Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Who tips Taxi drivers? - Do they deserve it? - Will you be doing it after the strikes

• 25-03-2009 1:19pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 507 ✭✭✭

I did, until i read what some of them have to say on boards.

Now i couldnt be bothered tipping them. They own the business. Me tiping them is the same as them offering me a few quid off the total cost.

Now i will just insist in paying the full fare if they offer a few cents off and give no tip.

Ive really got to dislike them since i've been reading their posts here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,450 ✭✭✭actuallylike

Where are the posts you're talking about? Wouldn't mind a read, looking for a good excuse to stop tipping!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,528 ✭✭✭dcr22B

Why do people insist on starting individual threads winding up taxi drivers??

It says a lot for people like bobbbb, paulm17781 and kearnsr who just have to stick their oar in on every taxi thread and starting to repeat themselves over and over again! Lads, you'd really want to get a life TBH.

As Taxipete29 as stated on other threads, if only for once a thread was started by a taxi driver rather than somebody else looking for an axe to grind over one or two specific incidences.

I tip a taxi driver if I feel he has provided a good service and gotten me to my destination with the minimum of fuss nomoreso than I'll tip a waiter/waitress in a restaurant if they have provided me with good swift service etc.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,858 ✭✭✭paulm17781

dcr22B wrote: »
    It says a lot for people like bobbbb, paulm and kearnsr who just have to stick their oar in on every taxi thread and starting to repeat themselves over and over again! Lads, you'd really want to get a life TBH.

I haven't started a single thread, I don't think Kearnsr has either. Repeat over and over again? Trying to explain to people that what they are doing is only going to hurt themselves is a good thing IMO.

Taxipete, I'm only replying because I was mentioned by name. If you are too then feel free to reply. :)

paulm17781 wrote: »
    I haven't started a single thread, I don't think Kearnsr has either. Repeat over and over again? Trying to explain to people that what they are doing is only going to hurt themselves is a good thing IMO.

Taxipete, I'm only replying because I was mentioned by name. If you are too then feel free to reply. :)

Paul, I wasn't saying that you started any threads about taxis, I just seem to notice your name cropping up more than most and that I've noticed the same argument being spouted again and again.

Have only just noticed that Pete and yourself are on a self-imposed sabbatical but just wanted to get my point across that it seems to be a seriously big agenda against taxi drivers on Boards at present.

Regardless of whether they bring it on themselves or not, they are entitled as much as anyone else to protest and to be honest given that public opinion is (and has been for many years since deregulation) never that favourable towards them, their protests are being carried out to try to receive some sort of reaction from the twin tower ineptitudes that are Minister Dempsey and the Taxi Regulator.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,858 ✭✭✭paulm17781

Paul, I wasn't saying that you started any threads about taxis, I just seem to notice your name cropping up more than most and that I've noticed the same argument being spouted again and again.

Have only just noticed that Pete and yourself are on a self-imposed sabbatical but just wanted to get my point across that it seems to be a seriously big agenda against taxi drivers on Boards at present.

Regardless of whether they bring it on themselves or not, they are entitled as much as anyone else to protest and to be honest given that public opinion is (and has been for many years since deregulation) never that favourable towards them, their protests are being carried out to try to receive some sort of reaction from the twin tower ineptitudes that are Minister Dempsey and the Taxi Regulator.

Well, if I'm repeating myself so much then I shouldn't have to explain why here again. Likewise, you shouldn't have to post about it. I've stated countless times (here I am repeating myself) that it is the strikes I have a problem with.

Please don't reply, I don't want to be involved anymore however I feel it unfair not to reply where I am directly called out (same applies to taxipete).

Well, if I'm repeating myself so much then I shouldn't have to explain why here again. Likewise, you shouldn't have to post about it. I've stated countless times (here I am repeating myself) that it is the strikes I have a problem with.

Please don't reply, I don't want to be involved anymore however I feel it unfair not to reply where I am directly called out (same applies to taxipete).

Okey dokey, point taken. TRUCE! :) Oh and by the way, I wasn't asking you to explain yourself again :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 255 ✭✭amtaxi

bobbbb wrote: »
    I did, until i read what some of them have to say on boards.

Now i couldnt be bothered tipping them. They own the business. Me tiping them is the same as them offering me a few quid off the total cost.

Now i will just insist in paying the full fare if they offer a few cents off and give no tip.

Ive really got to dislike them since i've been reading their posts here.

Good to see you started a new thread to further express your dislike of taxi drivers:rolleyes:! With all that dislike (to put it midly) wouldn't have thought you would tip at all! I'm confused a little are you also complaining about being offered "a few cents" off the fare - not like you!:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 455 ✭✭lost marbles

Why do people insist on starting individual threads winding up taxi drivers??

It says a lot for people like bobbbb, paulm17781 and kearnsr who just have to stick their oar in on every taxi thread and starting to repeat themselves over and over again! Lads, you'd really want to get a life TBH.

As Taxipete29 as stated on other threads, if only for once a thread was started by a taxi driver rather than somebody else looking for an axe to grind over one or two specific incidences.

