Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Sick & tired!!!

• 29-03-2009 12:35pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 80 ✭✭

Getting sick & tired of having an incident everytime I go out(YES Every single time).

Yesterday was returning from Kilteel when a taxi approached from the opposite direction, big fat fecker driving thought it would be great crack to swerve across the road and try and run me off it, luckily i didn't budge as i would have gone straight into a ditch. last week I had a can of cider thrown at me, almost always get somebody scream in my ear as their going past trying to shock me. I've a thick skin but this is getting ridiculous.

I usually go out on my own and wear bright orange to be seen, starting to think i'd be better off going out wearing black so i'm not as noticable.

Would love to have got the details of that taxi yesterday and report him or better still get my hands around the thick feckers neck:mad:

rant over!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 730 ✭✭✭short circuit

All I can do is empathise with you ...

BUT

It does seem excessive the amount of abuse you are getting ... do you cycle through dodgy areas ... it might be worthwhile taking a different route. For a weekend training ride ... the country side is so much better.

Even on my commute every day through phoenix park, grand canal and ranelagh .. I haven't had any too many bad experiences. I've had 2 accidents .. but not due to nastiness .. but pure carelessness on the drivers part.

The closest I've come to experience dangerous driving was last week when a Dublin bus tried to run me off the road and swished past less than 6 inches away ... I managed to catch up with him hoping to mention his dangerous driving ... he just looked at me and went you are in my lane ... so I had to send you a message .. showing it was very intentional .. I had been irritated till then ... but his causing deliberate danger to me pissed me off ... so I got the reg. number, route number and have written a letter to Dublin bus.

In your case .. I don't think it would have helped if you had taken the taxi reg. number ... as for the guards, its your word against his ...

Lastly, patience is a great virtue .. when I started cycling, I used to race through the city ... now having learnt my lessons, I've slowed down a lot and just expect everyone to do something idiotic .. and when they do, I just chuckle to myself ... and don't say anything back .. that seems to anger them even more.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 461 ✭✭NeilMcEoigheann

go to an alleycat race it helped me hugely, although i don't really know why,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 352 ✭✭dave98

dalkener wrote: »
    Getting sick & tired of having an incident everytime I go out(YES Every single time).

Yesterday was returning from Kilteel when a taxi approached from the opposite direction, big fat fecker driving thought it would be great crack to swerve across the road and try and run me off it, luckily i didn't budge as i would have gone straight into a ditch. last week I had a can of cider thrown at me, almost always get somebody scream in my ear as their going past trying to shock me. I've a thick skin but this is getting ridiculous.

I usually go out on my own and wear bright orange to be seen, starting to think i'd be better off going out wearing black so i'm not as noticable.

Would love to have got the details of that taxi yesterday and report him or better still get my hands around the thick feckers neck:mad:

rant over!
    Feel sorry for you man , its ****e having to put up with that rubbish but don't change because of them....if you want to wear bright you wear bright if you want to go that route - you go that route and feck em - feck em all :D:pac::pac::pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 399 ✭✭estariol

The closest I've come to experience dangerous driving was last week when a Dublin bus tried to run me off the road and swished past less than 6 inches away ... I managed to catch up with him hoping to mention his dangerous driving ... he just looked at me and went you are in my lane ... so I had to send you a message .. showing it was very intentional .. I had been irritated till then ... but his causing deliberate danger to me pissed me off ... so I got the reg. number, route number and have written a letter to Dublin bus.

In your case .. I don't think it would have helped if you had taken the taxi reg. number ... as for the guards, its your word against his ...

Straight on to the carriage office and the Gardai, these are both professional drivers, this makes both incidents hugely serious and a complaint to the authorities is an absolute must!