Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

WITSU Election 09

• 25-03-2009 8:55pm
    Moderators, Education Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 24,056 Mod ✭✭✭✭

For those of you who are interested, I have some of the results for today's elections.

President - Cathy Pembroke
    Education - Colm Murphy
    Welfare - Paddy Mc Donald
    Entertainments - Paul O'Dea
    Communications - Carol Kavanagh

Other positions filled, but I cant recall the names of the candidates. I will update this thread tomorrow with final result and try get the other candidates names.

Fair play to all who voted, campaigned and counted the votes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 308 ✭✭Paige Turner

Welfare = Paddy Mc Donald

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23 liar

those elections are completely pointless. them wnkers just get paid to Sh1the around the college for a year

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,300 ✭✭✭CantGetNoSleep

liar wrote: »
    those elections are completely pointless. them wnkers just get paid to Sh1the around the college for a year
    Completely agreed, someone should tell the cnuts that they are never going to be real politicians anyway, which is the only reason most of them do it

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 24,056 Mod ✭✭✭✭Sully

Completely agreed, someone should tell the cnuts that they are never going to be real politicians anyway, which is the only reason most of them do it

Based on my own experience, things have very much improved in the last couple of years. Iv personally found Cathy and Colm to be very helpful and have helped me out of a number of issues in the past. I know of a few other courses who are full of praise for Colm who helped them out. Shane was a very good president and has now become the president of USI.

As for wanting to become politicans... The majority (that I have experienced) dont have a political bone in their body and would be clueless when it comes to politics so I doubt that very much. I have heard rumours that some candidates wanted to do it for the money (needless to say, I dont believe they were elected).

A lot of people also felt that Conor did a lot of work improving RAG week and has done a lot of work for the business society who are full of praise for him.

So it seems the last few years, people are pretty happy with SU. Though, its only ever people who are directly effected by them and need their help. Outside of that, people dont usually know/see what the SU have done or do. Which is something one of the Welfare candidates this year wanted to change.

iv had experiances with colm m, he thinks he's larger than life full of his own retoric i could say more but id probadly be banned for slander!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 689 ✭✭✭alpha2zulu

just get paid to Sh1the around the college for a year

Based on what I've seen ,its kinda hard to disagree with this opinion. Once a year they promise the earth and then disappear until there selling tickets for a gig in the dome or throwing free durex to the crowd at shag week.
    Shane was a very good president

Really?, because several of the college staff I spoke to did not have the same opinion. Not a bit surprised that its under Shanes watch at USI that we see the return of college fees.

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 24,056 Mod ✭✭✭✭Sully

alpha2zulu wrote: »
    Based on what I've seen ,its kinda hard to disagree with this opinion. Once a year they promise the earth and then disappear until there selling tickets for a gig in the dome or throwing free durex to the crowd at shag week.

You wont know anything about them (unfortunately) unless you are an active class rep at meetings or if your class have issues and you go to them. In my own experience, and from speaking with others, a lot of people have very good words to say about them. Actively involved in anti-fee protest, sorting out canteen issues, college issues (appeals etc), RAG week (most people say Conor done an excellent job with regards to that) etc.
    Really?, because several of the college staff I spoke to did not have the same opinion. Not a bit surprised that its under Shanes watch at USI that we see the return of college fees.

I guess its who you speak to. Those I spoke with seemed to like him anyway. Personally found him the most helpful from the SU bunch over the years. I thought he was anti-fees, I recall him speaking about them on radio before. USI also were present at the WIT anti-fees protest.

I can only comment on my own experience, my class and a few issues that happened in College St.

Totally respect your point of view Sully, but just like yourself its my experience and my class and issues on the Cork Rd campus that I based my opinions on and I know that I'm not the only person in my class that thinks that.From my point of view, apart from a couple of events a year,the SU looks like a expenses fuelled party.

I found if you had any issues your better off dealing directly with lecturers or office staff,but thats just my experience.

In particular seeing the campaign for last years election it came across as a jolly boys (and girls) club with everybody endorseing everybody else:confused:
    On Canteen facilities on the Cork Rd at least, they are shockingingly poor so cant see where any work has gone on in that department to be honest.

Totally respect your point of view Sully, but just like yourself its my experience and my class and issues on the Cork Rd campus that I based my opinions on and I know that I'm not the only person in my class that thinks that.From my point of view, apart from a couple of events a year,the SU looks like a expenses fuelled party.

I found if you had any issues your better off dealing directly with lecturers or office staff,but thats just my experience.

In particular seeing the campaign for last years election it came across as a jolly boys (and girls) club with everybody endorseing everybody else:confused:
    On Canteen facilities on the Cork Rd at least, they are shockingingly poor so cant see where any work has gone on in that department to be honest.

May I ask what problems you had? Just curious to see how they didnt act for you guys.

The first point of call is usually going to the lecturer/heads of school staff etc. its after that if you get nowhere the SU can come in handy. Thats just based on my own and friends experience though.

Its been a few years since I was actively involved in SU but I seem to remember stuff like prices, the whole "Only food purchases on these premisses may be consumed on these premises" thing, and mostly issues in College St. canteen.

Personally, the only thing I like out of the canteen is the fry up! Much prefer the dome!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,759 ✭✭✭✭dlofnep

Any update on welfare? And are the SU going to bother to address the issue of parking this year?

dlofnep wrote: »
    Any update on welfare? And are the SU going to bother to address the issue of parking this year?

http://www-srv-3.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=59575381&postcount=2

Dont think the SU can do much about the parking issue. Nobody can, they just dont listen to anybody.

They could address the issue for one. There is a big heap of green grass out there that is ripe for an extended car-park. I know that for stupid reasons unknown to myself, they have to keep it there.. But when it comes to the crunch, parking is more important than a little patch of grass. Besides, I'm sure that the residents in Lismore park would rather the cars didn't clog up their streets.

I'm personally sick to death of missing classes because of lack of spaces. If the SU wants to impress me, they'll address this issue as loudly as possible.

I think its against the law to build on that green land. Something to do with being around estates they are required to have certain amount of green area so its untouchable. The last I heard was they were looking into buidling an underground car park and only recently it was issued by the college that the matter will take time but is being looked into.

Knowing the college, it will be long after my degree before it's built. I heard that too about the land, but I think it's silly to be honest. There are walls surrounding the college - it shouldn't matter what it looks like on the inside.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 236 ✭✭shanemul

I have never heard suck ****ing bull **** in all my life liar & alpha2zula, if ye talked to Either Cathy, Conor Or Colm you would realise the work put in. The union in Waterford is the MOST active one in the whole country and the things they have gotten changed and resolved for everyone is great. Maybe you should take ur heads out of your own asses and look at the work they put in and the little respect they get from fools like you too.

dlofnep wrote: »
    Knowing the college, it will be long after my degree before it's built. I heard that too about the land, but I think it's silly to be honest. There are walls surrounding the college - it shouldn't matter what it looks like on the inside.

Say it to your local SF councillor, or does he realise the problems.. you know, living in Kilkenny and all? :P (Im joking btw!)

Mod Note: Shane, ease up on the tone there a bit. Its against the forum charter and Boards.ie site rules. Thanks :)

It's an internal college issue, and should be resolved within college grounds. Why should I bring it up with a councillor when it's going to be the internal college authorities who resolve it?

Considering its already been discussed by the councillors (at least some) I assume they can at least attempt to talk to the college about the situation. Im sure they can intervene in such situations where it is causing problems for residents outside college grounds.

Sully, it's an internal college issue. It must be addressed within the college itself.

Your ignoring what I said. But anyway, this has gone way off topic so lets just agree to disagree and move on.

Grand so. Anyways, congrats to those elected. The college union ran a great anti-fees protest and should be proud of it's turnout.

what i mean is they help with frivolous matters such as rag week, protests etc. but they have no influence in any REAL problems like the parking situation and the sh!te state of the abministration system

shanemul wrote: »
    The union in Waterford is the MOST active one in the whole country and the things they have gotten changed and resolved for everyone is great. Maybe you should take ur heads out of your own asses and look at the work they put in and the little respect they get from fools like you too.

Well perhaps instead of attacking the post you could try to outline some of the work outside of rag/shag week or protests that the unions seems to do because I'd love to know.

Is part of the problem then in their communications methods if regular joe's like myself cant really see anything of much significance taking place in the WITSU, because from what I can see when any big
    day to day issues come up that are of actual relevance to students, the WITSU are nowhere to be seen.

One case in point being the silence when that totally pointless Taj Mahal of a parking barrier was put in place on the front cork rd carpark last year. While the lecturers were very clear about making their position known,and the college were making false noises about it having the ability of stopping the car park becoming over full/fire safety etc, I never saw the WITSU opinion being expressed anywhere,despite what must have been the huge cost associated with its implementation and construction:confused:
    what i mean is they help with frivolous matters such as rag week, protests etc. but they have no influence in any REAL problems
    Nail on head....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 236 ✭✭shanemul

The Union voice the opinions of the entire student body, so let me ask you this have you ever being over the union to let them know your opinion and how you feel. I know for a fact that any issue they have had raised to them has being dealt with or is currently being dealt with.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7 Wits

It is completely unfair to say that the SU do nothing, Would WIT continue to have them there if they were doing nothing??...

