Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Who has highest recorded mileage on here?

• 10-04-2009 11:57pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 38

Alright lads

Im driving a 97 BMW 318is with 185,000 _miles_ on the clock. Ive had her 3 years now, with regular long drives (5hrs each way) and she still purrs like a lion. Would this be considered high mileage?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,694 ✭✭✭✭L-M

Anything over a 100 in this country is considered high mileage, be it km's or miles, lol.

74,000 miles for me and counting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,481 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

My father currently drives my old 03 Avensis with just a shade under 180,000 miles on the clock, of which I put 160,000 miles on it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,937 ✭✭✭Buffman

Coming up on 200,000 miles on my 97 Almera. Still going strong.

FYI, if you move to a 'smart' meter electricity plan, you CAN'T move back to a non-smart plan.

You don't have to take a 'smart' meter if you don't want one, opt-out is available.

Buy drinks in 3L or bigger plastic bottles or glass bottles or cartons to avoid the DRS fee.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 50 ✭✭ecdl07

My mam has 150,170 miles on her 94 astra and it passed the NCT only a few weeks ago!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,719 ✭✭✭Hal1

My millage isn't clocked g'dammit! :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 72,192 ✭✭✭✭L1011

Hal1 wrote: »
    My millage isn't clocked g'dammit! :pac:

Beat me to it, was going to say I think my first car had 40,000 removed :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,801 ✭✭✭✭Gary ITR

Anything over a 100 in this country is considered high mileage, be it km's or miles, lol.

74,000 miles for me and counting.

Jaysis I've 72,000 on mine!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,270 ✭✭✭Rowley Birkin QC

147,000 miles on a petrol Vectra.....hmmmm. Things could get interesting soon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,219 ✭✭✭sundodger5

Hah Part timers. 154,000 kms on a passat. Got it in March 07 new.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,748 ✭✭✭Do-more

Bah I thought this was a thread to see who could beat that famous Volvo....

invest4deepvalue.com

• Closed Accounts Posts: 53 ✭✭04CELICA140

76000miles on my 04 celica
    had a 99 1.6 golf before that my girlfriend has it now 147000miles

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,279 ✭✭✭snowman707

330,000 Kms on 1 of our jeeps. 98 pajero import

250,000 miles on 03 primera dsl , replacing this next week with a 07 octavia comfort dsl with 80,000 kms on clock

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,144 ✭✭✭Benny Cake

father has 287k on 89 vectra

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 247 ✭✭beam99

My father had a 95 carina E, with 660k on it, till the water pump went and broke the belt, still have the car but with another engine.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 53 ✭✭04CELICA140

Actually aswell my friends father has a 93 vento with 337000miles and he also says the clock stopped working for a few months years ago 2..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,067 ✭✭✭✭fryup

what would you guys regard as high mileage??.......100k + ??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,679 ✭✭✭bcmf

At the Moment Alhambra Diesel.167000 miles.
    Previous. Ford Mondeo 1.8Td 00 reg.300,000 miles.Only reason I got shot was the originl clutch went and its a pig of a job to change.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 379 ✭✭LoveDucati2

01 R75 diesel Auto (320d engine)

145,000 miles

• Moderators, Politics Moderators Posts: 42,146 Mod ✭✭✭✭Seth Brundle

thread renamed from
    Who has highest clocked mileage on here?
    to
    Who has highest recorded mileage on here?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,822 ✭✭✭✭EPM

I can never match that myself. Currently only on 76k km on an 06.

A guy I worked with once bought a 94 corolla taxi about 5 years ago. Used in the wilds of Wesht Cork all its like, but still looked and ran like new eveb with 410k up on it. He was using it up until last year Clanakilty - Cork everyday until it was written off buy a tiny tip:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,651 ✭✭✭Captain Slow IRL

CR7 wrote: »
    Alright lads

Im driving a 97 BMW 318is with 185,000 _miles_ on the clock. Ive had her 3 years now, with regular long drives (5hrs each way) and she still purrs like a lion. Would this be considered high mileage?

How many miles have you put up yourself on it? Any major issues with it?

I've the same as you ('98 though) with 88k or so miles, had it since 47k on the clock which was about 2 and a half years ago.
    The biggest annoyance is the poor construction of the outer ball-joint's on the front wishbones. Replaced wishbone and bushings when I first got it, they have a bit of play in them again:mad: Apart from that, never given me a days trouble.:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,171 ✭✭✭triple-M

myself and the father use a vw golf mk 2 (1991) 1.6D for long journeys/carrying work tools, 245000 miles and still going strong, feckin mighty car never broke down, as opposed to the 07 passat which we use as the family car constantly in the garage thankfully still under warranty until 2010,and by the time the warranty is up it will be long gone out of our hands thats for sure:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 468 ✭✭VanhireBoys

I now have 190k MILES on my beloved Ford Focus Van. Its '04 and it has a full ford service history from day 1. I drove it when it had 9 miles on it from the dealers. The brake discs got changed at 160k miles. Its still on the original clutch shocks bushes... We used it for courier work at the start but then I moved to Galway and now its used for normal duty...!

