Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Sasha To Play 3 Gigs In Ireland This Year.

• 15-04-2009 5:40pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 535 ✭✭✭

29 May - Pod Dublin, Ireland

5 Jun - 515 @ The Clarence Silgo, Ireland

6 Jun - Lush! @ Kelly's Portrush, Ireland

See You There.....:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,541 ✭✭✭Davei141

Tripod you mean, should be a great gig

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,738 ✭✭✭Jay D

you won't be seeing me there considering his sets are complete gank these days. Last year was by far the last time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 535 ✭✭✭Westwood

complete gank? his last set in the pod was very self indulgent I agree but it was a once off and everyone does it now and then. sasha is on fire the last year or so since he ditched that electro sound. peep some of his latest sets

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,797 ✭✭✭bobcar61

Westwood wrote: »
    5 Jun - 515 @ The Clarence Silgo, Ireland

See You There.....:)

Brilliant news:D:D Can't wait already:)

bobcar61 wrote: »
    Brilliant news:D:D Can't wait already:)

Have you been to this venue before? Will be my first time up here, whats the place like and facilities? should I bring my wellingtons?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,580 ✭✭✭✭Riesen_Meal

Jay D wrote: »
    you won't be seeing me there considering his sets are complete gank these days. Last year was by far the last time.

Agreed,

Was the most monotonous ****e ive heard him playing in a long time, on another note I heard him n Diggers set from WMC Boat Party and its the best ive heard them in a while, then I had a look at the vids and sasha seems to be back using the cdjs, which could indicate that Ableton has maybe bored himself to tears on the stage!!!!!

Heres hoping he returns to form (aint been since 05)

Sasha was playing cdj's on the boat as it suits diggers aswell. they're hardly gonna setup two rigs for a small party. saying sasha hasnt churned out anything decent since 05 is an absolute joke, you're sleeping on him.

Westwood we can agree to disagree!

Opinions are like ar$eholes, we all have them!

I loved Sasha back in the day, and now I really think he hasnt done anything thats made me sit up and go "whoah" since his 2005 Essential Mix which was the most refreshing piece of pop music he's ever attempted playing to a big audience, Involver 1 is fantastic aswell, Involver 2 was a pile of turd in comparison....

His EM the year after from Amnesia was ****in Paedo-Trance!

Ive travelled the world since 2000 seeing him in different countries at the randomest of gigs and he never failed to tear the place apart, he just doesnt play the way he used to imo....

Maybe im getting too old but he hasnt "done" it for me in years, let down after let down.....

Sasha was playing cdj's on the boat as it suits diggers aswell. they're hardly gonna setup two rigs for a small party.

I think you missed the point there in fairness.

I was a big fan as well but I am not any more. It wasn't just a one off either, I had thought the same at that Malahide thing a year or so before.

Gone be the days in fairness when he did get the place truly rocking. And please don't be hurt cause I said you won't be seeing me at any of these, it's nothing personal against you. ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,531 ✭✭✭jonny68

I've gone from being one of Sasha's biggest fans a few years back to not being into him at all, he plays bland chin stroking progresive house/trance thesedays and im not into that at all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 144 ✭✭EvolutionNights

29 May - Pod Dublin, Ireland

The same night the Life festival starts.
    Hes overrated anyway. Seen him in Tripod last year. Rubbish gig.

Theres that boat party set, havent listened in full yet, will have a gander when im drivin later.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 337 ✭✭disssco

Digweed > Sasha by a lot in my opinion.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 954 ✭✭✭Yo Mamma

Used to love Sasha to bits, but over the last few years he seems to have been stuck in a rut with his Ableton application churning out some mediocre stuff at best, whereas Digweed has gone from strength to strength with the Amazing Transitions 4 being an absoloute milestone in progressive Dance music IMO, Sasha has done nothing 'Out of this world' in a long long time, last good set I heard of his was on Proton Radio I think, I bought his Involver 2 mix and was not overly impressed....

Still, having said that....Might be worth taking a look...

