Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Foreigners attacking locals in Birr???

• 07-04-2009 12:46pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 88 ✭✭

My deepest apologies to the over-sensitive for not using politically correct phrase 'non-nationals' in the title of this thread, but there were people from Birr phoning radio 3 this morning talking about a group of refugees (Nigerians I think) who are staying in free accommodation in Birr and who are apparantly causing havoc attacking, spitting on and verbally abusing local people.
    Can anyone from Birr tell us what's going on?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 266 ✭✭finty

Birr is a "local" town for "local" people:rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,013 ✭✭✭leitrim lad

well lads im not a local to birr however i know it very well, there was a similar episode in ballinamore co leitrim 3 years ago, (non nationals) caused a riot in the town and some local lads decided enough was enough, and it was time to take out the eastern euro trash so to speak, the local lads all got suspended sentences, so be careful, our beloved police force will side with the (non nationals),

ps you think birr is bad with them check out newbridge, its spot the white man

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,310 ✭✭✭✭Quazzie

ps you think birr is bad with them check out newbridge, its spot the white man

lmao. I work in Newbridge, and I often go out there at the weekend and I have to say I haven't noticed any unusual amounts of black people. :confused:

I think that might be a case of stories being told and getting added to as they are passed on.

As for the case in Birr, I can't say I heard anything about it, but if there is adequate proof that these people are causing hassle, or attacking anybody, be they local or not, then they should be prosecuted. Its easy to say that the Gardai will side with the non nationals, but this isn't the case. The system is here to protect the victim irrespective of race or credence. Its just that in most cases acts of revenge are more easily prosecuted as there is usually more evidence.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 69 ✭✭bycikas

I'm foreign... Part of that EASTERN TRASH or how you did called me..

And i never seen anything like this i think this is just another story... Of course there are attacks and staff , but you will get assistance from foreigners themselves to take care of those that do not respect local law.. If you would look around you would see that mostly foreigners are keeping themselves with other foreigners they don't do too much hassle,they try to keep it quite and show respect , even if it may look differently-our cultures are different you know... Even "nod" is different here :pac:

and if you start calling names and just "sh**t" talking towards foreigner... then.. well , that's what you asked for.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,748 ✭✭✭tony1kenobi

Apologising for political incorrectness doesn't make it ok OP and I am a tad offended by such a generalisation as to call them that.

The locals call them by their correct name.......Midlands 103.

Shame on you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 198 ✭✭albert-bundy

and birr lol serious i would riot too if i was sent there ;) its way too cold .............birrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrr !!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,183 ✭✭✭dvpower

PaulieG wrote: »
    My deepest apologies to the over-sensitive for not using politically correct phrase 'non-nationals' in the title of this thread

I think you'll find that 'non-nationals' is a politically incorrect phrase. They do have a nationality; they are non-Irish nationals.
    Maybe just stick to Foreigners.

politically incorrect is fun come on what happened to paddy englishman paddy irish man etc ......non nationals is politically incorrect god no wonder we are in a mess

• Closed Accounts Posts: 726 ✭✭✭Mr. Frost

group of refugees (Nigerians I think)

Yeah of course, they're black! You're not basing that on anything you've heard I'll bet (but you'll say so for sake of your argument), you're speculating. If you heard 'Nigerian', you'd remember and there'd be no doubt.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,957 ✭✭✭Euro_Kraut

I wonder why people would contact a local radio station about this ahead of contact the Gardai?

Maybe its because it is not a crime to make a false statement to a radio station.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 4,569 Mod ✭✭✭✭Ivan

Anymore racist or "non-politically correct" statements in this thread and there will be bans...
    If you cant distinguish between what is acceptable and what isnt, then I wouldnt bother posting.

Honestly, as an Offaly-man I find this whole thread a disgrace. I am only leaving it here in the hopes that it will serve as a warning, if nothing else.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 88 ✭✭PaulieG

Ivan wrote: »
    Anymore racist or "non-politically correct" statements in this thread and there will be bans...
    If you cant distinguish between what is acceptable and what isnt, then I wouldnt bother posting.

