Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

2004 BMW 525i, what's it worth?

• 31-03-2009 11:54pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 4,575 ✭✭✭

The way values are plumetting these days what do ye think a 2004 BMW 525i auto with 120k miles, full service history, years NCT, silver with black leather. In very good condition with alloys, is worth?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 66,395 ✭✭✭✭unkel

The mileage alone will make it untouchable to 99.9% of potential buyers in this country. I'd be in the 0.1% camp and I would take full advantage of the fear and ignorance of the other team. I would offer €9k.

Lotus Elan turbo for sale:

https://www.adverts.ie/vehicles/lotus-elan-turbo/35456469

My ads on adverts.ie:

https://www.adverts.ie/member/5856/ads

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,575 ✭✭✭junkyard

9k!!!!:eek:Yer man paid 28k 11 months ago for it with 85k on the clock, it's a very clean car and I spoke to a BMW mechanic and he has similar 525's coming into him with 270k on them with no serious issues, a good engine too by all accounts. I thought it would make 11 or 12k anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,479 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

As you know Junkyard 11 months is a lifetime in the second hand car market these days.

Two things to note in this country:
    • 2.5 litre petrol - a non runner for most Irish folks. Expensive to tax and feed compared to what they are used to.
    • 120k miles - once it reaches the 100k mark generally Irish people assume the car will explode.
    Your target market here for a car like that is probably 1%. Anyone who will be interested will know the story and want it cheap.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,683 ✭✭✭✭Owen

I'd give it a cautious 10k. I remember a 04 520i (the 2.2) being sold for 16k recently with 70k miles.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,739 ✭✭✭✭starbelgrade

junkyard wrote: »
    The way values are plumetting these days what do ye think a 2004 BMW 525i auto with 120k miles, full service history, years NCT, silver with black leather. In very good condition with alloys, is worth?

A five year old car with a shed load of miles. I'd be in the 99% and steer well clear of it. I picked up a 2006 VW Golf last month for €6500 - 25000km on the clock. Alloys too (not that it was a selling point).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,822 ✭✭✭✭EPM

A five year old car with a shed load of miles. I'd be in the 99% and steer well clear of it. I picked up a 2006 VW Golf last month for €6500 - 25000km on the clock. Alloys too (not that it was a selling point).

Not meaning to be smart but I'd nearly prefer an average mileage car that hasn't been used about town to a low mileage shopping trolly.

If everything is backed up by a full and detailed service history there is no reason why it should't be as reliable

• Moderators, Politics Moderators Posts: 42,127 Mod ✭✭✭✭Seth Brundle

In fairness, I would be sceptical if it sold for 9K in the current climate.
    I'll give you 2k! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,473 ✭✭✭robtri

ned78 wrote: »
    I'd give it a cautious 10k. I remember a 04 520i (the 2.2) being sold for 16k recently with 70k miles.
    kbannon wrote: »
    In fairness, I would be sceptical if it sold for 9K in the current climate.
    I'll give you 2k! :D

you see how fickle the used car is at the moment, in the space of an hour your car has dropped from 10K to 2K....
    and I reckon 2K is nearer the money :D

I think you're all being negative. There's a market there (Albiet a small one) for people looking for a bit of flash, to be seen in a new shape 5 Series for bugger all money, and it has a 6 cylinder engine which really won't have been that stressed with the mileage. Some petrolhead will see past the small issues on this car I think.

Yep, somebody like me. I've been at that game for many years :D

And I would offer €9k :D

My ads on adverts.ie:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 69 ✭✭biggybum

All jokes aside, i sold a 04 520i 2.2 se manual with 70k miles last September for 14k that was the realsitic Market value then, I reckon 8-9k for this is top end !!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,056 ✭✭✭✭BostonB

EPM wrote: »

Not meaning to be smart but I'd nearly prefer an average mileage car that hasn't been used about town to a low mileage shopping trolly.

If everything is backed up by a full and detailed service history there is no reason why it should't be as reliable

A bit of hard driving usually sorts out the shopping trolly's....;)

Thats not a valid comparison. Completely different types of car. No one who wants a 525 is going to see a regular Golf as an alternative.

Maybe not an petrol head. Its an auto. Sounds lovely. But its the running costs of fuel, insurance, tax, and servicing that would put most people off. Nice car though. I'd love it myself. But its not what I need at the moment.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,815 ✭✭✭✭Anan1

I dunno, I think petrol-heads are the biggest bargain-hunters out there. If I were paying €10k+ for an 04 525i, i'd want it to be loaded with options and showing a meticulously cared-for 30-40k miles. I think even €8k is too much.

Edit: Is the car definitely an E60? If so, disregard what I said above.

BostonB wrote: »
    Maybe not an petrol head. Its an auto.

But a Petrolhead would want an Auto in an E60 5 Series. Putting a manual on a 5 Series with that engine is a bit unrefined I think.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,815 ✭✭✭✭Anan1

But a Petrolhead would want an Auto in an E60 5 Series. Putting a manual on a 5 Series with that engine is a bit unrefined I think.
    +1. Anyone but a confirmed masochist would want an auto in that car.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,464 ✭✭✭furtzy

Unfortunatley its only worth what someone is prepared to pay for it. I think the comments on it only being of interest to 1% of the buying public is true...so I think a figure of 8k - 9k is about it or else its going to sit for a very long time

furtzy wrote: »
    Unfortunatley its only worth what someone is prepared to pay for it. I think the comments on it only being of interest to 1% of the buying public is true...so I think a figure of 8k - 9k is about it or else its going to sit for a very long time

+1 I'm trying to buy a Transit Connect at the moment, and for some stupid reason I want to buy it in the republic. I want full electrics, aircon, and the TDCI engine, preferably in white. Found such a van, with high mileage, entered into discussions with the guy. He was selling a 04 for 4500, I could have a similar one in from the UK for 3k. I offered 3500 out of fairness, and he refused to budge. I'd imagine he's going to be looking at it quite a while.

