Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Which would you respect more?

• 09-04-2009 12:03am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 4,987 ✭✭✭

I actually want this to be a poll, but ah well. just a curiousity thing. myself and another boardsie (sv/cliov6) have been discussing possible future cars. as most of our conversations about cars do, it descended into a game of 'NO, MY CHOICE IS BETTER!!!1!!', and so we are asking you fellow boardsies to act as the general public.
    Which of the following two cars, would you respect more?
    an e36 BMW M3 BMW_E36_M3_8.jpg
    or
    a Renault Clio V6 RENALULT%20CLIO%20MO%2018.jpg (no prizes for guessing who was arguing for each car!)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,425 ✭✭✭FearDark

I pass 10 M3's a day, theyre everywhere!! When I see a Clio V6 I just stop and stare and admire the view...

Having said that, id still choose the M3 because its a beast!

* EDIT 10 M3's pass me!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,898 ✭✭✭✭seanybiker

Is the V6 the mid engine one. If so Id go for that. One of me mates used to have one and it was mental. Beemers are boring

'EDIT' the clio in that pic is horrible looking. Tacky or what.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,191 ✭✭✭NewApproach

The M3 is obviously a very well engineered piece of kit, but whoever thought of slapping a V6 in a little hatchback is a hero in my eyes!

However, if I was to buy one, it would most likely be the BMW

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,987 ✭✭✭ottostreet

ok. two different pictures so.

media?id=890222482

m3main.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,971 ✭✭✭Holsten

Respect? For a car? Erm...

If I was to buy one it would be the BMW, because well.. the other is a Clio.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,389 ✭✭✭cianclarke

It's got to be the E36 M3, the Clio while fun has no real appeal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,247 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

However, if I was to buy one, it would most likely be the BMW

Unless of course you could only come up with less than half of the €110k plus needed to buy the M3 (new of course, who wants someones smelly old car they didnt want anymore :))

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,091 ✭✭✭Biro

The E36 M3 would be dynamically superior to the mid engined Clio, they were too snappy to be a true great, but I'd respect the owner of a V6 Clio more. It's not your default choice, which I always like! Thinking outside the box!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,544 ✭✭✭Hogzy

Hmmmmmmm an Clio V6 or an M3

Hmmmmmmm, a renault or a BMW

Has to be the M3!

But id respect the clio driver more because his love for cars far outweighs his financial judgement

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,898 ✭✭✭✭seanybiker

ottostreet wrote: »
    ok. two different pictures so.

media?id=890222482

m3main.jpg
    Thats the shot. Look at the clio its fecking deadly. Then ya have the big family wagon bmw. Me and clio chap are right. The rest of ye
    are lucky we even lower our standards to talk to the likes of ye lol.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,694 ✭✭✭✭L-M

That Clio in the second pic looks deadly. I like the wheels on it. In saying that, I don't know if I could pick it over the M3, as long as it's in the Estorial Blue. Yum...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 747 ✭✭✭caesar

Im completely biased here because Im an M3 fan......well more so an e46 fan but I like the e36 too. So I have to say that I'd have more respect for the M3.

I dont like small hatches anyway....modern ones, the Mk1 Golf GTI is a different ball game.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,917 ✭✭✭B00MSTICK

Clio for me. Anyone that chooses to live with a turning circle that big deserves respect.

In fact if I were given a choice of the two right now, I'd pick the Clio.

Too bad both cars don't cost ~ the same.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 656 ✭✭✭chickenhawk

Would be the Clio for me.

I spotted one in waterford the other day and decided that whenever I get the money i'll definitely buy one. An S2 version though. From the stories I've read it just seems to be sorted better than the S1.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,062 ✭✭✭cjt156

Clio, in a heartbeat. Lunacy FTW!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,863 ✭✭✭Beta Ray Bill

Clio all the way!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,822 ✭✭✭✭EPM

Clio - shows you have a clue and not just following the crowd (and by this I'm not in anyway having a go at the clued-in M3 drivers. it's just their relative popularity with...)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 782 ✭✭✭Cunning Alias

Clio!

