Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

new gatzo vans

• 15-04-2009 6:20pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 340 ✭✭

i thought when these vans were launched they were supposed to be marked to deter speeding yet they can be seen all around the county side just painted white.

QUOTE: New garda anti-speed vans roll out on local road watch

EIGHT new specially equipped Garda vans rolled onto the nation’s road network on Monday last, with the remit to catch speeders at locations all over the country. The Garda-liveried Transit vans will be marked and highly visible and are designed to encourage motorists to slow down.

And to prove the point that An Garda Siochana want motorists to slow down instead of getting caught, they have published a complete list of the zones in each county. Among the Sligo zones highlighted on www.garda.ie are the SligoDublin (N4), Collooney-Galway (N17) and Sligo-Bundoran (N15) roads as well as the Sligo-Ballina (N59) and Sligo-Manorhamilton (N16) routes.

The new speed detection vans are fitted with technology which allow gardai to catch motorists speeding even at night or in bad weather conditions. The new vans will take up positions in Speed Enforcement Zones, areas where excessive speeding or dangerous driving frequently occur.

One van will be allocated to each of the Garda regions, with Sligo getting the same van that will serve Galway, Mayo, Roscommon and Leitrim.

The remaining two vans will be allocated wherever is deemed necessary by Garda Commissioner Fachtna Murphy. The garda target is to reduce the number of deaths and injuries on the roads by 5 per cent and in one area at least, they are making progress.

Gardai have released figures that show pedestrian deaths on our road are down by almost 40 percent so far this year. Up to October 21, 37 pedestrians had been killed, compared to 60 for the same period in 2007. And gardai warned pedestrians and cyclists that with the change to winter time last weekend it is now more important than ever to wear high visibility clothing and fluorescent garments if you are outside in the evening and at night.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,938 ✭✭✭deadwood

They are marked. They're white. Slow down every time you see a white van.

It's genius. Took the commiteeeeeeee a while to come up with that one.:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 340 ✭✭ivabiggon

thats not what i meant ye smart arse....:p:p:P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 361 ✭✭miceal

deadwood wrote: »
    They are marked. They're white. Slow down every time you see a white van.

It's genius. Took the commiteeeeeeee a while to come up with that one.:D

It would be better if each van was a different colour!

Then it would be slow down if you see a van!

See here for the possibilities

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_colors

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,957 ✭✭✭Hooch

The vans are unmarked, but they have magenitic ''Garda'' and ''crest'' signs that can be added. Only some detection sites are overt. Most of these however are covert.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 361 ✭✭miceal

The vans are unmarked, but they have magenitic ''Garda'' and ''crest'' signs that can be added. Only some detection sites are overt. Most of these however are covert.

Sorry but as soon as i read this i thought of this

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,818 ✭✭✭donvito99

gatso_m1.jpg
    Theres the old one...

Heres the new one.DSC00015[1].JPG

• Closed Accounts Posts: 340 ✭✭ivabiggon

the one's parked on the naas road last sunday morning didn't have the markings on them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,160 ✭✭✭TheNog

ivabiggon wrote: »
    the one's parked on the naas road last sunday morning didn't have the markings on them

Was it one of the older vans?

If not then you must have seen a covert speed check taking place.

• Site Banned Posts: 5,904 ✭✭✭parsi

TheNog wrote: »
    Was it one of the older vans?

If not then you must have seen a covert speed check taking place.

The one in Toomevara this afternoon was unmarked as well.

If it doesn't have it's stripes is it valid ? (a reference to the old myth about Garda hats)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,330 ✭✭✭Gran Hermano

Bring back the reflective strips, we deserve at least a sporting chance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,160 ✭✭✭TheNog

parsi wrote: »
    The one in Toomevara this afternoon was unmarked as well.

If it doesn't have it's stripes is it valid ? (a reference to the old myth about Garda hats)

Yes it is still valid

so do the cyclists, pedistrians and other road users going about their business ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,330 ✭✭✭Gran Hermano

My comment was in jest. ;)
    I thought the vans needed the reflective strips on health and safety grounds- to help avoid people running into the vans whilst parked.

I have read that this post is in jest but for the sake of it, people are given chances by the placing of signs indicating the speed limit on the road. And if that is not helpful enough, we make it a little easier for you to not get caught, See Here.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14 BigJonny

ivabiggon wrote: »
    i thought when these vans were launched they were supposed to be marked to deter speeding yet they can be seen all around the county side just painted white.

QUOTE: New garda anti-speed vans roll out on local road watch

EIGHT new specially equipped Garda vans rolled onto the nation’s road network on Monday last, with the remit to catch speeders at locations all over the country. The Garda-liveried Transit vans will be marked and highly visible and are designed to encourage motorists to slow down.

The people have been had yet again.

