Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

New Semi Rigid ASP Handcuffs

• 30-03-2009 7:10am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,957 ✭✭✭

foinse wrote: »
    the new asp handcuffs on issue to phase 4's coming out of college

I know im going off the topic yet again and thenog or psni will most likely hammer me (sorry in advance:D) but the rigid cuffs. ahve you found any problems with other keys not opening them, i.e. smith and wesson/hiatt keys not fitting??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,303 ✭✭✭source

I know im going off the topic yet again and thenog or psni will most likely hammer me (sorry in advance:D) but the rigid cuffs. ahve you found any problems with other keys not opening them, i.e. smith and wesson/hiatt keys not fitting??

We were warned in the college that there might be a problem but i haven't found any issue with other keys,I even have a standard key as a spare, gives me no problems when i have to use it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,160 ✭✭✭TheNog

foinse wrote: »
    We were warned in the college that there might be a problem but i haven't found any issue with other keys,I even have a standard key as a spare, gives me no problems when i have to use it.

Did anyone find another problem with the ASP handcuffs?

I did and it could be a bad one

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,957 ✭✭✭Hooch

TheNog wrote: »
    Did anyone find another problem with the ASP handcuffs?

I did and it could be a bad one

Only tried to open them one night so havint used them as such. Whats the problem?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 923 ✭✭✭djtechnics1210

Only tried to open them one night so havint used them as such. Whats the problem?

If you use them there's a good chance you'll have to go to court :D

First time I saw the handcuffs I had already seen this vid and its true. Very easy to do without much pressure at all

Cheap as chips tbh

Firstly...i thought i was going mad!! Didnt realise everyone was having that problem!!:D

TheNog wrote: »
    First time I saw the handcuffs I had already seen this vid and its true. Very easy to do without much pressure at all

Cheap as chips tbh

Secondly and more importantly holy ****!!! thats a major problem!! Does it happen to the hinged/rigid ones issued to new ags nog???

Just tried it out on a pair i was given in the states and it works with great ease (pic below):eek:. think i'll be sticking to the smith & wesson ones

30032009002.jpg

Firstly...i thought i was going mad!! Didnt realise everyone was having that problem!!:D

Ya AGS management has set up a new unit of 5 sergeant and 500 guards to investigate this problem with the cuffs, it is hoped there first report on their finding will be published in 2035 and is expected to cost the taxpayer 10000000000000000 :D

Can AGS buy anything that works properly, how long were they testing them fecking things for and they never noticed that. :rolleyes:

Ill be sticking with me good auld black s&w cuffs me thinks.... not that they get much use anyway :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 220 ✭✭daithip

Have a set of rigid cuffs given to me by a prison officer, they don't seem to have that problem and are handy when transporting prisoners, but not as easy to use in a struggle as the old S&W ones. Looks like I'll stick with these!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 315 ✭✭Whitewater-AGS

Never had a problem with the asp hinged cuffs have used then plenty of times. They went on fine every time, they offer better control over chain cuffs too and are alot safer if cuffing to the front as you can stack the s.o hands meaning he cant punch. They can be hard to open but thats not the cuffs its the cheap keys which tend to be different sizes that and you obviously gotta take the double lock off first.

Secondly and more importantly holy ****!!! thats a major problem!! Does it happen to the hinged/rigid ones issued to new ags nog???

Just tried it out on a pair i was given in the states and it works with great ease (pic below):eek:. think i'll be sticking to the smith & wesson ones

30032009002.jpg

I tried it on the hinged ones a phase 4 gave to me to have a look. So yes they are going to be standard issue
    Can AGS buy anything that works properly, how long were they testing them fecking things for and they never noticed that. :rolleyes:

Apparently not. I would love to know the testing procedures in place for new equipment.

It may be hard to hear the clicks as the cuffs lock especially if you are in a noisy environment and if the prisoner is violent.
    Never had a problem with the asp hinged cuffs have used then plenty of times. They went on fine every time, they offer better control over chain cuffs too and are alot safer if cuffing to the front as you can stack the s.o hands meaning he cant punch. They can be hard to open but thats not the cuffs its the cheap keys which tend to be different sizes that and you obviously gotta take the double lock off first.

Good to hear you havent had a problem but its also good to know the problems too.

I agree the cuffs do provide much better control than the S&W cuffs.

Also heard with these new ASP cuffs that when they opened the cuff tends to stay open rather than close easily by itself. A PSNI officer lost her eye when she got one cuff off and the prisoner swung at her. Dont know if its true but thats what is being said in the college.

I cant understand how management get away with a civilian doing the purchasing!:mad:

Does anyone know if there is an advisery board to review new equipment, made up by serving on the ground members??!

Glad to hear that one hasnt had a problem but as nog said a problem is still a problem and if this happened to one member its one too many and could lead to serious injury!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,082 ✭✭✭bravestar

I have a pair of these, smith and wesson's and the old issue hiatts. Persoanlly I prefare these. I have used them countless times and although I can recreate the same problem when sitting at home I have never had it happen to me when cuffing a resisting prisoner.

Besides that, you will hear the clicks and feels the clicks from them when you use them. You should also always make sure your cuffs are on properly and that they are tight enough, espicially with females. Ive had a few hairy moments in the back of the car when other members arrested irrate females and didn't tighten the cuffs enough. result: attempted opening of car doors while in motion/ claws goin for my eyes.

bravestar wrote: »
    Besides that, you will hear the clicks and feels the clicks from them when you use them. You should also always make sure your cuffs are on properly and that they are tight enough, espicially with females. Ive had a few hairy moments in the back of the car when other members arrested irrate females and didn't tighten the cuffs enough. result: attempted opening of car doors while in motion/ claws goin for my eyes.

I agree with you that we should feel the clicking of the cuffs and ensure they are on properly but then again should we have a product that is so obviously and dangerously flawed that a video is posted on youtube for all too see?

Granted most people wont see the youtube clip but those that do will know that if they kick up enough of a fuss or struggle as much as they can, there is a possibility they could injure a member or attempt to escape.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,473 ✭✭✭✭Our man in Havana

Why is AGS not using the UK issue rigid handcuffs? Surely they are better?

Bond-007 wrote: »
    Why is AGS not using the UK issue rigid handcuffs? Surely they are better?

They are considered harder to get onto a subject who is kicking off.

Mostly the reason is that in the garda code it stated that handcuffs should be covered and out of the public view at all times....silly and arcake. AGS dont want to come accross are arresting people or showing that we have batons. Thats why they are hidden (old wooden baton in trouser pocket and new asp in covered pouch)

The rigid ones in the uk are exposed to the public so in their great wisdom management will not issue them:rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,473 ✭✭✭✭Our man in Havana

Mostly the reason is that in the garda code it stated that handcuffs should be covered and out of the public view at all times.
    I can understand them being covered when not in use. Does that rule apply to when they are on a suspect?

Bond-007 wrote: »
    I can understand them being covered when not in use. Does that rule apply to when they are on a suspect?

No no sorry should have specified. When not in use they are to be covered.

The only holders available for the rigid ones that are anygood for operational use are the open top ones that expose one part of the cuff.

So as a result we are stuck with Smith and Wesson (if your lucky) and Hiatt chain cuffs. They started issuing the new simi rigid hinged ASP cuffs last year some time to new members comming out but hasnt gone on full issue yet.