Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Hypothetical question for Leinster fans

• 12-04-2009 8:03pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 625 ✭✭✭

If you were in Cheika's boots, would you select Contempomi at out-half for the semi final?

As a Munster fan, I hope he does, which he will, as in the big games against Munster he always has a wobbler:)

Some may say, "well, Leinster beat Munster twice last year with Contempomi at out-half". However, there wasnt the same pressure as this year and as in 2006.

In 2006, both teams were playing for a spot in the final. Two weeks ago it was for the Magners league. In 3 weeks time, it'll be for a spot in the final. I see a 'pomi wobbler coming on.

Now I dont mean this to be disrespectful. Just posing a question. What would you do if you were in Cheikas place for the selection for that game....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,433 ✭✭✭✭thomond2006

theKramer wrote: »
    If you were in Cheika's boots, would you select Contempomi at out-half for the semi final?

Who else is there?

1. Sexton: LOL
    2. Nacewa: Triple LOL

No, seriously, FC is Leinster's best bet. He surely can't be as bad as he was at TP last week.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 890 ✭✭✭Oisinjm

If the guy is in the right frame of mind hes unbelievable (The win over Toulouse in 06 for example). Plus the fact that we have no one else to really put in there. Yeah, if I was Cheika I would start him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,255 ✭✭✭anonymous_joe

Contepomi's a great player, a little erratic at times, but such is life.

We've no other options at the moment. I'd rather Felipe was at 12, but we'll have to make do.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 62 ✭✭Darlie

He has no choice but to play FC at outhalf. He may not be the only 10 on the field who is known for the odd wobble:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,382 ✭✭✭Fishtits

No choice, he's as flaky as it gets, Munster will get to him, he'll be blamed for the loss and will sail off into the Euro filled sunset at Toulon.

...That what you wanted to hear?

He's been a great servant to Leinster... but they deserve better IMHO. Michelak anyone?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,380 ✭✭✭remus808

No chance would I play Felipe.

Felipe has had his chance twice this season against Munster and failed spectacularly. (Not to mention 2006)

Sexton on the other hand, was instrumental in beating Munster twice last season, and manages a game better than FC.

Should be obvious who to pick in a crunch game like this.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 28,951 Mod ✭✭✭✭Podge_irl

theKramer wrote: »
    Some may say, "well, Leinster beat Munster twice last year with Contempomi at out-half".

They may say it, but they'd be wrong. Sexton spent 50 minutes at out-half in Musgrave and the entire game at out-half in the RDS. I'd start Sexton without a moment's hesitation.

Sexton's a good player, he really is. People need to give him a break.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,352 ✭✭✭funky penguin

Who else is there?

1. Sexton: LOL
    2. Nacewa: Triple LOL

No, seriously, FC is Leinster's best bet. He surely can't be as bad as he was at TP last week.

I seriously don't get this. I can't understand why people don't rate him.

Sexton has the ability to be the No.1 fly-half for Leinster and Ireland. He needs game time and unfortunately he's not getting it (and don't say its because of his citation - it happens).

As the post above mentioned, he was instrumental in beating Munster twice last season.

Saying this though, Phil will start. He just has more experience. JS will be on the bench though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,249 ✭✭✭Stev_o

10.Sexton
    12.Conters
    13.BOD

??

Think D'arcy has been all over the shop and is offering nothing, i dunno give Sexton a start in the ML match and see what he produces, he might even preform like he did Pre CC.

Actually, thats not bad.

I've always preferred conters in centre.

thanks to sexton's antics we'd only have one match to give it a run! :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,055 ✭✭✭suppafly

will sexton be available? Hasn't he been cited and banned for a few weeks for his kick out at mafi last week.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,930 ✭✭✭duckysauce

think hes screwed if he picks either of them ,dr phil to start ,dont even bother with sexton it would be like a red rag to the bull:D . darcy adding nothing you are mad how many players got past him this year feck all , he makes yards whenever je gets the ball no brainer

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,249 ✭✭✭Stev_o

duckysauce wrote: »
    think hes screwed if he picks either of them ,dr phil to start ,dont even bother with sexton it would be like a red rag to the bull:D . darcy adding nothing you are mad how many players got past him this year feck all , he makes yards whenever je gets the ball no brainer

Sorry what?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,532 ✭✭✭✭phog

You obviously missed the match last week in Thomond Park.:confused:

Grammar's a wonderful companion.

As for Sexton, what's with the 'he's ****' vibe from all the Munster fans? He was the one who masterminded a defeats of Munster last season. Have you forgotten that?

Felipe Contepomi is one of the most successful players the Magners League has ever seen, and while he's botched a few performances (most noticably against Munster) Munster have O'Gara at out-half, one of the flakiest to have ever flaked, and yet it's the two Leinster guys being criticised.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,738 ✭✭✭thehighground

Grammar's a wonderful companion.

