Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Corrigan wins Lombardy Grand Prix

• 29-03-2009 2:19am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,038 ✭✭✭✭

From the ICPSA website (and on twitter for those following Kevin):
    Ireland’s Shane Corrigan pulled out a spectacular performance to lead the field with a clear 50 straight to take the title prize for the Lombardy Grand Prix 2009.

LombardyGrandPrix.jpg&size=article_medium

On a spring Italian day that saw squally showers and poor light dash many scores, Shane shone through with a flawless performance which earned him a standing ovation from a large contingent of Italian shooters who stayed behind to see him make the ultimate score of 50 straight.

Todays event was part of Corrigans intensive personal training programme ahead of the ISSF World Cup in Cairo in May under the watchful eye of High Performance Director Kevin Kilty in an effort to produce performance when it matters and in a foreign environment.

Today's competition marked a significant point in these preparations and was used as a measurement of progress and following this exceptional performance both Shane and Kevin were very pleased with progress to date. Much remains to do in the lead up to the first World Cup of the 2009 season but already Corrigan has justified his presence on the High Performance squad and is a shooter to be watched in 2009.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,612 ✭✭✭jwshooter

good on shane .he is very keen lad ,i like the way he thinks total focus on the job at hand .shooting is a mind game and shane has worked on that end very hard .

i shot on a irish team with him a few years back and was impressed with what i seen .
    just rewards for a hard worker . well done shane

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,038 ✭✭✭✭Sparks

Video up:

(Do people think video stuff is a good idea btw?)

• Subscribers Posts: 4,076 ✭✭✭IRLConor

Sparks wrote: »
    (Do people think video stuff is a good idea btw?)

It can be good to watch finals, but I don't think I could sit through a full match. I have enough trouble paying attention during a match that I'm shooting in. :o

Ah, the MTV generation :D
    Maybe video of the Mad Minute would be more entertaining :D
    But what I was actually thinking was that you can see the conditions they were shooting in from those clips; something like that from Comber the other day would have been interesting.
    Anyway, it's just an idea for now :D

its a right idea ,as long as security issues are not over looked .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9 BIGK

Well done Shane.Another Tyrone man shows them the way to win.Wonder why Cummins and Malone dont get a chance to show what they can do.(Could be personalities)
    Maybe this high performance lark is for the chosen few where results dont always count????????????????????????????????????

BIGK wrote: »
    Well done Shane.Another Tyrone man shows them the way to win.Wonder why Cummins and Malone dont get a chance to show what they can do.(Could be personalities)
    Maybe this high performance lark is for the chosen few where results dont always count????????????????????????????????????

OT is a wealthy mans sport is all

They just weren't there lads, it's not a conspiracy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 63 ✭✭TrapperJohn

I don't think so ... check out http://www.icpsa.ie/members/forms/1114-The-High-Performance-programme.html

I think video is a great asset to learning. I always look different in video to the way I think I look when I am shooting, stance, postion, hold etc. Goes to show you the minds eye is not always the same as the physical eye :D

Must see who wins at Ashbourne today.

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 4,948 ✭✭✭pullandbang

Must see who wins at Ashbourne today.

Derek Burnett

Turbo not there?

No, he was in Carnview with the other veterans. Were you not there yourself? ;)

Doesnt open on the sabbath:P.Bible belt you know.:eek:
    many a good tune and fiddle comes to mind.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 59 ✭✭trapmando

He was in Logues's hill a few weeks ago and wiped the floor with 25 bottom barrels versus 21 in the shoot off!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 59 ✭✭trapmando

I don't think so ... check out http://www.icpsa.ie/members/forms/1114-The-High-Performance-programme.html

interesting bit about age, watch that space!

The HPP does indeed deserve great great credit for what it has achieved. It’s sad to see funding being cut for such a dedicated team. It appears that they now have to put all their eggs into one or two baskets over the next few years.

I would like to see more development of OT at home. A good OT shoot turnout has only 4 squads! The HPP, and in particular the ICPSA, really need a radical new approach to OT in this country before all the good work done dies away; what will happen when the current 2 carded shooters hang up their boots?

For e.g. try a 30 euro entry fee, with the governing body and possibly the grounds taking the hit, with the common interest of promoting the sport; it would pay in the long run. It would help lessen the perception of it ‘being a rich mans sport’ too. It’s £25 for an OT shoot in NI but €45 in the ROI! There should be much more of an incentive to shoot it (through loss leaders) with so many shooting DTL and Sporting here. ABT should also be encouraged as a stepping stone to OT and free OT coaching and tuition available for anyone interested but cant get onto OT. Many try OT and find it such a challenge and a cost that they never go back near it. That needs to change.[/FONT][/SIZE]

Look at Italy, it seems everyone shoots OT there, they never heard of DTL! The UK has a good crop of talented young shooters now onto OT, and some don’t have trap backgrounds either. There are lots of good talented shooters in this country that are shooting Sporting, DTL or ABT that, given the right incentives and direction through the ICPSA & HPP, could produce a healthier OT circuit and more chance of emerging talent. This needs to be a strategic long term approach. Take a look at the amount of time and effort the GAA and FAI are putting into their coaching and development programmes at present. Shooting needs to follow suit,!

