Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What car to buy?? Help!!

• 01-04-2009 10:42pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7

I have approx €15,000 to spend.

Am trying to decide between a BMW 3 Series, Toyota Altezza and Audi TT.

On the BMW; if I was to go for a 3 Series; how good is the diesel version? They are cheaper than the petrol ones but how powerful/noisy are they compared to the petrol versions?

On the Altezza: I know they are expensive but i think they are a really nice looking car and reliable. Does everyone just assume that Altezza drivers are scumbags/drug-dealers? How much Gardai attention do they really attract?

On the Audi TT: Is this predominately a chicks car? How good are they?

Any help and/or alternative suggestions would be welcome!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,044 ✭✭✭Sqaull20

boxgrafik wrote: »

On the BMW; if I was to go for a 3 Series; how good is the diesel version? They are cheaper than the petrol ones but how powerful/noisy are they compared to the petrol versions?

On the Altezza: I know they are expensive but i think they are a really nice looking car and reliable. Does everyone just assume that Altezza drivers are scumbags/drug-dealers? How much Gardai attention do they really attract?

BMW 320D are excellent, diesel is the way to go with them, great power, cheap to bring from UK and of course rwd.I prefer the 520d myself.

Altezza, why?

Expensive, big heavy car, 2.0 N/A with no torque, drinks petrol and have a bit of a stigma.

Audi TT, if you like them why not.Bit expensive for what they are but they are good machine.No such thing as a chicks car, thats just what jealous people say.

Few wildcards

Alfa GT

http://atsearch.autotrader.co.uk/ni/cars_popup.jsp?searchform=&modelexact=1&lid=search_used_cars_full&photo=1&state=block&sort=3&hassearched=Y&make=ALFA+ROMEO&min_pr=75&source=0&model=GT&max_pr=&miles=1500&agerange=2&mileage=&postcode=m52ty&variant=&bodyid=0&trim=&fuelid=2&colour=17&transmissionid=0&keywords=&ukcarsearch_full.x=66&ukcarsearch_full.y=7&start=3&distance=43&adcategory=CARS&channel=CARS&id=200907328734816

Octavia VRS 170bhp Diesel.

http://atsearch.autotrader.co.uk/ni/cars_popup.jsp?searchform=&modelexact=1&lid=search_used_cars_full&photo=1&state=block&sort=3&hassearched=Y&make=SKODA&min_pr=75&source=0&model=OCTAVIA&max_pr=&miles=1500&agerange=2&mileage=&postcode=m52ty&variant=VRS&bodyid=0&trim=&fuelid=2&colour=17&transmissionid=0&keywords=&ukcarsearch_full.x=0&ukcarsearch_full.y=0&start=2&distance=182&adcategory=CARS&channel=CARS&id=200910329987817

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,480 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

Test drive all 3 cars and see which one you like the most.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,450 ✭✭✭CharlieCroker

I'd certainly recommend that you take a spin in the Octavia and the Alfa GT.
    If you can, drive a GT diesel. It's the one to go for with 150bhp and 40+ mpg
    Octavia is a cracker too, not for badge snobs but it's based on the Golf GTI. 2.0 Turbo with 200bhp or else 170bhp in the diesel that can be chipped.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,102 ✭✭✭✭Drummerboy08

Sqaull20 wrote: »
    Altezza, why?

Expensive, big heavy car, 2.0 N/A with no torque, drinks petrol and have a bit of a stigma.

Is the Altezza not a 2.0 Turbo? Mate of mine has one (albeit a Toms tuned version) and its the quickest car i've ever been in. If you can pick up a tidy, clean example of one, then go for it. 15k should get you a very nice example, but have a look at bringing in one yourself from Japan if your really set on one.

But as Bazz said, test drive all three and see what you think.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,689 ✭✭✭✭OutlawPete

Sqaull20 wrote: »
    BMW 320D are excellent, diesel is the way to go with them, great power, cheap to bring from UK and of course rwd.

Have to agree .. and they seem to be totally unaffected in price since things took a slide in the used car market.

