Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Please explain heaven

• 11-04-2009 7:15pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 379 ✭✭

Just a few quick questions to the eternally retarded morons [...]

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 24,399 Mod ✭✭✭✭robindch

Just a few quick questions to the eternally retarded morons
    You had your warning, now take a week's gardening leave.

• Registered Users Posts: 17,371 ✭✭✭✭Zillah

"Please explain heaven" is not a question.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,245 ✭✭✭✭Fanny Cradock

:(

Maybe I'm not the most objective, but what is going on with some people on both forums of late?

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 10,515 Mod ✭✭✭✭5uspect

Just a few quick questions to the eternally retarded morons who want to go to heaven.

Just for the craic I'll play God's advocate.
    Where is it?

[Possession by Holy Spirit]
    It exists outside this reality. Just because it doesn't fit into your narrow materialist view doesn't mean it can't exist. It's a spiritual dimension where the non-material soul exists. It is everywhere and no where because it doesn't require any physical place, just like God.
    How many can it hold safely? (in 1 million years there could be 500 billion in there)

Consider the number infinity. You can divide it up many times and it is still infinity.
    As they are all dead is it kinda like Zombie heaven or are they ghosts?

Oh please! Zombie's are for adolescents obsessed by death, filth and decay. Your soul is perfect, immortal and pure. God created you in his image. Death is just a way to release the light.
    If they are ghosts how do they recognise each other?

They don't need eyes or ears or material senses. They will be at one with each other and God.
    Do priests work there?
    All those that accept Jesus as Saviour will sit bu his side in his kingdom as equals.
    What do the dead do all day?
    You're confusing your mortal grasp of time with the infinite universal love of your God. Time has no meaning in heaven.
    Can you have a job, get paid?
    Why would you want material gain in perfection? Every pure desire you have is in God.

[/Possession by Holy Spirit]
    gah, I feel all durty now!
    Whats the entertainment and censorship like?
    Bowling on Tuesdays, poker on Thursdays. As long as you don't mention Zeus you'll be grand.
    Can you leave if its crap?
    No, cos its perfect.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 10,515 Mod ✭✭✭✭5uspect

Maybe I'm not the most objective, but what is going on with some people on both forums of late?

I guess the increased coverage of Christianity in the Easter season pisses them off.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,898 ✭✭✭✭seanybiker

all this atheist against religious people is really getting on me wick. Im atheist but I dont feel the need to go annoying people by going on about it. Same as the religious people going on about it all the time. Horses for courses. Each to their own etc.

5uspect wrote: »
    I guess the increased coverage of Christianity in the Easter season pisses them off.

Then I apologise to all the intolerant on behalf of those who hold different beliefs.

We are sorry :o

• Registered Users Posts: 8,758 ✭✭✭Stercus Accidit

Then I apologise to all the intolerant on behalf of those who hold different beliefs.

We are sorry :o

Just stick to the rapping lads, its what you're good at. :)

I'm an Irish Caucasian; I don't rap. Not sure what your point is. Unless...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 25,848 ✭✭✭✭Zombrex

seanybiker wrote: »
    all this atheist against religious people is really getting on me wick..

excuse me? :eek:

Those from After Hours have forgotten their place; they're starting to think they have something worthwhile to say about religion and been finding their way into more specialised forums but not actually integrating.

I for one welcome our new illiterate... nope, still can't do it.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,182 ✭✭✭Genghiz Cohen

Zillah wrote: »
    Those from After Hours have forgotten their place; they're starting to think they have something worthwhile to say about religion and been finding their way into more specialised forums but not actually integrating.

Hurrrrr Durrrr.
    Resession is de gubbermentz fault rebel revolt, i'm helping by typing.
    Im sick of the polish/romas/italians/resssions/bills,
    Yore ma is an atari jaguar.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,097 ✭✭✭kiffer

Zillah wrote: »

Welcome to the Internet and the Eternal September...

There have been a few religious topics posted in AH and of course this leads to high spirits on both sides of the divide over there... and we get the back lash over here.

Today's date is 5,702 September, 1993.

I find it a little ironic that I left out the word "have" from a post in which I called others illiterate.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 42,362 Mod ✭✭✭✭Beruthiel

Please explain heaven

photo117.jpg

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 24,399 Mod ✭✭✭✭robindch

what is going on with some people on both forums of late?
    A full moon outside
    Can make one upset inside,
    The full moon will pass.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,959 ✭✭✭✭bnt

David Byrne had it right, I think:

Heaven is a place where nothing ever happens.

From out there on the moon, international politics look so petty. You want to grab a politician by the scruff of the neck and drag him a quarter of a million miles out and say, ‘Look at that, you son of a bitch’.

— Edgar Mitchell, Apollo 14 Astronaut

robindch wrote: »
    A full moon outside
    Can make one upset inside,
    The full moon will pass.

5-7-5

More please!

• Registered Users Posts: 4,718 ✭✭✭The Mad Hatter

5-7-5

More please!

Atheists' haikus
    They're not worth very much
    Written in English

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,408 ✭✭✭studiorat

to explain one's self
    in seventeen syllables
    is very diffi..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,759 ✭✭✭✭dlofnep

It exists outside this reality. Just because it doesn't fit into your narrow materialist view doesn't mean it can't exist. It's a spiritual dimension where the non-material soul exists. It is everywhere and no where because it doesn't require any physical place, just like God.

Consider the number infinity. You can divide it up many times and it is still infinity.

Oh please! Zombie's are for adolescents obsessed by death, filth and decay. Your soul is perfect, immortal and pure. God created you in his image. Death is just a way to release the light.

They don't need eyes or ears or material senses. They will be at one with each other and God.

All those that accept Jesus as Saviour will sit bu his side in his kingdom as equals.

