Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Numbers cycling - how many people cycle to work in ireland?

• 15-04-2009 8:56pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,130 ✭✭✭

Title says it all lads. How many people commute to work in Ireland. I'm a planning project and need to to find this verifiable data. Maybe it's on CSO but I for the life of me can't find it. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Regards,
    Coolbeans.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 856 ✭✭✭Limestone1

Roughly 34,912

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,130 ✭✭✭coolbeans

Dónal wrote: »

Thank you , thank you, thank you.
    I hate the CSO site, it's a bitch to navigate but you've saved me hours of fruitless labour.

Keep on ridin',
    Coolbeans.

• Subscribers Posts: 16,714 ✭✭✭✭copacetic

Limestone1 wrote: »
    Roughly 34,912

that was pretty close!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,333 ✭✭✭72hundred

Dónal wrote: »

Not a very encouraging trend bar the last one;

1986- 60,750
    1991- 50,257
    1996- 46,432
    2002- 34,250
    2006- 36,306

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,045 ✭✭✭Húrin

72hundred wrote: »

1986- 60,750
    1991- 50,257
    1996- 46,432
    2002- 34,250
    2006- 36,306

I would put that down almost entirely to immigration. I expect that we'll see a significant increase in cycling the next time stats come out.

1986- 60,750
    1991- 50,257
    1996- 46,432
    2002- 34,250
    2006- 36,306

Percentages have gone down though...

1986 - 5.61%
    1991 - 4.42%
    1996 - 3.59%
    2002 - 2.13%
    2006 - 1.92%

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,221 ✭✭✭Greentopia

According to this article http://www.irishtimes.com/newspaper/breaking/2009/0414/breaking34.htm cycling in Dublin has increased by 8% in the last year and is expected to continue rising

http://beyond2020.cso.ie/Census/TableViewer/tableView.aspx?ReportId=76537

Males using bikes 2006: 27,948
    Females using bikes same year:8,358 :eek:

Disappointing ladies, disappointing...:(

And yes, I'm female.

What's the story??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,831 ✭✭✭ROK ON

1986- 60,750
    1991- 50,257
    1996- 46,432
    2002- 34,250
    2006- 36,306

Very interesting. I started cycling in the 1980's in order to get to school.
    Everyone cycled. almost 1000 students at our school, and hundreds of bike spaces in three large covered bike sheds. If you didnt get into school at 8.45, there was a very good chance that you wouldn't find a decent place to lock your bike. I wonder what those bike sheds would be like now?

When I was back at the college I used to attend a few weeks back, I noticed that the bike rackes were no where near as full as they were in the early 1990's when I attended.
    Hopefully people will be attracted back on the bike.
    I was just thinking yesterday, that despite the recent rain, that I cant remember the last time that I got well and truely soaked on the bike. ( I cycle a min of 200k over 6 days each week). So I think that despite the perceptions of our climate, the reality is our climate is reaonably cycle friendly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,668 ✭✭✭✭ednwireland

Greentopia wrote: »
    http://beyond2020.cso.ie/Census/TableViewer/tableView.aspx?ReportId=76537

And yes, I'm female.

What's the story??

helmet hair apparently most women dont like arriving at work sweaty and with messed up hair, there was a short in cycling plus about it a couple of months ago. myself i drive the couple of miles to work becaused i'm often carrying 2 laptops and theres nowhere to leave a bike in donegal town no bike racks no railings nothing.

My weather

https://www.ecowitt.net/home/share?authorize=96CT1F

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,400 ✭✭✭Caroline_ie

Greentopia wrote: »

Reasons why ladiies won't cycle

- Too cold
    - Too rainy
    - Can't cycle in a skirt
    - Can't drop off kids in school (4x4 is sssoooo much better )
    - Execrcise is yuk
    - Not sexy
    - Dangerous
    - Can't carry BT2 bags on the way back form thursday night late shopping night
    - Can't carry Penney bags either
    - Won't be home in time for the soaps

... could add more

• Moderators, Politics Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,269 Mod ✭✭✭✭Chips Lovell

I look like something out of the Prodigy with my helmet hair.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,831 ✭✭✭ROK ON

- - Can't cycle in a skirt

- Not sexy

BT2 currently have a display in the front window of Grafton st branch devoted to clothing the chic female cyclist. :)

ROK ON wrote: »
    BT2 currently have a display in the front window of Grafton st branch devoted to clothing the chic female cyclist. :)
    yes i have that a photo of that
    they re also sellinng bikes for 675 ....

