Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Ye Olde Days ...

• 07-04-2009 10:44pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,790 ✭✭✭

Any of you guys aware of some of the bands in the early 90s?

Then bands like Aslan, The Stunning, Something Happens and That Petrol Emotion etc were rocking away here.

Do they (and others) relate in anyway to you guys?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,668 ✭✭✭nlgbbbblth

Aslan = awful

Stunning = boring

Something Happens = quite good

That Petrol Emotion = great

Plenty of far better bands knocking around in those days.

Who?

A House
    Whipping Boy
    Would Be's
    Power Of Dreams
    Into Paradise
    Hey Paulette
    Swinging Swine
    Fatima Mansions

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

Paul, is this intended as a discussion of Irish bands in the early 90s or just alt/indie bands in the early 90s?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 266 ✭✭JLemmon

Also
    Revelino, first album was great
    My little funhouse
    Kerbdog
    The Golden Horde
    The Pale
    Engine Alley
    Sultans of Ping

• Closed Accounts Posts: 105 ✭✭Bren Jacob

I was really in to the whole rave/dance thingy in the 90's so the bands listed above held no attraction for me.
    Iv seen Kerbdog and Sultans of Ping in recent years though and enjoyed both, more than I thought I would infact!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,207 ✭✭✭meditraitor

And the the 4 of us. It was a good time for bands in Ireland......... :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,207 ✭✭✭meditraitor

And the the 4 of us. It was a good time for bands in Ireland......... :pac:
    Therapy get an honry mention also

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 280 ✭✭Jenroche

Not forgetting An Emotional Fish :)

Jen ;->

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,602 ✭✭✭✭ShawnRaven

Aslan in the early 90s? Oh without getting into too much bashing here, but it we're gonna get strict about it, they were pretty much non existant. Dignam was turfed out of the band in 88 and they had two singles in 93 after the reform. It would be the guts of another year before an album would surface.

Great live act around that period of time too, but got very stale, very quickly. First two albums, pretty decent, anything after that, forget about it.

Still trying to figure out where they fit into an Alt/Indie category, but far be it for me to backseat mod. Sooo without further ado.

Kerbdog: I really do not know where they went wrong after their first album though. I preferred the heavier sound of their debut album. Saw them support Therapy? at the SFX in 1993 as a last minute sub for Cop Shoot Cop on the second date, I think, yeah I think i got the better end of that deal. Great live act too, but it took them too long to follow up with On The Turn, and with the change of sound, i lost interest.

The Golden Hoarde were rubbish, sorry. Saw them at Sunstroke 93 and they nearly put me to sleep. :)

Therapy? A lot of time for that band then, and a lot of time for them now.

My Little Funhouse: I miss that band, Standunder is still played a lot here, question regarding them. Did they release a single around 1994 that wasn't on it, that got a lot of radio airplay here? I could be wrong on that though.

Surprised nobody mentioned Blink yet...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 280 ✭✭Jenroche

The Golden Hoarde? Good god, there's a memory. I was unlucky enough to see these guys twice. Once at a Lark in the Park in town (Fountainhead headlined, btw) and the second time supporting The Damned at the Top Hat in Dun Laoghaire. Both times they were rubbish.

Jen ;->

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,790 ✭✭✭PaulBrewer

PaulBrewer wrote: »

Oh yes, tie-dye, dungarees, bad hair and worse music.
    Typical early 90s post recession.

Suck it up guys, we have all this to look forward to again in another few years!

Some great bands doing the rounds in this country back then all right. One of my favourite songs at the time was called Galway and Los Angeles by Galway band Toasted Heretic.
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7BxIvxUvfIE
    Brilliant stuff - and a delightfully eccentric singer. They released another single several years later called LSD Isn't What It Used to Be - very clever, witty stuff. They should have been huge. The singer is a moderately successful writer now.

Frank & Walters were that kinda era as well, only they were good!

Bren Jacob wrote: »
    Frank & Walters were that kinda era as well, only they were good!

No, they were a one hit wonder that were forgotten about by most of the country except their native Cark ;)
    Unfortunately for the rest of us, they're still going! :(

From Wickla (for me sins) so not guilty on the Cork thang! :D
    Tis a fact though that their first three ep's/single's were voted single of the week by NME which aint bad going!
    ShawnRaven wrote: »
    No, they were a one hit wonder that were forgotten about by most of the country except their native Cark ;)

Bren Jacob wrote: »
    From Wickla (for me sins) so not guilty on the Cork thang! :D
    Tis a fact though that their first three ep's/single's were voted single of the week by NME which aint bad going!

Yeah, but the only problem is that New Musical Express have, and always have had, their heads up their ass since the dawn of time. Especially now, i still cringe at a lot of their articles due to the insane amount of factual errors present in them.

