Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Irish Serial killer

• 26-03-2009 2:02pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,015 ✭✭✭

Can anyone help,trying to resolve a debate,read that as agrument in work.About two years ago I remember reading an article about an FBI agent who came to Dublin to advise the gards on serial killers and told the Garda that there were at least a couple of serial killers operating in Ireland.Cannot find the article to back it up,and i have Googled till I was google eyed.I can only find this one but its not the right one.

Irish serial killer 'on the loose'

Sunday Mirror , Feb 2, 2003 by NICOLA TALLANT

THE unsolved cases of Ireland's missing women have been listed in a new book about serial killers around the world.
    Killers on the Loose by US crime expert Antonio Mendoza refers to 'The South Dublin Killer' as the man responsible for the disappearance of a number of women over the past two decades.
    It includes details of the profile gardai were given by retired FBI profiler Bob Ressler who told officers that the killer is probably self employed or working as a driver, single or seperated.
    And he believes the killer lives in the southern edge of Dublin or north Wicklow
    The author says missing student Annie McCarrick, who was 26 when she vanished in 1993 in the Dublin Mountains, waitress Jo Jo Dullard, 21, missing since 1995, and 19-year-old Deirdre Jacob, not heard of since 1998. are three of the killer's victims.
    The author says disgruntled John McCarrick, father of student Annie and a former NYPD officer, has been left with a broken marriage, in bad health and with his bank account in tatters.
    Mendoza dedicates a chapter to the 'South Dublin Killer' in a book about some of the worst unsolved murders from Mexico to Belgium and New Oreans to Rome.

Can anyone rember the Irish newpaper article,or point me in the right direction?.

Just had a thought....one of you lot could be the killer for all I know....Anyone from wicklow?.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,878 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

I think I'll have a bowl of cornflakes for lunch.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,368 ✭✭✭thelordofcheese

Just had a thought....one of you lot could be the killer for all I know....Anyone from wicklow?.

Wicklow? me? no, no, no, no.........
    now if you'll just walk down this dark alleyway

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,104 ✭✭✭easyeason3

Wasn't there a guy who kidnapped a Carlow business woman, drove her to some mountains, raped her & was about to kill her when a few hunters disturbed him & in turn saved the womans life?
    I know the details are vague but I can't think of his name or any more information.
    Anyway there was speculation in the papers at the time that he may have been responsible for a few of those missing women & that he may have had an accomplice.
    Other people are of the opinion that whoever is responsible for the missing women could have been killed in a car crash or died of natural causes.
    All those cases are so similar & within the same area so I think it's more than just coincidence, someone, somewhere knows something & until they decide to do the right thing these women may never be found.
    Sad on the families involved.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,407 ✭✭✭Dartz

I'm not the South Dublin Killer... oh no, he's a different person altogether...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,828 ✭✭✭bullvine

His name was lawrence murphy

http://www.rte.ie/news/2001/0511/murphy.html

I remember the story well, I think the FBI said he could not be a serial killer because he was caught so easilly, not sure how true it is though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,255 ✭✭✭✭The_Minister

If history is anything to go by, the Gardaí should just drop by the house of the Minister for Justice.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

bullvine wrote: »

I remember the story well, I think the FBI said he could not be a serial killer because he was caught so easilly, not sure how true it is though.

Yer man that killed the two women in the house. Some junkie was pressured into confessing......

(Killer was from Crumlin?.....Jaysus ould age is a terrible thing,......)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,104 ✭✭✭easyeason3

bullvine wrote: »

Thats him!
    Pure animal to do that. But even the best of serial killers get caught eventually so I don't buy into him being caught too easily. Maybe he's just good at acting like he's dumb.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53 ✭✭The \/\/anderer

Nodin wrote: »
    Yer man that killed the two women in the house. Some junkie was pressured into confessing......

(Killer was from Crumlin?.....Jaysus ould age is a terrible thing,......)

Mark Nash?
    http://www.independent.ie/national-news/suspect-serving-life-for-double-murder-76432.html

edit: just noticed the guy who wrote that article is also called Mark Nash. Weird!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,097 ✭✭✭Darragh29

I got a good book recently in Easons Paddy, it's called "Where no one can hear you scream-murder and assault in the Dublin Mountains" By Sarah Mc Inerney...

