Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Parky Slams Jade

• 07-04-2009 1:36pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,798 ✭✭✭

Sir Michael Parkinson has launched a tirade against Jade Goody.

The veteran broadcaster told the latest issue of Radio Times that the late reality TV star represented "all that is paltry and wretched about Britain."

He said: "Jade Goody has her own place in the history of television and, while it's significant, it's nothing to be proud of. Her death is as sad as the death of any young person, but it's not the passing of a martyr or a saint or, God help us, Princess Di.

"When we clear the media smoke screen from around her death, what we're left with is a woman who came to represent all that's paltry and wretched about Britain today.

"She was brought up on a sink estate, as a child came to know drugs and crime, was barely educated, ignorant and puerile. Then she was projected to celebrity by Big Brother and became a media chattel to be exploited til the day she died."

His comments come just days after Jade Goody was laid to rest following a funeral that drew comparisons with that of Princess Diana. Thousands of mourners lined the streets and threw flowers as the hearse made its way to the service in Buckhurst on Saturday.

What do you think about Parky's comments?

Bang on Parky.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,231 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

Bang on Parky.

Yeh, bang on - except he's still got Princess Di on an undeserved pedestal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,064 ✭✭✭smileysurfer

This is ridiculous!! Whatever his views are, he should leave her rest in peace and leave her family grieve!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,853 ✭✭✭redarmy

This is ridiculous!! Whatever his views are, he should leave her rest in peace and leave her family grieve!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,541 ✭✭✭Davei141

Fair play to Parkinson for that, he is just saying what everybody thinks. Apart from the clown's who didn't know her and attended her funeral of course.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,238 ✭✭✭✭Diabhal Beag

A bit late Parky. Seems a bit bitchy to say that right after she died but I do agree to an extent

Why? She essentially sold her death to the media. People can say as they feel about it as far as i'm concerned.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,461 ✭✭✭Queen-Mise

She was brought up on a sink estate, as a child came to know drugs and crime, was barely educated, ignorant and puerile. Then she was projected to celebrity by Big Brother and became a media chattel to be exploited til the day she died."

That is absolutely f*cking disgraceful of Parky to say that. I thought better of him rather than that tripe he said.

The girl was a qualified dental nurse and was also a beauty therapist. You cannot deny from watching her on any of the shows that she was an excellent mother. There was never any indication of her abusing drugs or abusing alcohol in any way.

She exploited the media, it is reckoned that she made 8 mill in the last 6 months, fair play to her and doing the absolute the best she can for her kids.

The fact that she grew up on a sink estate, or her dad overdosing in a public toilet, her mother being an alcoholic - should NOT in any way be used in judgment against Jade Goody. The girl did an absolute incredible job of pulling herself out of her past, ever before she got on Big Brother.

Again revolting, disgusting and ignorant comments from Parky - shame on you.

And she did not sell her death to the media.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,591 ✭✭✭✭Aidric

His analysis of her 'contribution' to British society is bang on the money. He acknowledged that her death was sad, as others have. The needless and crass hype was totally unwarranted, however.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7 gobschite

Queen-Mise wrote: »
    She was brought up on a sink estate, as a child came to know drugs and crime, was barely educated, ignorant and puerile. Then she was projected to celebrity by Big Brother and became a media chattel to be exploited til the day she died."

That is absolutely f*cking disgraceful of Parky to say that. I thought better of him rather than that tripe he said.

The girl was a qualified dental nurse and was also a beauty therapist. You cannot deny from watching her on any of the shows that she was an excellent mother. There was never any indication of her abusing drugs or abusing alcohol in any way.

She exploited the media, it is reckoned that she made 8 mill in the last 6 months, fair play to her and doing the absolute the best she can for her kids.

The fact that she grew up on a sink estate, or her dad overdosing in a public toilet, her mother being an alcoholic - should NOT in any way be used in judgment against Jade Goody. The girl did an absolute incredible job of pulling herself out of her past, ever before she got on Big Brother.

100% in agreement there.

Old Parky cant resist a bit more publicity can he? :rolleyes: What an absolute media whore.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,057 ✭✭✭tippspur

Well said Parky..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,563 ✭✭✭✭Utopia Parkway

He was going OK until he brought up Princess Di.

Plus saying that she was "barely educated, ignorant and puerile" was unnecessary IMO. He could still have made the point he wanted without saying that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,817 ✭✭✭pebbles21

• Closed Accounts Posts: 726 ✭✭✭Mr. Frost

He was going OK until he brought up Princess Di.

Plus saying that she was "barely educated, ignorant and puerile" was unnecessary IMO. He could still have made the point he wanted without saying that.

Yeah but it further backs up his point.

And I'm glad someone in his position had the balls to say what he did instead of pretending like a lot of people.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,898 ✭✭✭✭seanybiker

Bit of a numpty bringing up the fact she was brought up in a poor estate. Not everyone from a poor estate is on drugs and involved in other crimes. Everything else was good though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,560 ✭✭✭DublinWriter

Balls of steel. Good on ya Parky for speaking the truth while the lumpen proles wait for 'Jade - The Musical'.

• Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 24,789 Mod ✭✭✭✭KoolKid

Why? She essentially sold her death to the media. People can say as they feel about it as far as i'm concerned.

Agreed.. I think that was discusting...
    And as for Sky news what a joke..
    There could have been another Sep 11 th During that funeral & Sky wouldn't have budged. The british people would line the streets for the burial of a budgie FFS. Sure they do it for the Queen.. Whats she famous for??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 110 ✭✭RKDus

Can't wait til the DVD of her funeral comes out, so I can watch it from different angles and in slow motion.

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 10,446 Mod ✭✭✭✭xzanti

The final straw for me was seeing a portrait someone had done of her dressed up like Mother Theresa in a raggy newspaper.. :rolleyes: FFS

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 216 ✭✭livvy

In my opinion his comment is not an attack on Jade but an attack on society. His comments were brutal but honest. Her upbringing was appalling. She done the best for herself in the means available to her. Career-wise - Would i like a child of mine to follow her foot steps? No.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,397 ✭✭✭✭Degsy

His comments were more of a condemnation of "sink estates" themselves and the people who populate them rather then a specific attack on her.
    Imo,the idiots who appear on or watch Big Brother are the worst of all morons...elevating hoodies into national celebrities.
    Pathetic.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 136 ✭✭MeMyself&I

I have no views really on the death of Jade. But is was very sad, and this old man should be ashamed of himself, why couldnt he just leave it, and maybe bring it up at a later date.

It may well have been nothing to do with Jade herself, but an attack on society, but he could have said it in a nicer way.

Anyways, who asked him his opinion anyway. Its statements like this, that put Jade back in the press.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,382 ✭✭✭✭AARRRGH

koolkid wrote: »
    And as for Sky news what a joke..

Sky News are an entertainment channel though. And the news is just a branch of show business...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 731 ✭✭✭BJC

Queen-Mise wrote: »

You'll find everyone becomes a great parent when there's a camera in their face.

And she did, most definitely sell her death to the media.
    She died as she lived.
    A media whore.

I hate when people romanticise the dead.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,835 ✭✭✭unreggd

I agree with what he said, but theres no point to go on about it now

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,146 ✭✭✭youcrazyjesus!

Snobby ****. He's saying it like it's her fault.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,231 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

That must be the best thing about being old - being completely tactless, saying what the hell you like - and have less of a chance of getting a good kicking than you would if you come out with the same kind of stuff when you're 25.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 55 ✭✭Waaahhh

''barely educated, ignorant and puerile''

Those were the words Parky used to describe Jade, and really who could disagree with the precise definitions of those words? Jade was of course shrewd and clever in the way she went about gaining fame (infamy?) for herself, but was undoubtedly ignorant-'' Ill-mannered, crude, uneducated''.

As other posters have mentioned, it wasn't per se an attack on Jade personally, more an attack on what she represents. And again, that's hard to disagree with. A society that fawned over someone like Jade Goody just ' coz she ''ad a gud 'art, eh, and she's from a tough background, innit?'' is really a society in trouble.

Parky is free to say what he likes, in the same way Jade Goody was free to seek all the attention that she wanted.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 104 ✭✭JCos

There was absolutely nothing shrewd about Jade Goody. She was a complete and utter moron who was exploited by Max Clifford till the day she died.

I was in a shop the other Day, OK magazine had it's Sub-header. "A Nations mourns it's brightest star"? If that was the nations brightest star then God help that nation.

She had made enough money without turning her death into a soap opera. She should have died with dignity not with her face splashed across every rag in the country every day up to her death. She was a disgrace and so were her friends and family for not protecting her from the circus that engulfed her. though they are all morons as well so it's hardly suprising.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,709 ✭✭✭BolBill

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,286 ✭✭✭SprostonGreen

Parky articulated it nicely. She was a moron, a waste of space, a bully and her death/illness did not nullify this no more than it would have had it been Ian Huntley.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,082 ✭✭✭lostexpectation

brought up on sink estate came to drink and drugs and ill-educaed

all facts not slurs

he's no haivng a go at poor people, hes regretting how she was brought up

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,191 ✭✭✭✭Latchy

gobschite wrote: »

Old Parky cant resist a bit more publicity can he? :rolleyes: What an absolute media whore.
    Indeed ,whatever about his views on JG, Parky is old hat , a name dropper and is himself only famous for rubbing shoulders with 'Real famous people '

That is mainly how he made his living .;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,212 ✭✭✭Affable

Fancies himself as an intellectual? He's not puerile?

Makes someone look pretty brutal laying into someone after their death.

Parkys comments is like the last desperate breath of a dying man . Dying in the sense that the whole Reality tv culture ( which you dont have to like ) is one reason why his 'chat show ' format died out .And he bitterly refered to it many times , in comments on radio tv and newspapers .

So his attack on Jade who's fame was achieved by Reality tv , was as much an attack on that culture as it was on her .

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 3,372 Mod ✭✭✭✭andrew

Does a link to the actual article exist? Anyone wanna type it up...?:)

andrew wrote: »
    Does a link to the actual article exist? Anyone wanna type it up...?:)
    I got this last week from yahoo

jade

Recent articles
    Parky hits out at 'ignorant and puerile' Jade

We've had an overwhelming response to our blog about Michael Parkinson's comments about the late Jade Goody.

Earlier we reported how the veteran broadcaster had said that Jade represented "all that is paltry and wretched about Britain" in his column in this week's Radio Times.

Parkinson stated that, while he felt Jade's death was as sad as that of any young person, he disagreed with the media's manipulation of her from hate figure to Princess Diana-style saint following her death.

He described her as "the perfect victim of our times" and said that she should now be allowed to "rest in peace."

We had more than 18,000 comments in the first five hours (more than we've ever had for a TV blog) and it appears that the majority of our users support Parky and his decision to speak out.

Parky hits out at 'ignorant and puerile' Jade
    Tue Apr 07 10:54AM by TV Editor

Recent articles
    Yahoo! users back Parky over Jade comments

Sir Michael Parkinson has launched a tirade against Jade Goody.

The veteran broadcaster told the latest issue of Radio Times that the late reality TV star represented "all that is paltry and wretched about Britain."

He said: "Jade Goody has her own place in the history of television and, while it's significant, it's nothing to be proud of. Her death is as sad as the death of any young person, but it's not the passing of a martyr or a saint or, God help us, Princess Di.

"When we clear the media smoke screen from around her death, what we're left with is a woman who came to represent all that's paltry and wretched about Britain today.

"She was brought up on a sink estate, as a child came to know drugs and crime, was barely educated, ignorant and puerile. Then she was projected to celebrity by Big Brother and became a media chattel to be exploited til the day she died."

His comments come just days after Jade Goody was laid to rest following a funeral that drew comparisons with that of Princess Diana. Thousands of mourners lined the streets and threw flowers as the hearse made its way to the service in Buckhurst on Saturday.

What do you think about Parky's comments? Do you agree with him or do you think they come too soon after Jade's death? Let us know what you think...

Almost 30,000 votes had been cast in our poll by 5pm, with an incredible 87% saying that they agreed with the chatshow host.

Mgnewson commented on our blog: "I agree totally with Sir Michael, at last someone has the guts to say it" while Victorcampbell said: "It's about time someone injected a little reality into this situation."

However, not everyone agreed and Kellyliveshere believed it was "a horrible and senseless thing to say" while Jessica.bungay feels that 'Parkinson has just helped himself to become one of the most disliked men in the UK."

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,442 ✭✭✭Firetrap

Parky's right. Perhaps his timing's a bit off but I think he's just saying what quite a few people think. Yes, it is a personal tragedy for her family that she died but honestly, people have gone overboard on her demise. It's a bit like the hysteria over Princess Diana all over again; all we are missing is Elton John singing at the funeral.

When the dust settles and people look back, hopefully they'll see things in a clearer light. Jade was a girl from a tough background who got to be very famous because she went onto a low rent reality TV show during its heyday. What did she contribute to society apart from an increased awareness of cervical cancer?

I don't blame him for looking askance at Jade when you see that he's interviewed the likes of Orson Welles, Jack Nicholson, John Lennon, Muhammad Ali and John Wayne.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,349 ✭✭✭nobodythere

Bout ****ing time someone opened up the floor for this! Bang on parky whoever you are

Firetrap wrote: »
    I don't blame him for looking askance at Jade when you see that he's interviewed the likes of Orson Welles, Jack Nicholson, John Lennon, Muhammad Ali and John Wayne.
    He did make a living out of interviewing famous people yes
    grasshopa wrote: »
    Bout ****ing time someone opened up the floor for this! Bang on parky whoever you are
    He was as famous as Jade was ..........once .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,626 ✭✭✭Stargal

grasshopa wrote: »
    It's a strange world where someone knows who Jade Goody is but hasn't heard of Michael Parkinson;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 194 ✭✭pipeliner

i wondered which celebrity would slam her first. My money was on clarkson though.

In fairness, he didnt really need to say anything, anyone with a lick of sense would see through the whole selfish tirade of her, her family and the media brigade with cash signs in their eyes.

What she did, if that money went to the research and support centres of cancer, my views would be different, but instead it will line the pockets of her 'loved ones'. I bet her sons will see shag all of the money as well.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8 manera85

pipeliner wrote: »
    i wondered which celebrity would slam her first. My money was on clarkson though.

In fairness, he didnt really need to say anything, anyone with a lick of sense would see through the whole selfish tirade of her, her family and the media brigade with cash signs in their eyes.

What she did, if that money went to the research and support centres of cancer, my views would be different, but instead it will line the pockets of her 'loved ones'. I bet her sons will see shag all of the money as well.

according to the press ( i haven't read her will personally) her will states conditions that the boys get every penny her mother got the house she lives in jack gets nothing apart from book deals and interviews for selling his story "exclusively" and no doubt will piss the money down the drain and end up opening z rate night clubs to earn a crust.

as regards Parky's comments i loosely agree with them ... her upbringing was appauling and she did lack certain ... social ethicate? but she did well for herself anyway, as mentioned before she was a qualified dental nurse and beautician she would have probably done well out of life without BB unlike a lot of other people who would've had the same upbringing and used it as an excuse to go off the rails entirely.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20 Jimmy Carter

Listen to d man.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,442 ✭✭✭Firetrap

Latchy wrote: »
    He did make a living out of interviewing famous people yes

He was as famous as Jade was ..........once .

The point I was trying to make is that he's interviewed people who've got talent and have achieved things. Singers, actors, comedians, writers, athletes. Jade on the other hand was famous for being famous. She belongs in the same category as the Jordans and Jodie Marshes of this world.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,661 ✭✭✭General Zod

Firetrap wrote: »
    The point I was trying to make is that he's interviewed people who've got talent and have achieved things. Singers, actors, comedians, writers, athletes. Jade on the other hand was famous for being famous. She belongs in the same category as the Jordans and Jodie Marshes of this world.

Parkinson was to British television and "chat shows" in Britain what Gay Byrne was over here.

There's a distinct lack of intelligent personable presenters on television at the moment and Parkinson is smart enough that when he speaks what he says is worth listening to.

I'd love a television program of David Attenborough and Michael Parkinson sitting in a workingman's club supping ale and laying into everything that's wrong with the world.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,976 ✭✭✭✭humanji

Parkinson was to British television and "chat shows" in Britain what Gay Byrne was over here.

There's a distinct lack of intelligent personable presenters on television at the moment and Parkinson is smart enough that when he speaks what he says is worth listening to.

I'd love a television program of David Attenborough and Michael Parkinson sitting in a workingman's club supping ale and laying into everything that's wrong with the world.
    Or if they were involved in some sort of death match.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 130 ✭✭Larkenn

Parky on the money again. Well said.