M3's r everywhere and lack imagination.

People who arent into cars would probably go for the BMW cause of the badge.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,544 ✭✭✭Hogzy

People who arent into cars would probably go for the BMW cause of the badge.

Thats the stupidest reasoning if ever come across!!

There is a reason why M3s are popular...its bcause they are great cars, picking a car because nobody has one is simply stupid.

All a clio V6 is is a clio with a V6 engine and side vents, a donkey could come up with that, it handles like ****! In my opinion its a chav car for chavs with money!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,534 ✭✭✭SV

It is a fair statement though Hogzy, like that Holsten fellas 'it's still a clio' attitude, now that's stupid reasoning!
    Fact is anyone who isn't interested in cars and asked to pick between the 2 will always go for the BMW because of the badge. That isn't to say that true car enthusiasts will always go for the Clio because the M3 is still a very decent machine.

If what i said makes any sense? :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,095 ✭✭✭✭omb0wyn5ehpij9

I would take the m3 over the Clio every time.....

SV wrote: »
    If what i said makes any sense? :p

No, no it doesn't. :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,683 ✭✭✭✭Owen

It'd be the Clio for me too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,815 ✭✭✭✭Anan1

The M3 is probably the more competent car, but the Clio V6 is a leftfield enthusiast's choice. As such, it gets more respect from me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,363 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

Was in this garage last week and was hoping to get a look but the car was not there and viewing is by appointment only. :(

http://www.driving.ie/usedcars/index.cfm?fuseaction=car&carID=1260486

Respect...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,673 ✭✭✭bladebrew

hmm,i think it would be the clio,its too easy to stick a bodykit,spoiler and alloys on the bm and then go buy a €2.99 badge proclaiming its an m3,whereas those clios really do look unique,you would want to spend a sh*t load of money to make a standard clio look like that! if the m3 was the new shape eg like the one cyrus has/had might be a different story

Hogzy wrote: »

All a clio V6 is is a clio with a V6 engine and side vents, a donkey could come up with that

And all an M3 is is a 3series coupe with a 3.2 litre engine, right?

Terrible terrible stupid statement.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,451 ✭✭✭CharlieCroker

If it was my own money, I'd prob go for the M3 but if I saw somebldy drive past in a Clio V6, I'd prob respect them more. It's too easy to replicate an M3 so they don't have the same WOW factor

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,718 ✭✭✭Matt Simis

For the female perspective, my GF states, when asked the same same question as the OP in a totally unbiased way:

ClioV6 - "looks like tacked out crap someone with a backwards cap would drive."

BMW e36 - "looks like a dilapidated piece of shi...", you get the idea...
    Hey, we were all thinking it! :P

She drives a V6 and knows something about cars, so lads I hope you are planning on impressing the boys!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,987 ✭✭✭ottostreet

Both cars are essentially the ultimate versions of everyday cars we see daily on irish roads. one is a small hatchback with a 3 litre v6, the other is a coupe with a 3.0/3.2 litre engine. I think its gonna come down to personal taste in 'what shape do you prefer?' I personally dont like hatchbacks, and my own car is a black e36 318is. the clio has a slight design advantage in that is was designed eight years after the e36 so looks more 'modern'. however, ive never been a fan of 'bubbly' or particularly curvy cars, and so if i saw an example of each driving past, i would be more inclined to look at the M3 as i view it as a superior car in every way. I realise the clio may be more 'mental' and intense to drive, but id take the bmw. Any boardsies out in carlow, watch out for an M3/Clio V6 driving around together within a year lol!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86 ✭✭Final Approach

Definitely the M3.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 656 ✭✭✭chickenhawk

All a clio V6 is is a clio with a V6 engine and side vents, a donkey could come up with that

A Clio with a mid mounted V6, and rear wheel drive! Some donkey.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,415 ✭✭✭Gatster

Anan1 wrote: »
    The M3 is probably the more competent car, but the Clio V6 is a leftfield enthusiast's choice. As such, it gets more respect from me.
    +1. The 2nd generation Clio V6 (like the one that's for sale for €40k :eek:) is supposed to have sorted handling...well better than the first one ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,247 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

All a clio V6 is is a clio with a V6 engine and side vents, a donkey could come up with that, !