There's a very simple rule at the moment which is that a vehicle is only worth what someone is willing to pay for it, and if you don't take a little pain now, it'll hurt a lot more in the long term.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,147 ✭✭✭skyhighflyer

I'd take at at €11K if I had the cash lying about.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,263 ✭✭✭✭Eoin

Wow - this time last year you would have been lucky to get an 2000 or later e39 m-tech model for less than 12K.

Anan1 wrote: »

Fair enough. I guess on reflection if I was buying one I'd go for an auto aswell.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 618 ✭✭✭pipsqueak

furtzy wrote: »

was wondering when that cheesy bit of boardsie wisdom would pop up " its only worth what someone is willing to pay"

True but that phrase really annoys me!! All you need to do now is throw in "in the current economic climate going forward"!!:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 646 ✭✭✭Johnboy Mac

My take on this is really simple. If you like a bit of decent flash, have the cash to buy, can afford to drive it and want a car that is 20% or so of it's original cost and it will give you enjoyment daily - buy it. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,464 ✭✭✭furtzy

pipsqueak wrote: »
    was wondering when that cheesy bit of boardsie wisdom would pop up " its only worth what someone is willing to pay"

True but that phrase really annoys me!! All you need to do now is throw in "in the current economic climate going forward"!!:D

Nothing cheesy about it. Its a reality that most dealers are having to come to terms with. had a long chat with a mate of mine whose a manager of a large multi brand dealership the other day and he pretty much said the same thing. Think you need a "dose of reality"...or does that annoy you as well :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,694 ✭✭✭✭L-M

Is it even worth 10k? I don't think so.

I think 8-9k is reasonable if you were buying it for yourself. I wouldn't touch it with a barge pole at that money if it was with an intention to sell it on.

Anan1 wrote: »

I must be a masochist.... much prefer to have the manual, wouldn't touch it with the auto, takes the fun out of the car......

Ignore

Sold it straight this evening for 12k euros, so there, there's still some hope out there.:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,263 ✭✭✭✭Eoin

Sold it straight this evening for 12k euros, so there, there's still some hope out there.:)

Who'd have thought the advice from strangers on the internet could be wrong!

LOL.

Ignore

why????????????

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,123 ✭✭✭stepbar

That was a serious good deal compaired to the car I'm picking up on Sat (04' Golf 7750 + 1k for Clio). Fair play for getting it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,747 ✭✭✭✭galwaytt

Holy Schweppes Batman - I need you to sell my 968 at that rate! I want € x, but I'll take €x +2k anytime :D

Ode To The Motorist

“And my existence, while grotesque and incomprehensible to you, generates funds to the exchequer. You don't want to acknowledge that as truth because, deep down in places you don't talk about at the Green Party, you want me on that road, you need me on that road. We use words like freedom, enjoyment, sport and community. We use these words as the backbone of a life spent instilling those values in our families and loved ones. You use them as a punch line. I have neither the time nor the inclination to explain myself to a man who rises and sleeps under the tax revenue and the very freedom to spend it that I provide, and then questions the manner in which I provide it. I would rather you just said "thank you" and went on your way. Otherwise I suggest you pick up a bus pass and get the ********* ********* off the road” 

robtri wrote: »
    why????????????

Lol, I was reading your post and the two posts you qouted wrong. Never mind, move along :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 493 ✭✭thealltimelow

my dad sold his 04 530d last summer for 22,000 with 132,000 on the clock

Sold it straight this evening for 12k euros

Well done!

When I bought my 735 (in early '04), I negotiated the (already rather cheap) asking price down substantially. My only argument was that I was seriously going to buy the car (with 110k miles on it). I would have the money ready the next day. But I needed to shake hands there and then. I pointed out to the seller that my offer was well below what the car was considered to be worth, but I also pointed out that I was the one with the readies. He might get another buyer 5 minutes later with €3k more to offer, but he might never get that buyer either. It was his gamble and he went for my offer :)

My ads on adverts.ie:

unkel wrote: »
    Well done!

When I bought my 735 (in early '04), I negotiated the (already rather cheap) asking price down substantially. My only argument was that I was seriously going to buy the car (with 110k miles on it). I would have the money ready the next day. But I needed to shake hands there and then. I pointed out to the seller that my offer was well below what the car was considered to be worth, but I also pointed out that I was the one with the readies. He might get another buyer 5 minutes later with €3k more to offer, but he might never get that buyer either. It was his gamble and he went for my offer :)

Really? So how much will you take for that 735 now Unkel?:)

A bit below the asking price. And another bit if you show me the readies :D

My ads on adverts.ie:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 948 ✭✭✭DJ Hafez

WHERE?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,123 ✭✭✭stepbar

DJ Hafez wrote: »
    WHERE?

It had to have been a private deal. No questions about that.

stepbar wrote: »
    It had to have been a private deal. No questions about that.

Or a finance repo/auction etc. etc. Or else it's lies lol... Very cheap at 6500 though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,822 ✭✭✭✭EPM

Incredible cheap when you consider the cheapest on carzone is 4k more with 6 times the mileage. Was it an estate? They do go cheap...

EPM wrote: »
    Incredible cheap when you consider the cheapest on carzone is 4k more with 6 times the mileage. Was it an estate? They do go cheap...

I know a lad with a 06 Mk4 estate in Green. Tut tut, so manky looking lol:D