Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

'ARMAGEDDON XII' Muay Thai Fightnight

• 12-04-2009 2:48pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 143 ✭✭

The next installment to the Armageddon series of International Fightnights will be ARMAGEDDON XII "The Dirty Dozen" which will take place on Saturday 9th May, 2009 at the Ringside Club, National Boxing Stadium, South Circular Road, Dublin 8.

Tickets are 25euro and can be bought at The Bridgestone Gym, 11 Arbour Place, Dublin 7 or Mullen Sports, corner of Capel St and Mary St, Dublin 1.
    Doors open 7pm, first fight 7.30pm.

There will be 12 Pro bouts on the bill will 1 or 2 Amatuer to kick it off. 8 out of the 12 Pro bouts will be International with 5 differrent gyms from the UK attending. Two of the Internationals will be Ladies.

150 tickets already gone before going on sale yesterday so make sure to get your tickets early so as not to dissapoint.

Irish Gyms involved will be Bridgestone Gym (Dublin), Chupasart (Dublin), Hanuman (Galway), Galway Thai (Galway), Sitjaipetch (Cork), Waterford Thai (Waterford), Courage Thai (Tipperary).

UK Gyms involved will be Lumpini (London), G-Camp (Manchester), Hanuman (Leeds), Lumpini (Southampton), Semtex (London).

Please email info@bridgestonemuaythai.com for further information.

Final line-up will be posted shortly.

Regards,
    Paul.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 143 ✭✭Bridgestone Man

Fightnight Poster attatched

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,485 ✭✭✭✭Khannie

Khannie will be fighting in this! :D

Here's the poster in all its jpeg glory.......

armageddon_xii.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,883 ✭✭✭wudangclan

Khannie wrote: »
    Khannie will be fighting in this! :D

Here's the poster in all its jpeg glory.......

hiya khannie,
    you could have made an effort and turtle waxed the oul' crown for that photo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,621 ✭✭✭yomchi

Good luck Paul for the show.
    I've been to many of the Bridgestone shows and thanks to the safety of the chairs outside the ring, I've enjoyed them immensly!

Good luck Khannie!

wudangclan wrote: »
    you could have made an effort and turtle waxed the oul' crown for that photo

I'll shine it up on the night for ye.
    Jon wrote: »
    Good luck Khannie!

Cheers Jon. You coming?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,621 ✭✭✭yomchi

Definitely going to try. I'll be in with Ray during the week so might grab a few tickets.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 322 ✭✭j walsh

Put me out of my misery Khannie, which one of the ugly bunch are you?:D
    Females not included of course!!;)

I'm the baldy lad with the cranky looking head on me. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,219 ✭✭✭Lab_Mouse

well khannie if you dont have turtle wax,thai oil is just as good:pac:

just dont get it in your eyes:)

Oh right the best looking of the lot :D.
    That's not saying much;).
    Chok Dee with your fight, who are you fighting?
    I have one lad fighting on the show, but i'm bringing my little girl to eurodisney the tuesday before, and coming back that saturday so it doesn't look like i'll make it.

Haha. Cheers.

Pity you can't make it. Should be a class night.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 10,440 Mod ✭✭✭✭Mr Magnolia

One for the calendar, hope to make it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34 GARR

Hey Paul

Any line up yet....?

Gar.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 883 ✭✭✭davmol

Any word on the number of 'A' , 'B' class fights etc?

cheers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 570 ✭✭✭hooplah

Theres a list of fights with the class up on the Chupasart website: http://www.chupasart.com/ - looks like its not totally complete though.

Trust Pddy to mess it up. Thats the correct poster but its the Line up for the last Armageddon.

See new tread for Up to date Line Up.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12 Chupa_chick

haha whoops that's my bad not paddys :rolleyes: got a bit too enthusiastic there with the site updates...

all fixed now - lookin forward to it! :)

I only have about a dozen tickets left in Gym and I think Mullens sports have about 20 this morning so please make sure all get tickets as will be an all ticket sell out show. So unless I get some back near the night of the show there will be no tickets on the door.

Regards,
    Paul.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,441 ✭✭✭Killme00

found it...bump

Can i pay at the door or do i need to pop up to Mullens to get some tickets beforehand?

I am sorry but all the tickets have been sold and entrance will be by ticket only. We may have a couple back from fighters at weighin tomorrow but you would have to come down to the Bridgestone gym at 7pm to get them.

Regards,
    Paul.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,441 ✭✭✭Killme00

I am sorry but all the tickets have been sold and entrance will be by ticket only. We may have a couple back from fighters at weighin tomorrow but you would have to come down to the Bridgestone gym at 7pm to get them.

Regards,
    Paul.

Thanks Paul,

I'll pop up tonight to see if you have any returns.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 113 ✭✭Havo

Good luck to Paul and all the lads (and lasses) fightin!!!

