Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

NO MERCY AT LEISURELAND...18TH APRIL

• 03-04-2009 9:05pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 17

IRISH STALLION
    V
    SLOVAK RAMBO
    Leisureland Sat 18th April
    Zhivago Ticketmaster Shop street Galway
    Tel:353(0) 91 509 960
    Ringside 70 Euros General 50 Euros

• Closed Accounts Posts: 161 ✭✭bilbo79

Yeah i think i'd prefer to get herpes-i've read all your threads and your below amateurs, i'll save my money for a real boxing event run by pro,s..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 128 ✭✭sston

To be fair this "Slovak Rambo" guy looks dangerous: http://www.boxrec.com/list_bouts.php?human_id=20397&cat=boxer

By dangerous, I mean it's dangerous for him to be allowed fight. And this is the top of the bill..........

At least knocking out all these Russian heavyweights should be good preparation becuase it looks like Rambo could be a real threat!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 237 ✭✭mickoo

I dont use boxrec if it can be helped, too many pop ups!

what is the record of the opponent as he has to be reasonably good if he's topping the bill?

The promoters are a bit poor after reading there responses and fake accounts made, smacks of desperation..

surely this is bad for boxing?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,915 ✭✭✭✭menoscemo

slovak Rambo is 2-34 lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,549 ✭✭✭✭cowzerp

2 wins and 34 losses, thats unbelievable, if i payed to see that and then found out the record i'd crack up. But his name is rambo so thats a bonus!

Rush Boxing club and Rush Martial Arts head coach.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

NO MERCY AT LEISURELAND...18TH APRIL
    IRISH STALLION
    V
    SLOVAK RAMBO
    Leisureland Sat 18th April
    Zhivago Ticketmaster Shop street Galway
    Tel:353(0) 91 509 960
    Ringside 70 Euros General 50 Euros

Is this a porno?
    Who's on the undercard.... Randy leprechaun V the German giggidy man.

menoscemo wrote: »
    slovak Rambo is 2-34 lol

Here's the Slovak Rambo in some devastating knockout action against a British heavyweight making his debut: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5b_9tTOA_Vc

50 euro might be a bit pricey though lads considering that you could get to see Dunne in a world title fight, Lee in a good scrap, Katie Taylor, Jim Rock and Andrew Murray for the same price at the O2 last month!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,841 ✭✭✭Running Bing

sston wrote: »
    Here's the Slovak Rambo in some devastating knockout action against a British heavyweight making his debut: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5b_9tTOA_Vc

50 euro might be a bit pricey though lads considering that you could get to see Dunne in a world title fight, Lee in a good scrap, Katie Taylor, Jim Rock and Andrew Murray for the same price at the O2 last month!

lol, hilarious when you put it like that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,401 ✭✭✭sligobhoy67

what a ****in bunch of jokers - I sincerely pray that you lose a fortune on this **** excuse of a farce!

Check out the two wins on his record.

1. v. Peter Furman 0-7, and
    2. v. Ladislav Slezak 1-13

:rolleyes::confused::mad::eek::cool::rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 152 ✭✭Johnduddy

For F*** Sake

Shambles

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,972 ✭✭✭joepenguin

Why dont ye use the feedback here and save the show while ye still have time. Im sure there are some decent Irish boxers around that would jump at the oppurtunity to fight, Maybe put together an Irish title fight, that would be a big draw and ye wouldnt need real big names. Throw up a real competitive bout as well.

They
    1. called 1 of the lads a red jackeen etc.. Funny but hardly professional.
    2. set up multiple accounts pretending to be different people.
    3. Lied about the featherfisted heavyweight knocking out all the russians.
    4. put on the worst opponent i,ve ever heard of on a main event.
    5. Lied about there own fighters record.
    6. And are also trying to set up an MMA event even though they abused all the MMA coaches and dont have a clue about that sport.

So would you go and support this?
    or tell people to steer clear to save boxing?

can we set up a poll on this thread?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17 walkerpromotion

I'd be very suprised if the promoters would even know about Boards.ie

For some reason everyone on this site as taken it that I am the promoter..

Fools....

bilbo79 wrote: »
    They
    1. called 1 of the lads a red jackeen etc.. Funny but hardly professional.
    2. set up multiple accounts pretending to be different people.
    3. Lied about the featherfisted heavyweight knocking out all the russians.
    4. put on the worst opponent i,ve ever heard of on a main event.
    5. Lied about there own fighters record.
    6. And are also trying to set up an MMA event even though they abused all the MMA coaches and dont have a clue about that sport.

