Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

US Capt Freed - pirates killed by Snipers

• 12-04-2009 9:46pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,674 ✭✭✭

http://www.mail.com/Article.aspx?articlepath=APNews\General-World-News\20090412\Piracy.xml&cat=world&subcat=&pageid=1

I was kind of waiting for it to happen. THe US have apparently intervened and managed to release the US hostage by force.... killing 3 pirates in the process.

I'm curious though at what distance the snipers were from the target and if they were on board a moving / bobbing boat themselves... seems like it would have been a tough shot to make.

Just glad they didnt bomb the bejaysus out of something! :)

Muppet Man

• Closed Accounts Posts: 102 ✭✭lazybhoy

Muppet Man wrote: »
    http://www.mail.com/Article.aspx?articlepath=APNews\General-World-News\20090412\Piracy.xml&cat=world&subcat=&pageid=1

I was kind of waiting for it to happen. THe US have apparently intervened and managed to release the US hostage by force.... killing 3 pirates in the process.

I'm curious though at what distance the snipers were from the target and if they were on board a moving / bobbing boat themselves... seems like it would have been a tough shot to make.

Muppet Man

They were most likely SEAL team 6, the SEAL anti terrorist unit trained for such a senario, snipers trained to fire from moving boats etc.

That Captains a lucky guy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,001 ✭✭✭p1akuw47h5r3it

lazybhoy wrote: »
    They were most likely SEAL team 6, the SEAL anti terrorist unit trained for such a senario, snipers trained to fire from moving boats etc.

Was the captain hurt at all?

Bout time they did something.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,533 ✭✭✭iceage

Haven't seen the news but in my book..total result. These "pirates" have needed to be taught a lesson for some time now. Glad to hear that guy made it out alive, a shame that french lad recently didn't.

Also in my book...off a few more of these "pirates" teach them a Fcukin lesson sorry if that isn't PC but this has become a career option for these fellas, sailing vessel, cargo haulage, tankers carrying tanks!! FFS. :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,127 ✭✭✭✭kerry4sam

Was the captain hurt at all?

Bout time they did something.

No I don't believe the captain was hurt, physically anyways.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,798 ✭✭✭Local-womanizer

Fair play is right.If people are willing to do harm and take lives for their own benifit then they should be willing to lose their own aswell.

Never a good thing when a life is taken but it is certainly easier to take when it happens to scum like this.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,318 ✭✭✭O'Coonassa

Never a good thing when a life is taken but it is certainly easier to take when it happens to scum like this.

They're just trying to survive. I suppose you think the people who tried to the heist the food trains during the famine were scum too. It's you and the poor multi-billion dollar shipping interests against a handful rag tag Africans who are feeding whole villages. You sound like an aristocrat of old, very harsh hearted.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 726 ✭✭✭Mr. Frost

O'Coonassa wrote: »
    They're just trying to survive. I suppose you think the people who tried to the heist the food trains during the famine were scum too. It's you and the poor multi-billion dollar shipping interests against a handful rag tag Africans who are feeding whole villages. You sound like an aristocrat of old, very harsh hearted.

Interesting article.

http://news.bbc.co.uk/2/hi/africa/7650415.stm

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,674 ✭✭✭Muppet Man

The stunning resolution to a five-day standoff came in a daring nighttime assault in choppy seas Sunday after a pirate on an enclosed lifeboat held an AK-47 assault rifle to the back of Phillips, a 53-year-old freight captain.
    Vice Adm. Bill Gortney said Phillips was tied up and in "imminent danger" of being killed when the commander of the nearby USS Bainbridge made the split-second decision to order his men to shoot. Gortney said Navy snipers took aim at the pirates' heads and shoulders.
    Gortney said the lifeboat was about 25-30 yards (meters) away and was being towed by the Bainbridge at the time. Pirates had agreed to let the warship tow the powerless lifeboat out of rough water.
    A fourth pirate surrendered after boarding the Bainbridge earlier in the day and could face life in a U.S. prison.

I wouldnt often condone the military actions of the Yanks, but in this case I think it was warranted... seems to be a growing problem in the area...
    Prior to this attack, Somali pirates had become used to no resistance once they boarded a ship and negotiations that yielded million-dollar ransoms.
    Yet Sunday's blow to their lucrative activities is unlikely to do much to quell the growing pirate threat that has transformed one of the world's busiest shipping lanes into one of its most dangerous

Hopefully it might make them think twice... but if the rewards are high, they'll probably keep doing it.

