Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Course's, what was your best?..

• 15-04-2009 7:01pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 24,878 ✭✭✭✭

It can be anything.

The most enjoyable

The most practical (both in military & civilian terms)

The one you'd love to do again..

etc..

For me it was an occupational first aid course as being the most practical as I've used my new found skills twice in serious situations.

For pure craic it was my driving course back in '89 - sessions galore!.

I've done a ton of course's in between, but these stand out as the best for practicality and craic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7 31charlie

ambulances skills course in 98 was 1 of the 1st fca personnel to get on this course
    and the cavalry troop leaders course

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,267 ✭✭✭concussion

PT Leaders course was good and is very practical outside the army. Most fun was .5 course up in the Curragh, two weeks of hilarity and craic. And the HMG is probably one of the simplest weapons out there - outstanding piece of kit.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,968 ✭✭✭✭Praetorian Saighdiuir

Best craic......Mowag Car Commanders Course...big blur!!
    ......Mag SF Course......bigger blur!!!

Best Bluff........PMS
    ........ECDL
    ........DIRT

Least worthwhile for me........DCP
    ........A.S.I.S.T
    ........C.I.S.D

Plenty more "useful" courses done, i may aswell give my service number if i put anymore courses on here.:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,382 ✭✭✭Fishtits

Army Diving Group,

Knocked the f*ck out of me physically and physiologically, over initial training six months, still don't know how I got through it.

Made Civvy diving easy though... ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,739 ✭✭✭✭minidazzler

Done no real courses, but the Best fun I had was as exercise Troop for the RDF Pothential Officers Course last year. My first time "on the ground" was for a 72 hour exercise where we managed to lose 3/4 of the platoon to injury and I somehow managed to lose the barrel of a GPMG for a while. But I still finished the course. Extremely proud of myself after that given we didn't recieve the correct training for the job to be done.

I am actually trying to get to do it again this year, but noone know's if it's happening or not.

Next Favourite outting was my first time firing the Guns. (Real guns now, not any little cute steyr's.) 25 pounders are great fun. I was trained in as a Layer but was then put in as a No. 5 which p1ssed me off to no end.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,031 ✭✭✭Lockstep

Occupational first aid was a great course.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 2,688 Mod ✭✭✭✭Morpheus

Dunno about courses but starting the hand grenade qualification last year with the RDF was savage... both throwing it onto the grenade range (and on target twice!) and then crawling up and posting it into a trench in torrential rain. When it went off it and the mud fountained up all over me, it made me think of what the somme mustve been like (well in a tiny tiny way).

Would like to get on that damn underwater knife fighting course they've been advertising every year on camp :D Apparently its run by the Stranger Wing (RDF wing :rolleyes: ) put my name down every time but havent been selected yet :( maybe the basejumping sniper course will be run again this year!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,512 ✭✭✭BigDuffman

Morpheus I can try get you on the Israeli Underwater Shovel fighting course...you'll need to volunteer to work butts on the mortar range first though.:D

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 2,688 Mod ✭✭✭✭Morpheus

lol cant wait to do the submarine tyre changing course though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,798 ✭✭✭Local-womanizer

I know its not exactly a course but my recruit camp(RDF).

Got up in the AW139,got to see the EOD blow stuff up and PDF recruits on the final phase of their training out on the ground dug into fox-holes.All sound fellas laughing and joking with us even though they had been out for 3 nights.And plus it was the best 2 weeks we had in the summer weather wise,I came back as black as me boot!

Dry camp but it was some craic!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,497 ✭✭✭Poccington

YE ILSW Course.

Was on it with a good few lads I trained with and a few NCO's that were doing an ILSW Instructors Course. Battle PT's in the Curragh, an Exercise with Heli's and for our final shoot we got to fire about 250,000 quid worth of ammo.

Delightful stuff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 458 ✭✭TomRooney

GNR`s course was the best, assembling and dis-assembling those damn 120 mortars and running through the forest and up hills and down hills and then doing it all again about another 10 times.
    then firing the 105, great craic.

Drivers course was good aswell.

a few other courses were very good, but i wont go into everything.