I tip a taxi driver if I feel he has provided a good service and gotten me to my destination with the minimum of fuss nomoreso than I'll tip a waiter/waitress in a restaurant if they have provided me with good swift service etc.
    glad to see that someone else has noticed the same trend .
    i pointed this out and was givin two "infractions " there seems to be a bit of trolling going on here .
    ive had my amusement outta them so just let them off .
    whats going to be the next thread .
    "would you let your sister go out with a taxi driver "

glad to see that someone else has noticed the same trend .
    i pointed this out and was givin two "infractions " there seems to be a bit of trolling going on here .
    ive had my amusement outta them so just let them off .
    whats going to be the next thread .
    "would you let your sister go out with a taxi driver "
    :D:D:D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,603 ✭✭✭Reg'stoy

Why should we tip taxi drivers, I don't tip my doctor or the bloke driving the bus I now use instead of taxis (it costs me a tenner to get from Applewood into Swords by taxi :mad:). I have yet to see anyone leave money on the seat of a Ryanair aircraft for the trolly dollies yet the get me from A to B.

I don't mind tipping restaurant staff when they have made my meal more enjoyable but if they smelled of B/O or smoke or my seat was stained I would get up and leave as I would if a driver smelled or the cab was dirty.

I am sick and tired of reading 'taxi driver' posts about how a few bad eggs ruin it for them all, nonsense. A friend of mine runs a taxi firm in wales and all!! cabs are white with a clean interior, drivers wear a clean!! white shirt black slacks with a red tie and all are regularly checked.

All of us have seen similar taxis on holiday in the Canarys and I tip them hmmm is there a link there, clean taxi equals tip:rolleyes: . Do ye as taxi drivers report these bad eggs. I tell you what, next time don't charge me 2 euro for booking you (did you have something else on) and another euro so my wife can join me in your cab and view in amazement that even before we pull away from the kerb there is already 4.10 on the meter. 7 bloody 10 and we have only just started :eek:.

You!! as the driver can!! offer discounts, read your own regulations. I don't want to hear "I know bud, it's the regulator fault, I have to charge you these prices". Why don't you knock off the booking fee, I can see you parked up the road across from the GAA club because it is the best area for call outs ;).

So all you drivers around Swords, I might book a cab rather than walk and get up a thirst if ye copped on and stopped charging me a tenner for what I can happily stroll in 20 mins.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 507 ✭✭✭bobbbb

Ive a suggestion here.
    Anyone who is inconvenienced by any taxi protest, make sure you never ever tip a taxi driver again.

Make them pay for blocking the roads.

Tipping a taxi driver is like tipping the owner of a bar for serving you a drink that he is getting the profit from anyway.

bobbbb wrote: »
    Ive a suggestion here.
    Anyone who is inconvenienced by any taxi protest, make sure you never ever tip a taxi driver again.

Make them pay for blocking the roads.

Tipping a taxi driver is like tipping the owner of a bar for serving you a drink that he is getting the profit from anyway.

I presume like any other business the consumer will only tip if they're happy with the service! I'm glad to say that my car is spotless, I offer a professionaly, reliable service and I frequently get tips - only because the customer is happy with the service. I do visa versa I tip when I'm happy with any service I avail of. Be it taxi or anything else it's entirely up to the consumer if the want to tip! A taxi driver did not start this thread looking for tips - you did!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,922 ✭✭✭Terrontress

amtaxi wrote: »
    I presume like any other business the consumer will only tip if they're happy with the service! I'm glad to say that my car is spotless, I offer a professionaly, reliable service and I frequently get tips - only because the customer is happy with the service. I do visa versa I tip when I'm happy with any service I avail of. Be it taxi or anything else it's entirely up to the consumer if the want to tip! A taxi driver did not start this thread looking for tips - you did!

Ah, service is everywhere. The bus driver, the dentist, the Gardai. Surely you don't tip when you are happy of any service you avail of.

I think the tipping of taxi drivers comes from New York where drivers don't own their cars and earn very little. Same with bar staff over there, they earn only their tips.

In Ireland, it seems to mainly be waiting staff, hairdressers and taxis that get tipped. Most service industry staff do not.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 23,260 Mod ✭✭✭✭godtabh

I'm famous.

If you dont get the point of boards maybe you shouldnt be here. Its all about expressing an opinion. You dont like it tough.

I wonder how many times you've posted the same thing over and over?

For the record I havent.

kearnsr wrote: »
    I'm famous.

If you dont get the point of boards maybe you shouldnt be here. Its all about expressing an opinion. You dont like it tough.

I wonder how many times you've posted the same thing over and over?

For the record I havent.

You obviously didn't read my post. I never once said that you started a thread and as I haven't posted here that many times maybe you'd care to review my posts and see how many times I've repeated myself.

I do get the point of boards and I know it's all about expressing an opinion but it p1sses me off to read numerous threads on taxis and have the same statements being posted in the various threads by the same individuals.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,991 ✭✭✭✭Mimikyu

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,315 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

If they pick me up within 5 minutes of me ringing for a taxi, yes.

-Phuqer- wrote: »
    I never give tips to taxi men because the way I see it is they're only doing their job (like a bus driver or a guy in a deli) and I think they get paid enough without me giving a tip on the fare.
    the_syco wrote: »
    If they pick me up within 5 minutes of me ringing for a taxi, yes.

As I've said it's each persons choice what they choose to do - if you want to give a tip - do, if not - don't! :)

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 23,260 Mod ✭✭✭✭godtabh

You obviously didn't read my post. I never once said that you started a thread

You obviously didnt read my post.

I do get the point of boards and I know it's all about expressing an opinion but it p1sses me off to read numerous threads on taxis and have the same statements being posted in the various threads by the same individuals.

A simple solution isn’t to read the thread then. Save yourself the hassle and obvious heart ache