Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

I forgot......

• 24-03-2009 3:29pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 299 ✭✭

Hi guys, just wondering if people think I'm over-reacting.... I'm having a crap day so may have lost perspective....

Other Half and I were meant to be going to a concert in the O2-you'll only laugh if I say who it is ;)

Anyway... last thing last night he text goodnight and looking forward to seeing you tomorrow evening. This morning he had a truck test-which he told no-one about and obviously had been a little nervous bout it.

This afternoon I rang him to check what time he would be arriving up at.... He forgot about the concert and told his friend he "would be around tonight"........

I'm annoyed.... Am I right?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 136 ✭✭MeMyself&I

Wow wow wow!!!

so is he not going to the concert now tonight, after it already been arranged??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 299 ✭✭wicklori

yep....

I'll be honest, this is so bad and inconsiderate!!
    If i was you i would be hopping mad right now. Has the tickets been bought?
    So he told his friend 'he'd be around', well he may change his plan with his friend. I'm all for the laid back approach, but on this occassion i would be majorly pee'd off.
    What did he say when you mentioned the concert, did you tell him you were mad?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 155 ✭✭cooperla

Forgetting isn't a big deal, but he has to ring his mates and tell them that he won't be around after all.

Ring him and tell him to cop on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,324 ✭✭✭✭Cathmandooo

Suggest to him that he meet his friend after the concert, plenty of time to get a few drinks in!

Even without it being a ticketed event it's very poor form if he ditches you for plans that are still up in the air and might not happen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,883 ✭✭✭shellyboo

*checks who's on in the O2 tonight*

*laughs*

Despite the ridiculousness of the concert, you're well within your rights to be annoyed. You had plans, he's blowing you off... and for no good reason, it seems. You need to tell him you're annoyed. What does he expect you to do now like, go on your own?!

Whats with all the pussy footing around!!!
    Why would you tell him to meet his friend after the concert!!

plus he didnt forget about seeing you this afternoon when he spoke to you lastnight.

By the way, im not bad mouthing your OH, but on this occasion, he needs to be read the riot act

• Closed Accounts Posts: 43,045 ✭✭✭✭Nevyn

Can we keep comments helpful and not derisive of the op's taste.

Bloody hell, i love him, if your OH doesnt go, you can count me in :rolleyes:

Sorry :(...just got excitied!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭LegacyUser

He sounds like an ass. No one should have to put up with this sort of thing. So 'he'll be around tonight' for his friend even though he 'forgot' about something ye had a arranged and was apparently looking forward to seeing you. He's either seriously not into that music and doesn't want to hurt your feelings (but surely most people would go along to a gig if their OH really wanted them to), or else he's not really into the relationship. Absolutely ridiculous behavior.

Thanks guys!! I have no issues with ye teasing my taste! I'm curiously proud of it really!!

Ah I'm just in bad form-as I said bad day and really didn't have the diplomacy skills to deal with him!

When I tried to give out a bit he said-wait for it.... "I can't be expected to think of everything....."

I appreciate the support...

He can't meet the friend cos they both live in the same area down the country and the plan was he would stay tonight with me in the big smoke.

Yep both tickets bought and paid for-IN HIS PRESENCE friday night. €72.60 each....

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 42,362 Mod ✭✭✭✭Beruthiel

wicklori wrote: »
    He forgot about the concert and told his friend he "would be around tonight"........

And your answer to that was "you made plans with ME first and you will now call your friend and tell him that"
    If you did not say that to him, why not?

Beruthiel wrote: »
    And your answer to that was "you made plans with ME first and you will now call your friend and tell him that"
    If you did not say that to him, why not?

Problem is time is getting tight now, so i he doesn't leave before now really we will be pushed to make it!

Well you had better hurry up and make the call then!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,043 ✭✭✭Leprachaun

I'll go with you if he doesn't. :pac:

Love me a bit of Kenny Rogers.

Ok.... A bit shakey to phone-because of other stuff, not him!

Sent this text: I'm not going to say anything on the subject beyond this... You were the one who booked the tickets. Your first arrangements for this evening were with me. I think you need to make apologies to {your friend} and arrive up.

Sound ok?

Yes.
    But I'm not getting why you aren't calling.
    He may ignore/not see a text and you'll be left not knowing.

Reply-I forgot it was this evening.

Seriously?!?!!? WTF!:eek:

Will you just call him!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 60 ✭✭Charcoal

Bring the friend to the O2 as well - problem solved.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭LegacyUser

It sounds like he's avoiding something with very silly excuses. I don't believe anyone could be that stupid. You need to speak with him.

Beruthiel wrote: »
    Will you just call him!

I'll only get upset!!! As I say not about my potential lack of 'Kenny' but because this just has not been my day!

Charcoal wrote: »
    Bring the friend to the O2 as well - problem solved.
    I'll fecking well send the pair of em!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 211 ✭✭starchild

find out if he is going to travel, if not ring a friend give them the ticket & go and enjoy without him, let him do the running tomorrow to make it up to you

starchild wrote: »
    find out if he is going to travel, if not ring a friend give them the ticket & go and enjoy without him, let him do the running tomorrow to make it up to you

That's what I want to do at this stage but not having much luck! Between people not sharing my taste in music (which is not represented by this concert by the way!!!) and not being available at 3 hours notice I can't track anyone down!!!

All my Kenny loving friends are down home!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,048 ✭✭✭Amazotheamazing

Hope you find someone, one of my mates was at his gig in Killarney last week and said he was class. You should go out and enjoy yourself.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 211 ✭✭starchild

then go yourself you'll still enjoy

• Closed Accounts Posts: 405 ✭✭bubblewrap

How awful, how long have you been together? You don't need a partner who is such a let down, especially after all that money and the travelling involved.