As for Sexton, what's with the 'he's ****' vibe from all the Munster fans? He was the one who masterminded a defeats of Munster last season. Have you forgotten that?

Felipe Contepomi is one of the most successful players the Magners League has ever seen, and while he's botched a few performances (most noticably against Munster) Munster have O'Gara at out-half, one of the flakiest to have ever flaked and yet it's the two Leinster guys being criticised.

Dream on Joe, or are you having a laugh here surely! Sexton lost the plot in the recent game against Munster (for kicking a Munster player in the face!). That won't be forgotten. Alan Quinlan will have a field day winding him up. He also tried to shove O'Gara around a bit last week (it was pathetic), who just walked away from him:D

Saw a couple of drop kicks, kicks at the death yesterday from various teams (who missed them) - only player who consistently gets those kind of kick, under pressure, is O'Gara (and Wilko).

Don't forget as well, Munster have Warwick on the field as well, if his boot isn't working out.

Dream on Joe, or are you having a laugh here surely! Sexton lost the plot in the recent game against Munster (for kicking a Munster player in the face!). That won't be forgotten. Alan Quinlan will have a field day winding him up. He also tried to shove O'Gara around a bit last week (it was pathetic), who just walked away from him:D

Saw a couple of drop kicks, kicks at the death yesterday from various teams (who missed them) - only player who consistently gets those kind of kick, under pressure, is O'Gara (and Wilko).

Don't forget as well, Munster have Warwick on the field as well, if his boot isn't working out.

Look, Sexton took Munster apart twice last season.

Oh no, he kicked someone in the face. It's rugby. It's violent and phyiscal, and all manner of nastiness lurks under the surface. Shít happens.

I've heard many a Munster fan crowing about winding up Contepomi, putting him under pressure, but when someone tries to do it to ROG he's pathetic?

I've seen O'Gara get plenty of last minute drop goals. I've also seen him play badly for Ireland for the past two seasons, including the World Cup, where he could have bottled at an olympic level, so mighty was his collapse. It happens because he's a human, he's flawed. We all are. Christ, the revisionism here is unreal, O'Gara's infallible, Sexton's a bottler?

I think Munster are going to win, though for obvious reasons I don't want them to, but yikes, arrognace and hubris are really starting to shine through amongst the fans.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 65 ✭✭pdelahunty

I seriously don't get this. I can't understand why people don't rate him.

Sexton has the ability to be the No.1 fly-half for Leinster and Ireland. He needs game time and unfortunately he's not getting it (and don't say its because of his citation - it happens).

As the post above mentioned, he was instrumental in beating Munster twice last season.

Saying this though, Phil will start. He just has more experience. JS will be on the bench though.

Sexton doesn't have it - he is not going to be #1 fly half for Ireland. I wish he was but he is not good enough

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 634 ✭✭✭subfreq

I think he will start with FC but I would line out Sexton, D'Arcy, BOD with Kearney and Fitz on the wings and Dempsey at Fullback. Kearney's form has been dropping for months and he offers no more than Dempsey now. I think the way to get the best out of him is on the wing now.

FC and Jackman are Leinsters biggest liabilities. Both can be got to mentally in a game and I think the pressure really gets to them. It's a shame because they both have crucial roles.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 91 ✭✭robgloster

Start FC he is world class. If he does bottle it . . Again! can always bring on sexton. FC is too good to drop. Could also Start him at 12. Sexton 10. Darcy to come on.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16 runny babbit

i think sexton is one for the future, but right now needs game time. Fc leaving will help him no end. Still think the boot to face was wrong on many levels, not a good sign in a player (person). Unless you like that sort of thing..

phog wrote: »
    You obviously missed the match last week in Thomond Park.:confused:

Where he was playing out of position. How many years had it been since he started at 13?
    pdelahunty wrote:
    Sexton doesn't have it - he is not going to be #1 fly half for Ireland. I wish he was but he is not good enough

Are you basing this on the game time he's had this season?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,026 ✭✭✭Tim Robbins

Darlie wrote: »
    He has no choice but to play FC at outhalf. He may not be the only 10 on the field who is known for the odd wobble:D

I'd pick him. And I'd have pin pointed all the Munster players who wind him up and make sure our forwards look after them.

It will be won / lost up front like evey other match.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 149 ✭✭sslazio11

Lads as a Munster fan who was at the Leinster game on Sunday through a combination of fortuitous circumstances, my admiration for Contepomi shot through the roof. He threw himself into every tackle like his life depended on it, and nailed the two penalties that won the game.

I'd start him against Munster without hesitation. If he does go badly, Sexton is definitely a viable option.

And while I'm here, kudos to the Leinster fans for their performance on Sunday, absolutely demolished the Harlequins fans in terms of vocal support, I was proud to wreck my voicebox with ye. Should be some craic in Croke Park.

I'd pick him. And I'd have pin pointed all the Munster players who wind him up and make sure our forwards look after them.

