Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Opinions on a 200sx

• 27-03-2009 2:26pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,290 ✭✭✭

Alright lads,

I've been offered a '98 200sx for 3k. Its a one owner car since new and it hasn't been rallied. Only 70k miles too. Only downside is that there is some UV paint damage to the rear wing.

Equivalent cars in good nick are on carzone for about 5-6k.

What do ye think?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,102 ✭✭✭✭Drummerboy08

Cars like that are chancey - there's always some young lad out there willing to pay over the odds for one because they're RWD. I think 3k is a little pricey for it. If you could get it for two, you'd be laughing.

I dont think its a bad price a friend of mine got 7k for his 99 less than a year ago.

On the topic of the car I have driven both a standard one and a modified one which was dyno'd at 340bhp and they are a very nice car to drive. The powerful one is fantastic fun and massively fast and well able for the power on a dry road despite not having traction control(even in the wet you just need to have cop on). The standard one is also quick and very managable dry or wet and its quite comfortable. Both are owned by a friend of mine so I have driven both quite a lot and would recommend them. They are also an easy car to modify so are a good hobby as well.

They dont appear to have become popular with the skanger brigade either which is a plus.

EDIT: www.sxoc.co.uk will give you lots of info.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,473 ✭✭✭robtri

Ferris wrote: »
    Alright lads,

I've been offered a '98 200sx for 3k. Its a one owner car since new and it hasn't been rallied. Only 70k miles too. Only downside is that there is some UV paint damage to the rear wing.

Equivalent cars in good nick are on carzone for about 5-6k.

What do ye think?

based on the current prices I would say its an Ok deal, but as Drummerboy said, I would try to knock it down to arounf 2k or 2.5k....
    these cars are prime for being abused, and you really would want o be sure you have the FSH on this and a good mechanic to look it over.....

how do you know the car has never been rallied???

also if UV paint damage, might be worth checking it out to see if it has been crashed and repaired at any time in that area,

have to say I have never owned one, but always had a soft spot for them.... great looking car..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,364 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

They are popular among folks who like to drift, donut, etc due to 200SX being rwd so the paint damage could be an indication that the car has had some action in the past.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,290 ✭✭✭Ferris

robtri wrote: »
    based on the current prices I would say its an Ok deal, but as Drummerboy said, I would try to knock it down to arounf 2k or 2.5k....
    these cars are prime for being abused, and you really would want o be sure you have the FSH on this and a good mechanic to look it over.....

how do you know the car has never been rallied???

also if UV paint damage, might be worth checking it out to see if it has been crashed and repaired at any time in that area,

have to say I have never owned one, but always had a soft spot for them.... great looking car..

The car has a full nissan service history and I know the owner, he's a middle aged man with other cars. He just wants rid of it but wants it to go to a good home. The car has never been crashed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,473 ✭✭✭robtri

The car has a full nissan service history and I know the owner, he's a middle aged man with other cars. He just wants rid of it but wants it to go to a good home. The car has never been crashed.

thats great, the full service history, and if he is the owner from new than you seem to be onto a winner

Sounds good to me. Give it a good look over all the same but 3k is small enough money. You wont get one for less than that. People were paying 1.5k for 200sx shells up until recently so with that in mind and the asking prices in general it looks a very good deal.

What colour is it btw?

Sounds good to me. Give it a good look over all the same but 3k is small enough money. You wont get one for less than that. People were paying 1.5k for 200sx shells up until recently so with that in mind and the asking prices in general it looks a very good deal.

What colour is it btw?

The price is take it or leave it, the guy doesn't need the money. I think its cheap enough, there's one on carzone for 5k with 100k+ miles on them and I don't know where they've been.

The car is red btw.

Thanks for all the replies lads.

I drove the car thaI was looking at. It drove really nice but there are a couple of issues that I picked up on.

-The car shimmies to the left over bumps, i'm thinking that its a damper.

-The diff clunked once when starting off in reverse, is this normal for a LSD?

Bodywork:

The plastic grill, and door mirrors are pink, completely faded.

-The laquer has broken down on both rear wings an there are a couple of small dents etc.

Apart from those issues the car is a two owner car with a full nissan service history to 62k. The car is due another service at 72k now. The interior was perfect too. It was lovely to drive actually, a nice big fast comfortable coupe, lovely jubbly ;)!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,272 ✭✭✭✭Atomic Pineapple

Get him to either knock a few hundred off the price or pay for the next service and you've got a bargain.

To test the LSD put one wheel on slippery grass and one on a surface with good grip and see if it takes the power away