Muppet Man.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,234 ✭✭✭neilled

They're trying to survive and feed whole villiages by hijacking numerous ships bringing humanitarian relief into somalia? Come off it. These lads are like the aristocrats of old, gaining their power by means of force(the old aristocracy having gained power through their ancestors battlefield exploits), having their own little mini little empires with servants and patronage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,798 ✭✭✭Local-womanizer

http://news.bbc.co.uk/2/hi/africa/7734985.stm

"They use some of this money to fund future operations - more powerful weapons, bigger, faster boats and more sophisticated equipment."

Granted they need to survive but taking hostages is not the way.As said on the other article posted they already live lavish lifestyles,big houses,cars and the best women.

Remember last month a British man was killed by pirates off Thailand?

http://news.scotsman.com/world/Pirates-kill-British-man-on.5106005.jp

I know its not Somalia but obviously influenced by events in Somalia.

The problems in Somalia are not going to be help by these "rag-tag" Africans.

Mr. Frost wrote: »

Yes indeed but you have to adjust what the BBC is saying to take account of what Africa is like.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 138 ✭✭bartholomewbinn

Muppet Man wrote: »

Muppet Man

Give them time, when they identify an appropriate target there will be lots of dead Somalis about the place.

Remember last month a British man was killed by pirates off Thailand?

http://news.scotsman.com/world/Pirates-kill-British-man-on.5106005.jp

I know its not Somalia but obviously influenced by events in Somalia.

The problems in Somalia are not going to be help by these "rag-tag" Africans.

There was piracy around Thailand this long time past, way before the Somalis got involved in the trade. The shipping interests can't fix the pirate problem without fixing Somalia so it may yet turn out to be a good thing for the Somalis.

Incidentally African waters are being plundered by the Europeans for huge amounts of fish and toxic waste is being dumped off the coast of Somalia by the same multi-billion dollar shipping interests that are crying about the pirates. Maybe if the developed world is so bothered about maritime law they should obey it?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,497 ✭✭✭Poccington

I doubt it was SEAL Team Six at all, it was more than likely whatever Team was in the area at the time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,234 ✭✭✭neilled

There was piracy around Thailand this long time past, way before the Somalis got involved in the trade. The shipping interests can't fix the pirate problem without fixing Somalia so it may yet turn out to be a good thing for the Somalis.

Incidentally African waters are being plundered by the Europeans for huge amounts of fish and toxic waste is being dumped off the coast of Somalia by the same multi-billion dollar shipping interests that are crying about the pirates. Maybe if the developed world is so bothered about maritime law they should obey it?

I have no issue about the argument that foreign fishermen are plundering somali waters or that some toxic waste is dumped off somalia. Indeed I believe one or two Irish Gombeen men/Robber Barrons may have been involved in this. Having said that I know that the serious players in the multi billion dollar shipping interests that you refer to take a dim line on any of their ships dumping waste anywhere. Smaller and less reputable players? Undoubtedly they get involved in this. However that doesn't explain the targeting of yacht's, ships that are bringing humanitarian assistance etc that has nothing to do with any of what you cite as the causes of piracy. This is a far from a Robin Hood case of robbing from the rich to feed the poor and starving, its a case of the powerful in somalia using it to supplement their own wealth, prestige and control.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 102 ✭✭lazybhoy

Poccington wrote: »
    I doubt it was SEAL Team Six at all, it was more than likely whatever Team was in the area at the time.

http://hotfeeder.com/politics/seal_team_six_v_the_pirates_1634228

Background information provided by the White House provides an intriguing clue as to the identity of the Navy SEAL team that rescued Capt. Richard Phillips from Somali pirates. After the mission, Obama telephoned several military officials, including "Vice Admiral William McRaven, Commander Joint Special Operations Command." Interesting choice; it means that at least some of the Navy Seals who participated in the rescue were part a classified special missions unit -- the Naval Special Warfare Development Group -- DevGru, popularly known as "SEAL Team Six." The commander of JSOC technically provides support for other special forces (SF) units. But really -- the JSOC commander overseas Delta Force, SEALTeam Six and other secret teams.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,497 ✭✭✭Poccington

http://hotfeeder.com/politics/seal_team_six_v_the_pirates_1634228

Background information provided by the White House provides an intriguing clue as to the identity of the Navy SEAL team that rescued Capt. Richard Phillips from Somali pirates. After the mission, Obama telephoned several military officials, including "Vice Admiral William McRaven, Commander Joint Special Operations Command." Interesting choice; it means that at least some of the Navy Seals who participated in the rescue were part a classified special missions unit -- the Naval Special Warfare Development Group -- DevGru, popularly known as "SEAL Team Six." The commander of JSOC technically provides support for other special forces (SF) units. But really -- the JSOC commander overseas Delta Force, SEALTeam Six and other secret teams.