You're confusing your mortal grasp of time with the infinite universal love of your God. Time has no meaning in heaven.

Why would you want material gain in perfection? Every pure desire you have is in God.

Bowling on Tuesdays, poker on Thursdays. As long as you don't mention Zeus you'll be grand.

No, cos its perfect.

Makes sense to me! I'm sold.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,305 ✭✭✭Zamboni

No, cos its perfect.

As long as they've got cigarettes in hell...

To follow the crowd
    How unlike an atheist
    Let us go herd cats

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,857 ✭✭✭✭Dave!

As I was going to St Ives
    I met a man with seven wives
    Each wife had seven sacks
    Each sack had seven cats
    Each cat had seven kits
    Kits, cats, sacks, wives
    How many were going to St Ives?

Dave! wrote: »
    As I was going to St Ives
    I met a man with seven wives
    Each wife had seven sacks
    Each sack had seven cats
    Each cat had seven kits
    Kits, cats, sacks, wives
    How many were going to St Ives?

I've always hated this "riddle"...
    Did you over take them (a single man will most likely walk faster than a woman with a sack o' cats) or were they coming in the other direction? Were they simply sitting by the road? Do we count the cats? What about the cat's flees?

St. Ives is a nice looking town and on any given day I assume that there are quiet a few people going/coming to/from there even if it's just for their shopping...

From the information given we can only know for sure that one person (you) is going there... unless you are not telling the truth... Tell me Dave! (if that is your real name) have you ever even been to Cornwall? let alone St Ives!?

Also as far as I'm aware polygamy has been against the law for sometime in England, so where did he get all these wives? Seven wives is excessive ... and also means a possible seven mothers in law. Are they even his wives, or the wives of other men? Did he tell you they were his wives? or did you just assume that they were his? Are cats in sacks like cats in boxes? both alive and dead, in a state of quantum superposition? I know my cat would be bloody furious if you stuck it in a sack with 6 other cats and 49 kittens... are the cats alive?

Are the women strong enough to carry the sacks?

AH HA! Cats have a mass of between 2.5 and 7 kg, lets say the average is... 4 kg...
    at 7 weeks kittens generally have a mass of at about 1 kg.

so each sack has a total mass of ~77 kg...
    Each woman has 7 of these sacks... for a total of 539 kg... assuming the sacks themselves are of negligible mass...

looking here we see that even the strongest women don't lift anywhere near this much...

So we can rest assured that these women are not going anywhere any time soon with those cats. Also the noise would be awful... unless the cats were dead...

kiffer wrote: »
    I've always hated this "riddle"...
    Did you over take them (a single man will most likely walk faster than a woman with a sack o' cats) or were they coming in the other direction? Were they simply sitting by the road? Do we count the cats? What about the cat's flees?

St. Ives is a nice looking town and on any given day I assume that there are quiet a few people going/coming to/from there even if it's just for their shopping...

From the information given we can only know for sure that one person (you) is going there... unless you are not telling the truth... Tell me Dave! (if that is your real name) have you ever even been to Cornwall? let alone St Ives!?

Also as far as I'm aware polygamy has been against the law for sometime in England, so where did he get all these wives? Seven wives is excessive ... and also means a possible seven mothers in law. Are they even his wives, or the wives of other men? Did he tell you they were his wives? or did you just assume that they were his? Are cats in sacks like cats in boxes? both alive and dead, in a state of quantum superposition? I know my cat would be bloody furious if you stuck it in a sack with 6 other cats and 49 kittens... are the cats alive?

Are the women strong enough to carry the sacks?

AH HA! Cats have a mass of between 2.5 and 7 kg, lets say the average is... 4 kg...
    at 7 weeks kittens generally have a mass of at about 1 kg.

so each sack has a total mass of ~77 kg...
    Each woman has 7 of these sacks... for a total of 539 kg... assuming the sacks themselves are of negligible mass...

looking here we see that even the strongest women don't lift anywhere near this much...

So we can rest assured that these women are not going anywhere any time soon with those cats. Also the noise would be awful... unless the cats were dead...

Of course the women could have carts. Anyway, I would have said the answer was one. But hey!

Yeah... I thought of carts while I was in the car driving into town but nothing is mentioned about carts so we cant just automatically assume they have them... Even if they have carts, 500 kg of cat is pretty awkward to lug around... So they would be travelling slower than a single person . Allowing Dave! to over take them, meeting them even though they are travelling in the same direction...

"One" is one of the most sensible answers .. but a slightly better answer is "at least one, but we don't have enough information to blah blah blah".
    See paragraph 3.

Also the man with seven wives may not actually have his wives there with him...

• Registered Users Posts: 30,746 ✭✭✭✭Galvasean

Hurrrrr Durrrr.
    Resession is de gubbermentz fault rebel revolt, i'm helping by typing.
    Im sick of the polish/romas/italians/resssions/bills,
    Yore ma is an atari jaguar.

Those poor swans :(

kiffer wrote: »
    Yeah... I thought of carts while I was in the car driving into town but nothing is mentioned about carts so we cant just automatically assume they have them... Even if they have carts, 500 kg of cat is pretty awkward to lug around... So they would be travelling slower than a single person . Allowing Dave! to over take them, meeting them even though they are travelling in the same direction...

"One" is one of the most sensible answers .. but a slightly better answer is "at least one, but we don't have enough information to blah blah blah".
    See paragraph 3.

Also the man with seven wives may not actually have his wives there with him...

They would need some bloody big carts!

Anyway, the only person identified as going to St. Ives was the traveller; he simply said that he met the others on the way.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,318 ✭✭✭O'Coonassa

I'm an Irish Caucasian; I don't rap. Not sure what your point is. Unless...

Many Irish in Caucasia this century? How does being from there preclude you from rapping?