Although Martin Buttrich on the 23rd could take me out of the equation lol

• Closed Accounts Posts: 677 ✭✭✭RaverRo808

Dont get why people still go to these gigs considering the price of them,like no doubt it will be 25/30 quid in,accompanied by the obligatory 2 quid to take your jacket,then 3/4 hours buying drinks for yourself and the odd one for your mates at hiked up prices,all in all your looking at paying about 120 quid for one whole night and maybe may if your going abit wild,is it worth it?I always find there is absolutley no atmosphere in the Tri-pod,Id rather got the Parnell Mooney and have a pint being honest.lol

1. Never spent 120 euro at a gig in my whole life

2. 2 euro for a cloakroom, oh the inhumanity.

3. 5 euro a pint in tripod

4. You always find there is no atmosphere in everywhere that isn't playing the latest N-trance set you free remix. When was the last time you went to see a DJ in tripod btw?

Oh and jonny, chinstroking? is that what you label anything that doesn't sound like its 20 years old.

Seriously, change the record.

Davei141 wrote: »

4. You always find there is no atmosphere in everywhere that isn't playing the latest N-trance set you free remix. When was the last time you went to see a DJ in tripod btw?

Oh and jonny, chinstroking? is that what you label anything that doesn't sound like its 20 years old.

Im not Johnny,Im raverro as my name suggests,and I was in the Tripod last year to see Jeff Mills,and dont go slagging N-Trance,at least their music is fun

You must be a pioneer,all that sugary 7up most make you bit twitchy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,607 ✭✭✭VinylJunkie

Yeah and you must drink till you drop, ive never spent 120 on a night think about it a few cans before you go in cost you e7.50, e2 on the bus,e20 entry fee, then maybe 2-3 pints 15euro,nightlink home e5.

Total cost:
    e49.50

Just dont go mad on the drink and enjoy the music :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,401 ✭✭✭jtsuited

120 euro on drink????
    that's your problem right there.

Personally, I think too much alcohol is consumed in certain clubs in Dublin. By all means, have a great night with the music and a few beers and whatever else you want, but from what I've seen Irish people go overboard to an extent.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 224 ✭✭The G Child

jtsuited wrote: »
    120 euro on drink????

Personally, I think too much alcohol is consumed in certain clubs in Dublin. By all means, have a great night with the music and a few beers and whatever else you want, but from what I've seen Irish people go overboard to an extent.

Yeah I agree. People think you have to get scaldy drunk to have a good time in Ireland, but that's not the case. I think it's more down to youth too be honest. They have to get pissy drunk or mad out of it. I'm sure we all done it at 18, 19. When you start hitting 30 the emphasis is not on getting totally f*cked up. Even if I took a pill at a gig, it would be just 1, and wouldn't have me mongin out of it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,797 ✭✭✭bobcar61

Have you been to this venue before? Will be my first time up here, whats the place like and facilities? should I bring my wellingtons?

Yep I'm in the Clarence about twice a week.It's a nightclub not a field so no need for wellies.
    It's over 3 floors and 2 floors are looking down over the ground floor where the "stage" if that's what you want to call it is.

Nice place though,it's usually packed and it will be about €20 in on the night.

RaverRo808 wrote: »
    Im not Johnny,Im raverro as my name suggests,and I was in the Tripod last year to see Jeff Mills,and dont go slagging N-Trance,at least their music is fun

Eh i was addressing both of you. Last year? And that mean's you know what your talking about? I have been to the place a hell of a lot of times and each and every time the atmosphere is pretty good. Maybe its your choice of DJ's perhaps that cant get the crowd going.
    RaverRo808 wrote: »
    You must be a pioneer,all that sugary 7up most make you bit twitchy

Yeah it must. You really think you are adding to the atmosphere of any club when you go out and spend stupid amounts of money getting locked? Is that what you need to dance and have some craic?
    Yeah and you must drink till you drop, ive never spent 120 on a night think about it a few cans before you go in cost you e7.50, e2 on the bus,e20 entry fee, then maybe 2-3 pints 15euro,nightlink home e5.

