Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Taking a primary 6th class to Kilmainham Jail

Options
  • 29-03-2009 11:48pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 5,362 ✭✭✭

Hi all,

I'm a teacher and Im thinking of bringing my 6th class to Kilmainham Jail on their school tour. The idea would be to get the train to Dublin (3hrs), walk to Kilmainham Jail and do the tour (2 hrs?) and then 3hrs home from Heuston.

Would this be an enjoyable tour for 12 year old children? I've sent 2 emails to the opw address on the jail website but got no reply.

Also.. is there anywhere there where I could give the children a chance to have their lunch?

Thanks a lot!

Comments

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6,488 ✭✭✭Denerick

This is a great idea, the kids will like it a lot! Wish we had of gone somewhere like that when I was that age (Alas, Dublin Zoo was the height of our exotic adventures at that age)

P.S- I'm sure there is a Mc Donalds or something like that nearby, there nearly always is in Dublin.

• Registered Users Posts: 16,624 ✭✭✭✭Fajitas!

Kilmainham is a great tour, so I'd imagine they'd all enjoy it. It's pretty well put together.

Food wise, there's not much out this direction - You'll have the Hilton hotel across from you, but yes, that'll be pricey. There's pub grub or a small Italian down in Inchicore itself. What you could do (Though the prices still are a bit pricey) is head up to IMMA before you get the train back - It's right beside the Gaol, there's a Cafe beneath it which might do, and there's some art if the kids are interested. You can go out the back entrance to get back down to Hueston faster too.