How'd it go? How'd Khannie get on? Good night I hope..

Great night. I lost a knee fest on points. Fitness was the deciding factor in the end. Good solid scrap though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,498 ✭✭✭paddyc

... sorry i didnt get to see many of the fights khannie... tell me how did gary ormond, paul norton and mark casserly get on :D

paddy

I actually Didn't see Gary's fight Paddy. I think he was on just after me. Did it go the distance? I take it from the smug head on ye that he won anyway. :D

Paul and Mark did great. I was surprised Marks lad went the distance tbh with the punishment he was taking.

What was the craic with the doctor putting the vaseline on Marks opponent by the way? I thought he was just supposed to determine whether or not the fighter is able to continue, not patch him up (beyond rubbing blood away).

Khannie wrote: »
    Great night. I lost a knee fest on points. Fitness was the deciding factor in the end. Good solid scrap though.

Grappling is a zapper alright. As I said earlier, hope you enjoyed the night.

i was delighted he didnt stop it... its was savage to see mark go banging for the 5 rnds doing all sorts of crazy stuff i never seen him do before :)

Daniel hope didnt have a hope from the outset, but fair dues hes had tin cans of steel

part from that, its was a savage night for the family in chupasart, all wins all beautiful fighters, thanks to all my wee babies, baby bear, pretty boy, ormondo, my **** corner man... he knows who he is :)

thanks to john kav as well, if we didnt have him we wouldnt have a place to train...

only way is up for the new home of champions....

... go on khannie and bridgestone man take the bait.....

also khannie u wanna go to manchester 4th july see the wee scottish gollum fight?

paddy

paddyc wrote: »
    ... go on khannie and bridgestone man take the bait.....

Nope. :) My days of taking bait are over Paddy. :D

also khannie u wanna go to manchester 4th july see the wee scottish gollum fight?

Big time. My sister lives over in Manchester so I'd have somewhere to stay and it'd be a decent excuse to see her anyway. PM me your mobile number there paddy and I'll give you a ring to get more details.

not a chance your getting it PMed or other wise:) sure u'd only be asking me can you come down my gym to train...

will get in touch once fight confirmed...

... So i take it all the lads that go over can stay in your sisters place

paddy

... So i take it all the lads that go over can stay in your sisters place

Not a f*ckin' chance! I saw the dirty look in your eyes when you met her at the last fights over there. Sure you'd only be trying to "worm"* your way into my family. :p

*I still laugh out loud every time I think about mick and that worm video

can someone post the results lads?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16 westwoodgym

i like it, very good

j walsh wrote: »
    can someone post the results lads?

Note: May not be accurate. :) I'm taking this lineup from ages ago and I'm pretty sure some of the fighters the Irish lads were facing changed in the run up to the event.

1. Gary Meleady (Bridgestone Gym) v T.B.C.

T.B.C. Win, points. (Not sure what Gaz's opponent was called, sorry)

2.Dylan McDonagh (Bridgestone Gym) v Shane Bohnam (Galway Thai)
    As far as I understand it: Shane didn't bring a gumshield so the fight didn't go ahead at the very last minute. :confused:

3.Brian Murphy (Bridgestone Gym) v Ken Jones (Lumpini Gym)
    Ken Jones win points

4.Paul Canavan (Bridgestone Gym) v James O Connell (Courage Thai)
    James O Connell win points

5.Gary Ormond (Chupasart Gym) v Chris Cooney (Hanuman)
    Gary Ormond win points

6.Naoise Creaven (Bridgestone Gym) v Sean Long (Courage Thai)
    Naoise Creaven win points

7.Kelly Simon (Bridgestone Gym) v Sophia Thompson (G Camp)
    Kelly Simon win points

8.Jason Lo (Bridgestone Gym) v Brian (Sitjaipetch.)
    Brian win points

9.Remus Agafitie (Bridgestone Gym) v Simon Eastwood (Lumini Gym)
    Draw

10.Darran Lo (Bridgestone Gym) v Mike Harty (Hanuman)
    Darren Lo win points

11.Feriel Amoerooedien (Bridgestone Gym) v Ana Roxo ( TNS Gym)
    Ferial Amoerooedien win KO round 2

12.Paul Norton (Chupasart) v Daniel Hope (Lumpini Gym)
    Paul Norton win KO round 2 (Paddy will confirm)

14.Uvais Bisayev (Bridgestone Gym) v Flavio Santos (TNS Gym)
    Uvais Bisayev win points

15. Mark Casserly (Chupasart Gym) v T.B.C.
    Mark Casserly win points

Thanks Paul.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 570 ✭✭✭hooplah

Really enjoyed the night - just wondering if theres going to be any video put up online or made available otherwise?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 113 ✭✭Havo

Dvds of the show should go on sale in the Bridgestone Gym in the next week or so