Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Internet Activity Storage Begins Today

• 06-04-2009 10:47am
    Moderators, Category Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 8,637 CMod ✭✭✭✭

Thanks to yet another EU directive, Internet activity throughout the EU is being monitored and stored from today.:rolleyes:
    Details of user e-mails, website visits and net phone calls will be stored by internet service providers (ISPs) from Monday under an EU directive.

The plans were drawn up in the wake of the London bombings in 2005.

ISPs and telecoms firms have resisted the proposals while some countries in the EU are contesting the directive.

Jim Killock, executive director of the Open Rights Group, said it was a "crazy directive" with potentially dangerous repercussions for citizens.

All ISPs in the European Union will have to store the records for a year. An EU directive which requires telecoms firms to hold on to telephone records for 12 months is already in force.

The data stored does not include the content of e-mails and websites, nor a recording of a net phone call, but is used to determine connections between individuals.

Authorities can get access to the stored records with a warrant.

Governments across the EU have now started to implement the directive into their own national legislation.

The UK Home Office, responsible for matters of policing and national security, said the measure had "effective safeguards" in place.

ISPs across Europe have complained about the extra costs involved in maintaining the records. The UK government has agreed to reimburse ISPs for the cost of retaining the data.

Mr Killock said the directive was passed only by "stretching the law".

The EU passed it by "saying it was a commercial matter and not a police matter", he explained.

"Because of that they got it through on a simple vote, rather than needing unanimity, which is required for policing matters," he said.

Sense of shock

He added: "It was introduced in the wake of the London bombings when there was a sense of shock in Europe. It was used to push people in a particular direction."

Sweden has decided to ignore the directive completely while there is a challenge going through the German courts at present.

"Hopefully, we can see some sort of challenge to this directive," said Mr Killock.

In a statement, the Home Office said it was implementing the directive because it was the government's priority to "protect public safety and national security".

It added: "Communications data is the where and when of the communication and plays a vital part in a wide range of criminal investigations and prevention of terrorist attacks, as well as contributing to public safety more generally.

"Without communications data resolving crimes such as the Rhys Jones murder would be very difficult if not impossible.

"Access to communications data is governed by the Regulation of Investigatory Powers Act 2000 (Ripa) which ensures that effective safeguards are in place and that the data can only be accessed when it is necessary and proportionate to do so."

Net firms start storing user data

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,813 ✭✭✭Gone Drinking

I can sum up everything being stored by my isp..

Porn and lots of it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,536 ✭✭✭Mark200

Is that the whole EU from today or just the UK?

Sounds like it was up to every country to implement it whenever they decide.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,523 ✭✭✭✭Quazzie

Thanks to yet another EU directive, Internet activity throughout the EU is being monitored and stored from today.:rolleyes:

Your name says it all.

SO

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,015 ✭✭✭CreepingDeath

The directive says that the content is not required to be stored, ie. content of e-mails, Web calls ( skype I imagine ), etc.

Although typically, e-mails are stored until the user deletes them anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,523 ✭✭✭✭Quazzie

The directive says that the content is not required to be stored, ie. content of e-mails, Web calls ( skype I imagine ), etc.

Although typically, e-mails are stored until the user deletes them anyway.
    I think it means that the ISP is storing them permanently along with all other net activity.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,121 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

Sweden has decided to ignore the directive completely

!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,220 ✭✭✭✭m5ex9oqjawdg2i

Freedom my arse... This is only the beginning of it. Poxy crap...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,244 ✭✭✭AntiRip

Sweden has decided to ignore the directive completely !

Well Sweden's web traffic has halved in the last few days after a tough new anti-piracy law was enacted in the country earlier this week.

Full story here

Internet traffic in Sweden has plummeted after a tough new anti-piracy law was enacted in the country earlier this week, casting interesting new light on the extent of illegal file sharing.

The new law requires copyright holders such as record and entertainment companies to go through the courts to determine the identities of those suspected of piracy, via their IP addresses.

The anonymity that illegal file sharers have enjoyed made the practice widespread, although figures vary as to exactly how commonplace it is in various countries.

However, traffic to Netnod Internet Exchange AB, a Swedish firm which manages many of the country's key internet exchanges, reported a drop of around half since Wednesday, when the law took effect. Throughput has yet to pick up.

Data transmission rates have slumped from a peak of 190Gbit/s to 200Gbit/s to daily highs since Wednesday of about 100Gbit/s. At the time of writing, the figure was around 80Gbit/s.

Along with its Scandinavian neighbours, Sweden has one of the most mature internet industries in the world, with a highly developed fibre-optic broadband infrastructure. The figures will be a shock to many, as they point a potentially high prevalence of illegal file sharing.

France yesterday showed its commitment to eradicate illegal file sharing after passing a 'three strikes law' which decrees that persistent offenders can be suspended from using the internet for a period of time. However, moves to get the law enacted at a European level have met with more opposition.

