Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Good Friday Spin

• 10-04-2009 1:09pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 385 ✭✭

Well this climbing god decided to go up Kippure today....and half way up realised he was closer to Zebedee than Zeus :).
    Won't bore you with my time but suffice to say I did not change category.Damn you Lumen for posting those :D
    Have to say though the views were stunning,the best I've ever seen.The photo's don't do them justice.
    Now,I'm off to the pub! Oh no,wait.....:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,220 ✭✭✭✭Lumen

146.46km for me today with ROK_ON.

Hills. Lots of hills. And pain.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 650 ✭✭✭jimm

The .46 is very important :)

Good to see you and ROK ON at the viewpoint.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,831 ✭✭✭abcdggs

Lumen wrote: »

did you happen to be going through clondalkin toward M50 at bout half 3 today?

Just 70km for me today, saving myself for an epic spin on Monday. Well, hopefully epic. Brought a mate up for a spin for the first time too, he did 60km on his first run which is pretty good, he was in bits by the end of it though.

Met someone (I'm terribly with names) in a car with kids coming out of Enniskerry by the petrol station who was a boardsie, hello!

Nice day overall for a spin. Did you go on further after Kippure emty?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,045 ✭✭✭Húrin

Dónal wrote: »

Met someone (I'm terribly with names) in a car with kids coming out of Enniskerry by the petrol station who was a boardsie, hello!

Nice day overall for a spin. Did you go on further after Kippure emty?

A boardsie, in a car? For shame.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,220 ✭✭✭✭Lumen

abcdggs wrote: »
    did you happen to be going through clondalkin toward M50 at bout half 3 today?

Possibly, maybe closer to 4pm. Brittas-CityWest-Grange-Lucan. I was wearing a black cap and blue jersey, ROK_ON a blue/white helmet and white/black gilet.

Both of us with thousand-yard stares.

ah yes, i was cycling the opposite direction on my way home from college. thought bout asking you for an allen key but thought if i stopped i wouldnt get going again.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,831 ✭✭✭ROK ON

Lumen wrote: »

147 on the nose.
    Pain, lots of pain (oh and hills)
    Kilakee, Sally Gap, Shay Elliot*2, Wicklow Gap.

Met Scott Renolds as he was descending from Shay Elliott and we were just about to head up from Laragh.

The climbing was great fun, and was made much easier using a HRM (thanks Tiny). However that road around the lake near Blessington is like the black hole of energy. I hate that road, it just saps the last ounce of strength from you.

Shay Elliot from Laragh is a grand climb.

Shay Elliot from the bridge at bottom (Slieve Mann direction) is tougher than I have ever done. 2.5/3km of pure unadulterated pain. Great fun.

Thanks to Lumen for company.

Good to meet Jimm & Dave with the gang of newbies. Hope ye had a good day out. Sorry we couldn't stay loner, but we were getting cold and there was a long road ahead of us.

abcdggs wrote: »
    ah yes, i was cycling the opposite direction on my way home from college. thought bout asking you for an allen key but thought if i stopped i wouldnt get going again.

If I stopped, you would have had to scrape me off the road. Operating on pure autopilot at that stage.

at least you lot are used to cycling, that's the longest ride i've been on and it ended up being about 10 km longer than expected due to my terrible directions. and i lost a cleat half an hour in so i had to switch to runners. was very annoying

Found the perfect after spin treat later on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 650 ✭✭✭jimm

Ya big Kid. Leave them for the children. Looks like a good start to Easter.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,001 ✭✭✭scottreynolds

ROK ON wrote: »
    Met Scott Renolds as he was descending from Shay Elliott and we were just about to head up from Laragh.

I was actually returning from Rathdrum - had been over Shay Elliot and Slieve Mann... route was Portmarnock - Dundrum - Enniskerry - Annamoe - Laragh - Shay Elloit - Slieve Mann - Ballinaclash - Rathdrum - Laragh - Djouce - home. Started early so was on the way home when I saw you guys.

Fair play for that much climbing - awesome effort. I hope you not feeling to tired now. My TOI training is peaking this week so I've another 100 miles in the morning. :confused:

Shay Elliot from Laragh is a grand climb.

Shay Elliot from the bridge at bottom (Slieve Mann direction) is tougher than I have ever done. 2.5/3km of pure unadulterated pain.

It all depends on your tiredness... I think Laragh to shay Elliot is tougher its just a little longer - 5km I think.

Longer all right, 5km @ avg gradient of 5%.
    Glenmalure/Drumgoff to top is 3.1km @ avg gradient of 8.3%.

Using stats from mapmyride.
    I was delighted I did it, grueling and all as it is.

Fair play to you on the training. How many back to backs 160kms have you done now.
    When will training begin to taper?

Longer all right, 5km @ avg gradient of 5%.
    Glenmalure/Drumgoff to top is 3.1km @ avg gradient of 8.3%.

Using stats from mapmyride.
    I was delighted I did it, grueling and all as it is.

Fair play to you on the training. How many back to backs 160kms have you done now.
    When will training begin to taper?

Today / Tomorrow is the first back to back 100 miles. most of my other long rides have had intervals sessions the day before. I have a rest week next week another hard week and then two weeks taper. Its going well I'm feeling fine but still daunted by the actual event. Its 5 days back to back --- seems silly when i say it like that.

Your going very well if yo can handle all those climbs on one ride....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,791 ✭✭✭Enduro

Dónal wrote: »
    Just 70km for me today, saving myself for an epic spin on Monday. Well, hopefully epic. Brought a mate up for a spin for the first time too, he did 60km on his first run which is pretty good, he was in bits by the end of it though.

Was that you in the boards Jersey that I overtook going up past the Kiltiernan ski slop/hotel ? (I was in EPIC MTB camo gear)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,431 ✭✭✭zzzzzzzz

I was actually returning from Rathdrum - had been over Shay Elliot and Slieve Mann... route was Portmarnock - Dundrum - Enniskerry - Annamoe - Laragh - Shay Elloit - Slieve Mann - Ballinaclash - Rathdrum - Laragh - Djouce - home. Started early so was on the way home when I saw you guys.

Fair play for that much climbing - awesome effort. I hope you not feeling to tired now. My TOI training is peaking this week so I've another 100 miles in the morning. :confused:

You weren't by any chance wearing swords gear, were you?

Saw someone that looked like you as I was coming in to laragh (you would have been heading back towards annamoe)

Enduro wrote: »
    Was that you in the boards Jersey that I overtook going up past the Kiltiernan ski slop/hotel ? (I was in EPIC MTB camo gear)

Yes, being overtaken sounds like me :) I was on flat handlebars.

You weren't by any chance wearing swords gear, were you?

Saw someone that looked like you as I was coming in to laragh (you would have been heading back towards annamoe)

Yes -- twas me. Was I looking happy or knackered?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,431 ✭✭✭zzzzzzzz

Yes -- twas me. Was I looking happy or knackered?

You had a huge grin on your face - so either happy or seeing stars!