Total cost:
    e49.50

Just don't go mad on the drink and enjoy the music :D

Exactly. If you want to waste money doing shots and getting double vodka redbulls that's hardly Tripod's fault.
    jtsuited wrote: »
    120 euro on drink????

+10000 Nothing worse than looking at somebody locked/monged out of their heads falling through a crowd of people who just want to dance and have fun.
    Yeah I agree. People think you have to get scaldy drunk to have a good time in Ireland, but that's not the case. I think it's more down to youth too be honest. They have to get pissy drunk or mad out of it. I'm sure we all done it at 18, 19. When you start hitting 30 the emphasis is not on getting totally f*cked up. Even if I took a pill at a gig, it would be just 1, and wouldn't have me mongin out of it.

At the japstars recently (which was one of the gigs of the year) Near the start (bout 12 o clock before the floor fills) some young guy out of his bin starts doing summersaults on the floor and tumbling into people. He must of landed on his head a few times too, didnt phase him one bit. Utterly pointless.

I've spent up to and beyond £500 Irish Pounds in a club before so €120 can easily be spent.

€2 to take someones coat is expensive, 50 cents would be about right.

€5 a pint whilst still expensive is good for this rip off dump, Tripod is the best of a very bad bunch in Dublin.

No need for sarcasm son,i merley pointed out that i used to be Sasha's biggest fan but the rubbish he churns out thesedays doesn't interest me in the slightest,nothing to do with someones age.

• Subscribers Posts: 8,322 ✭✭✭Scubadevils

jonny68 wrote: »
    I've spent up to and beyond £500 Irish Pounds in a club before so €120 can easily be spent.

Yeah Angels is pretty expensive, you can fly through the cash there :D

lol:pac::pac::pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,607 ✭✭✭VinylJunkie

€5 a pint whilst still expensive is good for this rip off dump, Tripod is the best of a very bad bunch in Dublin.

Haha what a fool you are if you think anyone is impressed that you have spent 500 punts. It was you that took the money from your pocket which makes you the fool who spent the money. You and RaverRo should meet up sometime for a chin wag.

Of course it CAN be spent. But what kind of state would you get yourself in spending that money on drink? Drinking so much your falling around the place and half the night is a blur? Sounds fun.

Are you taking the piss? You can spend 500 punts on drink yet 2 euro on a cloakroom is suddenly taking things too far?

5 euro a pint in a club on a friday/saturday night is excellent for dublin. And if there is a DJ on and people are doing drink promo's, its because the DJ alone wouldn't pull in the crowd.

No need for sarcasm son,i merley pointed out that i used to be Sasha's biggest fan but the rubbish he churns out thesedays doesn't interest me in the slightest,nothing to do with someones age.

Alright it doesn't interest you, fair enough everyone entitled to what they like. But why the need to call it chin stroking music? Can you ever dislike something without resorting to calling it ketamine music or chin stroking music? What is the point of that?

haha, dave is soon gonna be on Johnny's ignore list!

Don't worry it's a fairly exclusive club at the moment...well there's me and sean, but I guarantee you by the end of the week there'll be a few more!

Haha what a fool you are if you think anyone is impressed that you have spent 500 punts. It was you that took the money from your pocket which makes you the fool who spent the money. You and RaverRo should meet up sometime for a chin wag.

Think anyone is Impressed :D for fcuks sake man im a bit old for that carry on im not some teenager trying to impress people anymore, im just telling it as it is i did spend that amount of money before, bottles of Champagne in a club aint cheap you know as well as buying a few rounds of drinks, and as i said in the other thread at that time i had a good bit of disposable income so why the hell not.

i had a good bit of disposable income so why the hell not.
    because some day you might need it. :pac::pac:
    you know, economic collapse and whatnot.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 51 ✭✭Max Cohen

haven't been at any gigs in ages but lookin at some on the net, he's goin very minimal verging on just plain dull.

but he'll always be a hero to me anyway - hero 4 life yo

and his cd's have always been decent

renaissance - classic
    his northern exposure mixes - got me into dance, i'd say 2 just cuts it
    4 is awful though
    san francisco - the streetbums intro into narcotik - blue, genious
    ibiza - made me buy every vinyl off it
    airdrawndagger - not so much
    involver - outstanding
    invol2ver - good but not great

• Closed Accounts Posts: 224 ✭✭The G Child

500 quid?? I wouldn't spend that in a month going out, never mind a night. Again I think it comes down to youth. When I 1st started going out I would spend ridiculous amounts on drink, but that carry on soon stopped. The only time I would spend anywhere over a hundred euro now on drink is if my missus was with me and I was buying for us both on a session.

