Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

5,000 to 10,000 Irish Fans to Las Vegas ?

• 26-03-2009 2:48pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 152 ✭✭

Peters said earlier in the week that he'd like to set up a fight with someone like Vazquez in Las Vegas and put on packages for Irish fight fans to go in a Ricky Hatton type set up.

Do youse think this would work ?

A few major things are against him:

Ricky Hatton has a much bigger fan base than Dunne

Whatever about the average fan that would pay €50-€100 to go to the O2, I'd reckon only serious fight fans would pay what would be a fair few quid to travel to Vegas to see Dunne.

Ireland is in recession !

Do you reckon he'd get anywhere near 10,000 Irish paying big bucks to go to Vegas ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,309 ✭✭✭T-K-O

24 months ago maybe but not now. I think a lot of Irish would attend mostly those living in the US. Personally I would go, I have gone to the states before for fights but some of my friends (boxing fans) think I am mad for doing so.

P.s The Vazquez fight wont happen anytime soon - Peters is just putting Dunnes name in the press with the big dawg in the division.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,344 ✭✭✭death1234567

Johnduddy wrote: »
    Do you reckon he'd get anywhere near 10,000 Irish paying big bucks to go to Vegas ?
    No. Not even close. As T-K-O says you'd just get alot of ex-pats already in the US of A going.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 57,378 ✭✭✭✭walshb

Well, anyone willing to pay that and travel all for maybe 1 minutes boxing?:rolleyes:

That's what it will take. Vasquez is on another planet altogether.

This is all just hype and publicity. It's all
    part of the game. Dunne is staying here, plain and simple.

Las Vegas will only be for big fights and they
    are fights out of Bernard's league.

walshb wrote: »
    Well, anyone willing to pay that and travel all for maybe 1 minutes boxing?:rolleyes:

Well what ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 785 ✭✭✭Shane10

you wouldnt need many to go out from here anyway with all the irish in the US. hed sell out a fight no probs, but away from the 02 mightnt be as rosy for him.

Anyone?

BTW, what's this 'serious fight fans?'

Serious fight fans will know that Dunne
    has the slimmest chance EVER to last
    more than a rd or two against Vasquez!

So, I would imagine or assume that these serious fight
    fans would be a little shrewd and not waste all that
    money for 1-2 rds

• Closed Accounts Posts: 152 ✭✭Johnduddy

When I heard him I was thinking hang on there Brian dont lose the run of yourself now son !

Whatever about Cordoba in Dublin - Vazquez in Vegas and 10,000 travelling Irish? Do these packages your putting together include magic mushrooms ???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,207 ✭✭✭Hangballlouie

Shane10 wrote: »
    you wouldnt need many to go out from here anyway with all the irish in the US. hed sell out a fight no probs, but away from the 02 mightnt be as rosy for him.

I cannot see him selling out Vegas but if he went over to the east coast, the irish over there would flock to see him. Headlining MSG?

I would go to that for sure.

Vegas, I would be homeless afterwards.:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 64 ✭✭HollowMan

Was the Cordoba fight a big fight?

Was that in Dunne's league? Change the record. You're getting to be a sickening, bitter dose.

Its all pie on the sky anyway. Peters is now associating bernard's name with the best rather than the likes of Munroe, kiko and the likes...

It's a clever move that will generate more press for team dunne.

What Hollow?

It's mad, on one thread we're discussing Dunne vs. Wayne and on this
    we're discussing Dunne vs. Vasquez:rolleyes:

The Cordoba fight was a big fight for Bernard, a winnable fight too.

Don't be so ignorant in comparing that to going
    to Vegas to meet Israel Vasquez!

HollowMan wrote: »
    Was the Cordoba fight a big fight?

Was that in Dunne's league? Change the record. You're getting to be a sickening, bitter dose.

What Hollow?

It's mad, on one thread we're discussing Dunne vs. Wayne and on this
    we're discussing Dunne vs. Vasquez:rolleyes:

The Cordoba fight was a big fight for Bernard, a winnable fight too.

Don't be so ignorant in comparing that to going
    to Vegas to meet Israel Vasquez!

Nobody is really discussing Dunne V MC - the conversation is more about would it make money / why doesn't Wayne retire.

We all know Vazquez is #1 and then some but if we all listened to you Dunne would never returned to the ring.

You attempts to mask your true opinion is really clear for anyone to see - if they are bothered.

Bernard beat Cordoba in a war, looked very shaky throughout and was badly hurt several times and now Peter's is spinning us crap that a fight in Vegas against a beast
    called Vasquez is an option. I dare anyone to claim that Dunne is ready or up to this
    challenge.

I call it as I see it; I won't pussy foot around the issue just because Dunne is Irish and
    a fellow DUB. He is not close to Israel Vasquez and a fight with him would be
    too dangerous for his health. He'd be obliterated.

Can anyone honestly tell me that Dunne is up to a fight with
    Israel simply because he beat Ricardo?

And for anyone bothered, my praise for Dunne and estimation for
    Dunne has risen quite a bit. I used to rate him a 4 or 5
    out of ten, now on a world scale he is a 7.

There you have it.

Vasquez, Marquez, Caballero and some others are notches
    higher!

Bernard beat Cordoba in a war, looked very shaky throughout and was badly hurt several times and now Peter's is spinning us crap that a fight in Vegas against a beast
    called Vasquez is an option. I dare anyone to claim that Dunne is ready or up to this
    challenge.

I call it as I see it; I won't pussy foot around the issue just because Dunne is Irish and
    a fellow DUB. He is not close to Israel Vasquez and a fight with him would be
    too dangerous for his health. He'd be obliterated.

Can anyone honestly tell me that Dunne is up to a fight with
    Israel simply because he beat Ricardo?

Who said that ?

But you are the one who also told us Dunne couldn't compete against a top 10 fighter.

Like always when it comes to Dunne you pounce on the negative - and I'll call it as I see it and wont pussy foot around it just because you are a mod!

How can you say categorically Caballero is a notch above when Dunne just beat the guy who beat him!

Holy god, when will some real that this was 2004.

Caballero is the WBA champion and from what I have seen of him, he is the deal and
    would beat Dunne. I am not the only one who feels this. He is universally
    recognised as being ahead of Dunne, not me and others, the world of
    boxing also.

It's a wonder Tyson was ever rated ahead of Tillman.:rolleyes:

Bernard did great against Cordoba; I fail to see this as a barometer to his future
    success against Vasquez or any other demon at 122 lbs. Dunne has limits!

Just in case you weren't tuned in:

http://www.boxrec.com/ratings.php?country=&sex=m&division=Super+Bantamweight&status=A&SUBMIT=Go

That is only one rating. Others are similar and rightly similar

• Closed Accounts Posts: 785 ✭✭✭Shane10

vasquez does look pretty muscular

israel-vazquez_002578_1_MainPicture.jpg

Holy god, when will some real that this was 2004.

Caballero is the WBA champion and from what I have seen of him, he is the deal and
    would beat Dunne. I am not the only one who feels this. He is universally
    recognised as being ahead of Dunne, not me and others, the world of
    boxing also.

It's a wonder Tyson was ever rated ahead of Tillman.:rolleyes:

Bernard did great against Cordoba; I fail to see this as a barometer to his future
    success against Vasquez or any other demon at 122 lbs. Dunne has limits!

Just in case you weren't tuned in:

http://www.boxrec.com/ratings.php?country=&sex=m&division=Super+Bantamweight&status=A&SUBMIT=Go

That is only one rating. Others are similar and rightly similar

Pull the other Walsh, they do not even rate the top two guys.

Get over the whole wba thing we all know Caballero is the champ -super champ.

Yeah 2004 when Cordoba was still a young pup and Caballero was 27/28. That in my books gives Dunne a chance. Caballero is the most beatable champion out there.

Also Caballero is into his 30's didn't you tell us the other day these guys are finished around that age.

A little consistency would be nice.

Shane10 wrote: »
    vasquez does look pretty muscular

israel-vazquez_002578_1_MainPicture.jpg

The guy is a monster as is Marquez - youtube their fights if you haven't seen them.

T-K-O wrote: »

But you are the one who also told us Dunne couldn't compete against a top 10 fighter.
    !

And for the umpteenth time I have said that Dunne showed me
    improvement and character and everything else. I still see
    glaring problems that the cream of the division
    will ruthlessly expose.

I want Dunne to make cash; but not really risk his
    health in doing so, and going to Vegas to meet
    Vasquez or Caballero or Marquez or even Ponce, would
    be fatal.

Stay here, make a few defences, make cash and retire.

Older guys at the lower weights do tend to fade earlier.
    This is well known by most, well, almost most!

Hey, of all the best in the division, Cab seems to be the most
    beatable. I still think it's far too dangerous

Caballero is not in the same league as the others power wise.

Does it not make perfect sense that Dunne would have a great chance against this guy after beating Cordoba, it does in my mind.

Dunne will want to test himself against one of those guys Im sure of it and I would pick Caballero, I'm not saying fight him now but
    down the line

If I were Dunne, I would do the math and see which option makes the best financial
    sense.

Cab is a far bigger risk than a couple of voluntaries, we know this!

Power wise, he is not a Lopez or Vasquez, but he's still
    a huge threat.

I want Dunne to win and make a few quid and anyone else
    who wants this, including Bernard and Peter's, should be
    wanting to stay at the O2.

He can make good money
    there against less than world class fighters.

I simply see him being well beaten if he meets the cream!
    Cab included.

Molitor would be a good bet if he comes thru
    against Ruiz; leave Ruiz well alone, he's a fairly heavy hitter!

If I were Dunne, I would do the math and see which option makes the best financial
    sense.

Cab is a far bigger risk than a couple of voluntaries, we know this!

Power wise, he is not a Lopez or Vasquez, but he's still
    a huge threat.

I want Dunne to win and make a few quid and anyone else
    who wants this, including Bernard and Peter's, should be
    wanting to stay at the O2.

He can make good money
    there against less than world class fighters.