I am not part of Students union at all, but i know for a fact that SU do ALOT of Work in wit.. i really think that the main problem is that for the average student who is not involved in anything extra-circ in the college, espically orgaising things, has no idea that amount of time and work it takes to pull of an event, take that student protest in waterford for example, that wasnt simply get a group of student together and march down town, that took alot of time to put together with gettin permission from councils, gaurds, college etc.

There is also alot of meetings go on in the college that most students dont know about, for example recently in regards to the WIT card use for nxt year and changing prices for meals in the canteen, etc. What alot of people dont realise is that SU espically cathy is our (students) voice at them meetings.

Also I think WIT should be very proud at the amount of money SU raise every year for rag week... most college dont make any profit on theirs, ours was over €10, 000 this year, given the year in it, i think they should be very proud.

It is very easy for sumbody that is not involved in anything extra in the college to critise SU, but believe me they are doin a good job, but if you think ye could do better, why not get involved, instead of moaning about it.

"It is completely unfair to say that the SU do nothing, Would WIT continue to have them there if they were doing nothing??..."
    wits do i smell a rat

liar wrote: »
    "It is completely unfair to say that the SU do nothing, Would WIT continue to have them there if they were doing nothing??..."
    wits do i smell a rat

????..... What do you mean??

Perhaps that the impression given from the users previous 5 posts is that 'Wits' is the unoficial voice of the WITSU inner sanctum, who knows?:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,456 ✭✭✭stick-dan

Perhaps that the impression given from the users previous 5 posts is that 'Wits' is the unoficial voice of the WITSU inner sanctum, who knows?:D

yeah i'd be inclined to think this too, you have to be associated with the college, in here defending the union, and another thread asking our opinions on the balls that took place and how could they be improved, would be too far a stretch of the imagination if we were to think you ahve some connection to campus services or the union itself.

More then likely someone connected with SU rather then campus services or such. Probably somebody who just got elected possibly somehow connected with entertainment side of things.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 238 ✭✭coadyj

Wits wrote: »
    take that student protest in waterford for example, that wasnt simply get a group of student together and march down town, that took alot of time to put together with gettin permission from councils, gaurds, college etc.

Because a lot of good that did!
    Wits wrote: »
    There is also alot of meetings go on in the college that most students dont know about, for example recently in regards to the WIT card use for nxt year and changing prices for meals in the canteen, etc. What alot of people dont realise is that SU espically cathy is our (students) voice at them meetings.

Who cares about that stuff?? do we really need to pay a group of people a ridiculous amount of money to argue on things that have already been decided.

They have no power and no responsibility. The whole student government is a pointless establishment.

coadyj wrote: »
    Because a lot of good that did!

Who cares about that stuff?? do we really need to pay a group of people a ridiculous amount of money to argue on things that have already been decided.

They have no power and no responsibility. The whole student government is a pointless establishment.

Ah James, so negative as usual! I think you come on here and purposely troll! Tut.

Sully wrote: »
    More then likely someone connected with SU rather then campus services or such. Probably somebody who just got elected possibly somehow connected with entertainment side of things.

wow i was just hammered and trying to stir the sh!t

lol.. no no im not in SU or any campus services or any other group etc.. i am helpin out gettin feed back about the balls, but im not attached to any one group.
    It just really annoyed me that in my experience people that give out about su & other groups are the ones that dont get involved in anything, or have no interested in taking part in things when they get the oppertiunity to get involved, so i dont realy see why they should get to moan bot them when they don't know whats going on!... thats all!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 94 ✭✭Hissing Sideban

The elections for representatives for WIT student union are very sad to watch.
    There was no privacy when casting your vote; several students did not know how to cast their vote using the PR system; and the helpers did not appear to be interested in helping. I did request that they would but my request fell on deaf ears.
    Not unusually the student union itself did not appear to have considered the problems.
    It’s very strange that most union positions are not contested and even stranger still that the same people can run for prominent positions year after year – little wonder that there is a perception that a click exists and the elections are fixed. It may not be true but that is the perception of quite a lot of the students, not them all, but never the less quite a lot.
    I have heard that before Shane Kelly’s time the same person could not run for a prominent or the same position more then once maybe twice and that he brought about a change in the rules – please feel free to contradict me if I am wrong – I might be.
    I have been a student in College Street for the past 3 years and have had dealings with the union with regards to conditions there – a complete waste of time – but that’s not to say that I don’t admire the people who run for the positions. I am not a class rep, I have just emailed them with regard to issue which affected me.
    Some one pointed out early on that they work very hard and this is possible true - they maybe very efficient at what they do but unfortunately they do not appear to be effective with regard to most issues.
    Also some asked - Would WIT continue to have them there if they were doing nothing??... you would need to ask the director that question
    If you are a student at WIT you must realise that a lot of pointless things happen there – further no one asked me if I want to opt out of paying my student union fee at registration time – if they did I probably would and I doubt I would be alone.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 238 ✭✭coadyj

Sully wrote: »
    Ah James, so negative as usual! I think you come on here and purposely troll! Tut.

perhaps I do troll, but on this particular issue this is really how I feel, I think you know that from conversations we had during the election. I just think its funny how the one side of the argument is give student more money and the other side is pay for frivolous spending on a pointless student government.

To prove my point, I challenge you to stop 10 random people walking through the college and ask them what the SU did for them, or even to name anyone on the SU. I think the answers would surprise you.

I sure there are isolated cases where the SU has helped students, but they are few and far between. Are these isolated cases worth €120,000 a year? and that is being modest. I honestly believe that the SU office would be better off as more parking for the college.

But I am willing to be contradicted, if you can name me 10 things the SU did this year, that actually made a difference in the college I will completely change my opinion.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 153 ✭✭emma-fly

Do the votes even get counted?? cause it really does seem the same group of friends is just running the whole thing....

emma-fly wrote: »
    Do the votes even get counted?? cause it really does seem the same group of friends is just running the whole thing....

Yup, was at this years count. Its overseen by a third party not connected with the SU and im not sure her role in the college exactly. There pretty strict about what you can and cant do during the elections.

Colm topped the poll this year with a large vote count from College St. There were plenty of new candidates for the positions, IIRC 3 people went for Welfare after the current Welfare officer decided not to re-run. Cant recall who else went for Education and nobody went for President in the end (besides Cathy). Then there is the smaller positions.

Its completely above board. How you vote isn't very strict, its pretty much an open vote and they don't care if others can see who you vote for. The voting booth is locked and is only opened when going to count, overseen by the third party. Very like a normal election how things are done from there on (Recounts etc.)

James; One of this years candidates for Welfare wanted to make what the SU do more open and try communicate more with the students. He felt that the communication was poor and that many students, like yourself, didn't really know what the SUs role was or if it was much good. I can only comment based on my own experience dealing with the SU as a class rep and student. So your suggestion could throw interesting results. As for an opt-out, im not sure that would ever be possible as the SU don't just work with you individually but the college as a whole, there probably an essential part for the running of the college in its own weird way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 153 ✭✭emma-fly

Oh ryt i didnt know all that...Thanks

Its also worth noting that there was very little campaigning/posters/canvassing this year because they were not allowed. Canvassing was only permitted within certain areas also. I actually think that effected the lesser-known candidates and the amount of clueless people during the polling day was pretty shocking.

Are these isolated cases worth €120,000 a year?

120k per year to run the WITSU....somebody say this isent true. 3k for each week that students are in the college/600euro per day:confused:

if you can name me 10 things the SU did this year, that actually made a difference in the college I will completely change my opinion.

Can anybody even suggest two??

the only reason i voted was because i was "forced to" ,was brought over to a pollling stand and told to vote. when i got the ballot sheet i wrote the words c,u,m shot across the front of it. i voided my vote and the people who wanted me to vote were happy in the thought that i voted for them. in relation to 10 things the su did, i remember seeing one flyer that said organising rag week (shambles), anti fees protest, etc etc. what exactly is etcetra etcetra. i was thought from an early age that etcetra is not a valid answer only used by people that dont know how to explain themselves. in my opinion the whole su needs to be reformed from the ground up for effective change which will probably never happen but i guess we can only hope

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,899 ✭✭✭Paddy@CIRL

I'm sooooo glad that as of two o'clock on Monday, I'm out of that sh*thole of a college for life ! I genuinely feel sorry for the few lecturers who are actually worth their salt that are surrounded by morons ...

Paddy@CIRL wrote: »
    I'm sooooo glad that as of two o'clock on Monday, I'm out of that sh*thole of a college for life ! I genuinely feel sorry for the few lecturers who are actually worth their salt that are surrounded by morons ...

Morons as in the SU or some others?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,472 ✭✭✭AdMMM

Coming out of your shell now that you're finishing up. Classy ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,899 ✭✭✭Paddy@CIRL

Moron lecturers. Only ever had and still have good things to say about Shane Kelly, lost all interest in college 'politics' after third year, as I was warned by a lecturer that by being so vocal about any problems we were having at the time, would lead to my work being 'scrutinised' (her words) harder than everyone elses ... Nice, eh ?