• Moderators, Politics Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,269 Mod ✭✭✭✭Chips Lovell

Cue a rake of threads from people asking if they should buy the BT2 bike or the Lidl bike.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,318 ✭✭✭✭Raam

el tonto wrote: »
    Cue a rake of threads from people asking if they should buy the BT2 bike or the Lidl bike.

Does the BT2 bike come in white?

Raam wrote: »
    Does the BT2 bike come in white?

I don't know.

What I do know is that I can guarantee the quality of this bike is vastly superior to your ability to ride it. Only arrogant new ireland people would turn their nose up at it.

el tonto wrote: »
    I don't know.

What I do know is that I can guarantee the quality of this bike is vastly superior to your ability to ride it. Only arrogant new ireland people would turn their nose up at it.

Seriously though, anyone know more details on the bike? I don't want it, just curious.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,995 ✭✭✭✭blorg

yes i have that a photo of that
    Post photo please? Is it a fixie :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,920 ✭✭✭Vélo

I was in Dundrum SC the other day and saw a bike at the entrance of BT2 but I presumed they were just for the mannequins. At least I think it was BT2, all these shops look the same to me.

I think it was a single speed

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41 flipsky

Seriously though, anyone know more details on the bike? I don't want it, just curious.

Pics of the bikes on their site:
    http://www.bt2.ie/

I think it's an Abici Granturismo:
    http://www.abici-italia.it/index_ing.html

[I don't work for BT or Abici]

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 907 ✭✭✭tibor

- Too cold
    - Too rainy
    - Can't cycle in a skirt
    - Execrcise is yuk
    - Not sexy
    - Dangerous

... could add more

I think the perceived danger is one of the biggest things.
    There was a great article somewhere recently comparing the attitude to cycling here - people gearing up in all manner of hi-viz and cycling scared - to cycling in cities on the continent - casual clothes, more confident and assertive cycling. It's like cycling in Dublin is viewed as an extreme sport, and the gender distribution of cyclists here would seem to confirm that.

That Abici is an attractive bike, and €695 is not crazy money for it either (seems cheaper than it generally retails in Europe.)

green-bike.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,296 ✭✭✭✭Jawgap

Will BT2 facilitate its purchase on the cycle to work scheme:)

Jawgap wrote: »
    Will BT2 facilitate its purchase on the cycle to work scheme:)

BT2 don't have to do anything. The bike can be bought (new) from anywhere. It's all up to your employer.

These are the photos I took last saturday on Grafton street ... my initial reaction was 'WTF???!!'

Not even a fixie drawing!

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 11,556 Mod ✭✭✭✭Hermy

Does the sign in the window say something about white socks?:D

Genealogy Forum Mod

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,503 ✭✭✭jlang

Has anyone gone in to BT2 to ask to borrow a pump?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,261 ✭✭✭Junior

hang on some of ye have hair ? sheesh lucky buggers ! Also my now work place is just upstairs in my house, so I don't think the better half would appreciate me trying to ramp up the stairs to the office :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,618 ✭✭✭Civilian_Target

- Not sexy

DISAGREE!
    As long as they're not overtaking me :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,119 ✭✭✭p

Húrin wrote: »
    I would put that down almost entirely to immigration. I expect that we'll see a significant increase in cycling the next time stats come out.
    Why does immigration mean people cycle less?

p wrote: »
    Why does immigration mean people cycle less?
    I think he meant the opposite, referring to the slight upturn between 2002 and 2006... Immigrants less likely to drive, more likely to cycle.

- Too cold
    - Too rainy
    - Can't cycle in a skirt
    - Execrcise is yuk
    - Not sexy
    - Dangerous
    I'm living in Copenhagen at the moment none of those reasons need to be the case. See pictures below for evidence! :) The main reason is that cycling shops don't carry decent bikes in Ireland, they're all sports hobby shops. Cycling shops are also macho and alienating for anyone who doesn't want to do a triathlon. (In Denmark, cycling shops are fare more casual than here, the BT2 campaign is a really good idea) Also, you've definitely got to add that cycling is frickin dangerous in Dublin. Whoever said that cycling seems like an extreme sport in Ireland is spot on. Watching cyclists at Harold's Cross today seemed more like watching Gladiators than someone just cycling home from work. All helmet & hi-vis vest wearing people that you wouldn't be happy with if they turned up to your dinner party! :)

3428117617_ef61deb671.jpg?v=0
    3199713838_9e91748d1b.jpg?v=0
    2262397339_c24057a6af.jpg?v=0

yes if course ... but coppenhagen is a whole diferent story. I don't believe you can successfully turn Dublin into a cycle chic, cycle friendly city 'now'. It's not something that can take a summer and BT2 to set up. I doubt very much a mum in D4 will drive her 3 kids to school in anything else than a 4x4 will come anytime soon.

