Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Help....auto or manual

• 25-03-2009 2:52pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 137 ✭✭

Help please...I have a full license, but since I have been still living at home I have never had to buy my own car as I always had my mothers to use. It is an auotmatic car...extremely handy for driving to be honest....Now that I am moving out, I am a bit confused as to buy manual or automatic. Everyone I ask keeps telling me automatic is more expensive, will cost more if it breaks downs bla bla bla....is it just the Irish way that we have to drive manual cars? as sometimes I get the piss taken out of me for driving my mothers automatic...dont they drive auto cars in America?? so whats with the stigma over here...the way I see it, you wouldnt but a manual washing machine right...so why do we HAVE to buy a freakin manual car over here...

What do you think?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 66,118 ✭✭✭✭unkel
    Chauffe, Marcel, chauffe!

Never mind them, collegegal. You have your full license so you've proven you can drive a manual

If you prefer to drive an automatic, by all means do!

Automatics have improved a lot in the recent past and my guess is that the manual car with the clutch pedal will be a thing of the past soon enough

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,263 ✭✭✭✭Eoin

There's definitely a stigma attached to it by those who want to "really drive the car". I would find it hard to go back to a manual, but it all depends on the car and what it's for. I commute to work in mine, so the auto is excellent, but it's not too sluggish either. If I was buying a weekend car, then maybe I'd go for manual.

Traditionally, auto boxes probably weren't as well suited to a less powerful car, but I don't know how much this has changed in recent years.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 173 ✭✭SAABMAN

If I was doing a lot of city driving, I would probably drive an auto. From what I have read, bigger engined autos are better to drive than smaller engined ones.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 406 ✭✭rocknchef

Did you pass your test in your mothers car? if so you have to drive auto

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 856 ✭✭✭firefly08

Did you do the test in an automatic car? Because I have a feeling that if you did, your license doesn't cover you to drive a manual car.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,815 ✭✭✭✭Anan1

OP - what kind of car are you thinking of buying? As SAABMAN says, auto is a lot nicer with a bigger engine.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 137 ✭✭collegegal

firefly08 wrote: »
    Did you do the test in an automatic car? Because I have a feeling that if you did, your license doesn't cover you to drive a manual car.

no its a full license...Im not that silly now that I wouldn't know that! :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,239 ✭✭✭✭WindSock

Drive whatever you feel most comfortable in. It doesnt make a **** of difference what it is, as long as you can get to where you are going safely. And fastly if you're me :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,267 ✭✭✭DubTony

When you're 45 and rubbing your left knee from all the clutching you've done while sitting in traffic all those years, you'll be glad you took my advice. Go with the Auto. I made the switch 10 years ago and absolutely hate it when I have to drive a manual. Or try the best of both worlds. get a Tiptronic or Sportronic or whatever they're called. There are a hell of a lot of autos with it these days. It's not perfect, but you do feel like you've got some control back.

My mother drives an auto Yaris. Feels like an electric car but for a small yoke it's not bad. Go for at least a 1.8 litre if you can. The wife's 6 year old S40 is great.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,616 ✭✭✭TomMc

Once you are use to driving an auto, you will never go back to or consider a manual again. Autos have come along way since the 80's & 90's, but alot of Irish people aren't that well informed and so wallow in their own ignorance and petty-mindedness. The people who knock them usually are the types that never drove one for any period of time to adjust and see autos in there true light. Many naysayers also seem to take some kind of "macho" pride in driving a manual, you know the type that think their the world's best drivers.

Anyway, autos offer a more civilised and relaxing driving experience. Once you do not have a heavy right foot, they are only a little less economical than the manual equivalent, but you will save on other parts like clutches etc. Auto gearboxes/transmissions are however more expensive to fix if things go wrong as they need more specialist skills. Just do your research on which ones are the most reliable, buy/choose wisely and forget about the hacks.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,689 ✭✭✭✭OutlawPete

TomMc wrote: »
    Once you are use to driving an auto, you will never go back to or consider a manual again.

I'll second that.

I originally fell in love with an Audi A4 115BHP 1.9 TDi SE when I seen it at an Audi owner's convention type affair in Devon in the UK and it was an Auto.

