Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Alone time

• 24-03-2009 3:08pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭

Hi goin unreg'd for this one.

Met a girl while back and we hit it off straight away. Been dating couple months before we made it official. Anyway some background info,im 23 been single nearly a year up til now and before I was in and out of unstable relationships. Shes 21 and has only been in one long relationship but that ended couple years ago. So weve both had our share of dry spells. We both live on opposite sides of the city, me up north, her down south and both at home. I dont have my driving license yet either. Thus far, seeing each other has been restricted to town. but were getting to the stage we want to be alone together and naturally explore the attraction we have for each other. Cant really do that in public and the idea of hotel or somethin is waaaay too seedy. If I had the car it would be easier but the learner driver law will most likely sting me! I know its eating away at us that we dont have many options but im afraid what we have will fizzle out if we cant progress further. We both have large families so she apprehensive about coming over to my house coz a) so far away and public transport is crap and b) shy about parents and not comfortable to be foolin around if family home. I really like this girl and would hate if this went nowhere because of small complications that have nothing to do with how we feel for each other. Any suggestions from ppl as to what we could do or if anyone was in similar situation?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,798 ✭✭✭Mr. Incognito

to be honest, take the L plates down and drive away. If you're a competent drive screw them. I did it for a year or two before I passed my test, tehy only attract cops and people drive like retards around you when you've them up for some reason.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,690 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

to be honest, take the L plates down and drive away. If you're a competent drive screw them. I did it for a year or two before I passed my test, tehy only attract cops and people drive like retards around you when you've them up for some reason.

Not the best idea imo, the cops seem to target younger drivers when they have checkpoints etc up, and if you are not displaying your lplates it's something like an €800 fine both front and back on top of the fine for driving without a qualified driver.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 178 ✭✭adzer86

You will only have a problem with the cops if you run into a checkpoint. Ive been driving since i was 17 and have never been pulled over but often got breath tested etc at checkpoints. If you think getting a hotel for the night is seedy then why dont you book into one for the weekend. Get the train. Ive done that plenty of times when i couldnt use the motor (parents) and it was a great laugh. Loads of sex also, which is what you both are ultimately looking to do

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,465 ✭✭✭✭cantdecide

Drive away mad with no Ls but be proactive about getting it sorted asap. Don't get a learner car . You never have to spend a fortune buying one. PM me if you want some other motoring advice...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,130 ✭✭✭✭Kiera

Do not break the law by driving without L plates!

Why not go away for the weekend? Somewhere cheap and cheerful like Wexford....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,324 ✭✭✭✭Cathmandooo

Kiera wrote: »

Exactly!

Sounds like a weekend away would be perfect, somewhere on the train line and not too far away, weather is getting a bit nicer so might be good enough for a walk along some beach, sit down and bring a bit of a picnic with you and have some quality time together.

Stay in a B&B, most show pictures on their websites, pick one that looks nice and has recommendations.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 77 ✭✭Cormb

Kiera wrote: »

I agree.
    Its not worth getting caught.

Maybe the weekend away might be an option and meanwhile ye can working on getting a learner permit/licence and work towards getting a full licence.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,324 ✭✭✭Oh The Humanity

Cant really do that in public and the idea of hotel or somethin is waaaay too seedy.

Whats that there now?

Going to a hotel is seedy? er........no its not.

You rent a room for a bit of privacy, do your thing, what goes on in the room is your own business......

I dont understand this, just rent a room and dont be silly!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 405 ✭✭bubblewrap

It's only seedy if it is an affair, I think the weekend away is a lovely idea, especially on the train so you don't need to worry about driving illegally!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭LegacyUser

OP here,

I actually suggested goin away sometime but she said she'd like the first time to come naturally (ie.not premeditated) and her dad is very protective so couldnt see herself doing trip away fo a while at least. Ive tried driving locally without L-plates once or twice and the Garda cars always seem to be about when theyre down so i dont want to risk it! thanks for the replies so far tho...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,137 ✭✭✭Monkey61

Forgive me if I missed something here but...she's 21...and she might not want to go on a trip away with you, who she has been with for several months because her dad is protective?? That sounds ridiculous.

As does the idea that she wants sex to happen naturally and not be premeditated - well why can't it happen naturally on a weekend away together?? Is it possible that she is just making excuses? Why on earth, if she likes you at all, would she not want to go away on a weekend with you? That makes absolutely no sense to me. I mean if you both really want to do it then surely where there's a will there's a way.

Also what's seedy about booking a nice hotel for a night, going for dinner, few drinks, getting to share a bed together?? Nothing! It is perfectly normal and romantic if anything.