Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

New taxes

• 25-03-2009 3:02pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 1,181 ✭✭✭

Given the spirit of Ryan air who are offering 1000euro to anyone who can come up with new charges.

I would like to propose some new taxes (over all classes)

1. pajama tax
    2. ugg tax
    3. 'orange' tan tax
    4. 2litre bottle of 'vintage' cider tax

any other idea's to help the ailing intellect of the Dail
    Tagged:

• Registered Users Posts: 81,223 ✭✭✭✭biko

Tax on golf

• Registered Users Posts: 33,172 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

Always been surprised they let you buy return tickets. If you have to buy singles, you have to pay the credit charge twice (really hope he's not reading this thread!)

Tax on talking, tax on listening to the pre-flight safety lecture (wouldn't put it past him)

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

• Registered Users Posts: 25,068 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

Twitter Tax, just to annoy the douchebags that use it more than anything. I'd like to see them rant about that in 140 characters or less

• Registered Users Posts: 1,020 ✭✭✭Ardscoil Ris

A tax on paying tax.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,269 ✭✭✭Homer

A hefty bloody tax on tracksuits and runners unless specifically worn for the purposes of sports related activities.

/n.b running from the garda is not considered a sport/

• Registered Users Posts: 28,875 ✭✭✭✭Quazzie

A tax on the name Anto or Jacinta

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,476 ✭✭✭Mr.Lizard

Tax on people who allow themselves to get into debt. I'm sick of all these people who allowed themselves to get up to the eyeballs in debt simply because the banks and credit card companies allowed them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,181 ✭✭✭LouOB

Brain waves

Anyone who had more that one convicition their dole is reduced by a %
    the more 'convicitions' the higher % the government take back

Note slots in jails - for anyone found drunk and 'disorderly' (in someone else porch with bottle of cider), insert note opens door - magic
    Though the notes would have to be collected by outsourced company, otherwise local garda would use cash for lunches or 'petty cash' on fridays in coppers

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,193 ✭✭✭Turd Ferguson

Dubes tax

• Closed Accounts Posts: 757 ✭✭✭milod

We should heavily tax the following

1. Velour tracksuits (especially those stained with fake tan)
    2. Trackie bottoms with ass-writing like Candy/Juicy/You Wish/Abercrombie etc.
    3. Tartan shopping trolleys
    4. All Scratch cards
    5. Daily Sport, Star, Mail, etc
    6. Celtic Shirts
    7. Car pimping products such as dark window film, stove-pipe exhausts etc
    8. Sovereign Rings, gold chains, and other tat from Elizabeth Duke at Argos

• Registered Users Posts: 1,368 ✭✭✭Smart Bug

VAT

Vagina Access Tax. Hit people where it really hurts.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,589 ✭✭✭Hail 2 Da Chimp

Should be a tax on internet access during working hours... Get this country moving in the right direction again :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,685 ✭✭✭Tom65

A tax on people who aren't me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,031 ✭✭✭mumhaabu

Smart Bug wrote: »
    VAT

Vagina Access Tax. Hit people where it really hurts.
    I'd recommend seeing your GP or else try KY jelly.

• Registered Users Posts: 24,480 ✭✭✭✭Cookie_Monster

LouOB wrote: »
    Given the spirit of Ryan air who are offering 100euro to anyone who can come up with new charges.

source?

Anyway, how about a tax on the letter "E", make a fortune it would.

"I.. am a... good... work... guy...."
    Lenny Leonards

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,476 ✭✭✭Mr.Lizard

How about a Pole tax for all of those immigrants getting paid cash-in-hand?

• Registered Users Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

Tax the fup out of high earning public servants.

ScumLord wrote: »
    Tax the fup out of high earning public servants.

or just all of them, earning over the odds anyway;)

/runs from inevitable backlash

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 30,657 Mod ✭✭✭✭Faith

Ikky Poo2 wrote: »
    Always been surprised they let you buy return tickets. If you have to buy singles, you have to pay the credit charge twice (really hope he's not reading this thread!)

You have to pay the credit card charge per flight as it is. €5 one way, so it's €10 return.

• Registered Users Posts: 24,003 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

Mr.Lizard wrote: »
    Tax on people who allow themselves to get into debt. I'm sick of all these people who allowed themselves to get up to the eyeballs in debt simply because the banks and credit card companies allowed them.

I pity the poor feckers who will incur even more tax by borrowing money to pay the tax on the money they borrowed in the first place..................... :eek:

Child tax. Not just here but world wide. Will probably help with lowering the unsustainable population boom too. 2 birds 1 stone

• Registered Users Posts: 18 faoilean

• Registered Users Posts: 12,815 ✭✭✭✭galwayrush

Sitting on ones balls tax

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 90,954 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

A tax on paying tax.
    I can't remember if you pay VAT on VRT or the other way around, but it's already being done.

Tax on politicians expenses so they are treated as benefit in kind.

A 150% tax on the financial gain for having bribed a politician,

• Registered Users Posts: 1,600 ✭✭✭00112984

I'd tax apostrophes so people would think about their correct usage before typing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,515 ✭✭✭✭admiralofthefleet

milod wrote: »
    We should heavily tax the following

1. Velour tracksuits (especially those stained with fake tan)
    2. Trackie bottoms with ass-writing like Candy/Juicy/You Wish/Abercrombie etc.
    3. Tartan shopping trolleys
    4. All Scratch cards
    5. Daily Sport, Star, Mail, etc
    6. Celtic Shirts
    7. Car pimping products such as dark window film, stove-pipe exhausts etc
    8. Sovereign Rings, gold chains, and other tat from Elizabeth Duke at Argos

should be banned altogether

• Registered Users Posts: 4,072 ✭✭✭marcsignal

LouOB wrote: »
    Given the spirit of Ryan air who are offering 1000euro to anyone who can come up with new charges.

I would like to propose some new taxes (over all classes)

1. pajama tax
    2. ugg tax
    3. 'orange' tan tax
    4. 2litre bottle of 'vintage' cider tax

any other idea's to help the ailing intellect of the Dail

and i'll add to that

5. Tracksuit Tax
    6. Loud exhaust Tax/Fine
    7. Boyzone Tax (97/%)

happy days