Just my opinion, any others most welcome.

trapmando wrote: »
    He was in Logues's hill a few weeks ago and wiped the floor with 25 bottom barrels versus 21 in the shoot off!
    and was then beaten a week later in Southern Counties, sure isn’t that the great thing about OT. Very hard to be consistent. :D

Just my opinion, any others most welcome.

Fully agree with you Trapmando, OT needs more development at home.

I think Ireland suffers a huge problem when compared to other shooting countries because of the dominance of DTL and Sporting. As you say, in Italy they know no different, OT is the only game in town. Look at how many squads turn out for a DTL shoot, they are wedded to it from cradle to grave.

I think there are now four carded shooters (not two?), fair play to them for getting on the ladder. It takes investment up front to bring on talent and I think the ICPSA and the HPP is doing that well. The UK put millions into their shooters in the run up to Beijing and lost the lot when they won nothing. At least the Irish boys have a big bag of medals and it didn’t cost them as much :D

Definitely the grounds could do more and the cost does need to come down, sure the recession is impacting the numbers that are turning up at shoots and everyone will agree that the cost has to come down or people will just not turn up. I like your idea about free coaching to encourage more to shoot. But deep down I think the Irish clay shooters psyche is wedded to DTL and Sporting and no matter what anyone does ICPSA, HPP etc., it will be a long road to travel before we see the numbers pick up in OT. There is no quick answer to that problem.

I would like to see more development of OT at home. A good OT shoot turnout has only 4 squads!

We'd about 18 guns in Ashbourne on Sunday! Mind you, with only two layouts it's just as well - we'd still be there shooting it!
    For e.g. try a 30 euro entry fee, with the governing body and possibly the grounds taking the hit, with the common interest of promoting the sport; it would pay in the long run. It would help lessen the perception of it ‘being a rich mans sport’ too. It’s £25 for an OT shoot in NI but €45 in the ROI!

In reality it's only a fiver more than DTL or ABT 100 bird. But why the extra €5 in the first place? It's still just 100 targets.
    £25 (€28) is much more affordable and would encourage more shooters into OT.
    There should be much more of an incentive to shoot it (through loss leaders) with so many shooting DTL and Sporting here. ABT should also be encouraged as a stepping stone to OT and free OT coaching and tuition available for anyone interested but cant get onto OT. Many try OT and find it such a challenge and a cost that they never go back near it. That needs to change.

Couldn't agree more. Turbo is caoching ABT next week in Monaghan and it's sold out AFIK so that is something positive.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 196 ✭✭no12

In reality it's only a fiver more than DTL or ABT 100 bird. But why the extra €5 in the first place? It's still just 100 targets.
    £25 (€28) is much more affordable and would encourage more shooters into OT.

It is more expensive because it costs an awful lot more to build and kit out an OT layout rather than a ABT or DTL. But do agree that there is not enough being done by the powers that be to promote or develop the discipline in this country.

sporting is 28 pounds in the north 45 euro hear ,fitasc is 65 euro hear .win a high gun and you be doing well to get a 100 euro out of it .

to many fingers in the pot.

cheque book shooting is the fraze often used.

jwshooter wrote: »
    sporting is 28 pounds in the north 45 euro hear ,fitasc is 65 euro hear .win a high gun and you be doing well to get a 100 euro out of it .

to many fingers in the pot.

cheque book shooting is the fraze often used.

Couldnt agree more.and greedy fingers at that.The ucpsa reduced the entry to 25 pounds to try and encourage more to shoot OT.The ICPSA cant reduce the entries because they have a few law cases outstanding.The sport has taken a beating because of litigation.Right or wrong there is no excuse for spending shooters money in court.The only ones who will win are the lawyers.
    By the way did Turbo not win something at Southern Counties.Didnt read much about the high performance men.:D

Couldnt agree more.and greedy fingers at that.The ucpsa reduced the entry to 25 pounds to try and encourage more to shoot OT.The ICPSA cant reduce the entries because they have a few law cases outstanding.The sport has taken a beating because of litigation.Right or wrong there is no excuse for spending shooters money in court.The only ones who will win are the lawyers.
    By the way did Turbo not win something at Southern Counties.Didnt read much about the high performance men.:D

turbo is a steady shot always has been i shot on the ABT team back in 98 in new ross .always liked his style ,i can only admire him .but give him a chance and he will play mind games with you .
    as far as the court cases go they had to be done to keep order ,the tail cant wag the dog .
    OT is fantasic shooting i only ever shot it a few times and liked it .

