Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Cahill / Sunday Game - Tell me it's not true !

• 08-04-2009 7:15pm
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,493 ✭✭✭

Just heard that the Dessie Cahill has "landed" the Sunday game hosting gig.

We can now look forward to sloppy research / absence of any definate views / blokish jokes / mumbling diction / no criticism of GAA Hierarchy etc/ etc.

How did this happen ? What has this guy got to offer..except offence to a large number of viewers.

It's a freekin disgrace..the flagship GAA programme dissed like this - my choice would be the excellent Darragh Molony who does such a good professional job on the Boxing comms.

What were they thinkin of ..:confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,393 ✭✭✭elshambo

As someone who has no tolerance for the GAA and their product all i can say is
    :D:D:D:D:D:D:D:rolleyes:

He is shocking!!!
    The night he did the football was awful
    it was so bad it wasnt even funny!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,591 ✭✭✭✭Aidric

It's a sad move surely. Cahill would bore the pants off even the most avid enthusiast.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,712 ✭✭✭✭Utopia Parkway

I'll give him a chance.

If would be near impossible to be worse than Pat Spillane as a host for a start.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,718 ✭✭✭✭JonathanAnon

I'll give him a chance.

If would be near impossible to be worse than Pat Spillane as a host for a start.

Agreed, Pat was always terrible as the presenter. Anyone know why he is leaving?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,575 ✭✭✭✭FlutterinBantam

This cannot be true surely??

Is it a wind up.?

If Mr Cahill is in charge, the programme will end up blander than a can of 1% beer.

This guy has so much(mooch) baggage that he just can't run this flagship programme .

Jaysus, what were the heads out in RTE thinking, now we will have some bland toothless presentation with the emphasis on "de fellas" and "de backgraund sceyan" with "hmmmmumphs and Guffaws after each utterance.

Bad bad choice

"Anyway hmmmmph roooight"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,591 ✭✭✭✭Aidric

Will he still be presenting The Road to a Good Nights Sleep?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 994 ✭✭✭mental07

Agreed, Pat was always terrible as the presenter. Anyone know why he is leaving?
    Ah he's not that bad :Dlinkage

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 12,154 Mod ✭✭✭✭icdg

This cannot be true surely??

Is it a wind up.?

If Mr Cahill is in charge, the programme will end up blander than a can of 1% beer.

April Fools Day was a week ago, and here's the official announcement:

http://www.rte.ie/sport/gaa/championship/2009/0408/sundaygame.html

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,925 ✭✭✭Otis Driftwood

I must be one of the only people that thinks this is a rather good appointment.Ive always liked him as a sports analyst,he knows his stuff and I can even tolerate his Manchester United bashing :pac:

And as Utopia Parkway said,he cannot be any worse than Prat.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,493 ✭✭✭Fulton Crown

multimedia

Theres a rumour going down that he has recruited another talentless presenter as his "on the pitch" reporter.

Fair play.....more ladish jokes than ever so !

• Closed Accounts Posts: 311 ✭✭2fivers

No objections here. While I appreciate that some dislike him because of his appearance, his accent, or the unforgivable fact that the dastard works for Rté, I personally feel he's a several million percent improvement on the Spillane chap.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,687 ✭✭✭deisemum

I don't care who presents the show as long as Pat Spillane is gone. Made my day to hear he's gone, cant stand him, no one could be as bad as him and his ego.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,966 ✭✭✭Syferus

I want Spillane back on the live match analysis team. He's a man with a great sense of self-importance and very easy to dislike, but thats exactly what makes Hook and Dunphy so enjoyable on their sports. It's supposd to be part entertainment, part serious analysis. Spillane should never have been given the highlights show to begin with. Cahill is fine as a host and the show will be better for the change.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 883 ✭✭✭moe_sizlak

why not give the gig to the delightfull joanne cantwell

would go down well with the GAA faithfull who would be fine with a cailin deas at the helm

• Closed Accounts Posts: 911 ✭✭✭994

At least Spillane had some life in him; most GAA pundits mumble platitudes as if they're in the corner of a pub in Clonmel, not in front of an audience of 300,000+. And all of them afraid to criticise anyone or anything 'cos they'll have a thousand eejits calling into radio shows the next day complaining.