Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Goddamn stupid licensing laws.

• 26-03-2009 11:16pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,718 ✭✭✭

Does anyone know where I can join the (presumably long) queue to assassinate whatever idiot decided that ten o'clock is a good time to close off-licenses?

Edit: just noticed I have leet posts :)

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 35,945 Mod ✭✭✭✭dr.bollocko

No matter what county you are in I have figured out a foolproof way of getting booze at 11:15pm.

Go to the fecking pub.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,391 ✭✭✭Captain-America

It's there to stop scumbags from being scumbags.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,763 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

I'm nipping down the garage in half an hour. How many do you want?

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,515 ✭✭✭✭admiralofthefleet

No matter what county you are in I have figured out a foolproof way of getting booze at 11:15pm.

Go to the fecking pub.

i have a foolproof way of getting cans at 11:15

get a job in a pub

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,431 ✭✭✭✭Saibh

Ikky Poo2 wrote: »

Are you going to charge him extra for the airfare

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,718 ✭✭✭The Mad Hatter

Go to the fecking pub.

a) Pub's too far to walk in this weather

b) I like my drinks to be served without **** music played at a volume that requires screaming at my friends to socialise

c) Drink in the pub's too damned expensive.

A naggin of Jameson, cheers.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 243 ✭✭HarryPalmer

Does anyone know where I can join the (presumably long) queue to assassinate whatever idiot decided that ten o'clock is a good time to close off-licenses?

Edit: just noticed I have leet posts :)

You need to speak with Fianna Fail, a great bunch of publicans. The killing queue is very, very, very f'ing long, though. Keep something handy for when they come looking for the vote, or "opportunity knocks". Build a stash of UK-purchased booze, run over to remove any photonic fleas and other trouble.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,763 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

Saibh wrote: »
    Are you going to charge him extra for the airfare

I assume he's coming over to help drink them...?
    a) Pub's too far to walk in this weather

b) I like my drinks to be served without **** music played at a volume that requires screaming at my friends to socialise

c) Drink in the pub's too damned expensive.

A naggin of Jameson, cheers.

That, unfortunately, is about the one thing they don't sell. I'll have to get on the Metro for that one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,431 ✭✭✭✭Saibh

No response from the op, either he has gone to the pub or the nearest airport :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,718 ✭✭✭The Mad Hatter

Oh, I assumed you were joking...er...I live in Sligo?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

Well seeing as a LOT of Fianna Failers are publicans, it should come as no surprise that... "O' look, if we close the off lecies at an earlier hour (using another excuse) we get to send them into pubs for more drink and maybe they will actually stay there..."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,859 ✭✭✭✭Sharpshooter

At those prices!
    I do hope they are all holding their breath.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,165 ✭✭✭✭brianthebard

Surely there's some sort of speakeasy establishment/blackmarket dealer in Sligo at this stage? I know of two places in Galway that sell booze after hours (not mentioning who or where in case they get shut down! :pac: ) just think about places where drunks congregate and try those businesses, you might be pleasantly surprised.*

*although you still probably won't get a naggin....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,859 ✭✭✭✭Sharpshooter

Not till he gets home anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,974 ✭✭✭✭Gavin "shels"

Yup it's a pain in the arse all together. Although I do know a pub which illegaly sells cans after 10pm, but they're a feckin' rip off.

More rubbing it in :pac: and pointing out the fact that there are places that have more liberal licencing-laws combined with less alcohol-related crime might help your petition.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 507 ✭✭✭portomar

seriously its my biggest gripe with the government. sink the country into a debt spiral, make us a financial laughing stock all you want, just let me get alcohol at any hour of the day or night and ill not want to scith you in half...seriously, what is the story with our licensing laws?? damn fianna fail publican Ba*tards! they'll be glad if im out of the country before the next election, if im there whatever poor ba*tard knocks on my door is gettin an earfull. i love doing it to the fu*kers.

my fave was at my front door a few years ago, bout to head out, some chap posts a pd leaflet into my letterbox. i posted it straight back out. shoulda seen his face :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 45 Jamfan

I too thought that you could get a carry out from the pub if you're still there at closing at 11:30, but apparently that's not allowed. Was in a pub a while back and they said that was done away with too... and in case you think they were taking the p1ss, the (newly renovated at vast expense) pub was empty apart from us stragglers and they could well have done with all the extra income that God sent them.

