✭✭xebec

Happens to me too... But always a bit nervy about it seeing as I've been known to suffer from the trots... Damn stomach doesn't like me some days! Usually a bit more cautious about it during races or when there's people around though, like to get a little bit of space before letting go.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,462 ✭✭✭HardyEustace

One of my favourite aunts has a great saying
    'Tis poor the arse that never rejoiced

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,754 ✭✭✭Odysseus

It happens but I generally don't worry about it. However, at this years MdS it was an activity that provoked alot of fear due to a significant amount of us going down with dysentery like symptoms. I was at check point five on the long day as one guy awoke in his sleeping bag after getting a few hours kip as he was ill; only to find there had be a significant follow through.

Not much you can do expect in the stlye of an investigative reporter you make you excuses and leave. I really felt sorry for him as I moved out it was tough enough without getting sick, and especially with the last part. I heard him mutter about something about only having one pair of shorts with him as I left; poor chap

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 859 ✭✭✭911sc

911sc wrote: »
    I must admit...no, i don't.
    But I spit enough to fill up an olympic swimming pool.

well, now that awareness has been raised, i realized that in fact i do. Went for 13miles last night and the first 8kms were thundery.;)

So, doc, am i normal?:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 466 ✭✭thirstywork

really funny i should read this post today.was having stomach problems yesterday but my session went ok but when joggin back down the hils i farted 14(roughly)time in a row.must be a record lol

I think its polite to retreat to the back of a running group when trainign with others but i know many friends who surge to the front to squeeze one out.........