The flexible pipes from the Intercooler started to split and p**s oil over the engine so I swapped them to Samco boost hoses which worked a treat.

The only problem I have is broken foglights. I have replaced 4 Lefts and 2 rights.....! I dont use them but it looks bad if the glass is all cracked ..!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 935 ✭✭✭samsemtex

250,000 miles and counting(rapidly) on our 2003 Landcruiser Amazon. She's got at least another 200,000 in her before anything serious starts to go wrong

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,705 ✭✭✭✭Tigger

my spare car is a 97 vectra 1.7td there is 260 on it and its perfect

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,180 ✭✭✭Mena

Highest I ever did was in a Ford Bantam pick-up, belonged to my Dad. Was around 240, 000 Km's when it died.

Pic

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,438 ✭✭✭✭El Guapo!

I was in Spain a couple of years ago and got into a taxi. The clock said 40,000mls. I said that seems like very low mileage for an older car and the taxi driver then laughed and said, "No no, thats its second time round!!" :eek::eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,924 ✭✭✭✭ShadowHearth

Dean09 wrote: »
    I was in Spain a couple of years ago and got into a taxi. The clock said 40,000mls. I said that seems like very low mileage for an older car and the taxi driver then laughed and said, "No no, thats its second time round!!" :eek::eek:

OMg i LOOOOOL IRL so hard, allmoust bursted mine chicken wrap on mine monitor!

back in lithuania i had a mazda 626 coupe ( 89") 320k kms on clock. Only some rust around. Was cracking car. Mine first love aswell :D.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,326 ✭✭✭Bearcat

320k miles Landcruiser VX 1996. Those old VX's just keep going. Now retired for farm work due tatty interior but not a bother on it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,013 ✭✭✭leitrim lad

my old 3.1 trooper is 97ke with 372184 and 9tents of a mile and shes as genuine as you will ever get original engine, but new clutch and ball joints recently, flew trew the doe every time, possibly the best jeep ever built i would rekon

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,697 ✭✭✭kermitpwee

triple-M wrote: »
    myself and the father use a vw golf mk 2 (1991) 1.6D for long journeys/carrying work tools, 245000 miles and still going strong, feckin mighty car never broke down, as opposed to the 07 passat which we use as the family car constantly in the garage thankfully still under warranty until 2010,and by the time the warranty is up it will be long gone out of our hands thats for sure:D

Mighty yoke. I have a 90 1.6d as well with 256000 miles on her.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,822 ✭✭✭✭EPM

firm seats in those are to this day brilliant! 1.6d are a real golf...none of that common rail or pump ducse craic

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,869 ✭✭✭tech

March 2005 Avensis 2.0 D4D 288000kms on the clock , 188000 miles from new

No trouble at all, diesel, tyres and 2 timing belts going like a clock!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,924 ✭✭✭Nforce

2001 BMW E46 320D SE with over 150k miles. Serviced by myself and with an oil change every 4/5,000 miles. When I was driving for a living I'd a new Mitsubishi van that I put up over 350k miles in 4 years.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 38 CR7

How many miles have you put up yourself on it? Any major issues with it?

Ive put 60k, no major issues, emissions running a little high for the NCT but thats about it... a wonderful car.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,171 ✭✭✭triple-M

EPM wrote: »
    firm seats in those are to this day brilliant! 1.6d are a real golf...none of that common rail or pump ducse craic
    someone actually offered me 250 quid for the golf which i felt was a bit of an insult i say we'd easily get 300000+ miles out of her, no way i'd ever get rid of it until she gives up altogether,tbh when my father first started letting me use it i felt kinda embarrassed because it wasnt exactly a nice looking car,but when i realised how solid it was i grew to love the car :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,651 ✭✭✭Captain Slow IRL

CR7 wrote: »
    emissions running a little high for the NCT but thats about it... a wonderful car.

High enough to fail the nct?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,413 ✭✭✭frobisher

I have a 97 Vento diesel that recently passed the 200,000 mile mark. What a car! A full tank costs less than €45 and gets me well over 500 miles. I've never been enamored by thrift but this thing is a little diamond.

There are many more enlightened motorists than me but I've never understood the obsession with mileage. I'd very happily buy a car with very high mileage as long as it's been looked after and serviced.