UK communications minister Lord Carter's Digital Britain interim report released in January proposed the creation of a Rights Agency to deal with the problem of the illegal copying and sharing of music and films over the internet.

However, controversially, he stated that the funding may have to come from ISPs, which in turn could pass the costs on to customers.

Last summer, six leading UK ISPs agreed to establish a code of practice for dealing with the sharing of copyright material over the internet, to be developed in conjunction with the Department for Business, Enterprise and Regulatory Reform.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,244 ✭✭✭AntiRip

Freedom my arse... This is only the beginning of it. Poxy crap...

btw Angela Careful Mourner, I'm so jealous of your download speed! ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,371 ✭✭✭✭Zillah

Sweden has decided to ignore the directive completely

Good old Sweden. Home of the infamous piratebay.

As a libertarian I strongly object to the measure. I don't like governments having any more power or authority than they absolutely have to, but that said: The content isn't stored, merely the existence of contact. And they need a warrant. I can live with it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,061 ✭✭✭✭Terry

Current activity on the pirate bay:
    3.540.828 registered users. Last updated 13:32:05.
    IPv4 19.481.376 peers (9.306.333 seeders + 10.175.043 leechers) in 1.686.363 torrents on tracker.
    IPv6 32.210 peers (15.477 seeders + 16.733 leechers) in 31.800 torrents on tracker.

Doesn't look like it has slowed down.
    The only difference I see is the rise in those using IPv6.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,384 ✭✭✭Highsider

More police state B.S. :pac:

fuking bull****.

tor etc. are going to get alot more popular now. people don't like being monitored.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 909 ✭✭✭mobius42

This isn't news for Ireland. We've had a stricter law since 2005: http://www.edri.org/edrigram/number3.5/ireland
    Data is stored for 3 years instead of 1.
    The Irish government is currently challenging this directive because it doesn't go as far as their one: http://www.out-law.com/page-7310

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,407 ✭✭✭gerky

Zillah wrote: »
    Good old Sweden. Home of the infamous piratebay.

As a libertarian I strongly object to the measure. I don't like governments having any more power or authority than they absolutely have to, but that said: The content isn't stored, merely the existence of contact. And they need a warrant. I can live with it.

Actually everything you do on the net is already tracked and stored for a couple of years and a warrant isn't needed any more,
    There was a directive brought in last year and there was a few threads on it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,632 ✭✭✭ART6

mobius42 wrote: »
    This isn't news for Ireland. We've had a stricter law since 2005: http://www.edri.org/edrigram/number3.5/ireland
    The Irish government is currently challenging this directive because it doesn't go as far as their one: http://www.out-law.com/page-7310

Ah. Is that why we were warned not to say anything about a certain senior politician? How long after my claiming that the government is crap do the Guards call on me?:confused:

*Who's that banging on my door???*

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,009 ✭✭✭✭Run_to_da_hills

Not so, different matter, the Irish law requires information to be retained by the service providers for three years. This new EU directive requires information to be stored in an independant database that can accessed at an time live by the Authorities.

Such technology and invasive powers that fascist Hitler and Stalin would have given their right arms for.

This is just a taste of the B.S. dictatorship we can expect from the EU Parliament and this is before any Lisbon document is ratified.

A similar thread on this subject is being discussed in the CT forum. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 909 ✭✭✭mobius42

Thanks for the clarification, Run_to_da_hills. In relation to the Irish law back in 2005, why did they force ISPs to retain data if it wasn't so that authorities could access it? I don't see the point.

Also, you can blame the UK government for this. This pushed this through the EU so they could get the law they wanted and then blame it on the EU. The UK is turning into a police state more and more each day.

Thanks for the clarification, Run_to_da_hills. In relation to the Irish law back in 2005, why did they force ISPs to retain data if it wasn't so that authorities could access it? I don't see the point.

Also, you can blame the UK government for this. This pushed this through the EU so they could get the law they wanted and then blame it on the EU. The UK is turning into a police state more and more each day.
    The Gardai had to make a warrant to the service providers with a valid reason to access any data such as If the suspected criminal activity.

They never had 24/7 365 access to it unlike this current British orchestrated Orwellian EU directive.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,220 ✭✭✭✭m5ex9oqjawdg2i

A similar thread on this subject is being discussed in the CT forum. :)

What is the CT forum..?

Terry: What are these and what are the differance between them, excuse my ignorance please:

IPv4

IPv6

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,094 ✭✭✭✭javaboy

gerky wrote: »
    Actually everything you do on the net is already tracked and stored for a couple of years and a warrant isn't needed any more,
    There was a directive brought in last year and there was a few threads on it.

Any source for that?
    This new EU directive requires information to be stored in an independant database that can accessed at an time live by the Authorities.

The original articles says a warrant is needed. Doesn't sound like "live" access.
    What is the CT forum..?

