Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

How to spot a card skimmer.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,239 ✭✭✭✭WindSock

Thats the same sort of phone dem bleedin non nationals use too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,485 ✭✭✭Thrill

I would never have spotted that. It's well disguised.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

WindSock wrote: »

..either the Nigeraphone or Romaphone model. I suggest we lynch one of each, to avoid allegations of racism.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

Just cover the keypad as you enter your PIN and you'll be alright.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,476 ✭✭✭Mr.Lizard

So how do we spot the skimmer (without going at it with a chizel)? v.disappointed with thread title :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,850 ✭✭✭Cianos

Nice pics, but how much cash did you actually make with the thing?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,407 ✭✭✭Dartz

Jaysus Lads y'know what this means?

Free phones at ATM's. I'm going to have to try find 'em. I mean seriously, who's going to report one of them stolen?

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 93,604 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

AnonoBoy wrote: »
    You might be if certain key details weren't also stored on the mag-stripe :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,649 ✭✭✭Catari Jaguar

WindSock wrote: »

I believe the correct term is "bleeding fordeners" ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,571 ✭✭✭✭fullstop

D wrote: »
    It is a card reader stuck to a public atm machine.
    A public automated teller machine machine?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,473 ✭✭✭R0ot

Ah you found it eh? Can you return it to me please ill hide the next one better I swear. :pac:

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 11,017 Mod ✭✭✭✭yoyo

The phone is used to send data read from the skimmer to somewhere, I doubt it was taking videos of people entering their pins :pac:

Nick

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,016 ✭✭✭✭vibe666

Dartz wrote: »
    Free phones at ATM's. I'm going to have to try find 'em. I mean seriously, who's going to report one of them stolen?
    yeah, until a garda spots you removing it from said cash machine and thinks it's yours. :pac:

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,193 ✭✭✭Turd Ferguson

Does it not read the password as opposed to taking pics of you putting it in? I dont think covering it will work

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,384 ✭✭✭Highsider

Is the right answer

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,314 ✭✭✭✭Quazzie

Does it not read the password as opposed to taking pics of you putting it in? I dont think covering it will work
    Where does it read it?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,883 ✭✭✭wudangclan

i think i spotted him in the seventh picture

Your PIN isn't stored on your card AFAIK. Because you can change your PIN at an ATM and the ATM doesn't have the ability to write any info to your card I don't think.

From what I have seen (albeit only on TV reports) they skim your card and take footage of you keying in your number also via a small camera. Without your PIN the cloned card is useless.

Could be wrong though.

the pin isn't stored on the swipe part of a bank card, but it IS on the chip part of a chip&pin card (the hint is in the name) although it is encrypted and this encryption has not (as far as I am aware) been broken yet although i did hear of a proof of concept that could in theory at least break it under the right conditions (using the readers they have in a supermarket) a while ago.

the skimmer reads the magnetic strip as you put your card in the slot because it is fitted over the top of the slot and you pass your card through the skimmer itself as you put the card in. the other half of the equation is the camera that records you entering your pin no.

with a scan of your magnetic strip they can make a copy of your card and use that with your pin no. to draw out cash from your account.

i was not aware that they were using mobiles now though, one would assume that they are using it to download the info remotely (either via buetooth or gprs) without removing the skimmer. it used to be that they left them in there to record their stuff and then had to go and remove them again later to get the data off them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,339 ✭✭✭me-skywalker

vibe666 wrote: »
    the pin isn't stored on the swipe part of a bank card, but it IS on the chip part of a chip&pin card (the hint is in the name) although it is encrypted and this encryption has not (as far as I am aware) been broken yet although i did hear of a proof of concept that could in theory at least break it under the right conditions (using the readers they have in a supermarket) a while ago.

the skimmer reads the magnetic strip as you put your card in the slot because it is fitted over the top of the slot and you pass your card through the skimmer itself as you put the card in. the other half of the equation is the camera that records you entering your pin no.

with a scan of your magnetic strip they can make a copy of your card and use that with your pin no. to draw out cash from your account.

i was not aware that they were using mobiles now though, one would assume that they are using it to download the info remotely (either via buetooth or gprs) without removing the skimmer. it used to be that they left them in there to record their stuff and then had to go and remove them again later to get the data off them.

who did you scam that off? wiki.......

nope, all from inside my brain from what i've soaked up watching the news and that show where they con people and film it to 'educate' people on how easy it is to get scammed.

they did one on card skimming a while back and it just happened to be the only one i ever saw aside from the one where they do the binbags through the door for old clothes to go to africa scam and then wash and sell them in a hastily opened 'vintage' clothes shop.

although that might have been in the same episode.

vibe666 wrote: »
    the pin isn't stored on the swipe part of a bank card, but it IS on the chip part of a chip&pin card (the hint is in the name)

Well I only use my regular bank card at ATMs so should be alright so.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,219 ✭✭✭PK2008

Its not a scam.

The thing is, see, they take your Credit Card numbers and if one of them is lucky you win a prize

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,082 ✭✭✭lostexpectation

i wouldn't have spotted it from the part around where you put the card in its looks ok :/

where was that atm anywhere looks wrecked.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,456 ✭✭✭✭Mr Benevolent

This place is getting more like Youtube every day - can the OP please tell us how to spot a card skimming ATM, or is the title there just to lure us in?

This is a thanks-skimming thread. Beware.

i wouldn't have spotted it from the part around where you put the card in its looks ok :/

where was that atm anywhere looks wrecked.

Poland I think, well its hosted on what looks like a polish site...

Nick

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,012 ✭✭✭✭Cuddlesworth

yoyo wrote: »
    Poland I think, well its hosted on what looks like a polish site...

Nick

.ie? Sparky?. Where in Gods name did that come from?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,048 ✭✭✭✭Snowie

No one ever give a quick tug at the machine for any loose bits ? :confused:

.ie? Sparky?. Where in Gods name did that come from?

http://widelec.org/zdjecie,bankomat,2820.html

Should have maybe said they came from a polish site, sorry :pac::p

Nick

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,193 ✭✭✭Turd Ferguson

Where does it read it?

I dunno. Where does it take pictures of you putting it? :D