Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Any one want to join running club in Sth or West Dublin

• 04-04-2009 10:48pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25

Want to join a running club (easy going) in Sth or West Dublin so wondering has any one any suggestions and if any one would want to join with me? Not too hot about going on my own!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,762 ✭✭✭✭ecoli

Why not Tallaght AC. If you are a distance runner they have quite a good team assembled from roots level to a now more elite group also that has started to become evident in the last year or two.
    Also they have a newly laid tartan track and great facilities and are moe than welcoming for new members.
    This might appear bit biased as i am already a member but atleast you wont be completely alone

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25 mise_me

Thanks very much for the reply,very good of you.
    I work in Clondalkin so that is near.
    Would you know if new members join regularly? Might join when the next new member is going

Thanks again

yeah we get new members joining on a regular basis and there are runners of a vast range so usually they just slot onto a group they find comfortable in terms of coping with the training. in the last 18 months we have seen a surge of new runners so dont worry about that the coaches are welcoming and are always there to help or talk to new members.
    Even if you would just want to come down and just have a look round there is no problem with that. PM me if you want more information or want to arrange to meet up there and i can introduce you so you not lost

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,724 ✭✭✭kennyb3

anyone know if there is a club in the north county dublin area?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 703 ✭✭✭lecheile

kennyb3 wrote: »
    anyone know if there is a club in the north county dublin area?
    Take your pick......have a look at the AAI website with all clubs listed.

http://www.athleticsireland.ie/content/?page_id=6239

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 954 ✭✭✭W.B. Yeats

ecoli wrote: »
    yeah we get new members joining on a regular basis and there are runners of a vast range so usually they just slot onto a group they find comfortable in terms of coping with the training. in the last 18 months we have seen a surge of new runners so dont worry about that the coaches are welcoming and are always there to help or talk to new members.
    Even if you would just want to come down and just have a look round there is no problem with that. PM me if you want more information or want to arrange to meet up there and i can introduce you so you not lost

Am interested in joining a club and had thought of Tallaght-
    What time do ye train at during the week? I've a long commute and usually amn't home til 19.30 at least which seems later than the training time of most of the clubs I've seen on the net

Yeah official training times are six on monday and wed and seven on tues and thursday however many athletes arrange to meet at the club at times suitable to them