So would you go and support this?
    or tell people to steer clear to save boxing?

can we set up a poll on this thread?

Your name is walker promotion-doh!
    your promoting the event constantly and badly, below is some rubbish from a previous thread!

im going to get francie to check this out next time i see him in the stadium, and will be approaching the promoter with this link too to show how pathetic your efforts have been, assuming your only a right hand man and not the man himself, he's hardly big time now and to big for this forum!!!!

so who and what are you if your not the promoter-your the fella writing that ****e film about francie, im going to get it off the travellers on pirate anyway just so you dont get any of my money.

Local Prospect Heavyweight Boxer Coleman Barrett has KO'd another Russian Sparring partner. Thats three in a row said his manager.
    Manager/Promoter Walker has been drafting in Russian sparring partners to help prepare Barrett for his big night in fron of a packed house.
    Unfortunatley the sparring partners have had to work for there money.barrett KO'd three out of four.He's in good shape and looking to raise the roof at the Leisureland Saturday 18th April..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,371 ✭✭✭Daroxtar

I'd be very suprised if the promoters would even know about Boards.ie

For some reason everyone on this site as taken it that I am the promoter..

Fools....

I'd be surprised if the promoters could even read, let alone use a computer.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2 John Lavelle

Fair play Francie. Colie the next Irish champ.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2 John Lavelle

To be fair this "Slovak Rambo" guy looks dangerous: http://www.boxrec.com/list_bouts.php?human_id=20397&cat=boxer

By dangerous, I mean it's dangerous for him to be allowed fight. And this is the top of the bill..........

At least knocking out all these Russian heavyweights should be good preparation becuase it looks like Rambo could be a real threat!

Yeah this Rambo guy is **** we know. But that's because the original guy dropped out and this was the only guy Francie could get last minute. Mutten Head is class you'll all see.

No we wont see, nobody i know is going thank god-if he does not look brilliant against the punch bag then you've ruined him already-and i mean brilliant. In the time you've been advertising this fight it would of been easy to get a semi decent opponent but you's tried pulling the wool over peoples eyes, failed.

epic%20fail.jpeg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 152 ✭✭Johnduddy

Two days to go til no mercy

I'd love to hear any details of this "show"

Rambo KO in the 1st

PMSL

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,004 ✭✭✭Big Ears

Yeah this Rambo guy is **** we know. But that's because the original guy dropped out and this was the only guy Francie could get last minute. Mutten Head is class you'll all see.

If this was the best guy they could get on 2 weeks notice(last minute :rolleyes:, my arse), then maybe they shouldn't be in the promotion business.
    That's at least 2 weeks btw, it's possible 'Slovak Rambo' was lined up well before that but since this thread was started 15 days before the event that'll be the least amount of time they'll had.

Since this is obviously very much a small time promotional company I could of understood an opponent like that on 4/5 days notice, but 15 ?.
    You can get pretty decent journeymen on 2 weeks notice.

Wasn't there also meant to be an Irish v English theme to this bill, at least that's what was said in the papers. They could have got someone like Luke Simpkin or if they wanted something a bit more challenging Lee Swaby.

The rest of the card has lived up to the Irish v English thing......well if you count born and bred in Leeds, Lee Murtagh as Irish.

Current card according to boxrec: http://www.boxrec.com/show_display.php?show_id=573834

• Closed Accounts Posts: 341 ✭✭JMCD

Big Ears wrote: »

:eek: Thats a terrible card. Would much rather go and see an amateur show.

Be mad to pay to see that.

JMCD wrote: »
    :eek: Thats a terrible card. Would much rather go and see an amateur show.

Be mad to pay to see that.

To be fair if you could get tickets at €25, a fight other than Barret v Szabo was the main event and they hadn't come on here making their promotion seem amateurish and poorly organised then if mightn't be a bad idea to go.

However cheapest tickets are €50, Coleman Barrett who has only had 6 fights as a pro and never fought an 8 rounder, and has been out of the ring for 4 years fighting an opponent who has won 2 and lost 34 is the main even and they did come on here looking very amateurish and leading people to believe that this was poorly organised(which it probably was).