Come on BigK, there's spin and then there's bulls***.

http://www.icpsa.ie/news/ot/1079-The-two-Toms-win-Southern-Counties-150309.html

Go on man, give credit where it's due and stop trying to create rifts just for the sake of stirring the s***.

jwshooter wrote: »
    as far as the court cases go they had to be done to keep order ,the tail cant wag the dog .

Fully agree with you JW, this is something that noone wanted but I think its important to point out that the association didn't take any legal action in the first place. A bunch of disaffected guys took proceedings against the ICPSA and the association defended itself. From what I know the ICPSA is fully insured for this action and has already got back its costs from the insurers.

If you want to know who's spending the members money then go talk to the handful of dissidents and ask them.

• Subscribers Posts: 4,076 ✭✭✭IRLConor

• If you are responding to a post, be civil and do not attack the poster.
    • If you have an issue with a post, report it and don't respond.

I don't care what political nonsense is going on, break the rules and I will start handing out bans.

Do not anyone be under any illusion,the membership of the ICPSA will be paying this bill for many years to come.I know some of those involved in this episode and can see them as very descent people who in years gone by were not afraid to put their hands into their own pockets to assist the ICPSA and a number of shooters.There appears to have been a major collapse in dealing with this matter which should never have been allowed to reach this position.I often wonder if those responsible would have been as keen if they had been asked to fund this out of their own pockets.
    I pay my membership every year and have a right to question descisions taken in my name.No one has the right to slate me for questioning this.If anyone does, make themselves known in a PM and I will be only too willing to discuss this with them,anywhere.Do not hide behind a forum name.
    Kieran

Do not anyone be under any illusion,the membership of the ICPSA will be paying this bill for many years to come.I know some of those involved in this episode and can see them as very descent people who in years gone by were not afraid to put their hands into their own pockets to assist the ICPSA and a number of shooters.There appears to have been a major collapse in dealing with this matter which should never have been allowed to reach this position.I often wonder if those responsible would have been as keen if they had been asked to fund this out of their own pockets.
    I pay my membership every year and have a right to question descisions taken in my name.No one has the right to slate me for questioning this.If anyone does, make themselves known in a PM and I will be only too willing to discuss this with them,anywhere.Do not hide behind a forum name.
    Kieran

kieran ,with due respect to you i dont think boards is the place to fight this fight .

me for one i wished it had not happened .i love my sport and love shooting against most of these men .its a sad day for the sake of sport we resort to legal actions .
    in my book life is to short .there will be clay targets shot long after our time
    how did it get to this i dont know but its a pity .

i one for a fight ,draw blood shake hands and move on ..

its time to move on .

I agree with JWShooter, move on.

Aaah! Why do they keep cancelling these shoots at the last minute! Was planning to go there Sunday and I just see on the ICPSA site that it's cancelled.

I think everyone has gone to Italy. It's a bit of an annual tradition for the OT guys to go over for Easter. I suspect that's the reason, not enough left at home to warrant running the shoot.

I agree with you that they should have gone ahead anyway. It's frustrating to make plans and then have the rug pulled from under your feet.

Bummer!
    You'd imagine if it was traditional for the trench guys to be absent at Easter that Logues would have put on the shoot some other time. Just have to head for Bishop's Mt on Monday and shoot some ABT instead.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 132 ✭✭dave999

Bummer!
    Just have to head for Bishop's Mt on Monday and shoot some ABT instead.

We hate to be 2nd best!!!

Sorry Dave, never made it - slept it out:)

Den, Jack should have done as well!! See you soon. David

I agree with you that they should have gone ahead anyway. It's frustrating to make plans and then have the rug pulled from under your feet.

It's happened again! Tomorrow's trench shoot is cancelled at the last minute - no wonder no one shoots the discipline:mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 48 BIG BANG

Hi Pab
    It was held in Ashbourne last saturday instead
    The reason it was cancelled there was a big rugby match on Sunday in the club next door and they asked if they could use the grounds for a car park

BIG BANG wrote: »
    Hi Pab
    It was held in Ashbourne last saturday instead
    The reason it was cancelled there was a big rugby match on Sunday in the club next door and they asked if they could use the grounds for a car park

I have an idea that I saw the change to Saturday a couple of weeks ago (not sure if on here or ICPSA site). Maybe we should use twatters or twitters or whatever its called to get messages sent around, I generally use Skype to update our members.

Wrong place to say this I know, but don't forget SE Championships Sporting is still on at Bishops Mountain Monday 4th May, we cancel over my dead body with all the planning thats gone in!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 48 BIG BANG

Hi Dave
    Your up early. good Luck with your sporting shoot (not my cup of tea) hope it goes well. I will see you on May 24th for the ABT
    Cheers :confused: