Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

palmer invitational

• 29-03-2009 11:46pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 99 ✭✭

anyone up watching this.. Seems to have come down to the last green so to speak.. O Hair putting a good fight after hithin a ball into water

• Subscribers Posts: 16,614 ✭✭✭✭copacetic

yep, tiger left with a longish putt to win it.

and gets it. some putt, must have been 20ft.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 99 ✭✭Kingser

putting is amazing from tiger

holy crap...

• Subscribers Posts: 16,614 ✭✭✭✭copacetic

feel sorry for o'hair, he had a bad day and tried to hang in there but just couldn't do it. 73 in final round is unlikely to win, even with the lead he had..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 367 ✭✭Blunder

Something will have to be done about this Tiger fella. Can he be handicapped like in horse racing? Maybe get him to carry his own bag around the course....or maybe carry Steve Williams around on his back between shots. Its getting crazy at the moment.

totally agree... He gave a good account of himself no less.. Tiger putting thou.. Unreal.. Must of been playing his game on the wii during his lay off!! 46/46 holes inside 6ft..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,335 ✭✭✭conno16

reckon paddy and the lads should bother gettting the bus down to augusta?
    prob not if it were up to me

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,910 ✭✭✭✭whatawaster

conno16 wrote: »

that's what everyone said last year when he was in the best form of his career.

The most puzzling thing about Woods is his continued inability to drive the ball. He's the best putter in the world by a mile though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,335 ✭✭✭conno16

The most puzzling thing about Woods is his continued inability to drive the ball. He's the best putter in the world by a mile though.

bit like myself - putting has to compensate for poor driving
    hopefully glasson will be kind this afternoon

i'm backing woods for the slam this season
    cant see past it if i'm honest

• Subscribers Posts: 4,419 ✭✭✭PhilipMarlowe

conno16 wrote: »

You know what would be great... if every tournament finished up with the best player in the world (woods) winning, the next highest ranked player in the world came 2nd and all the rest of the places were decided by world ranking.
    Then we wouldn't need sky sports because we could 'watch' this fascinating stuff right on the PC, all you'd need is a copy of Excel

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,550 ✭✭✭Myksyk

He's the best putter in the world by a mile though.

... funny thing is ... he isn't.

Putting rank 2005 - 33rd
    Putting rank 2006 - 138th
    Putting rank 2007 - 48th
    No 08 or 09 rank yet.

Brad Faxon and Aaron Baddley seem to be consistently brilliant putters and are most often in the top 5. Guess we don't seem them that much.

No doubt tho' ... Woods is a great clutch putter. Moral of the story is to have a better all round game and make the big putts. you don't have to be the best at any element of the game ... your overall average just has to be better than everyone else ... that's Tiger.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,910 ✭✭✭✭whatawaster

Myksyk wrote: »
    ... funny thing is ... he isn't.

Putting rank 2005 - 33rd
    Putting rank 2006 - 138th
    Putting rank 2007 - 48th
    No 08 or 09 rank yet.

Brad Faxon and Aaron Baddley seem to be consistently brilliant putters and are most often in the top 5. Guess we don't seem them that much.

No doubt tho' ... Woods is a great clutch putter. Moral of the story is to have a better all round game and make the big putts. you don't have to be the best at any element of the game ... your overall average just has to be better than everyone else ... that's Tiger.

He's been in top 10 for putts per GIR quite a few years. Faxon is top of the putts per round, he's a great putter but he probably misses a lot of greens which means he would have shorter putts.

Where Woods is really far and away the best is at putting under pressure.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 680 ✭✭✭A.Partridge

All credit to Woods for taking his win. Some nice putting and iron shots under pressure.

However...I think it has to be said O'Hair wimped out big time!

Seriously, starting with a 5 shot lead and then leaving himself several putts about four or five feet short is something that you wouldn't see in your monthly medal, let alone a top professional tournament.

Shaun O'Hair and the rest of the pussy's on the PGA tour would need to start growing a pair if they ever want to win some serious tournaments again.

I don't want to take away from Tiger's victory but it seems like most pros over there are happy to settle for second place.

All credit to Woods for taking his win. Some nice putting and iron shots under pressure.

However...I think it has to be said O'Hair wimped out big time!

Seriously, starting with a 5 shot lead and then leaving himself several putts about four or five feet short is something that you wouldn't see in your monthly medal, let alone a top professional tournament.

Shaun O'Hair and the rest of the pussy's on the PGA tour would need to start growing a pair if they ever want to win some serious tournaments again.

I don't want to take away from Tiger's victory but it seems like most pros over there are happy to settle for second place.

A tad bit harsh on the quote "it seems like most pros over there are happy to settle for second place" and while O'Hair had a bad day yesterday to think he set off the day known he'll finish 2nd i think is not true. But he did show signs of inexperience to lead on the final day something that tiger has but O'Hair did put up a fair fight. Credit to him.

I'm sure mind games went on during the last round. Woods is an inmense figure to be playing alongside and seems relaxed at times (anyone notice he kept eating)while O'Hair seems to have been forcing it. i notice he spent a lot more time on his club slection than other rounds. I call it inexperience to lead on the final day. Maybe i'm wrong.

He's been in top 10 for putts per GIR quite a few years. Faxon is top of the putts per round, he's a great putter but he probably misses a lot of greens which means he would have shorter putts.

Cheers. Good clarification.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 806 ✭✭✭Niall09

Did anyone see Mahan's 5 putt? :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 622 ✭✭✭irishtoffee

Ye watched it a half hour ago pmsl:D

Link?????