Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Irish Open Satellite

• 02-04-2009 11:02pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 808 ✭✭✭

Friday 3rd April

€200 + €20 "No Limit" Hold'em Freezeout.

1 Day Event.

Starting Stack : 7,500 (plus an early bird chip of 500 if you are in your seat for the start of play).

Clock : 20 minutes for 5 levels, 25 minutes from then on.

Doors open at 8pm for a 9pm Start.

There is no Guaranteed Prize pool.

The Structure.

25 - 50 - 0 - 20 min clock
    50 - 100 - 0
    75 - 150 - 0
    100 - 200 - 0

20 min break

150 - 300 - 0
    150 - 300 - 25 - 25 min clock
    200 - 400 - 25
    300 - 600 - 50
    400 - 800 - 50

10 min break

500 - 1000 - 100
    600 - 1200 - 100
    800 - 1600 - 200
    1000 - 2000 - 200
    1500 - 3000 - 300
    2000 - 4000 - 500
    3000 - 6000 - 500

Even though there is no guaranteed tickets a big field is still expected for this.

The Tournament Director will have the final say.

There will be Pot Limit and No Limit Hold'em plus Pot Limit Omaha Cash Games Tables on offer. The rake is €4 per person per half hour for the €50 sit down tables.

Alex

• Closed Accounts Posts: 59 ✭✭DK86

Might head in for this, haven't been in the SE in ages. Is there many going from here?? Or many pre-reg'd?? Pity theres no guaranteed tickets like Tuesday nights games though!! :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 405 ✭✭bigbadpat

There was talk last night that one ticket would be guaranteed.

It is very disappointing that the SE have not guaranteed a ticket. :mad:

If you guarantee it they will come.

18 runners are needed to generate a ticket. It will be interesting to see how many will come to this very poorly advertised & SE supported Irish Open satellite.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 59 ✭✭DK86

bigbadpat wrote: »
    There was talk last night that one ticket would be guaranteed.

It is very disappointing that the SE have not guaranteed a ticket. :mad:

If you guarantee it they will come.

18 runners are needed to generate a ticket. It will be interesting to see how many will come to this very poorly advertised & SE supported Irish Open satellite.

^^^^^^^^What Pat said!!!

I may just head back to the schticks tonight if this is not going generate at least one ticket!!

Anyone got an idea of what the numbers will be like for this?? Approximate even.... 10? 20? 40? 90?

SE I RECOMMEND A NEW/EDIT POST WITH AT LEAST ONE TICKET GUARANTEED, YOU WILL GET THAT AND MORE IF YOU DO (THUS GENERATING A LITTLE MORE PROFIT AND MORE CASH ACTION WHEN I BUST THERE ASSES:p!!) SIMPLE BUSINESS TIP, NO CHARGE:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,755 ✭✭✭tylerdurden94

+ 1 to what Pat said.

I think its absolutely dreadful what has happened here, having a sign up on the Tuesday night advertising a €220 freezeout with 2 tickets guaranteed on a Friday night, this should of EASILY been a great turnout tournie for the SE.

But.....

Ok i understood on the night that the structure wasn't finalized but for it to take two days to get this together and then remove the guarantee aswell and very little time to advertise a game that could of easily getting numbers is a fault on the part of the SE and now i wouldn't be surprised if this got no runners at all.

End Rant!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,448 ✭✭✭Lazare

I'm gonna head in anyway and take the chance it gets the numbers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,450 ✭✭✭Gholimoli

i was gonna play this but now i say feck it...
    as much as i love the SE they just let you down this time.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,533 ✭✭✭ollyk1

Ah surely they'll get the numbers for a ticket. I'm 70% likely to attend myself...

If you's do spin in lads bets of luck with this, ive played 3 sats no joy its not meant to be. Might be in to play a little cash thou.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 126 ✭✭copperfacegaz

think ill head in for this also ... last chance saloon for me !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,263 ✭✭✭strewelpeter

A well promoted 100 1 Rebuy or 1 Topup could have filled the SE to the rafters with people and value tonight.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 991 ✭✭✭tm2204

They continually fail to realise that getting people (numbers) through the door is +EV to both their cash games and their gaming floor.

Its same old same old with the Sporting; the same mistakes made over and over again.

How the top 'manager' is still in a job is beyond belief.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 152 ✭✭wendelsailor

Id imagine Tuesday's game will get a lot of runners anyway. A lot of people will probably treat as there last proper satty as the super sat is such a crapshoot from the start.

I just love playing at the SE but feel they are not doing enough to promote the POKER side of their operation. Other venues are expanding their Poker operation because they are offering value for money in addition to advertising well in advance - using BOARDS.IE and their own web site.

I hope to make it in tonight to play this or CASH.
    Hopefully tp pick up some cash from tylerdurden94 to supplement my old age pension.:D

Id imagine Tuesday's game will get a lot of runners anyway. A lot of people will probably treat as there last proper satty as the super sat is such a crapshoot from the start.

