Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Codename: Renegade

• 31-03-2009 9:46pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 19,080 ✭✭✭✭

Right, so Obama is in London. He touched down and his codename is Renegade announce Sky One.

What's the point in a codename if everyone knows it? How does this help you operationally when dealing with things?

Is it simply a case of helping you distance yourself from the person and keep your thoughts on your actualy job / task?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,084 ✭✭✭eroo

My codename: Lost

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,080 ✭✭✭✭Random

eroo wrote: »
    My codename: Lost

The reason I'm posting here is that I'm assuming the Garda / PSNI / Police use codenames for whatever reasons at various times and thought they may have some experience on the issue.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,194 ✭✭✭Trojan911

Random wrote: »
    What's the point in a codename if everyone knows it?

It's not a "codename" as per se. Every operation is given a name. UK police forces use them all the time & the name is never used twice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 319 ✭✭lehanemore

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,473 ✭✭✭✭Our man in Havana

LOL ! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 481 ✭✭JonAnderton

It's just their way of refering to him... Rather then saying over the radio "The president of the United States of america and the first lady are leaving the house and approaching the car" or "Obama is two minutes out"... just say 'Renegade and Renaisance'

There's no reason to keep them secret either... everyone knows where he is and what he's doing... He's in the big car with the flags...although I reckon they have other real code names should it all go bent...

oh, And they're much cooler than POTUS and FLOTUS

Right, I'm off to play my part in the hoopla...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 147 ✭✭cpstears

I'd say there was some flapping in Government Buildings yesterday evening trying to organise the response. 4 helis with the Army Ranger Wing heading for Sligo to assist the Secret Service at short notice. Ah well just shows even the best plans turn to sh!t.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,451 ✭✭✭CharlieCroker

cpstears wrote: »
    I'd say there was some flapping in Government Buildings yesterday evening trying to organise the response. 4 helis with the Army Ranger Wing heading for Sligo to assist the Secret Service at short notice. Ah well just shows even the best plans turn to sh!t.

look at the date!!!!:D:D:D

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 24,056 Mod ✭✭✭✭Sully

SECOND TIME!!!! Fecking hell, the ONE YEAR I get caught twice!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,266 ✭✭✭Steyr

cpstears wrote: »

Let alone have a 747 at EISG, the runway is WAY too short and not built to International standards to even take the weight of her. Your about 4,500ft short just for minimums.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,473 ✭✭✭✭Our man in Havana

In any event AF1 would simply divert to Knock.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 147 ✭✭cpstears

AH SH1TE :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,938 ✭✭✭deadwood

Steyr wrote: »
    Let alone have a 747 at EISG, the runway is WAY too short and not built to International standards to even take the weight of her. Your about 4,500ft short just for minimums.

yeah, cop on lads. 4,500 ft, and then some, i'd say.

This is basic aeronautical engineering for gods sake. (At least for someone who parks up outside Dublin airport 12 hours a day drawing planes, or whatever it is they do to compensate for having no meaningful relationship with a real person and living with mammy.)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 481 ✭✭JonAnderton

Obviosuly they change regulary, previous USSS callsigns...