Your post shows why I was saying it couldn't have been SEAL Team Six, since it technically doesn't exist anymore :P

neilled wrote: »
    I have no issue about the argument that foreign fishermen are plundering somali waters or that some toxic waste is dumped off somalia. Indeed I believe one or two Irish Gombeen men/Robber Barrons may have been involved in this. Having said that I know that the serious players in the multi billion dollar shipping interests that you refer to take a dim line on any of their ships dumping waste anywhere. Smaller and less reputable players? Undoubtedly they get involved in this. However that doesn't explain the targeting of yacht's, ships that are bringing humanitarian assistance etc that has nothing to do with any of what you cite as the causes of piracy. This is a far from a Robin Hood case of robbing from the rich to feed the poor and starving, its a case of the powerful in somalia using it to supplement their own wealth, prestige and control.

There is no wealth in Somalia really. If you are an African with money then your whole clan has a claim on it. In fact that's one of the factors that slows development in Africa, society there is far less individualistic. There's no way the pirates can avoid this social setting, they are clansmen and must behave as such.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 16,648 Mod ✭✭✭✭Manic Moran

Interestingly, apparently there was some Army involvement in the operation as well. The Admiral did make mention of thanking the soldiers.

NTM

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 199 ✭✭Skyhawk1990

Interestingly, apparently there was some Army involvement in the operation as well. The Admiral did make mention of thanking the soldiers.

NTM

Because the army is stealing the limelight in Iraq obviously:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,533 ✭✭✭iceage

Seems it may have been SEALs after all. Parachuted into the Indian Ocean at night and took up positions on Bainbridge. Dazzling outcome.

Seems that Pirates hold some 230 foreign sailors hostage in more than a dozen ships anchored off lawless Somalia

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,674 ✭✭✭Muppet Man

Its the kind of thing that has "movie" written all over it.

Better than that tripe Rambo IV.

Muppet Man

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 2,688 Mod ✭✭✭✭Morpheus

Fantastic shots, and they had to have been.

it was an enclosed lifeboat and i believe it was being towed 75 feet (maybe metres) behind the USS Bainbridge.

This is similiar to the type of lifeboat used (an enclosed lifeboat with wheelhouse and hatches):

Lifeboat.jpg

1 guy was visible up in the wheel house, the other two were head and shoulders above the hatches, one apparently had his weapon pointed at the captain.

The three snipers were located on the heli deck at the rear of the Bainbridge.

Heres a picture of the Bainbridge AND the lifeboat in tow, I believe the lifeboat was further back than this when the shots were taken.

USS_Bainbridge_tows_the_lifeboat_of_the_Maersk_Alabama.jpg

The SEAL snipers took the shots (it was night time-seas were a little choppy or so ive read) and immediately other SEAL members shimmied down the tow rope and boarded the lifeboat, securing the captain and dead pirates.

Was talking to a PDF guy who's done the sniper course here and he said he didnt envy the shooters but believes these particular snipers are trained to take the shots for just such a situation and environment (someone else mentioned this earlier as being SEAL team 6?).

Job well done.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 15,790 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tabnabs

The on-scene commander gave the shooters approval to open fire after seeing that "one of the pirates had an AK-47 leveled at the captain's back," Gortney said.

Seas in the area were getting rough at the time of the rescue, Gortney said, and the Bainbridge was towing the lifeboat presumably to calmer waters with a towline about 82 feet long.

A senior defense official told CNN that each pirate was shot in the head.

After the shooting, special operations personnel shimmied along the tow rope to ensure the pirates were dead and freed Phillips, the official said.

The official added that the pirates had become increasingly agitated over the past day, and negotiations were not going well.