Whereas it takes a real genius to stick a big, tuned engine into a 3 series?:confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,455 ✭✭✭weemcd

its still a clio at the end of the day

m3 ftw

weemcd wrote: »
    its still a clio at the end of the day

m3 ftw

It's still a 3 series at the end of the day.

seriously? Stupidest way of thinking I've ever heard.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 747 ✭✭✭caesar

The it's "only" thing doesn't work here.

Neither of these cars are just your standard cars with bigger engines. It's not quite as simple as that, I think people from both sides of the debate have to acknowledge that. And while I don't really like th clio Im sure it's a cracker in its own right and deserves respect. I don't know enough about them to say otherwise.

I'm still sticking with the M3, but ya it is annoying how they are so many reps going around.....and ****ty ones at that. Im sure the same can't be said for the clio.

All in all though I dont really care about that, the M3 is a cracker. Any people with reps are only fooling themselves because whatever about what other people think they know at heart that they don't have the real mccoy.

Someone said the M3 doest have the WOW factor when it passes.....thats why I love them, nice and discreet.

Lads and lassies, it's very simple. The Clio wins hands down. You can buy M3'a until the cows come home, but the Clio in something different, something out of the Irish conformity range. Some one put up a poll, I'll vote the Clio.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,683 ✭✭✭✭Owen

Matt Simis wrote: »
    She drives a V6

And you drive a v10, so that's 16 cylinders between you. Now that's a relationship to be proud of! :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,259 ✭✭✭Rowley Birkin QC

I think the Clio, just for the sheer bonkers nature of it. It would confuse the hell out of my gf and mother and offer a very different driving experience.

Obviously want to own an M3 at some stage though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,091 ✭✭✭Biro

Gatster wrote: »
    +1. The 2nd generation Clio V6 (like the one that's for sale for €40k :eek:) is supposed to have sorted handling...well better than the first one ;)

I was actually going to mention about the 2nd gen one, but thought it wouldn't be fair because it's no longer in competition price wise with the E36.
    On the other hand, a choice between a 2nd gen Clio V6 and an E46 M3, I'd go with the Clio.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,637 ✭✭✭CoDy1

I love my E46 6 Cylinder 3 Series but I can't help in wondering what that mad b*stard Clio would be like to get a tear off of!, I've drivin an E46 M3 (hard) and I was scared to drive for a couple of days afterwards, I'm psitive Clio would be the same.

It just boils down to what body style you are into maybe???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,721 ✭✭✭✭CianRyan

I think i'd have to go for the ClioV6, its just a bloody mental yoke.
    The way i see it, i'm 18 now, if i had the money, i'd buy the mad cars while i can and save the M3 untill i start getting hip/back problem. Problems probably brought on by the ClioV6's mental handling.

Both serious cars though, it was a tough choice.

I was thinking the whole way through this, i had the exact same conversation but the choice was a Skyline R34, full spec.
    no-image-large.gif
    http://www.carzone.ie/search/Nissan/Skyline/2.6-R34-/200840190251184/advert

Or a VW R32.
    no-image-large.gif
    http://www.carzone.ie/search/Volkswagen/Golf/r32/200912192199722/advert

I was backing the R34. :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,718 ✭✭✭Matt Simis

Thats different, the R34 is a no brainer over the R32. I have a preference for German cars and I still dont even think thats a choice! Unlike the Clio vs M3, you are now comparing purpose built* vs uprated, purpose built wins everyday.

*Ok its still based on something, but I think its obvious a lot more engineering goes into GT-Rs than fast Golfs.