CALICO ELEANOR MONDALE
    CAMEO JOAN MONDALE
    CANNONBALL REAR ADMIRAL J.A. CHANEY
    CAVALIER WALTER MONDALE
    CEDAR MENACHEM BEGIN
    CENTURION THEODORE MONDALE
    CHESSMAN WILLIAM MONDALE
    CHRISTOPHER BEBE REBOZO
    CLAM CHOWDER RON NESSEN
    CLAW HAMMER ALEXANDER HAIG
    COPPERTONE ROSE KENNEDY
    CRYSTAL CHASSIAH BEGIN MILO
    DAILY PRINCE CHARLES
    DANCER ROSALYNN CARTER
    DASHER JIMMY CARTER
    DEACON JIMMY CARTER
    DECKHAND JEFF CARTER
    DERBY JACK CARTER
    DIAMOND CHIP CARTER
    DIGGER JAMES CARTER IV
    DRAGON WALTER MONDALE
    DUCHESS SARAH CARTER
    DUSTY JASON CARTER
    DYNAMO AMY CARTER
    EAGLE BILL CLINTON
    EVERGREEN HILLARY CLINTON
    FADEAWAY SECRETARY OF STATE
    FINLEY SECRETARY OF DEFENSE
    FIREPLUG SECRETARY OF LABOR
    FIRE TRUCK JAMES EDWARD
    FISTFIGHT SECRETARY OF HEW
    FLAG DAY SPEAKER, HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES
    FLIVVER WILLIAM FRENCH SMITH
    FLOTUS THE FIRST LADY
    FOOTPRINT SENATOR STROM THURMOND
    FOREFINGER JAN PIERCE
    FORWARD LOOK NEIL BALDRIGGER
    FOXCRAFT TERRELL BELL
    HALO POPE JOHN PAUL II
    HAWKEYE Z. BRZEZINSKI
    HERCULES COUNTER-SNIPER RESPONSE TEAM
    HOTSHOT DUTY OFFICER, WHCA
    INSTRUCTOR EUGENE MCCARTHY
    KITTYHAWK QUEEN ELIZABETH II
    LANCER JOHN F. KENNEDY
    LOCK MASTER JIMMY CARTER
    LOTUS PETAL ROSALYNN CARTER
    MIRACLE JOHN ANDERSON
    NAPOLEON FRANK SINATRA
    PASS KEY GERALD FORD
    PESO SUSAN FORD
    PINAFORE BETTY FORD
    POTUS PRESIDENT OF THE UNITED STATES
    PRINCIPAL PRINCE CHARLES
    RADIANT DORIA REAGAN
    RAINBOW NANCY REAGAN
    RAWHIDE RONALD REAGAN
    REDFERN QUEEN ELIZABETH II
    REDWOOD GARY HART
    RELIANT RONALD P. REAGAN
    RHYME MAUREEN REAGAN
    RIBBON PATTI REAGAN DAVIS
    RIDDLER MICHAEL REAGAN
    ROSEBUD MAUREEN REAGAN
    SCARLET KELE ANDERSON
    SCORECARD DAN QUAYLE
    SEARCHLIGHT RICHARD NIXON
    SHEEPSKIN GEORGE BUSH
    SNAPSHOT HOWARD BAKER
    SNOWBANK BARBARA BUSH
    SNOWSTORM GEORGE BUSH
    SPRINGTIME MAMIE EISENHOWER
    STAIRCASE FIRST FAMILY DETAIL OFFICER
    STARBURST JOHN ANDERSON
    STARDUST JOHN ANDERSON
    STARLIGHT PAT NIXON
    STRAWBERRY ROSEMARY WOODS
    SUNBURN TED KENNEDY
    SUNDANCE ETHEL KENNEDY
    SUNSHINE MARILYN QUAYLE
    SUPERVISOR DAN QUAYLE
    SWORDFISH PHILLIP CRANE
    THUNDER JESSE JACKSON
    TILLER DOROTHY BUSH
    TIMBERWOLF GEORGE BUSH
    TRANQUILITY BARBARA BUSH
    TRAPLINE NEIL BUSH
    TUMBLER GEORGE BUSH, JR.
    TUNER MARVIN BUSH
    UNICORN PRINCE CHARLES
    VICTORIA LADYBIRD JOHNSON
    VOLUNTEER LYNDON JOHNSON
    WELCOME J.R. HALDEMAN
    WHALEBOAT RON ZIEGLER
    WISDOM J. EHRLICHMAN
    WOODCUTTER HENRY KISSINGER

and more USSS Callsigns for people,places and other things

Hey, If wikipedia have them...how secret can they be... :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,005 ✭✭✭✭AlekSmart

But but but...how can that list be complete....there`s one missing........Brian Cowen....I reckon he`d come in just after Henry Kissinger....howz about "TURFcutter" :D

Men, it has been well said, think in herds; it will be seen that they go mad in herds, while they only recover their senses slowly, and one by one.

Charles Mackay (1812-1889)