Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

justification of multiple bike syndrome

• 15-04-2009 5:57pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 291 ✭✭

right looking for a bit of moral support here,

already own a decent mtb which i bought about a year ago and am trying to justify getting a road bike as well around the 1000mark * figure theres no point buying one unless its fairly decent, looking at the trek 1.9 at the mo,

main reason for buying a road bike is that i love the feel / completely different to mtb,

thing is im finding it hard to justify splashing out a grand especially in these hardened times when really i only use the one bike i have about 40 times a year,once a weekend which means at most id only really get to use each one about 20 times a year meaning its quite an expensive purchase really,:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,830 ✭✭✭✭Taltos

If your work subscribes to the gov initiative on buying bikes for an employee that will take the sting of 1000 off you - but you will have to use whatever supplier your company is affiliated with. :(

http://www.bikescheme.ie/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,481 ✭✭✭Morgan

Your lack of use will also mean the bike and components will last longer, giving you a better return on your investment in a way.

Maybe instead of 40 mtb rides you'll end up doing 80 road/mtb rides.

If you can spare the cash without going into debt or skimping on something more important to daily life then why not?

A mtb and a road bike isn't really multiple bike syndrome.

You should get out on your bike more though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 291 ✭✭littleknown

Morgan wrote: »
    Your lack of use will also mean the bike and components will last longer, giving you a better return on your investment in a way.

Maybe instead of 40 mtb rides you'll end up doing 80 road/mtb rides.

If you can spare the cash without going into debt or skimping on something more important to daily life then why not?

A mtb and a road bike isn't really multiple bike syndrome.

You should get out on your bike more though.

would love to get out on it more but alas the aul work tends to eat up my whole week leaving me only the weekend to juggle hobby, social life and girlfriend!:pac: not the worst complaints to have in the world my any means,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,221 ✭✭✭✭Lumen

Owning a MTB and road bike is not "multiple bike syndrome", as there's no overlap in function.

It's like owning a van and a motorbike, or an aeroplane and a boat, or a house and a shed.

If you want better value, buy used.

Lumen wrote: »
    Owning a MTB and road bike is not "multiple bike syndrome", as there's no overlap in function.

It's like owning a van and a motorbike, or an aeroplane and a boat, or a house and a shed.

If you want better value, buy used.

come on,their not that different in function, more like a scooter and a scrambler or something but a plane and a boat?:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,995 ✭✭✭✭blorg

come on,their not that different in function,
    You will find out how different in function they are if you try to do long road rides/keep up with a roadie on your MTB, or take your new Trek 1.9 around Ballinastoe... Lumen (fair play to him) tried something similar to the latter with his cross bike, with hilarious (albeit slightly bloody) consequeces :)

With the road bike you might get out on it more, it's relatively easy to go on a road spin in the evenings from whereever you happen to be, compared to having to get to the trail.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,045 ✭✭✭Húrin

come on,their not that different in function, more like a scooter and a scrambler or something but a plane and a boat?:D
    Of course, there's obviously nothing ostentatious about owning a plane and a boat.

Though having a road bike isn't OTT at all. Mountain bikes are terrible on roads. So if you want to ride on roads, use a road bike! You could commute on it too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 283 ✭✭Mickb

Multiple bike syndrome, to me it's when you've a bike(s) that you haven't ridden in years. But still would not sell it. (Let alone that frame(s) that are in the back of the shed that one day will be made into a working bike.)

MiCk B. :-)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,844 ✭✭✭dmigsy

The main question is will you use it if you buy it? If you use it and enjoy it, it's well worth a grand or whatever you want to pay.

There's nothing worse than splurging on things that you don't use enough to justify owning. (I'm looking at my Wii, Playstation 3 and Xbox 360 with contempt at the moment).

In other words, as long as it's not going to be an expensive ornament, go for it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,676 ✭✭✭Gavin

Road bikes make getting a bit of exercise much easier. It can be something of a chore getting organised to go mountain biking, getting to and from the trail. But with a road bike, you just hop on and go. You may be more inclined to head out in the morning before work, or after work. Particularly with the sun coming.

You'll be much stronger at the aul MTB then too !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,318 ✭✭✭✭Raam

buy-the-bike-buy-the-bike-buy-the-bike-buy-the-bike-buy-the-bike-buy-the-bike-buy-the-bike-buy-the-bike-buy-the-bike-buy-the-bike... does that help? :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,901 ✭✭✭lukester

Echo what everyone else said- get the bike, and get out more. Cycle to work a few days a week and go for spins in the evening. You already said you love the feel of a road bike, and having a shiny new steed will an be incentive to get out.

You already have all the moral support you need for your decision :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,584 ✭✭✭✭tunney

Road cycling is proper cycling.
    MTBing is just pi$$ing about in the mud.
    Big difference.

Fire in the hole!

tunney wrote: »
    Road cycling is proper cycling.
    MTBing is just pi$$ing about in the mud.
    Big difference.