Soc->Conspiracy Theories.

javaboy wrote: »

The original articles says a warrant is needed. Doesn't sound like "live" access.

"Privacy campaigners say the move to force telecoms companies to store the data is the first step towards the controversial central database at the heart of the Home Office's Intercept Modernisation Programme, which will gather far more detailed information on Britain's online activities.

Simon Davies, director of Privacy International, said: "I don't think people are aware of the implications of this move. It means that everything we do online or on the phone will be known to the authorities.

"They are using this to produce probably the world's most comprehensive surveillance system."

http://www.telegraph.co.uk/scienceandtechnology/technology/technologynews/5105519/Internet-records-to-be-stored-for-a-year.html

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,919 ✭✭✭✭Gummy Panda

IPv4

IPv6

Top of my head, IPv6 is 128-bit addressing and has better security.

Any source for that?

http://www.digitalrights.ie/2008/06/04/irish-times-opinion-piece-on-data-retention/
    http://www.siliconrepublic.com/news/article/12255/cio/digital-rights-activists-vow-to-fight-big-brother-directive
    And if you look for the actual bill it gives all the details I posted them before but I'm in a hurry now.

"Privacy campaigners say the move to force telecoms companies to store the data is the first step towards the controversial central database at the heart of the Home Office's Intercept Modernisation Programme, which will gather far more detailed information on Britain's online activities.

Simon Davies, director of Privacy International, said: "I don't think people are aware of the implications of this move. It means that everything we do online or on the phone will be known to the authorities.

"They are using this to produce probably the world's most comprehensive surveillance system."

http://www.telegraph.co.uk/scienceandtechnology/technology/technologynews/5105519/Internet-records-to-be-stored-for-a-year.html

Speculation and still not answering my question. Can you link to somewhere credible that states that the new directive wouldn't require a warrant? As I said the text of the article the OP posted said it would.

Thanks gerky.

I had to laugh at this bit on a website called digitalrights though: "The Irish Times published an opinion piece today from us on data retention. A subscription is required to read it at that link, so here’s the full text:"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,268 ✭✭✭Elessar

That first link is old. There's an updated story on the main page. That legislation seems now to be going through primary legislation instead of statutory instrument. Which I think means it must be debated by dail/seanad/whatever.

@javaboy
    :) Someone messed up somewhere as the article is available without a subscription,
    http://www.irishtimes.com/newspaper/opinion/2008/0604/1212513046233.html

@Elessar
    As far as I'm aware all data is already being stored, the retention act was brought in last year, although several groups are challenging it.
    I'll look at the story when I've time.

@javaboy
    :) Someone messed up somewhere as the article is available without a subscription,
    http://www.irishtimes.com/newspaper/opinion/2008/0604/1212513046233.html

Nah I think at the time it was correct. The IT has since dropped the subscription model.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 636 ✭✭✭Heineken Helen

I love how they throw in the murder of an innocent kid to the article as if to say 'see... this kid would still be alive if we had this' :o THINK OF THE KIDS :eek::D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

How do I log into this free online bookmark and file storage service?

A large proportion of this data traffic is totally useless to the authorities without names and faces.

Soon we will be required to register all sim cards, IMEI and internet administration access codes and it will be based on your stste issued PPS number.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,917 ✭✭✭towel401

A large proportion of this data traffic is totally useless to the authorities without names and faces.

Soon we will be required to register all sim cards, IMEI and internet administration access codes and it will be based on your stste issued PPS number.

time to move to antarctica methinks

Take it to CT.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36,634 ✭✭✭✭Ruu_Old

Ah another sign of the anti-christ! *turns off History Channel*

Take it to CT.
    You should learn to diffrenciate between conspiracy and reality. :rolleyes:

It is already happening to mobile phones in the UK and has been that way in France for years.

http://www.timesonline.co.uk/tol/news/politics/article4969312.ece

You should learn to diffrenciate between conspiracy and reality. :rolleyes:

And you should learn to differentiate between Ireland and the UK.

And also between friendly suggestions and moderator directions.

And you should learn to differentiate between Ireland and the UK.

And also between friendly suggestions and moderator directions.
    We must be very vigilant about the UK, they are the forerunners in Europe with this so callled "War on Terror" and imposing new "anti terror" legislation that will in time strip us of our civil liberrties.

This EU retention law being discussed in this thread was orchestrated by the UK Authorities. The UK are also fore runners in this so called "electronic borders" which will be made Euro Wide over the coming years.

Last year they introduced the National ID card, the first time such was required since WW2, it won't be long before something similar will be brought out here.

The UK was also forerunners in the widespread use of digital CCTV and ANPR technology and Ireland is not too far behind.The UK authorities were issued electrionic GPS thumb scanners last year, about a month later we were also told that the Gardai were getting them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,257 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

I'm going to subject the legislators to a torrent of abuse...................:pac: