Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Cycle to Work Scheme - are trailers included?

• 30-03-2009 9:22am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 254 ✭✭

I'm in the process of availing of the cycle to work scheme and, wanting to make the most of it, am picking my brains for any equipment I might want or need over the next five years. (So far my shopping list includes: bike, basket, lights, mirror, helmet, bungee and repair kit).

I'd like to get a trailer too (v. handy if carrying bulky stuff) but can't figure out if they're included. My bike shops doesn't think so but section 5 of the bike scheme guidelines included for panniers (have them) and 'luggage carriers'. Does a bike trailer count as a luggage carrier?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,995 ✭✭✭✭blorg

I would imagine it does, ultimately your company just has to be happy passing it by the Revenue.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,122 ✭✭✭Peterx

Once you get an actual bike you can spend the remainder on any "accessories", according to the guy in one of bike shops designated by my company.
    I did ask could I spend the lot on accessories (i've enough bikes) but that was a no-no, unfortunately..

• Moderators, Politics Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,269 Mod ✭✭✭✭Chips Lovell

Simple, ring Revenue and ask them do they class as luggage carriers. There is a chance that they haven't considered it yet, so it may take them a while to get back to you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 254 ✭✭coolaboola

Ta very much for your responses folks. My company seem pretty happy to include a trailer but I've pushed them to ok this with the Revenue (to give my bike shop some comfort) so I'm currently waiting on a response. Will keep you posted!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,056 ✭✭✭✭BostonB

What do you carry to work that you need a trailer for it? Curious.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,638 ✭✭✭Turbulent Bill

Peterx wrote: »
    Once you get an actual bike you can spend the remainder on any "accessories", according to the guy in one of bike shops designated by my company.
    I did ask could I spend the lot on accessories (i've enough bikes) but that was a no-no, unfortunately..

I don't think this is true - the Revenue guide to the scheme states that bikes and/or certain safety accessories are covered (see Sections 5 and 9.3). If whatever you want is listed here then it should be fine - you could conceiveably blow a grand on spoke reflectors if you wanted...

@BostonB: It'd be rare enough that I'd have to carry much home from work but when I do I've had some hairy experiences trying to balance lever arch files and laptops on my carrier. The laptop in its bag on its own is ok but add more than two lever arch files and I'd have to come in in the car to pick them up. (I used to carry all sorts of equipment but not so much in my current role)

Another more likely use is being able to do the supermarket run on the way home from work (my front basket has been repaired too many times to count as a result of overloading it with supermarket shopping - currently held together with bits of wire - not super-safe from a steering and balance perspective either). I wonder how I'd manage security-wise with a trailer? Can I bring it into the shops?! A very alternative trolley!

@Turbulent Bill: The mind boggles at what a grand's worth of reflectors would look like! The problem with the list of included items in section 5 is where there's any ambiguity (e.g. is a trailer a 'luggage carrier'?)

@coolaboola- the tax issues are between your company and yourself, the bike shop should not have any problem with it one way or the other. The bike shop gets paid either way.

@Turbulent Bill- while it does seem you could spend the grand on helmets and spoke reflectors, ("safety equipment") you couldn't buy for example a new wheelset.

@blorg: You're right. But my bike shop does seem to be under the impression that trailers weren't included, hence my investigation. They, naturally, don't want to do anything untoward and I don't want to put them in an awkward position if a problem did arise.

Well it seems that a trailer could legitimately be included under the scheme.

Interestingly, however, my bike shop are not keen on it, saying they reckon they're unsafe in Dublin city traffic.

I can see their point (and kudos for not pushing the sale regardless) but I'm curious if anyone here has trailer-in-city-traffic experience?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,898 ✭✭✭✭seanybiker

ha ha cool I never seen someone with a trailer on a bike. Wonder if ya can get em for motorbikes

Why would a trailer be more unsafe, with cargo anyway. I wouldn't put kids in one on the road. If theres cycle paths like the Park that would be fine for kids. Of course how do you get to the park...

I haven't used one, although I have considered getting one for lugging the really large stuff that can be tricky on a rear rack.

Having said that I see people with kids in trailers around Dublin all the time, if they are safe enough for your kids I imagine they are safe enough for your shopping.

I have carried stuff up to 2-2.5m or so wide on my rear rack (a bike box, bookshelves, a Christmas tree), you just need to be aware that you are wider and not go through gaps that are too narrow. Trailer I imagine would be similar just you would have extra length rather than width.

I've only seen them in the park, or on the local cycle paths never on the road.

What on earth do you carry?

I see people go through red lights all the time. Doesn't mean its safe.

• Moderators, Politics Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,269 Mod ✭✭✭✭Chips Lovell

coolaboola wrote: »
    I'm curious if anyone here has trailer-in-city-traffic experience?

I've no kids so never had cause to use one, but you see a fair few in town. I've even spotted Green Party TD Ciaran Cuffe with one.

I was thinking of one to run a 5yr old to school. But I think hes too big for them.

BostonB wrote: »
    I was thinking of one to run a 5yr old to school. But I think hes too big for them.
    Consider one of these?

original_shifter7_silver-red.jpg

I've seen a few people with these too, even one person with the older kid on the back on one of these and a younger one on a top tube seat.

Actually, that's the one that Cuffe was using.

After I drop him off I have a 11k cycle to work then back again. I don't really want to have that on the back. I don't pick him up. So I wouldn't be going back to the school if I left it there. I guess I could drop it back home, then head out again. I guess thats a better compromise.

I was thinking of the saddle on the cross bar. But I think hes a bit big for it. Also my bike has 3 cables running along the top. Most bikes do I think. Trailer might work and could use it for the younger ones later.

After I drop him off I have a 11k cycle to work then back again. I don't really want to have that on the back.
    Not sure that a trailer would be too much less annoying, although it could have more of a secondary use maybe for groceries etc. on your way home.

These are pretty small and wouldn't be too much bother:

psiSpringerDemo.JPG

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,001 ✭✭✭scottreynolds

I see someone with a big surly ferry'ing there children to work occassionally in the IFSC. Looks Good and sensible. Trailer -- not 100% sure if thats a good idea.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,223 ✭✭✭✭Lumen

I see someone with a big surly ferry'ing there children to work occassionally in the IFSC. Looks Good and sensible. Trailer -- not 100% sure if thats a good idea.

I don't see a problem with a trailer, as long as it's got flags or something so that drivers can see it.

Just need to be aware of the extra width.

I passed a cargo bike (two wheeled, front-mounted box) in town today, he seemed quite comfortable in traffic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,318 ✭✭✭✭Raam

I used a trailer with an MTB in Germany recently to haul the niece and nephew around. They make cornering and turning a bit different :) The kids seem to love it though.

blorg wrote: »
    Not sure that a trailer would be too much less annoying, although it could have more of a secondary use maybe for groceries etc. on your way home.

These are pretty small and wouldn't be too much bother:

psiSpringerDemo.JPG

What is that?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,001 ✭✭✭scottreynolds

What is that?

Its a european garage. The dual color drown building may have thrown you.

Looks like a dog to me...

What is that?

It's a woman. They're like men, only more squishy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,318 ✭✭✭✭Raam

Its a european garage. The dual color drown building may have thrown you.

I wonder if there is any cake in that garage. I hope there is.
    I'd be tempted to go in and get it... like that lad in that story... where himself and his sister are tempted to go into the house with all the sweets and cakes... and they end up in a cage instead, and damn well nearly end up in an oven for their troubles. I think it's called "The Boy and Girl who want Cake but nearly end up in an oven"

What is that?
    It's a "jogger" - you attach it onto your seatpost and attach your pet or small child to the end of the leash.

walkydog1.gif

Sorry

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,769 ✭✭✭eljono

In Denmark, bikes with trailers and built-in trailers are very common. You see people carrying children or dogs in them mainly and also their shopping. Christiania Bikes seem to be the most popular http://www.christianiabikes.com/english/uk_main.htm

eljono wrote: »
    In Denmark, bikes with trailers and built-in trailers are very common. You see people carrying children or dogs in them mainly and also their shopping. Christiania Bikes seem to be the most popular

This is cool:

76342.JPG

Knight Rider 2030 - A shadowy flight into the dangerous world of a man who does not exist.

Michael Knight, an old man who's lost the use of his legs, on a crusade to champion the cause of the innocent, the helpless, the powerless, in a world of criminals who operate above the law, on foot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,400 ✭✭✭Caroline_ie

perfect for transport of loud children
    nypbox06.jpg

heh heh! Love those Dutch cargo bikes. In fact shortly after reading about them a few months back I spotted one on Merrion Square.

Apparently they're the safest way for transporting kids by bike (assuming said kids aren't cycling their own bikes!) The next safest way is apparently by kiddie bike trailer (usually have roll cage built in and doesn't topple if bike topples) and the most dangerous way is on a crossbar-mounted seat (high risk of head and neck injury in the event of an accident that thrusts the cyclist over the handlebars) ... there's a good post on this board about this somewhere.

Anyhoo, I'm not trasporting kiddies, just shopping or other luggage (e.g. recyclables to the recycle centre). Maybe I should stick with my panniers fun though the trailer option seems.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,038 ✭✭✭penexpers

You could consider one of these too ;)

3409140428_1e08be4ee0.jpg?v=0

More stable than a trailer.

Do you put the kids in the bags or something?

Expensive bike. Maybe not compared to some of the spaceships ye have.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,038 ✭✭✭penexpers

Do you put the kids in the bags or something?

Expensive bike. Maybe not compared to some of the spaceships ye have.

Plenty of options for kids

bike19.jpg

sw22.jpg?w=510&h=769

Final1-719901.jpg

Yeah it's expensive but it's very practical.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,769 ✭✭✭eljono

Did you check out this detachable trailer? They're very popular in Copenhagen.

http://www.christianiabikes.com/english/uk_main.htm