I simply see him being well beaten if he meets the cream!
    Cab included.quote]

I think most people are in agreement on this - I reckon the WBA will let him have one Voluntary then he'll be up against the Thai...

We'll see when Peters goes to meet the WBA next week. I'd love to be a fly on the wall at that

"Let ****in Bernard have a ****in voluntary for **** sake, this is ****in serious stuff now lads, Haunting"

John , now it's becoming incoherent?;)

I'd say they'll need an interpreter - Even if they do speak English

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 440 ✭✭jayroyal

John , now it's becoming incoherent?;)

can ya not keep to topic on thread instead of going back to giving him more stick than praise , your too negative and like a broken record. Read over your all your replys it's sickening how negative and jealous you are , a mod should have more sence. :confused:

jayroyal wrote: »
    can ya not keep to topic on thread instead of going back to giving him more stick than praise , your too negative and like a broken record. Read over your all your replys it's sickening how negative and jealous you are , a mod should have more sence. :confused:

This may have gone back to my post - I was taking the piss referring to previous posts about Brians language on the doc.

It was a joke.... take it as you like but I wasnt aware that having a bit of craic was a serious offence on this forum. And I may have strayed off topic but I havent been posting on this site long and the only reason I did is because a lot of people seem to know boxing and what they are talking about on it (Unlike the majority of the population)

jayroyal wrote: »

Relax there before jumping in with both feet.

Praise? What praise are you talking about?
    Dunne deserves mega praise for his win on Saturday and he got it!

Stick? So I think Dunne loses to Lopez and Cab and Vasquez
    and Marquez and that's stick?:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,919 ✭✭✭simongurnick

At first, I thought Dunne would fill up a vegas venue with the north american irish contigent but considering the irish ropes event was called off in nyc, that's not a certainty.
    I know this is different, world championship and everything, but cash is short in the us. Now if its against vasquez he'll bring his own crowd so combined it would sell out but it;s not gauranteed. As for 10,000 travelling from ireland...not so sure.

Vasquez hasn't fought since last March and has just had major retinal surgery.
    He is hoping to be in the ring for July, and I do
    believe he wants Vic Darchinyan.

I can't understand that really. Vic is at best a bantam.
    Vasquez would murder him. So, he must think it an
    easy big pay day. Two well known names
    would sell it.

I doubt Dunne is on Israel's radar at all. Hey, Vazquez may never fight
    again. His supposed bout on April 23rd is off!

It was never a runner anyway. Apparently, the story of
    his return in April was fabricated.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 86 ✭✭ShaunD

Johnduddy wrote: »
    This may have gone back to my post - I was taking the piss referring to previous posts about Brians language on the doc.

It was a joke.... take it as you like but I wasnt aware that having a bit of craic was a serious offence on this forum. And I may have strayed off topic but I havent been posting on this site long and the only reason I did is because a lot of people seem to know boxing and what they are talking about on it (Unlike the majority of the population)

Jesus who dosen't go off topic on this forum. I know what you mean about Peters and his potty mouth!
    To look at him you'd never think he ****ing cursed so much!

Anyway back to the topic, who's to say that Vasquez who has been through 3 brutal wars with the other Quez, and has eye problems to boot would be any more of a threat than a young, hungrier guy like Kratingdaenggym for instance.
    Every fight is a risk from here on in, a good case could be made for taking a fight with Vasquez, but not in Vegas.

Shaun, I agree that every fight is a risk, but Israel is such
    a beast and so heavy handed and strong; he is a little on the
    devastating side, injury or not, layoff or not.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 78 ✭✭doug1970

if dunne did go to vegas...and peters was selling a package..flights/hotel/tickets...i'd definetly go...dunno how the hell i would afford it, but i would somehow.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39,459 ✭✭✭✭eagle eye

If anybody told me that they could get five or ten thousand Irish residents to travel to Vegas for a fight I'd be willing to put my money on the line that they couldn't. That fact that the man saying it is Brian Peters makes me think the more sensible approach is to keep my money in my pocket. I still think its very unlikely you could get it done, but if anyone could do it, its Brian Peters.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 418 ✭✭akindoc

fantastic win for bernard. I'm not going to comment on his chances with the likes of vasquez or caballero etc now, all I am going to say is WELL DONE to Bernard and he deserves the credit he'll get from it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,383 ✭✭✭✭nacho libre

Vasquez should be the last fight he takes. While beating Cordoba was a mighty achievement, Vasquez is a fighter he needs to avoid. Even Bernard Dunne's
    most ardent supporters would have to agree with that analysis if they watch videos of the Vasquez v Marquez wars. Vasquez is physicially too big and strong for Dunne and he is a heavy hitter with either hand. If a light hitter like, Cordoba, can almost stop Dunne, the likes of Vasquez certainly will. Peters must know this so there is no way he'll really go for this fight. He's just doing what a good promoter should for his fighter.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26 13663046

I'd definately pay to travel to see Dunne knock out Caballero in one round! lol

But the best option is to make a few easy voluntary defensives and see how he is getting on, Dunne improved by 20% at least since his last fight, who knows how much he will have improved the next time we see him. Poonsawat and Caballero aren't beyond the realms of possibility.