It has a good look at all the women who went missing in the South DUblin area and the liklihood of a serial killer being behind them...

12.99 at Easons... Well worth a read...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,049 ✭✭✭Dob74

If history is anything to go by, the Gardaí should just drop by the house of the Minister for Justice.

Wasnt that the attoney general's gaff.

Malcolm Mac soon to be released:mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

Mark Nash?
    http://www.independent.ie/national-news/suspect-serving-life-for-double-murder-76432.html

edit: just noticed the guy who wrote that article is also called Mark Nash. Weird!

Thats the bastard allright, fair play to ye.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,476 ✭✭✭Mr.Lizard

Darragh29 wrote: »
    I got a good book recently in Easons Paddy, it's called "Where no one can hear you scream-murder and assault in the Dublin Mountains"

Catchy title

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,004 ✭✭✭Ann22

Darragh29 wrote: »
    I got a good book recently in Easons Paddy, it's called "Where no one can hear you scream-murder and assault in the Dublin Mountains" By Sarah Mc Inerney...

It has a good look at all the women who went missing in the South DUblin area and the liklihood of a serial killer being behind them...

12.99 at Easons... Well worth a read...
    Think I saw that book, there are clear photos of a few of the suspects, Larry Murphy included. Pity he didn't get longer that 15yrs. He'd defo be the type to offend again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,554 ✭✭✭Pat Mustard

There was an interesting little book called Frozen Blood by Michael Sheridan, about serial killers in Ireland.

There was a theory in the book, about there being approx 4 serial killers in Ireland. Not all of them would have been active at one time due to imprisonment, etc.

The theory worked off the premise that one in a million people is a serial killer. I can't remember where those statistics came from - it's been a while since I read the book.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,438 ✭✭✭TwoShedsJackson

Sorry they're too busy prosecuting the real criminals. You know, the ones painting pictures of the Taoiseach and such.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,004 ✭✭✭Ann22

Did anyone else see the Psychic Detective episode that focused on Jojo Dullard? Colin Fry, Tony Stockwell and a woman psychic -can't think of her name, were in it. It was fascinating. They travelled over here and retraced the poor girls' steps. They described a man known to her family with a scar on his mouth. Awful detail in it too about the blanket she was wrapped in. God help her family, it must be awful not knowing.

Sorry they're too busy prosecuting the real criminals. You know, the ones painting pictures of the Taoiseach and such.
    The reference went totally over your head didn't it?
    Dob74 wrote: »
    Wasnt that the attoney general's gaff.

Malcolm Mac soon to be released:mad:
    You are of course correct it was the AG's place.

/self-facepalm

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,438 ✭✭✭TwoShedsJackson

The reference went totally over your head didn't it?

You are of course correct it was the AG's place.

/self-facepalm

I know you're referring to the Malcolm McArthur case (which was the AG of the time, not the Minister for Justice). Just pointing out the cops today have more important things to be doing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,015 ✭✭✭Paddy Samurai

There was an interesting little book called Frozen Blood by Michael Sheridan, about serial killers in Ireland.

There was a theory in the book, about there being approx 4 serial killers in Ireland. Not all of them would have been active at one time due to imprisonment, etc.

The theory worked off the premise that one in a million people is a serial killer. I can't remember where those statistics came from - it's been a while since I read the book.

That sounds like the article i remember(4 serial killers in Ireland) ,i think at the time the FBI agent said this to the garda but they disagreed with him.I thought it was in the Irish independent,but I can't find it?.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,391 ✭✭✭Captain-America

I didn't read the thing, because it was too long and I'm a very busy man, but did he get away with it?

We don't even know if he exists, so he is a very successful criminal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,153 ✭✭✭Rented Mule

Ann22 wrote: »
    They described a man known to her family with a scar on his mouth.

Was he wearing a black hat and spend a lot of time twisting his moustache as well ??

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 47,541 CMod ✭✭✭✭Black Swan

Jack Dermot the Ripper? Naaaaa, you're confusing it with his new heavy duty paper shredder.