:mad:

bubblewrap wrote: »
    How awful, how long have you been together? You don't need a partner who is such a let down, especially after all that money and the travelling involved.

:mad:

8 and a half years!!!!!!! No travelling for me though which is the saving grace of the situation...

Probably will just go myself! Just was looking forward to having the craic with him....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 740 ✭✭✭junior_apollo

I agree - hes being an a$$ using excuses because he doesnt want to go or has got a slagging from his mates by the sounds of things...

Find someone to go with and enjoy your night - he'll be grovelling for it for a while after - so enjoy that too.

Personally i KNOW id get my butt whooped if i ever tried that crack with the missus... More importantly.. i wouldnt try it.. if i did genuinely forget then it wouldnt matter - ring friend.. sorry lad cant make it tonight... forgot im going to a concert... simple as...

No offense but he deserves a right b0ll0ckin

Holy crap...i feel a song coming on....and everyone considered him the coward of the country

Sorry, jokes aside, he really is taking the piss, text him and say 'i expect you to come with me tonight, end of story'!!

Wicklori...dont take your love to town.

MeMyself&I wrote: »
    Holy crap...i feel a song coming on....and everyone considered him the coward of the country

Sorry, jokes aside, he really is taking the piss, text him and say 'i expect you to come with me tonight, end of story'!!

Wicklori...dont take your love to town.

On a warm March evening... On a luas bound for the O2.... I met up with a.....

Ok, I feel better now!

Thanks guys-you have no idea how sh$$ today has been and you guys have cheered me up!

8 and a half years!!!!!!! No travelling for me though which is the saving grace of the situation...

Probably will just go myself! Just was looking forward to having the craic with him....

Bloody hell.

Well I suggest you go on your own and tout his ticket, you could make mega bucks! :D

Or take one of your lovely fellow boardies :cool:

no seriously, go yourself. But i know what your saying, you wanted to go with him, have a bit of craic. He a dick heres my advice...

you got to know when to hold em, know when to fold em, know when to turn away, know when to run.

Anyways hope those wise words helped

bubblewrap wrote: »
    Bloody hell.

Well I suggest you go on your own and tout his ticket, you could make mega bucks! :D

Not sold out!

Or take one of your lovely fellow boardies :cool:

no seriously, go yourself. But i know what your saying, you wanted to go with him, have a bit of craic. He a dick heres my advice...

you got to know when to hold em, know when to fold em, know when to turn away, know when to run.

Anyways hope those wise words helped

Hilarious!!!! Thanks a million!!

Latest installment is-he snarled at me completely-then text to say he's on the way. Rang him and read some of what you guys said-because he was making it very clear that I was the one being unreasonable as far as he is concerned!!

Apparently he now gets the message!

Yeahy, great news. Bout time he got the message.

Will you tell is tomorrow what the concert was like, I Love 'Sunday Morning coming down' and 'She believes in me', let me know how he sang them.

Lucky you, im jealous, enjoy x

Who is it you are seeing?

So he wants to go now does he? Men! :rolleyes:

Have a good night! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,897 ✭✭✭Kimia

OH I would kill all round me if my boyfriend stood me up and then acted like I was the one who was in the wrong!!

*Murderous thoughts*

I would kill him. And he would get his ar*e up to Dublin asap if he knew what was good for him.

Seriously though - bad form. That is very disrespectful and inconsiderate - what does he want from you? To cancel the concert coz no one else is free to go with you on a moment's notice?

Bad bad form.

Bubblewrap....Kenny the king of country Rogers!!!

Kimia wrote: »
    OH I would kill all round me if my boyfriend stood me up and then acted like I was the one who was in the wrong!!

*Murderous thoughts*

I would kill him. And he would get his ar*e up to Dublin asap if he knew what was good for him.

Seriously though - bad form. That is very disrespectful and inconsiderate - what does he want from you? To cancel the concert coz no one else is free to go with you on a moment's notice?

Bad bad form.

Everything is sorted now, so thank god no one is going to be killed...she wont be getting her gun, and she wont be putting him in the ground.

A thread where all the replies need to be song lyrics, what a brilliant idea.

Bubblewrap....Kenny the king of country Rogers!!!

:D (sorry :o)

Thought it was Michael Jackson for some reason!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 467 ✭✭aoibhebree

Glad to hear he's coming - but please do not let him make you feel guilty, or like he's doing you any favours or anything! He's going to the concert with you, as arranged, and any plans he had to cancel with his friend are not your problem!!

Have a great night :)

Everything is sorted now, so thank god no one is going to be killed...she wont be getting her gun, and she wont be putting him in the ground.

A thread where all the replies need to be song lyrics, what a brilliant idea.

Starting to feel like Tommy here- (ref-Coward of the county)...

I was pissed off, still am a bit. I'm glad he's coming but wish we didn't have to have such a song and a dance about it.... (Sorry :o)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 911 ✭✭✭994

Maybe he's just trying to get you angry as a buildup to the big surprise that he got backstage passes - and he convinced Kenny to dedicate a song to you? A long shot, I know...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,006 ✭✭✭WithCheesePlease

I actually can't believe this thread!! Can't get over yer man!!

Hope ye enjoy the concert anyway.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 911 ✭✭✭994

Kimia wrote: »

*Murderous thoughts*

Bad bad form.

Rather depressing the way women talk about men, isn't it?

"OH I would kill all round me if my girlfriend stood me up and then acted like I was the one who was in the wrong!!

*Murderous thoughts*

I would kill her. And she would get her ar*e up to Dublin asap if she knew what was good for her. "

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,024 ✭✭✭Redpunto

Make sure you give him a right ass-whooping and not one he'll enjoy.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 16,698 Mod ✭✭✭✭Silverfish

Thread locked.

Suggest a few of you have a glance over the charter too.