I am on the lookout for a 2002 or 2003 320D myself for a friend and as far as I can see there are no bargains around when it comes to these cars.

Nico

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,822 ✭✭✭✭EPM

I'd chose a 320d if I were you. Make sure its after Nov 2003 build date (AFAIK) to avoid possible turbo issues.

The TT wont be as good to drive and the Alteza you may as well spray yellow and fit an exhaust the size of the Jack Lynch Tunnel IMO

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 220 ✭✭garyegt

Is the Altezza not a 2.0 Turbo? Mate of mine has one (albeit a Toms tuned version) and its the quickest car i've ever been in. If you can pick up a tidy, clean example of one, then go for it. 15k should get you a very nice example, but have a look at bringing in one yourself from Japan if your really set on one.

But as Bazz said, test drive all three and see what you think.

nope theyre not usually turbo'd unless he done it himself. what they do have is a beams engine, which is basically a standard block tuned by yamaha to push out 210hp

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,704 ✭✭✭✭Cyrus

what kind of mileage do you do? if it is less than 20k per annum dont bother with a diesel, get yourself the biggest engine petrol bmw you can afford to tax and enjoy the straight 6:cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,102 ✭✭✭✭Drummerboy08

garyegt wrote: »
    nope theyre not usually turbo'd unless he done it himself. what they do have is a beams engine, which is basically a standard block tuned by yamaha to push out 210hp

Maybe its just the TOMS cars that have the turbos then. My mistake!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,620 ✭✭✭Graham_B18C

They're 3 very different cars! But if I was going for something like a big Jap Performance car I wouldn't go for the Teza, I'd much rather this

http://www.driving.ie/usedcars/index.cfm?fuseaction=car&carID=1359456

More power and much better looking imo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,917 ✭✭✭B00MSTICK

Do you want a performance car or cruiser? Or a combination of both?

You'd probably get an Alfa 159 for in and around your budget, the 1.9 JTDM has around 150BHP to play with (although not super quick),4 doors and is absolutely beautiful to look at.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7 boxgrafik

This the thing, same as with women... I dunno what I want!!! I want them all!!!

Trouble is I can't have them all. I want something comfortable, classy and that looks good but I wanna be able to put my foot down too if I need to y'know. I'd prefer to drive something that looks good but dosen't attract unwanted attention from the Gardai, scumbags with screwdrivers and people looking to buy some "yokes" (this decision may rule out the Altezza unfortunately..)

This 3 Series looks to fit the bill I think

http://www.carzone.ie/search/BMW/3-Series/318Ci-17/200903191519077/advert#

I have resisted test-driving any yet coz I know I will dread getting back into my little '99 Civic afterwards, but the temptation is getting too much...

Regarding the Alfa; lovely cars yeah but is there not reliability issues with them??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 646 ✭✭✭Johnboy Mac

Trouble is I can't have them all. I want something comfortable, classy and that looks good but I wanna be able to put my foot down too if I need to y'know. I'd prefer to drive something that looks good but dosen't attract unwanted attention from the Gardai, scumbags with screwdrivers and people looking to buy some "yokes" (this decision may rule out the Altezza unfortunately..)

I have resisted test-driving any yet coz I know I will dread getting back into my little '99 Civic afterwards, but the temptation is getting too much...

Regarding the Alfa; lovely cars yeah but is there not reliability issues with them??

Do yourself a big favour and buy petrol, six cylinders, German or Japanese.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 162 ✭✭fugazied

All three of those cars have outstanding quality of materials (toyotas last for years, super reliable), however for interior touches and overall resale value/depreciation I'd got for the BMW x.gif

Very nice cars that age well. Get a good condition BMW and you won't buy another car for a long time.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,502 ✭✭✭Zube

This is not a fast car. My 7 seat diesel S-Max is as quick.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,704 ✭✭✭✭Cyrus

nice car but needs at least the 2.2 litre engine if not the 2.5 or 3 litre, a 318ci, as noted above is nothing like a fast car