Cut a long story short I bought it last Feb and I love it. It's sweet to drive - not in least jerky. If you drive and go slow on accelerator then it cruises in 4th and 5th but if you punch it drops better than any driver with a manual.

It's great in traffic and you can keep your left hand for texting .. just kidding of course :)

I drove down to Kilkenny in December and got 52MPG also .. at rush hour traffic it can go as low as 31MPG though which I suppose is pretty good for an Auto.

Especially now Diesel is back down to 87cent a litre in places. Just last summer I remember paying 1.45 a litre.

Nico

Anan1 wrote: »
    OP - what kind of car are you thinking of buying? As SAABMAN says, auto is a lot nicer with a bigger engine.

the vw golf 1.6L

collegegal wrote: »
    the vw golf 1.6L

The best Auto I've driven was a 2002 BMW 320D Coupe.

Nico

Nico22 wrote: »
    The best Auto I've driven was a 2002 BMW 320D Coupe.

Nico

thats a nice car!...gonna look at that maybe!

Here's a nice 2003 one in black for £6,999. With a cash discount I'd say you'd get it for Eur7,200 (£6,500).

2003 BMW 320 CDi Auto

Course, VRT on it would be another Eur4,000 :(

Nico

thats manual...plus id prefer silver/grey, easier to keep clean!!

Oops :)

How much have you got to spend? Here's a 318i Coupe Auto for Eur 5,900

Nico

Oops :)

How much have you got to spend? Here's a 318i Coupe Auto for Eur 5,900

Nico

Jesus this one is lovely...nice low mileage too and located in Meath! yeah I wan go between 5 and 10k not more than the 10k anyway!!

Well, if your going 10K then ...

BMW 2002 318 CI Auto

Nico :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 704 ✭✭✭Lobelia Overhill

I ended up sitting my test in my da's car which is an automatic - everyone said i was off my head cos I'd only be able to drive an automatic, I don't care! I far prefer an automatic.

A friend of mine was sneering [when she realised my car's an automatic] when I offered to drive her to the airport, she changed her mind when I "out ran" a BMW up a hill from a red light :D

they are great for flying off at junctions allright! get ahead in the ole traffic!! I do agree...I tend to fly around tho!

Well, if your going 10K then ...

BMW 2002 318 CI Auto

Nico :)

this is in great condition....gonna get my OH to have a look! thanks for your help Nico :)

I ended up sitting my test in my da's car which is an automatic - everyone said i was off my head cos I'd only be able to drive an automatic, I don't care! I far prefer an automatic.

A friend of mine was sneering [when she realised my car's an automatic] when I offered to drive her to the airport, she changed her mind when I "out ran" a BMW up a hill from a red light :D

Also, I recently drove a friends manual and it was the first manual I've drove in two years and forgot how annoying it is to take off and be working up the gears just to see the next set of lights go red and you gotta drop down and then back up etc etc.

Manual's are good fun on the back roads but give me an auto any day where there is traffic. You can't put your left foot up on the dash and chill out in a manual :)

Nico

• Closed Accounts Posts: 704 ✭✭✭Lobelia Overhill

You can't put your left foot up on the dash and chill out in a manual :)

Also, you can knee your passenger in the face if they start annoying you :D

(I'm kidding!!!)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,680 ✭✭✭Skyuser

I have a BMW steptronic 6 speed auto. I can switch it to manual and control the gears myself but the auto box it so clever there is just no point.
    Great also when stopped on a hill, no roll backs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,013 ✭✭✭yayamark

Skyuser wrote: »
    I have a BMW steptronic 6 speed auto. I can switch it to manual and control the gears myself but the auto box it so clever there is just no point.
    Great also when stopped on a hill, no roll backs.

Similar

Audi 2.4 Auto really really easy to drive a dream in heavy traffic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,074 ✭✭✭✭Esel
    Not Your Ornery Onager

AT ftw!

Not your ornery onager

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,031 ✭✭✭mumhaabu

Manuals are for farmers and gombeens, I made the switch recently and their is absolutely no comparison, I let most cars for dead after the traffic lights and can really zip around with it wheras before I would be constantly banging through "ye olde gears". The other thing I have noticed is I am now so much more alert and able to concentrate on my surroundings and driver safety without thinking "clutch up gently, gas clutch into 2nd etc. A train driver would have less work to do.

All cars in the USA are nearly Auto and good percentage in the UK are now too NZ is also nearly all Auto from what I have heard too.

If you like windup windows and and general poverty spec toyotas etc, then manual maybe your choice otherwise AUTO FTW:pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,502 ✭✭✭Zube

mumhaabu wrote: »
    thinking "clutch up gently, gas clutch into 2nd etc.

I stopped thinking about clutch and gears within a few weeks of learning to drive. It's a reflex. The only time I notice manual gears is when I drive an unfamiliar car.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,704 ✭✭✭Mr.David

Wow, what a surprise! I really expected this thread to turn into an "auto bashing" affair, with the usual comments about them being for old people etc etc.

I always defend autos, they are great especially if you have paddles. But in this instance I feel it necessary to defend the humble manual! Its not for "farmers" or "macho drivers" it has its place. I enjoy both gearboxes, but when you are really driving you cannot beat the sense of connection you have with a manual. Plus it allows for more advanced driving. I agree that for 95% of the time the auto is superior but lets not dismiss the manual completely!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,929 ✭✭✭✭ShadowHearth

Once you are use to driving an auto, you will never go back to or consider a manual again. Autos have come along way since the 80's & 90's, but alot of Irish people aren't that well informed and so wallow in their own ignorance and petty-mindedness. The people who knock them usually are the types that never drove one for any period of time to adjust and see autos in there true light. Many naysayers also seem to take some kind of "macho" pride in driving a manual, you know the type that think their the world's best drivers.

Anyway, autos offer a more civilised and relaxing driving experience. Once you do not have a heavy right foot, they are only a little less economical than the manual equivalent, but you will save on other parts like clutches etc. Auto gearboxes/transmissions are however more expensive to fix if things go wrong as they need more specialist skills. Just do your research on which ones are the most reliable, buy/choose wisely and forget about the hacks.

Well have to dissagree with you m8. Mine mother had a golf mark2 1.8 auto. It was fast and lovely car. But as soon as i started getting cars for myself, i had only manualls.

Point is: it depends from person. Older people like autos aswell, maybe becouse they get a bit more laizy :D.

To OP, If you like auto car, go for it! And dont listen anyone. But i have to agree, you have to go for a big engine with auto.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,616 ✭✭✭TomMc

Well have to dissagree with you m8. Mine mother had a golf mark2 1.8 auto. It was fast and lovely car. But as soon as i started getting cars for myself, i had only manualls.

Driving a car that is not your own from time to time, is not the same as the whole ownership experience itself. What I was getting at is that if OP buys their own car, and it is an auto given that is what they are use to and like, it is unlikely OP would give serious consideration to a manual at some stage down the road. And a Mk2 Golf had a rubbish 3 speed auto box, an anachronism compared to what is available today.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 66,118 ✭✭✭✭unkel
    Chauffe, Marcel, chauffe!

a Mk2 Golf had a rubbish 3 speed auto box, an anachronism compared to what is available today.

I guess most people have no idea how much auto boxes have progressed over the past 20 years

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,680 ✭✭✭Skyuser

mumhaabu wrote: »
    Manuals are for farmers and gombeens, I made the switch recently and their is absolutely no comparison

So before you made the switch you were either a farmer or a gombeen. I'm gonna guess gombeen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,074 ✭✭✭✭Esel
    Not Your Ornery Onager

Skyuser wrote: »
    So before you made the switch you were either a farmer or a gombeen. I'm gonna guess gombeen.
    Nah. Son of Gombeen.

Not your ornery onager

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,031 ✭✭✭mumhaabu

You two post a reply to my post three days later with derogatory insults. Get back under the bridge!!

LEVEL 5 TROLL ALERT

• Moderators, Politics Moderators Posts: 41,219 Mod ✭✭✭✭Seth Brundle

be nice people