Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

An arresting question for AH

• 13-04-2009 6:04pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,405 ✭✭✭

Thought about putting this in the Garda forum, but maybe here might be more appropriate, since it's not a Garda recruit thing.

I need to know what Garda arrest proceedure is.... Do you get your rights read to you like England or the states, and what exactly is the wording?

I know in the UK it's something like "You do not have to say anything, but it may harm your defense if you fail to say something which you later rely on on court. Anything you do say can be used against you in a court of law" Is it something similar to that? Or do they just jam you into the back of the car and drive you to the station?

Funnily enough, I've never been arrested myself, so I don't quite know. It's for a short story I'm messing around with, and I'd like to get this right. Maybe somebody here is a Garda... or otherwise.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,986 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

Citizens Information website is good for this
    After you have been charged, the Garda must caution you with the following words: "You are not obliged to say anything unless you wish to do so, but whatever you say will be taken down in writing and may be given in evidence."

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,015 ✭✭✭CreepingDeath

dartz wrote:
    whatever you say will be taken down in writing

"will be taken down in writing" or "may be taken down in writing" ?

I think it's the latter.
    Otherwise you could talk really fast and watch the guards struggle to transcribe everything you said :pac::pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,080 ✭✭✭✭Random

Isn't it WILL? I thought I heard someone say it on the ES forum and complaining about writing out whole interviews etc?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,910 ✭✭✭✭RoundyMooney

ES forum tbh. The lads there will certainly know. It's not all wannabes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,379 ✭✭✭thebigcheese22

For a short story ehhh??! ;)

Don't worry, most of the people in this forum are criminals as well! I know I am...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,061 ✭✭✭✭Terry

Moved from AH. Feel free to send it back.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,938 ✭✭✭deadwood

" . . .whatever you do say will be taken down in writing"

Reply: "Ow, guards, stop. That reallly hurts....not the face...ow!"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,405 ✭✭✭Dartz

Thanks for the answer folks.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Help & Feedback Category Moderators Posts: 9,808 CMod ✭✭✭✭Shield

Another mystery solved.

Case closed.