Honestly, as an Offaly-man I find this whole thread a disgrace. I am only leaving it here in the hopes that it will serve as a warning, if nothing else.

You find this whole thread a disgrace??? Are you actually serious????
    Please go back and read the first post. I've found out since this thread began that (1) The main complainant who rang the radio station is a Birr Town Councillor and (2) Yes, the people causing all the trouble are from Nigeria.
    So next time you feel like getting all offended, maybe you might consider taking time to check some facts first.
    P.S. A friend who works for Radio 3 informs me that a national newspaper have been in touch about running the story. Maybe you should tell them that as an Offaly man you find this whole story a disgrace and demand they don't publish it and just pretend it's not happening!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,013 ✭✭✭leitrim lad

ivan ,i got your message, and i wish to say that im sorry if i offended anyone.
    what i said about ballinamore in co leitrim did happen ,and the court case was on the independent about 2 years ago,
    on the newbridge thing, there is a hotel at the bottom of the town full to the hilt with refugees, however i do not think they have caused much trouble yet

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,187 ✭✭✭pcardin

Euro_Kraut wrote: »
    I wonder why people would contact a local radio station about this ahead of contact the Gardai?

Maybe its because it is not a crime to make a false statement to a radio station.

Yes, these are "made-up" stories. They are ringing to the radio and try to make some false sensation. Everybody will listen and many will believe to this. This is pure racism and I've noticed these type of "stories" are very common now. Almost every day you can find some new story about Eastern europeans how they kill locals, how they scam social welfare, how bad they look, smell and so on. Seems that Its a traditional practice for irish to blame whoever excluding themselves. Now eastern european are on the toplist. When they will leave this "nice" country next victims will be asians or nigerians or someone else. Besides every story starts with :"My friend who knows some guy who is friend with some other guys sisters father told me that...." :D

I live in kildare and any problems with non Irish are not with Africians and with regards to Asian we have had an asian community in Ireland long before the so called new Europeans came around
    ivan ,i got your message, and i wish to say that im sorry if i offended anyone.
    what i said about ballinamore in co leitrim did happen ,and the court case was on the independent about 2 years ago,
    on the newbridge thing, there is a hotel at the bottom of the town full to the hilt with refugees, however i do not think they have caused much trouble yet

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,748 ✭✭✭tony1kenobi

pcardin wrote: »
    Yes, these are "made-up" stories. They are ringing to the radio and try to make some false sensation. Everybody will listen and many will believe to this. This is pure racism and I've noticed these type of "stories" are very common now. Almost every day you can find some new story about Eastern europeans how they kill locals, how they scam social welfare, how bad they look, smell and so on. Seems that Its a traditional practice for irish to blame whoever excluding themselves. Now eastern european are on the toplist. When they will leave this "nice" country next victims will be asians or nigerians or someone else. Besides every story starts with :"My friend who knows some guy who is friend with some other guys sisters father told me that...." :D

How is it a made up story if a number of posters have verified the details?

People believing an article they hear on the news is not "pure racism", it is taking the facts as reported by what should be an unbiased media.

It has been reported nationally as recently as this week that a number of Eastern Europeans are comminting social welfare fraud. It was also reported that Eastern Europeans were not in the majority regarding this offence.

Not heard about any murders, and how a person looks or smells is not subject to their ethnic or geographical background. If a persons personal hygeine is so bad that it warrants social commentary they should invest in soap rather than a soap box.

If a non national (a perfectly acceptable term to use when talking about someone not from the country we are residing in and discussing) commits a crime it is completely right to report the facts as you would were it a "national".

Put another way, don't walk on eggshells just because a person is black, that is far more racist than calling a spade a spade*.

* That is not a pun.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,529 ✭✭✭TJJP

Not to mention those lads in Tipperary town on paddy's day... oh no.... wait, they were locals... How about the students at Ul or Galway, oh sorry, I'm wrong again... the lads in Mullingar, nope, eh....

http://www.variant.randomstate.org/20texts/racism.html

• Closed Accounts Posts: 225 ✭✭trailerparkboy

I will listen to the radio show now, its repeated from 12.00-2.00 tonight. midlands today its called.