Id say so seeing as the numbers have been 50 & 60ish, plus Tuesday afaik has two tickets guaranteed.
    bigbadpat wrote: »
    I just love playing at the SE but feel they are not doing enough to promote the POKER side of their operation. Other venues are expanding their Poker operation because they are offering value for money in addition to advertising well in advance - using BOARDS.IE and their own web site.

I hope to make it in tonight to play this or CASH.
    Hopefully tp pick up some cash from tylerdurden94 to supplement my old age pension.:D

I have a sneaky suspicion that you have more money than Bill Gates :p you do like your HTML coding!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,720 ✭✭✭El Stuntman

ollyk1 wrote: »
    Ah surely they'll get the numbers for a ticket. I'm 70% likely to attend myself...

sweet, overlay :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,894 ✭✭✭✭phantom_lord

what kinda numbers is this likely to get?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,535 ✭✭✭30something

I'll be heading in for my one and only shot...

.... Will post later how Conor dogged me ...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 48 Boilerbad

Im going to give it a go and have a bluffathon

24 runners so far, not too bad. Im a little surprised.

Best of luck to the boardsie who are playing :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,951 ✭✭✭✭Ace2007

24 runners so far, not too bad. Im a little surprised.

Best of luck to the boardsie who are playing :)

any idea of time cash might get going...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,535 ✭✭✭30something

Think there were 25 in all making it 1 and a half tickets. 7.5k starting stack.

I was on table 1. The first 4 out of the tourney were on my table. I go 5th out.

With 7000 chips @ 100/200 I'm dealt AKdd in MP. Serial caller in EP flat calls, I make it 800 and he's the only caller. Flop comes KK4, he checks, I make it 1.3k. he calls. Turn 9, he checks, I bet 2.5k, he asks how much I have behind and then shoves. He covers by a bit. I figure he either has KJ or 99 and if 99 I have outs. There's no way back so I call, he shows the 99 and I miss.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,720 ✭✭✭El Stuntman

Think there were 25 in all making it 1 and a half tickets. 7.5k starting stack.

I was on table 1. The first 4 out of the tourney were on my table. I go 5th out.

With 7000 chips @ 100/200 I'm dealt AKdd in MP. Serial caller in EP flat calls, I make it 800 and he's the only caller. Flop comes KK4, he checks, I make it 1.3k. he calls. Turn 9, he checks, I bet 2.5k, he asks how much I have behind and then shoves. He covers by a bit. I figure he either has KJ or 99 and if 99 I have outs. There's no way back so I call, he shows the 99 and I miss.

a good solid dogging, what a waste of a hall pass!

ul

Thought he would of had it up by now, ship the ticket to Olly :D and Brianmc came second.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,448 ✭✭✭Lazare

Sweet Olly, wp. :)
    Ul Brian.

Lazare wrote: »
    Sweet Olly, wp. :)
    Ul Brian.

Cheers Conor. I didn't win outright contary to what danny said. As I briefly mentioned in the bbv thread I battled back to level on chips headsup and as myself and brian have known each other so long we decided to split the cash and ticket equity and go all-in blind to see who would play the IO. I ran good. :)

Intially when we went headsup we agreed a 10% saver but once we got level it was just a case of who ran best so it was the best thing as we both had a good result this way. Although in fairness I was pwning him headsup so maybe I should have went for the jugular! ;)

Thanks to all for the good wishes I'm really looking forward to it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,443 ✭✭✭califano

Brilliant stuff Olly delighted for you, vwp Brian also. A nice cash now would be just the ticket!.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 306 ✭✭PiperT

Well done Olly, hope you run well next week.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 250 ✭✭Pabloh

Nice one Olly

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 868 ✭✭✭brianmc

'twas a good night.

Since, I have equity in him and Olly is currently "unbranded", I'm pimping his "advertising space" to maximise my return here.

So if there are any cash rich poker sites out there looking to brand his ass, PM me!

(Srsly!)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17 stavstavstav

LOL when I read this title I thought we'd entered the space race! Imagine my disappointment but seeeeeriously you guys enjoy the pokores

I was on table 1 and managed to survive to the final table.

25 runners which was reasonable considering how poorly this was advertised and the lack of support from the SE.

I am convinced that this could have got the numbers for TWO tickets if the SE had guaranteed ONE ticket.

brianmc wrote: »
    'twas a good night.

Since, I have equity in him and Olly is currently "unbranded", I'm pimping his "advertising space" to maximise my return here.

So if there are any cash rich poker sites out there looking to brand his ass, PM me!

(Srsly!)

Lmao!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 868 ✭✭✭brianmc

ollyk1 wrote: »
    Lmao!!

don't do that. That's valuable advertising space. Also, no more marathon training until next week.