He makes a good argument.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 274 ✭✭Deisetrek

Mickb wrote: »
    Multiple bike syndrome, to me it's when you've a bike(s) that you haven't ridden in years. But still would not sell it. (Let alone that frame(s) that are in the back of the shed that one day will be made into a working bike.)

MiCk B. :-)

My reading of the OP was the questioning of owning more than one bike . I have a road bike which I absolutely love but as the grass is always greener on the other side , I drool over the Colnago's etc that I see in magazines and the like . I saw an opportunity with the cycle to work scheme to buy a 2nd bike and use my Trek as a winter bike whilst my new bike could be my summer bike . I discussed it with my missus ,( in fairness 2 bikes in the living room horrified her) and when I thought about it , I found it hard to justify . Just last week , I purchased 2 new tyres , new cassette , new chain and rear dérailleur ( damaged in a fall a while back) .
    Point is , with that outlay, 100 euro or so , and I suppose you'd be talking about 30 to 40 euro a month , every month if you are putting in the miles all year round ( lights , jackets etc ) , although I would dearly love a 2nd bike , I find it hard to justify the cost of maintaining two bikes . I shall just continue to maintain the bike I have by regularly changing the drive train parts and tyres with regularity. Don't get me wrong , each to his own but I won't be pursuing my dream of owning a quality 2nd bike just yet...................

I'm not sure a fully signed up member of the soggy shorts brigade is in a strong position to take the piss.

A Sherlock-Tunney head to head is the only way to settle this.

I'm not sure a fully signed up member of the soggy shorts brigade is in a strong position to take the piss.

A Sherlock-Tunney head to head is the only way to settle this.

Off to Kippure!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,180 ✭✭✭Interceptor

Will your kids go hungry if you buy it? Will you lose your house? Do you have somewhere secure to keep it? Whats the problem? I used hang both my bikes from the ceiling in the bedroom - theres always a way - this isn't China. Buy. The. Bike...

The ony flaw I see is that you are not only buying a second bike, but starting a different hobby that will require another €500 worth of gear, spares, shoes etc on top of the bike purchase.

He who dies with the most toys wins...

'cptr

Deisetrek wrote: »
    My reading of the OP was the questioning of owning more than one bike .
    OP currently has a mountain bike and is thinking of getting a road bike- although you raise a good point, maybe he should sell the MTB and get two road bikes, a training bike and a race bike :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,831 ✭✭✭ROK ON

Raam wrote: »
    Off to Kippure!

I reckon that you could sell tkts to that one.
    Not Kippure though, how about Slieve Maan followed by Say Elliot. About 12k in total.
    Oh, Tunney should have to do it in a tri suit on a tri bike.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 274 ✭✭Deisetrek

Will your kids go hungry if you buy it? Will you lose your house? Do you have somewhere secure to keep it? Whats the problem? I used hang both my bikes from the ceiling in the bedroom - theres always a way - this isn't China. Buy. The. Bike...

The ony flaw I see is that you are not only buying a second bike, but starting a different hobby that will require another €500 worth of gear, spares, shoes etc on top of the bike purchase.

He who dies with the most toys wins...

'cptr

No kids won't go hungry if a 2nd bike is purchased but my point is the cost of maintaining my present bike is costly enough at the moment , and my workplace is on short -time , so to "gear up" and maintain a 2nd bike would be prohibitive for some people . By the way my bike is in top notch, my car??...... is pi**ing oil all over the place ( have to have your priorities right )........

I suppose what i was trying to say was how do you justify buying two of when you dont really use the one you have that much, no children arent dying around me, nor is my house being repossesed *i dont have one, but at the same time i only have a few grand saved up and this would actually take a good percentage of that and given the fact that jobs etc are a bit hairy possibly it isnt the wisest thing to do in the world..

whilst in the world of want, i would love a second bike, or three for that matter, but sometimes its difficult to justify want over need,:)

Since you don't use the mountain bike, sell it and buy this.

It's too bikes in one - flip the seatpost and it becomes a TT/tri bike. Futureproof, see?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 438 ✭✭snack_ie

Im a student and I have four toys. Dont see what the problem is?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,833 ✭✭✭niceonetom

Justify to whom?

To yourself? That's simple. Just don't justify it. Admit it to yourself - spending thousands of euros on bikes and biking paraphernalia is silly and indulgent and selfish. Admit this to yourself repeatedly as you helplessly watch yourself produce your wallet, slip out the CC and tap those 16 digits and hit PAY NOW button. Berate yourself with these truths as you wait, like a kid as christmas, for your parcel to arrive. Admonish yourself relentlessly while suiting up and going out for a spin on a crisp dry morning and feel your heart start to work and your legs start to pump. Feel guilty as you crest to top of a long hard climb and see the descent you have earned open up beneath you. Then tell me you regret buying that bike. Just try.