It will be won / lost up front like evey other match.

Not much use winning up front if Conters has a nightmare with the boot again though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,800 ✭✭✭Tomtom364

If sexton started he would just be a big blue target for mafi and howlett.
    They will be gunning for him. Mafi for revenge and did ye see howlett after the incident in TP? He was ready to kill sexton.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,920 ✭✭✭✭stephen_n

Start with Contepomi purely because of his experience but pull him earlier if he is having a nightmare. Sexton to come on around the half way mark to change the game up and move the Leinster backline. This idea that Sexton isn't good enough that seems to float around this board by people that obviously haven't watched him play or else know nothing about rugby is for the birds IMO it is no coincidence that every time he is introduced the backline starts to look dangerous even with the liability that is two steps slowing the ball down! If there wasn't a player with the experience and abiltiy of FC in front of him i would have no problem at all with him starting the game.

As a side note to the Munster fans who are saying what Qunniy and the Munster forwards would do to him, wind him up (you really mean rough him up) if you step down off your little pontifical pedestal for a minute it might occur to you that there could have been a reason for Sexton being in the treatment room which resulted from just such play, yet if Munster get it back it's tears in the cornflakes time!!

Tomtom364 wrote: »
    If sexton started he would just be a big blue target for mafi and howlett.
    They will be gunning for him. Mafi for revenge and did ye see howlett after the incident in TP? He was ready to kill sexton.

Good, maybe they'll be too busy doing that to actually play rugby.

stephen_n wrote: »

As a side note to the Munster fans who are saying what Qunniy and the Munster forwards would do to him, wind him up (you really mean rough him up) if you step down off your little pontifical pedestal for a minute it might occur to you that there could have been a reason for Sexton being in the treatment room which resulted from just such play, yet if Munster get it back it's tears in the cornflakes time!!

Id suggest you try watching the match. Sexton went off after being accidently head bopped by rocky elsom

Any Munster player who sledges the Dr. and gets caught could be liable to a sin bin. It could be something for the ref makes a point about considering the amount of media coverage this gets.

DOC got pinged in Wales by Barnes for what looked like a bit of unsportsman behaviour to another player.

DOC and Leamy also invested far too much time and effort into trying to get at Conters in the Ireland-Arg world cup game and we all know how that ended up. But Conters has hardly set the world alight against Munster this year.

Anyway, I certainly wouldn't worry about Sexton receiving undue attention. The Munster backrow were doing all kinds of off the ball ****e in the RDS last season and it didn't affect him or the team.

It is possible to get to FC legally. Its called big tackles

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 438 ✭✭Diom

I'd start Dr Phil. Sexton would come on if Contepomi implodes as in the last inter-pro.

Sexton is a very good player (he's no Keatley... ) and I think he will get better over time, but I think starting him would be a mistake. The Munster back-row will target him (vice-versa for ROG) so I would stick Contepomi there and let him soak up the initial burst at least. Bring Sexton on to change things up, with either Darcy or Contepomi coming off, depending on their respective form.

As a Connacht fan I want to see Leinster win the HEC this year. This is not out of a preference for Leinster, but simply because I want to see BOD get his dues before he succumbs to old age.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 625 ✭✭✭theKramer

Seriously though, what the f*** is going on with the Leinster backline. They played last weekend like Munster used to up until a year or two ago. Munster played like that coz they had sh** backs. Leinsters are arguably better than Munsters, and they are still playing mindless, boring rugby.

If Leinster play like they did against Harlequins, against Munster in Croke Park, ye dont have a chance.

I wouldn't say they have no chance if they play like that...

Although we would require FC to have his kicking boots on... :/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,954 ✭✭✭LeeroyJones

Leinster have the better backline man-for-man, its the system which Cheika plays which i find mind-boggling, as he must be instructing Kearney, Fitzgerald and Nacewa to play territory and kick as opposed to counter attack despite Fitz and Kearney being two of the best counter attackers in the game. Leinster could pose serious problems for Munster if they kept the ball in hand.

As for the "who to play 10" question, personally i'd go with Sexton and put Contepomi 12. Dr Phil is a great 10 but a world-class 12, perhaps also taking him away from fly-half could take some pressure off him. In doing this of course means no D'arcy, but he could be a supersub, or there is even the possibility of playing him on the rightwing.
    As for Sexton playing 10 and being the potential target for the Munster backrow and Mafi, I certainly would not let that be a deterrent-last season he was the target (as he was a young rookie) and he rose to the occasion magificently

• Closed Accounts Posts: 240 ✭✭Pshan

Any Munster player who sledges the Dr. and gets caught could be liable to a sin bin. It could be something for the ref makes a point about considering the amount of media coverage this gets.

What about any Leinster player who sledges a Munster player - same treatment?

Pshan wrote: »
    What about any Leinster player who sledges a Munster player - same treatment?
    Of course.