Other than knowing any of the boxers personally I can't see why anyone would part with €50 to see this, after as someone mentioned that could have got you into the O2 to see:
    Bernard Dunne v Ricardo Cordoba-WBA Super-Bantamweight title
    Andy lee v Alexander Sipos
    Andrew Murray v Daniel Rasilla-EU Lightweight title
    Jim Rock v Alessio Furlan
    Michael Kelly v Valentins Morozovs
    Anthony Fitzgerald v Janis Chernouskis

Katie Taylor v 3 time Pan-American Champion
    Paddy Barnes v can't remember :o
    Ray Moylette v can't remember :o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 554 ✭✭✭spongeman

Not trying to be smart but is that 2-34 record for real ?

Should fighters with that record be allowed to fight ?

spongeman wrote: »
    Not trying to be smart but is that 2-34 record for real ?

Should fighters with that record be allowed to fight ?

Yes it's real and yes they should.
    Should they be allowed participate in all of these fights that are putting the L's on their record is another question.

If you look at some of the English fighters with poor/terrible records it can look quite bad. I remember when an American poster on a forum asked how is Billy Smith allowed to fight when his record is 1-32(as it was at the time).
    Now reading 1-32 you'd think Smith was simply awful, in truth that wasn't the case. He was jobbed more times than anyone could remember as he was always the away fighter and he often lost fights because he came in at less than 24 hours notice.
    But anyone who watched the fights would realise why Smith was allowed fight, he was tough as hell and wasn't(nor isn't) exactly unskilled either.

After picking up a few wins Smith went 5-1 for 6 fights at one point and has had close fights with two time British Lightweight challenger Dave Stewart(who gave Jon Thaxton Hell) and Scott Haywood who was English Light-Welterweight champion and challenged for the Commonwealth title.
    If he had been a home fighter from the start of his career Smith probably would of been a contender at Super-Featherweight or Lightweight for the British title. He'd have made less money though, 77 fights in the last 3 years means Billy is one of the few fighters fighting below domestic title level who'll be doing quite well for himself.

I suppose I've gone off on a tangent in a way but the point is it's not the statistical record that should count more the fighters quality. As far as that goes from what I've seen I don't think the BUI should have sanctioned Vlado Szabo to fight Coleman Barrett. I think it would only be appropriate for any Irish fighter that has ever fought at Senior level as an amateur to have him as their debut and after that I think a higher level of fighter has to be expected. But when the BBBofC recently sanctioned him to fight the BUI were always going to do the same.

Good post.

I just wonder are they doing themselves harm with all these beatings.

Good post.

I just wonder are they doing themselves harm with all these beatings.

Nah guys like Szabo know how to tuck up and spoil.......they know it a lot more than they know how to box, and if a fighter does manage to start connecting clean and hard on them they'll take the easy way out and find a nice spot on the canvas.

Someone like Smith on the otherhand I would be a little more worried about, because he comes to win he gets claim more with clean shots. Smith actually has a decent defence but I do worry a little for the guys that have over a hundred contests and fight so frequently. But if they're approved as healthy and they are not showing any tell tale signs(eg slurring their words) and not taking too many beatings then there is no reason to stop them really.

Ive been to a lot of sporting events and I d'ont mind paying for them, but surely they could have got people who have better records, ie people who have won nearly as many as they have lost ? It can't be difficult, ok you would have to pay a bit more but then you would be justified in charging more, and more bums on seats as well.

This makes no sense to me whatsoever.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,207 ✭✭✭Hangballlouie

Ive been to a lot of sporting events and I d'ont mind paying for them, but surely they could have got people who have better records, ie people who have won nearly as many as they have lost ? It can't be difficult, ok you would have to pay a bit more but then you would be justified in charging more, and more bums on seats as well.

This makes no sense to me whatsoever.

see, what you are talking about sponge is logic, and I don't think the promotors of this card understand that

joepenguin wrote: »
    Why dont ye use the feedback here and save the show while ye still have time. Im sure there are some decent Irish boxers around that would jump at the oppurtunity to fight, Maybe put together an Irish title fight, that would be a big draw and ye wouldnt need real big names. Throw up a real competitive bout as well.

This is a good idea.

Yes it's real and yes they should.
    Should they be allowed participate in all of these fights that are putting the L's on their record is another question.

If you look at some of the English fighters with poor/terrible records it can look quite bad. I remember when an American poster on a forum asked how is Billy Smith allowed to fight when his record is 1-32(as it was at the time).
    Now reading 1-32 you'd think Smith was simply awful, in truth that wasn't the case. He was jobbed more times than anyone could remember as he was always the away fighter and he often lost fights because he came in at less than 24 hours notice.
    But anyone who watched the fights would realise why Smith was allowed fight, he was tough as hell and wasn't(nor isn't) exactly unskilled either.

After picking up a few wins Smith went 5-1 for 6 fights at one point and has had close fights with two time British Lightweight challenger Dave Stewart(who gave Jon Thaxton Hell) and Scott Haywood who was English Light-Welterweight champion and challenged for the Commonwealth title.
    If he had been a home fighter from the start of his career Smith probably would of been a contender at Super-Featherweight or Lightweight for the British title. He'd have made less money though, 77 fights in the last 3 years means Billy is one of the few fighters fighting below domestic title level who'll be doing quite well for himself.

I suppose I've gone off on a tangent in a way but the point is it's not the statistical record that should count more the fighters quality. As far as that goes from what I've seen I don't think the BUI should have sanctioned Vlado Szabo to fight Coleman Barrett. I think it would only be appropriate for any Irish fighter that has ever fought at Senior level as an amateur to have him as their debut and after that I think a higher level of fighter has to be expected. But when the BBBofC recently sanctioned him to fight the BUI were always going to do the same.

good post as always big.

So true about Billy Smith.

It's funny, I was only talking about him to Lenny Daws today.

Another guy who is a great journey-man and has made a few quid is Billy's namesake Ernie.

Look at the names on his record, some great fighters and possible future world champions.

these guys, and boxers like Buckley and Allen are what make this sport great.

good post as always big.

So true about Billy Smith.

It's funny, I was only talking about him to Lenny Daws today.

Another guy who is a great journey-man and has made a few quid is Billy's namesake Ernie.

Look at the names on his record, some great fighters and possible future world champions.

these guys, and boxers like Buckley and Allen are what make this sport great.

Ernie is his brother..........tough family and when you say Allen you could mean Carl or Peter(once again tough family).

Do you know Daws or did you just happen to run into him ?, I'm guessing he's trying to get another opportunity to fight for the British title. He does hold the English title but with the whole McCloskey v Witter thing(potentially for the British title), Ajose Olusegun waiting as mandatory and Nigel Wright and Barry Morrison fighting an eliminator he'll do well to get a look in somewhere.
    Unless he fancies a fight with Olusegun sometime soon.

Speaking of journeymen I'll never forget the trouble Daniel Thorpe gave Gavin Rees about a year before Rees went and beat Souleymane M'Baye. Rees had beaten Thorpe in 1 round previously but despite getting stopped again(this time in 5) Thorpe gave Rees a much better fight than M'Baye did. It was a cracking scrap.

Ernie is his brother..........tough family and when you say Allen you could mean Carl or Peter(once again tough family).

Do you know Daws or did you just happen to run into him ?, I'm guessing he's trying to get another opportunity to fight for the British title. He does hold the English title but with the whole McCloskey v Witter thing(potentially for the British title), Ajose Olusegun waiting as mandatory and Nigel Wright and Barry Morrison fighting an eliminator he'll do well to get a look in somewhere.
    Unless he fancies a fight with Olusegun sometime soon.

Speaking of journeymen I'll never forget the trouble Daniel Thorpe gave Gavin Rees about a year before Rees went and beat Souleymane M'Baye. Rees had beaten Thorpe in 1 round previously but despite getting stopped again(this time in 5) Thorpe gave Rees a much better fight than M'Baye did. It was a cracking scrap.

I didn't realise they were brothers, a ball of knowledge as always.

Yeah I meant Carl although your right about Peter as well.

Although he hasn't fought as much fights as the others mentioned, Lukin who Paul Hyland beat (and was slated on this forum for) had a great win recently against a really good fighter (Merdov).

Just goes to show that on their day they can upset the apple cart.

As regards Lenny, no I don't know him, I met him a while back, got his number and we went on one date, and that bastard never called me back.:D

Only joking, I interviewed him for a website today.
    We discussed the future and he was delighted to get through the McDonagh fight which he believes will get him back on the british/euro scene, which it should.

I will link it up here when they post it if you want to listen to it Big

Although he hasn't fought as much fights as the others mentioned, Lukin who Paul Hyland beat (and was slated on this forum for) had a great win recently against a really good fighter (Merdov).