This law was passed by Government ministers who are detached from any semblance of reality. They can drink themselves into oblivion at subsidised rates at the Dail Bar and have there drunken, jowelly arses chauffeured home.

I'll tell you one thing that's for certain, if a Fianna Fail minister is at home and decides he wants booze after 10 o'clock, he will get his booze. He will dispatch his (Garda) chauffeur (if he's not busy collecting his niece or sister or whoever from the nightclub) to the nearest hotel and I guarantee you that booze will be provided.

By the way, this IS a Fianna Fail law, for sure... but from a different aspect of Fianna Fail. It is not coming from the Haughey-Lawlor-Flynn-Burke-et al golden circle sleazy end of things - anything but, this one is from the curmudgeon 1950s De Valera school of thought

portomar wrote: »
    seriously its my biggest gripe with the government. sink the country into a debt spiral, make us a financial laughing stock all you want, just let me get alcohol at any hour of the day or night and ill not want to scith you in half...seriously, what is the story with our licensing laws?? damn fianna fail publican Ba*tards! they'll be glad if im out of the country before the next election, if im there whatever poor ba*tard knocks on my door is gettin an earfull. i love doing it to the fu*kers.

my fave was at my front door a few years ago, bout to head out, some chap posts a pd leaflet into my letterbox. i posted it straight back out. shoulda seen his face :D

Some politcian came to my doorstep with the mantra of tougher sentences against rapists and child molesters. For the sheer hell of it, I told him I was a registered sex offender. End of conversation.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 507 ✭✭✭portomar

Some politcian came to my doorstep with the mantra of tougher sentences against rapists and child molesters. For the sheer hell of it, I told him I was a registered sex offender. End of conversation.

i lol'd :pac: remember some auld lad comin to my door campaignin for FF. poor chap couldnt answer any of my questions about the national development plan, had to call over the candidate. dumb f*cks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,153 ✭✭✭Rented Mule

The fact that you can't buy drink at an off license (after hours)is just another feather in the cap of the 'nanny state' telling you what is best for you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,575 ✭✭✭✭FlutterinBantam

The fact that you can't get a carry out after 2200 is testament to the whankers and morons who cannot hold their booze, and who after a few beers make a determined attempt to wreck everything around them,assault their peers and innocent members of the public.

Why can we as Irish people not get it into our thick skulls that walloping back copious quantities of drink with no food is a recipe for disaster.

Very other countries I have been to have such a neanderthal view of alcohol and it's use.

That coupled with a plentiful supply of money for todays teens is the reason you can't get a drink in the offie after 2200.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

The fact that you can't buy drink at an off license (after hours)is just another feather in the cap of the 'nanny state' telling you what is best for you.
    Unfortunately the numbers show the state is right. People can't handle their drink here. In Spain and France you can buy wine/beer at any time in corner shops. And hardly anyone gets drunk.
    Hello, hello. my names Terry and Im a law abider
    Theres nothing I like more than getting fired up on beer
    And when the weekends here I to exercise my right to get paralytic and fight
    Good bloke fairly
    But I get well leery when geezers look at me funny
    Bounce em round like bunnies
    Im likely to cause mischief
    Good clean grief you must believe and I aint no thief.
    Law abiding and all, all legal.
    And who cares about my liver when it feels good
    Wwhat you need is some real manhood.
    Rasher rasher barney and kasha putting peoples backs up.
    Public disorder, Ill give you public disorder.
    I down eight pints and run all over the place
    Spit in the face of an officer
    See if that bothers you cause I never broke a law in my life
    Someday Im gonna settle down with a wife
    Come on lads lets have another fight

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,153 ✭✭✭Rented Mule

That coupled with a plentiful supply of money for todays teens is the reason you can't get a drink in the offie after 2200.

Thankfully Fianna Fail has a recipe to solve this part of the equation as well.

Parents out of work = no money for their spawn