You find this whole thread a disgrace??? Are you actually serious????
    Please go back and read the first post. I've found out since this thread began that (1) The main complainant who rang the radio station is a Birr Town Councillor and (2) Yes, the people causing all the trouble are from Nigeria.
    So next time you feel like getting all offended, maybe you might consider taking time to check some facts first.
    P.S. A friend who works for Radio 3 informs me that a national newspaper have been in touch about running the story. Maybe you should tell them that as an Offaly man you find this whole story a disgrace and demand they don't publish it and just pretend it's not happening!!!

I dont care about the issue, the radio station report or the potential news coverage that your "friend" says is coming.

I care about the fact that members of these forums, most of whom would apparently be from Offaly my homelands, turned a simple issue of a query about a reported crime into a race issue. This wasnt a race issue, until the people posting in this thread made it into one.

As it stands, this is always a very sensitive subject and any further attempts to troll and antagonise people any further, will result in bans and the thread being locked. This goes for both sides of the argument.

In all honest closing this is possibily the best course of action because look at the title of the thread "Foreigners attacking locals in Birr??? " Of course thats going to cause discussions about race and as regards this trolling issue it seem that at times when a person airs a view thats not shared my the mods or deemed controversial its called trolling .. its chat its bound to get a reaction ,but i agree in honest this thread should be closed and perhaps a lot earlier its very nature is going to cause race issues.
    and "This wasnt a race issue, until the people posting in this thread made it into one."
    come on the first post speaks about foreigners attacking locals and naming them as nigerians
    iand only now its seen as a problem
    ts called shutting the stable door after the horse has bolted

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,002 ✭✭✭IrishHomer

Delete it altogether!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 42 Cycalogic

Ok, Im sorry if this post is off topic, but since this thread is about race and being racist, I hope that its not too much out of place.

I try to treat everybody with respect - colour or religion or creed aside. But there is one thing that really gets to me, when I'm out is black men (the reason im using their colour is because I genuinely do not know their nationality) are ALWAYS the ones that harrass me.
    I can name at least 3 different occasions (one that resulted in being locked into a car with two of them) that I've been genuinely afraid of them. They do not take no for an answer, and when you ask them to leave you alone, they accuse you of not wanting to talk to them/give them your number because they are black. They DO play the race card so much, and I hate to say it, but when they do play the race card, I do really feel like Im being judgemental towards them, even though - upon reflection, im not. Im just not interested in them. The same way as if I wasnt interested in an irish boy, I'd try get him to leave me alone as politely as possible.
    Im not the kind of girl to hiss "pis5 off" at any guy that approaches me.

If they're not following you around a nightclub, grabbing you on the dancefloor and grinding into you, they are being pushy with you in the smoking area. Loughreys in tullamore, springs to mind most.

One night I went to the bathroom, and got talking to someone inside the club (the dude that was wrecking my head was in the smoking area) and when i came back my friend had told this Charlie guy that I had left and gone home. I had not asked her to lie for me. When I came back out, he was nowere to be seen, but after a while, he seen me and came over and got quite aggressive with me, accused me of leaving because he was black. Uh. Hello? Do I need permission to go to the bathroom?
    He kept asking me for my number and I was debating between giving him the real one or giving him a made up one, I gave him the real one, just so he'd leave me alone, and he told me to take out my phone, and he'd call me. He actually wanted proof that it was my real number? Im sorry guys, but thats TOO pushy. I dont like it, and i can honestly say I have never been treated like that by an irish guy?

I know im stereotyping them now, but teh only other Nigerian guy I know is a dude in my class in college. And hes been in trouble already for harrasing and sending disgusting messages to a young girl in our class. (she was 17 when it happened and hes in his 30s)
    He also harrased and followed my friend around a nightclub, to the point that she was scared of getting a taxi alone and although she was in the taxi with me, he still tried to open the door. The taxi man seen him approach the cab and he locked the doors, but he still tried to open them.

Now to get somewhat back on topic.

There are def, no doubt, a lot of undesirable irish people that cause trouble, fight, and are a general nuisence to society. But to say that eastern europeans, or asians (is it just me but asians always seem to mind their own business?) or Nigerians don't act the maggot, or don't cause trouble is silly.
    It truely is. And I'm sorry to say it, but in my experience, black men DO play the race card when you pull them up on inappropriate behaviour. I can't say the same for polish or lituanians because I have no experiences or encounters with them.
    And again, in tullamore, those roma gypsies get away with MURDER. The gardai refuse to get involved with them.

And thats straight from the gardai's mouth (I can name the garda but I dont want to get him in trouble/get myself banned, so I wont). When my wallet was taken (it was the roma girls selling the roses, i had it talking to her and when she walked across the street, i went to put my money back in, and it was gone) by the time the guards came up to talk to me, and by the time they crossed the street to talk to the gypsies, the purse was nowhere to be found. My mum (i was only 17 at the time) went to talk to the gaurd that searched her, and he told my mum that there was no doubt in his mind that they had taken it, that it is a regular occurance and a regular complaint each and every weekend, but they can never get them with the stolen property. He also told my mother that underneath those billowy skirts that some of the ladies wear, theres what looks like pillowcases and thats where they suspect they hide the stolen items.

Why, if the gardai know or suspect this, arent these people being taken in? Why are they allowed to continue selling on the streets when there is masses of reports each and every week??
    If it was a group of Irish lads, do you think the gardai would hesitate to take them in and search them?

Whether we like it or not, this country does treat "non nationals" differently than "nationals" - especially those in authority, because they dont want to be branded as being racist.

In saying all this, and ranting all this, I also want to say some of the nicest, most genuine hard working people i've worked with were from eastern europe. I would take working with them anyday over working with an irish person.

Again, apologies if this post offended you or sounded racist. I assure you that is not what I meant, its just what I've experienced. Im not branding all nigerians as nuicences, its just made me a lot more cautious of them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,029 ✭✭✭DigiJem

Oh please lock this before the comments get any worse. It started as a vague report of a crime in Birr, its now turning into a more general race issue that IMHO is not relevant to a regional forum.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 251 ✭✭Scawgeen

I thought we were sweeping things under the carpet for long enough in this country, it's like if we don't talk about it it's not happening. It's good to talk. It's good to argue. I'd like to hear the other side of this story.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,424 ✭✭✭joejoem

Mr. Frost wrote: »
    Yeah of course, they're black! You're not basing that on anything you've heard I'll bet (but you'll say so for sake of your argument), you're speculating. If you heard 'Nigerian', you'd remember and there'd be no doubt.

You giant giant racist homo

hey whats with the homo bit
    are gays racists now too ...........close this thread
    joejoem wrote: »
    You giant giant racist homo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

From going out and having Nigerian friends I can definitely say that black guys are much more pushy that Irish guys. Some girls are into go-for-it guys but a lot aren't. They do pull the "It's because I'm black, right?" too.

A female friend of mine is quite big and has big butt and boobs. The amount of black guys trying to chat her up in discos is unreal.
    Isn't Italians pushy too? Maybe a Mediterranean thing?

Maybe a thread in Humanities would work better?

Thread has completely strayed off the original subject. The amount of stereotyping and racial profiling here is somewhat ridiculous.

Some nigerians that you have had experience with are... etc. etc.
    Some Irish people that you have had experience with are... etc. etc.
    And so on.

The other, more normal versions, of those races are at home tucked away drinking with some friends and/or at a house party with similarly like minded people.

If anyone wants to make a post on any of the themes discussed here, please do not hesitate to do so, but I would request that you make them in humanities unless they are specifically related to these forums.

If there are any concerns or problems with the moderation of this thread, please PM me or take them to Feedback/Help Desk.