As regards Lenny, no I don't know him, I met him a while back, got his number and we went on one date, and that bastard never called me back.:D

We discussed the future and he was delighted to get through the McDonagh fight which he believes will get him back on the british/euro scene, which it should.

How could ya not know Ernie and Billy are brothers? I cant tell them apart. I've been to see them fight a few times, jesus they can stink the place out because they know how to not get stopped - thereby avoiding a suspension from the BBoBC.

Another "journeyman" that is actually quite good is Yousef Al Hamidi - have any of ye seen him fight? much better than his record suggests.

Back to the Galway card - if Francie is involved, has he done any promotion - also if he is invloved then why couldnt he get any decent travellers on the card if he has contacts within the community? I'm thinkin McDonagh, O'Donnell (although they just fought) but what about Tony Doherty or someone like that?

Ya link away.

I noticed the Lukin result straight away when it went up on boxrec. Merdov was #1 in Erope and was probably being groomed for an all Ukranian clash with European champion Oleg Yefimovych. He didn't just beat him too, according to the cards he beat he well(Unanimous decision over 10, by 5 points, 3 points and 2 points).

McDonagh had plenty of time to prepare for the Daws fight and had trained really well. He gave Lenny a good scrap but ultimately Daws extra stamina and quality showed out.

Yousef Al Hamidi is very tough and gave very tough fights to British champions John Simpson(British featherweight champion at the time), John Murray(won the British Lightweight title in his next fight) and got a great win over Anthony Crolla in a thrilling 8 rounder. I'm worried if he's slipped into the role of being a conventional journeyman though rather than a hellish nights work. Against Liam Walsh he was pants and he let himself get dominated by a two fight novice to the point of nearly being stopped. Maybe Walsh is just that good though.........it's hard to tell with the Walsh brothers you want them to fail that much. But Liam is the talented one.

incase anyone's wondering this show is on tomorrow, Sunday the 19th, not the 18th like this thread title says.

No, it was on last night and was rubbish by all accounts. Haven't got any results yet but the Slovak Rambo was clearly tougher than Barret's famous Russian sparring partners as he lasted into the third I think it was.

By the way, just shows how much of a shambles this was that there was even confusion as to what day it was on!

Attendence figures anybody ?

No, it was on last night and was rubbish by all accounts. Haven't got any results yet but the Slovak Rambo was clearly tougher than Barret's famous Russian sparring partners as he lasted into the third I think it was.

By the way, just shows how much of a shambles this was that there was even confusion as to what day it was on!

BoxRec still has it listed as the 19th and they havent got any results up.

Attendence figures anybody ?

Gerry Callan reported in the STAR that the attendence was in and around the 500 mark.

JMCD wrote: »
    Gerry Callan reported in the STAR that the attendence was in and around the 500 mark.

any results in the Star?

Yea sorry only getting back to you now.

Well you prob know Barret won. Colm Keane out pointed Mark Nielsen.

And Its not very clear but John Waldron bout against Danny Couzens seems to be declared a no contest "Due to the deliberate head but by one of the boxers". It seems as do Waldron apparently butted Couzens in the 3rd round.:confused::confused: So not really sure of what to make of that!

Thats all that was in the star do.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2 galwaybhoy

Alright people,

Tell me this please.. Why was no mercy switched from Sat night to Sunday night? I was at the "Revenge" Ken Horan Kickboxing event on te same night in Galway & have to say.. 110%. Great event VERY professionally run.. And for €20 worth every penny.. The numbers were over 1000. For a first time promotion and an Amateaur event that has to be respected.. Did no Mercy not get the numbers needed or what?
    Congratulations to Ken Horan for Bringing the World Middleweight Title to Galway..

galwaybhoy wrote: »
    Alright people,

Tell me this please.. Why was no mercy switched from Sat night to Sunday night? I was at the "Revenge" Ken Horan Kickboxing event on te same night in Galway & have to say.. 110%. Great event VERY professionally run.. And for €20 worth every penny.. The numbers were over 1000. For a first time promotion and an Amateaur event that has to be respected.. Did no Mercy not get the numbers needed or what?
    Congratulations to Ken Horan for Bringing the World Middleweight Title to Galway..

well if the kick boxing lads done a good job of promoting the event fair play because these lads showed exactly how a promotion should not be run, plus they put a human punch bag on the main event, what fan would pay minimum 50 quid to see that?