If I was hitting Tripod or any dance gig i would only drink maybe 5 pints throughout the whole night, including the pub before hand. Theres no need to be having 10 or 15 pints coz I would be cabbaged and sloppy after that. Waste of time really as I wouldn't enjoy the gig. If I was offered a pill I might take it but it would be just the one, not 5 or 6 like some people do take. Again, it gets you into a state where you cant be enjoying yourself.

That's just my opinion. Each to their own and all that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 134 ✭✭InTranceWeTrust

Ticket 25 quid, I live in town so I don't have to pay a taxi. Coat 2 euro, but its coming into summer now so you could just brave the elements if yer feeling tough. Drink? What drink. 50 quid for a gram of madman, has 3 lads buzzing all night.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,161 ✭✭✭frag420

bobcar61 wrote: »
    Yep I'm in the Clarence about twice a week.It's a nightclub not a field so no need for wellies.
    It's over 3 floors and 2 floors are looking down over the ground floor where the "stage" if that's what you want to call it is.

Nice place though,it's usually packed and it will be about €20 in on the night.

ya i am in clarence most weeks too. Booka shade and japanese popstars this sat night which will be a good un.

The sasha gig will be a ticket only gig so you will have to go to ticketmaster to get em.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 337 ✭✭disssco

and as i said in the other thread at that time i had a good bit of disposable income so why the hell not.

Why not save it up and buy something nice instead of pissing it away on over-priced drinks?

Saying sasha hasnt played anything decent since 05 leads me to believe you're electro fans cause thats all he was playing in parts of 04 nearly all of 05 and parts of 06 was all tinged with electro nonsense. now that hes playing storming futuristic prog again hes shyte? :pac:

Sasha has had many peaks and lows over the years like all of the great jocks. people say he peaked in 1995 which is absolute nonsense, as his 99-01 work is some of his finest in my opinion. it all depends on the person really and what their tastes and experiences were at certain times they seen him.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 51 ✭✭Max Cohen

people say he peaked in 1995 which is absolute nonsense, as his 99-01 work is some of his finest in my opinion. it all depends on the person really and what their tastes and experiences were at certain times they seen him.

i'd stretch it to 96 to 02
    you have to include the northern exposures and invovler!
    through all that time he was playing mental tunes.

i only seen that delta heavy doc thing on youtube recently enough,
    i always thought he was the shy retiring type
    but he's a bit of a party animal by the sounds of it and a bit of a gas man too.

Saying sasha hasnt played anything decent since 05 leads me to believe you're electro fans cause thats all he was playing in parts of 04 nearly all of 05 and parts of 06 was all tinged with electro nonsense. now that hes playing storming futuristic prog again hes shyte? :pac:

Sasha has had many peaks and lows over the years like all of the great jocks. people say he peaked in 1995 which is absolute nonsense, as his 99-01 work is some of his finest in my opinion. it all depends on the person really and what their tastes and experiences were at certain times they seen him.

I believe you talk a hell of a lot of nonsense. Let it lie.

disssco wrote: »
    Why not save it up and buy something nice instead of pissing it away on over-priced drinks?

Because at that particular time i lived day to day and had no other interests but going out raving all the time;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 84 ✭✭markious

Because at that particular time i lived day to day and had no other interests but going out raving all the time;)

But seriously 500 quid?? In one night?? Like you could of got something ANYTHING decent for that and instead spent it on a lot of vomet and a bad hang over.?

Certainly not something to be bragging about.

On another note - Cant wait for Sasha in Tripod :)