The fourth pirate was aboard the Bainbridge most of the day and told military negotiators that he wasn't going back to the other pirates, according to a defense official with knowledge of the situation.
    CNN
    Two of the captors had poked their heads out of a rear hatch of the lifeboat, exposing themselves to clear shots, and the third could be seen through a window in the bow, pointing an automatic rifle at the captain, who was tied up inside the 18-foot lifeboat, senior Navy officials said.

It took only three remarkable shots — one each by snipers firing from a distance at dusk, using night-vision scopes, the officials said. Within minutes, rescuers slid down ropes from the Bainbridge, climbed aboard the lifeboat and found the three pirates dead.

NY Times

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,662 ✭✭✭RMD

Actually, these guys are basically on the same level as the Drug gangs of Dublin, pure and utter scum.

They're kidnapping and killing people just so they can have money. They're killing anyone who gets in their way and keeping the money themselves, doing the exact same things the drug dealers are doing. Getting rich through crime, buying fancy houses and fancy cars, becoming an icon for those living in poverty around them.

Care to find me even one article which backs up the statement you just made.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,221 ✭✭✭BrianD

RMD wrote: »
    Actually, these guys are basically on the same level as the Drug gangs of Dublin, pure and utter scum.

They're kidnapping and killing people just so they can have money. They're killing anyone who gets in their way and keeping the money themselves, doing the exact same things the drug dealers are doing. Getting rich through crime, buying fancy houses and fancy cars, becoming an icon for those living in poverty around them.

Care to find me even one article which backs up the statement you just made.

I wouldn't agree. I don't condone the behaviour of the Somali pirates and their tactics but I can fully understand why they do it. The developed world has consistently allowed African nations "die" - they have plundered their resources. interfered in internal affairs to suit their agendas and used their land as dumps for toxic waste (very much the case in Somalia). Survival in Somalia requires extremes. One could argue that the actions of the pirates - with some exceptions - has been a relatively bloodless operation. There has been very few deaths as a result of piracy. In fact the deaths that have occured have usually occured when foreign forces intervene. The fact that it has been bloodless has meant that ransoms have been paid rapidly. Apparently, the wealth from each ransom gets spread quite well in the pirate communities.

It's interesting that with such a diverse multinational and large navy in the area that it is largely having no effect on piracy. One wonders that if they are actually doing anything or perhaps they are keeping the foreign fishing fleets that are illegally pillaging Somali fishing grounds safe from harm.

It's also interesting that despite the fuss about the MV Fairna (the one with the tanks and military supplies) that it was quietly unloaded in Mombassa with no questions asked. Reports indicated that the equipment was destined for Sudan. Obviously the West is concerned enough to make sure that the despotic African nation that pays for their guns gets their guns.

So I wouldn't equate the Somali pirates to Dublin drug gangs who as individuals have plenty of options to make a living in an ordered society. Not only do the drug gangs make money for themselves but also inflict misery on the very communities that they live in.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,333 ✭✭✭Zambia

What is this utter nonsense about Pirates serving some decent purpose or having any right to life in this situation. The fact is they are thieves. Africa is full of thieves that are very violent and will kill your priviliged foriegn or white ass for a watch. They are under no illusions that its wrong and they should not do it.

I have on several occasions seen dead bodies left on roads just so a motorist would stop and have their car highjacked. Just because these yahoos have found boats and taken to the sea where they get a bit more press it does not excuse them from the implications of armed action which will results in armed reaction.

Its pretty standard in Africa to be shot if caught red handed unless your super fast at giving up.

Not that the whole continent the same

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,221 ✭✭✭BrianD

Zambia232 wrote: »
    What is this utter nonsense about Pirates serving some decent purpose or having any right to life in this situation. The fact is they are thieves. Africa is full of thieves that are very violent and will kill your priviliged foriegn or white ass for a watch. They are under no illusions that its wrong and they should not do it.

I am not justifying the use of violence but desperate people do desperate things and what the pirates are doing is relatively benign. Why is Africa full of thieves? are the thieves any different to the white collar thieves that we are surrounded by in the west? There's a whole class in Irish society are now paying dues to banks for cheap homes where they will be dead before they have the principles paid off. Not unlike bonded labour. Your idea of morality is quite selective.

Bottom line is that few people have died as a result of piracy and most of those who have died violently are the pirates themselves. While there is a great deal of coverage about activities on the high seas there is very little activity or coverage of the 200 seafarers that are being held hostage on land. there seems to be very little appetitite by the naval powers to do something about this.