So getting anything from NME isn't exactly an honour, more a curse or a joke.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,668 ✭✭✭nlgbbbblth

The Franks got better as they matured. That first LP is definitely their worst. Peaked with Beauty Becomes More Than Life.

I remember Into Paradise's Blue Light EP got SOTW in NME around May 1989. As did The Would Be's with their first and third singles.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,126 ✭✭✭✭calex71

god some memories here , there seems to have been a much richer pool back then.

To be honest though i only remember a couple of songs by some of the ones mentioned already, kerbdog and therapy where more my thing then i guess.

remember seeing my little fun house at sunstroke in 94 oh what a day and then therapy playing later that day, oh to to 14 again :D

Frank and walters had that song later in the life of the band called plenty time, that was quite good.

The Devlins had some great songs but they came later i think didnt they.

Rollerskate skinny where a favorite of mine

calex71 wrote: »
    remember seeing my little fun house at sunstroke in 94 oh what a day and then therapy playing later that day, oh to to 14 again :D

Awesome gig, except for the headline act. The Chilis were so bad that I actually walked halfway through the set. Worst thing is they still used that stupid "Mind if we play some Wet Wet Wet/Bryan Adams songs" joke a few weeks later at Reading. It was embarrassing. Therapy? were awesome that night, so were Terrorvision too.
    The Devlins had some great songs but they came later i think didnt they.

Actually The Devlins were around from about 93, if not earlier. I do remember hearing the Live Bait, Dead Bait EP from a girlfriend of mine at the time. I think it was only released on cassette at the time and is considered somewhat of a rarity now.

ShawnRaven wrote: »
    I don't do "proud to be from Cork" (people from other parts of the country - especially Dubs - tend to make far more of a big deal of it than I do) but they were anything but a one-hit wonder. They released a string of critically acclaimed singles. One of their early singles, Walter's Trip, is outstanding.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,478 ✭✭✭Bubs101

Dudess wrote: »
    "proud to be from Cork" .... One of their early singles, Walter's Trip, is outstanding.

FYP

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,048 ✭✭✭Amazotheamazing

The Frank and Walters have plenty of good songs, maybe not world beaters, but good songs.

Anyhow, two bands which deserved better are the Stars of Heaven and the Hitchers, for wildly different reasons. The Stars of Heaven deserved to be bigger because they actually are a very good band and released two good albums. The Hitchers had the potential to be be great but never managed to rein in their love of whimsy and silly jokes enough to actually record a great album.

The Golden Horde, never said I liked them just mentioned them :D

Therapy, great band back then, went downhill when Fyfe Ewing left, he was a major part of the sound and arguably the best rock drummer to come out of Ireland.

Saw U2 in RDS in 93, they had Scary Eire as support, remember them?!!!!!
    "ON THE DOLE QUEUE!"

What was the name of that Irish early prodigy like dance\rave crowd? Guy with big hair dancing, they sampled a trad tune on one single. From cork\kerry area I think.

JLemmon wrote: »
    Therapy, great band back then, went downhill when Fyfe Ewing left, he was a major part of the sound and arguably the best rock drummer to come out of Ireland.

They went downhill before he left, Infernal Love was an atrocity and the tour wasn't as successful as the festival tour they did for Troublegum either. Their appearance on the Late Late Show in 95 wasn't earth shattering either.
    "ON THE DOLE QUEUE!"

Didn't they support House Of Pain around that year too?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,790 ✭✭✭PaulBrewer

"ON THE DOLE QUEUE!"

Two fine gentleman from Tullamore, Dada Sloosh and Ri Ra featured in Scary Eire.
    I nearly played bass with them at the Trinity Ball one year! The 'nearly' bit is another story ...

RiRa was recently sporting the finest beard in Europe.

what about the 1st two cranberries albums? they where quite good , every thing after those though is quite a different matter.

What was the name of that Irish early prodigy like dance\rave crowd? Guy with big hair dancing, they sampled a trad tune on one single. From cork\kerry area I think.

Was it The 4TH Dimension ????

"With yer scuttery eye and yer smelly gnashers you smell like a half baked back gamon rasher!"

Scary Eire were doing demented lyrics when Fight Like Apes were still in nappies! :D

"ON THE DOLE QUEUE!"

Was it The 4TH Dimension ????

That's the lads.

On the Scary Eire thing, maybe I'm wrong but not sure they even finished the set they were getting booed so much.

Was it LIR that had the EP\ALbum "All Machines Hum in A" ??

what about the 1st two cranberries albums? they where quite good , every thing after those though is quite a different matter.

I really didn't get the hype around No Need To Argue at all, but i do agree, their debut album was very good. Releasing Dreams as a single was a bad idea though, great song but it's been played to death since.