To other, non-cycling, types? Well that's simple too. Just don't tell them, or if that is not an option lie to them about the sums involved. Most people wouldn't believe the amount people around here spend on this hobby anyway.

niceonetom wrote: »
    Justify to whom?produce your wallet, slip out the CC and tap those 16 digits and hit PAY NOW button

You need to take your CC out of the wallet to get the number ? Pshaw.. amateur.

Gavin wrote: »
    You need to take your CC out of the wallet to get the number ? Pshaw.. amateur.

I'm actually really worried that I know mine off by heart :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,860 ✭✭✭TinyExplosions

I'm actually really worried that I know mine off by heart :(

I know mine... and don't even get me started on the convenience that is paypal!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,104 ✭✭✭alfalad

niceonetom wrote: »
    Justify to whom?

To yourself? That's simple. Just don't justify it. Admit it to yourself - spending thousands of euros on bikes and biking paraphernalia is silly and indulgent and selfish. Admit this to yourself repeatedly as you helplessly watch yourself produce your wallet, slip out the CC and tap those 16 digits and hit PAY NOW button. Berate yourself with these truths as you wait, like a kid as christmas, for your parcel to arrive. Admonish yourself relentlessly while suiting up and going out for a spin on a crisp dry morning and feel your heart start to work and your legs start to pump. Feel guilty as you crest to top of a long hard climb and see the descent you have earned open up beneath you. Then tell me you regret buying that bike. Just try.

To other, non-cycling, types? Well that's simple too. Just don't tell them, or if that is not an option lie to them about the sums involved. Most people wouldn't believe the amount people around here spend on this hobby anyway.

One of the most entertaining and true posts i've ever read! When asked what something cost i always at least half it!
    In work at around 10 I'm watching the whole time to see has the next parcel arrived yet, and if it does, I spend the next half hour making a mess of my desk opening it and looking at my new purchase! :D

alfalad wrote: »
    One of the most entertaining and true posts i've ever read! When asked what something cost i always at least half it!
    In work at around 10 I'm watching the whole time to see has the next parcel arrived yet, and if it does, I spend the next half hour making a mess of my desk opening it and looking at my new purchase! :D

Handy tip: when ordering, do multiple orders within a few hours/days of each other. This way, when something does arrive, you really don't know what is inside and it's a great surprise and joy to open each package. I currently have about 3 outstanding orders to look forward to.

Splendid idea.

My CC is committed to memory, although Wiggle make it even more seamless by storing your details, it's like it's for free :pac:

• Moderators, Politics Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,269 Mod ✭✭✭✭Chips Lovell

alfalad wrote: »
    When asked what something cost i always at least half it!

I once brazenly said that a Record groupset cost €100.

How do you people conceal evidence though? Intercept and burn CC statements?

lukester wrote: »

I've taken to having packages sent to my office and shredding the invoices.

With some credit cards you can get online statements only.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,104 ✭✭✭alfalad

You just forgot to say there was another 1 at the begining! Honest mistake! Could easily happen to anyone!

This is a good habit to get into.
    Recently I was waiting at some lights (:eek:) near Ringsend when a bunch of dubious looking youths approached me and inquired as to the cost of my bike. "How much was da?", was the exact phrasing, I think. I was on the fixie. Fearing for my life and bike, I muttered "about 200". I was then informed that it's "bleedin rapah" and that my saddle "must roide de bleedin arse off ya"

Well, you should be getting your own CC statements sent to you?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,860 ✭✭✭TinyExplosions

I had 5 come yesterday, was like Christmas!

I've taken to having packages sent to my office and shredding the invoices.

Already do that.
    With some credit cards you can get online statements only.

Must investigate.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,431 ✭✭✭zzzzzzzz

The trick is to calculate it in such a way that you're not going to forget if you're asked again in weeks to come. e.g. always 50%... or in this case... what, 10%??! :D lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,352 ✭✭✭rottenhat

Lads, I think it's time to admit you have a problem. In Tiny's case, a few of his close friends may need to stage an intervention.

Well, you should be getting your own CC statements sent to you?

I do, but my financial conscience lives there too, so I can't leave evidence lying around.

rottenhat wrote: »
    Lads, I think it's time to admit you have a problem. In Tiny's case, a few of his close friends may need to stage an intervention.

Admitting you have a problem is the first step in recovery.

The first step is the most important one, it's like 90%, or something.

rottenhat wrote: »
    In Tiny's case it is quite a light problem... yes a lightweight, carbon wrapped problem.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,833 ✭✭✭niceonetom

My name is Tom, and I am a cyclist.

Hey Tom!!!!!!

(You forgot to add 'and it's been 24 hours since my last purchase')

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,352 ✭✭✭rottenhat

Hey Tom!!!!!!

(You forgot to add 'and it's been 24 hours since my last purchase')

I doubt he's been clean that long.