Absolutely, but I think it's important that we focus on the real issues, which are decent separated cycle lanes, the impression of cycling and how bicycles are sold.

Copenhagen started investing in cycling infrastructure in the 60s and has been ever since. However, if we do the same, so can we. Ireland is getting better, but we have a patchy network and the city centre is abysmal. We need separated cycle lanes in the city centre, so that you can take routes through the city safely. We should implement this in the next few years and make a radical difference. Ultimately, you're not going to get people cycling in from the suburbs that much, but city dwellers who are young, non-car owners are a great target market who can benefit from that. People want to cycle, but the city is conspiring against them at this stage.

Also, I'd encourage people here to do box turning. The idea of crossing lanes to make a turn is insane. Box turning is a million times safer and better for drivers & cyclists.
    box_turn.gif
    DMV1.gif

Lovely photo's! From http://www.copenhagencyclechic.com/ it looks like, one of my favourite blogs :)

:sigh: how I wish it could be like that here. One of the biggest obstacles to any city here having Copenhagen's level of cycling (500,000 a day ride daily) is lack of political will, vision and foresight to implement the kind of changes it took to turn that city into such a great city to cycle in, such as building and maintaining the high quality over 1 metre wide dedicated cycle paths they have there separate from traffic, closing off some city streets to traffic and implementing the 'Green Wave' http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Green_wave, proper parking facilities for cyclists and so on; and having long term commitment and funding in place by the local, Municipal and national Government to make it safe easy and attractive for people to cycle to work and school on the cycle lanes.
    I think we need the visionary help of someone like Jan Gehl http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Jan_Gehl to come here and 'Copenhagenize' Dublin and other cities and make our cities more pedestrian and bicycle friendly like he's currently doing in New York.
    And you're quite right, we should 'normalise' cycling here and see it as just another means of transport, not something that needs special 'gear' like vests, lycra and helmets. We need to tackle the perception by non-cyclists, and indeed reality that cycling can be bloody dangerous and push for more real investment investment and change by politicians instead of coming out with more meaningless policy transport documents that gather dust.
    I guess when the money and the political will wasn't there though to do it in the good times it's hardly going to be there now when Govt. are cutting back on everything it seems :( :mad: After all cycling doesn't bring in huge tax revenues like motor tax and V.A.T. and fuel tax like cars do :rolleyes:

• Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators Posts: 14,097 Mod ✭✭✭✭monument

- Not sexy

I'm confused. I'm very, very, very confused.

- Can't cycle in a skirt

Yeah, that's imposable. Could never happen. Never.

They need one of these.

• Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators Posts: 14,097 Mod ✭✭✭✭monument

Feck, I didn't get as far as t's post or your reply before going photo hunting... the photos I link to above are not all from Denmark. At least two are from Dublin and one is from NYC, I've a few more Dublin examples if you want the links. It is possible to safely cycle in Dublin with out 'cycling gear' or other costumes -- I'm not a woman, but I manage it ever day and see members of both sexes do the same.

Near a school I pass on my daily commute I've also spotted at least two mothers cycling with their children, both appear to have just started this in recent months. Hopefully this kind of thing will increase with the planned further roll out of Green Schools etc.

ALSO: Yeah, sometimes it can be cold cycling.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 135 ✭✭Glitterangel76

- Too cold
    - Too rainy
    - Can't cycle in a skirt
    - Execrcise is yuk
    - Not sexy
    - Dangerous

... could add more
    I cycle.. :D

- Great excuse to go shopping for wet weather gear :)
    - I've cycled in a skirt/dress (not a pencil skirt obviously) but I just put leggings/shorts on underneath..cars seem to pass so much slower those days ;)
    - I cheated in regards to the bags from late night shopping...I got a backpack/rucksac and a wee basket so I can come and go as I please.
    and I'm lucky my work provide showers... which are cleaned on a regular basis :)

(saying that..there are many times when its lashing and the wind is howling off the sea that the idea of sitting in a warm car does appeal...but once I'm on my way I don't mind it :) )

a wee basket so I can come and go as I please.

Most of us just go at the side of the road ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 135 ✭✭Glitterangel76

Most of us just go at the side of the road ;)
    ha ha....I am sure you know I meant small...you may be more familar with that term.. :P