Not much revenue generation if the people can see the vans, eh???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,938 ✭✭✭deadwood

BigJonny wrote: »

At the committeeeeeee meeting of the "how to screw joe public under the guise of road safety" quango, i'm going to suggest the removal of all speedometers from cars too. This will encourage all drivers to really slow down, just in case the van/horsebox in front is a gatso. The funds raised will, as usual, end up in the pockets of the guards . . .however that one is meant to work.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,195 ✭✭✭goldie fish

BigJonny wrote: »

As far as I'm aware, there are no plans to remove speed limit signs from areas where a speed limit is in force.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 979 ✭✭✭POGAN

Guys i saw one of the new vans in rathduff in main mallow to cork road, i taught i saw blue and white box or something by the diesel cap.. its really small and on side of the van...very strange i taught

POGAN wrote: »
    Guys i saw one of the new vans in rathduff in main mallow to cork road, i taught i saw blue and white box or something by the diesel cap.. its really small and on side of the van...very strange i taught

That would be a plug socket. Don't know what gets charged but probably a big battery.

foreign wrote: »
    That would be a plug socket. Don't know what gets charged but probably a big battery.

Exactly that one has a big big battery!! Charged every night

Is that used for the recording and printing equipment, rather then running the engine?

foreign wrote: »
    Is that used for the recording and printing equipment, rather then running the engine?

Spot on, the camera and computer (no printer anymore)

Van also charges the battery when in use

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7 sddaly

One of these vans has been around Waterford a lot recently.

It was parked outside Sheridan's Ford dealership one night, next to a few other vans.... near impossible to spot it was a gatso!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,344 ✭✭✭Thoie

Is Gatso a brand name, or an acronym or what? Was talking to a friend about them, and she hadn't heard of them before, and asked what it stood for. We started trying to think of "Garda something something something speed something", but now that I'm sober, obviously they have Gatso in other countries as well, so it's unlikely to be that :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 169 ✭✭ste88m

Thoie wrote: »
    Is Gatso a brand name, or an acronym or what? Was talking to a friend about them, and she hadn't heard of them before, and asked what it stood for. We started trying to think of "Garda something something something speed something", but now that I'm sober, obviously they have Gatso in other countries as well, so it's unlikely to be that :)

From what i've read it's a brand name, originating from the inventors name.
    Gatso is a brand of speed camera invented by Maurice Gatsonides and manufactured by the Dutch company Gatsometer BV.

Source: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Gatso
    Not the best source but anyway...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,195 ✭✭✭goldie fish

Strangely enough, the system we use isnt actually a gatso....
    Its just one of those words like Hoover, Jeep or ASP....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,883 ✭✭✭pa990

the new vans are using a

"Robot MultaRadar C" unit

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 249 ✭✭BravoMike

I take it that these vans are manned and are not automated?
    Are there any tolerances with regards to speed or is it a case of you were 1 kmph over and thats it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 169 ✭✭ste88m

BravoMike wrote: »
    Yep, vans are manned at all times.
    Are there any tolerances with regards to speed or is it a case of you were 1 kmph over and thats it?
    I can't confirm this but I think they only go for 10 over the speed limit.. This is totally open to correction though and is more than likely complete bulls*1t.;)

ste88m wrote: »
    Yep, vans are manned at all times.

I can't confirm this but I think they only go for 10 over the speed limit.. This is totally open to correction though and is more than likely complete bulls*1t.;)

Minimum tolerance is 5kmph (be aware that you speedo is NOT calibrated and shows a fast or slow reading depending on vehicle)
    Everything after that is fair game.:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 55 ✭✭hedges

Just a thought

If you simply drive at the correct speed limit will it really matter what colour or markings are on the van ??

And just to worry others looking out for white vans, i remember seeing somewhere on an email that in some countries they "hide" the speed cameras in wheely bins

Ill try to post a picture if I can find it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 598 ✭✭✭DannyBuoy

Just on the new Gatso vans, anyone how intelligent is it when it comes to multi lane traffic?
    I was outbound last friday evening in the left most lane of the Naas road where it has 3 lanes, I had seen the van for some time back and was under the limit, however a car was in the middle lane over taking me and was obviously over the limit, he passed me right where I reckoned the camera would be taking the shot!
    Is the camera aimed at one particular lane? or can it cope with different lanes and different speeds?
    I'd be well p'ed off it I was done for the speed of the other car.

DannyBuoy wrote: »
    Just on the new Gatso vans, anyone how intelligent is it when it comes to multi lane traffic?
    I was outbound last friday evening in the left most lane of the Naas road where it has 3 lanes, I had seen the van for some time back and was under the limit, however a car was in the middle lane over taking me and was obviously over the limit, he passed me right where I reckoned the camera would be taking the shot!
    Is the camera aimed at one particular lane? or can it cope with different lanes and different speeds?
    I'd be well p'ed off it I was done for the speed of the other car.

Multi directional in realtion to lanes. It will pick up the offending vehicle if a clear sho is available. The system is not automatic in full. It takes a member to decide what vehicles to place on the cd to be sent to the FCPS office.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37 onmia

The same thing happened me last week on the Naas road as i was looking for the micky dees drive thru , I had slowed down to about 40ish when someone had passed me by at over 60 when the the van flashed . not happy . So its good to know its Multi directional in realtion to lanes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 598 ✭✭✭DannyBuoy

Multi directional in realtion to lanes. It will pick up the offending vehicle if a clear sho is available. The system is not automatic in full. It takes a member to decide what vehicles to place on the cd to be sent to the FCPS office.

Cheers, makes me feel a little better at least :)